Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
I loved this movie. It was the first movie I ever took my 3 year old daughter to and she didn't bat an eye for the first 45 minutes. Our whole family loved it and the theatre roared with laughter throughout. It was very much different from the first but who needs to see the first one redone, right? I truly thought it was very well done and totally action-packed. Mike...
Published on Sept. 28 2004

versus
10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened?
Now I'd just like to say that I LOVED the first Shrek movie. It was brilliant as a story, as a movie, and as parody of fairy tales. It's probably one of my favourite computer-animated films of all time.
This film, despite all of the hype about it, in my opinion falls into the "cash-in-sequel" category. The story is promising; Shrek and Princess Fiona get an...
Published on Sept. 24 2004 by Esn024


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, Sept. 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek 2 (Bilingual) (DVD)
I loved this movie. It was the first movie I ever took my 3 year old daughter to and she didn't bat an eye for the first 45 minutes. Our whole family loved it and the theatre roared with laughter throughout. It was very much different from the first but who needs to see the first one redone, right? I truly thought it was very well done and totally action-packed. Mike Meyers is the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's with all the bad reviews?, Nov. 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek 2 (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't get the poor reviews - this film was everything the first Shrek brought and then some. The attention to detail was perfect, the characters hysterical, and the story wonderful for all ages. I was amazed at how intelligent, creative, and humourous this sequel ended up being. The constant parodies on Disney - absolute genius. In my opinion, the people behind Shrek have made another masterpiece. Looking forward to a 3rd Shrek!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't quite match the first, but still very good, April 7 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek 2 (Bilingual) (DVD)
A lot of fun, with good new characters voiced by John Cleese and Antonio Banderas. It just doesn't have quite the magic of the first film. But of course that's to be expected - part of what made the first so amazing was the wonderful world they created. Now that the world is familiar, it's hard to keep that same 'lightning in a bottle' enchantment.

Still, way better than most sequels, and worth seeing if you enjoyed the original.

Try to get the widescreen version -- with animation this nice and detailed it's a shame to lose big chunks of the image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You can take the ogre out of the swamp ..., July 12 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek 2 (Bilingual) (DVD)
More lavish animation, more unforgettable characters, more great songs, more sharply intelligent wit and comedy - all that and more goes into this sequel to the wildly successful Shrek. The look and feel of this film really are incredible and amazingly realistic, especially in terms of all the human characters. Unlike most films built upon a unique, breathtaking visual style, though, Shrek 2 relies upon a strong and compelling plot for its greatest success. Even though the first film introduced us to Shrek-oriented parodies of fairy tales, motion pictures, music, and pop culture in general, the script still works its magic by consistently surprising and delighting the audience. It's a worthy successor to a blockbuster of a film - although I still liked the first film better. Aye, I laughed pretty much from beginning to end during Shrek 2, but the film lacked some of the truly gut-busting comic antics of the original.

Do I really need to rehash the plot here? Shrek's and Fiona's newfound happiness together is put to the test when Shrek's royal in-laws, the king and queen of Far Far Away, invite their daughter and her new husband home for a marriage celebration. The folks expect Prince Charming, of course, and are less than prepared for the ogre factor. Prince Charming is none too happy, either, and his mother the glamorous Fairy Godmother (you just can't trust a fairy godmother anymore these days) sets out to right the wrong caused by Shrek's unexpected rescue of Fiona. The king is a willing accomplice, even going so far as to contract a hit on Shrek with the renowned feline assassin Puss in Boots. In order to keep Fiona, Shrek makes the ultimate sacrifice, turning himself into a handsome man, but the Fairy Godmother thwarts him at every turn. Even with the help of his friends from back home in the swamp, it looks like the honeymoon - and marriage itself - is over.

Everyone seems to be wild about Antonio Banderas as Puss in Boots, and he does make a great addition to the Shrek universe. The heart of Shrek, however, still remains in the able voices of Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, and Eddie Murphy. It's pretty simple, really - if you enjoyed Shrek, you will certainly enjoy Shrek 2. The extras on the DVD add even more delight to the Shrek 2 experience. The Far Far Away Idol contest is a brilliant addition. You get not one but two filmmaker commentaries (but, sadly, no commentaries with any of the actors), and several looks at the making of the film are also worthy of your time. The rest of the special features are a little less impressive than they look, however - several of them basically just take you to selected scenes from the film itself. Still, there's plenty here to occupy your time and magnify the entertainment value of an ingenious film all but guaranteeing a good time for one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ça vaut vraiment le divertissement :-), Feb. 10 2005
By A Customer
Bonjour à tous,
Pour commencer, j'aimerait vous dire que j'ai beaucoup aimer Shrek 2. J'ai offert à ma soeur le DVD et elle ma avouer que parmi tous les cadeaux qu'elle a reçu c'est le plus beau cadeau que je lui ait offert, ce qui ma beaucoup toucher. Au début quand j'ai visionner le film j'ai cru un instant que j'allait être déçu mais avec la magie du cinéma j'ai était emballer le fait qu'ils beaucoup innover dans l'histoire de la suite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars he's cute, Dec 10 2004
By 
Carmen Apples (Canada, North West Terriories) - See all my reviews
I love how shrek looks like when he got to be a
human. He looks even more cuter when he was
in the mud with his new wife. You can say it was
boring, but I think it was funny, romantic, etc.
Shrek is a row modle to me. So that is why I really
love shrek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shrektacular!!, Nov. 11 2004
By 
Shrek and his lovable loud mouthed donkey are back in this wonderful and creative film. the film is great and it has wonderful special features like *Far Far Away Idol* (simalar to american idol) where the charecters battle it out to see who is the winnwer of Far Far Away Idol. At the end, You at home can vote for your favorite charecter. i give Shrek 2 1000 thumbs up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for people of all ages, Nov. 10 2004
By 
Paula (Kingston, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
Shrek 2 was an excellent movie, one that everyone will enjoy! It's just as entertaining and smart as the first one, and can be watched over and over.
Not just another kids movie, this one is for the adults too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened?, Sept. 24 2004
By 
Now I'd just like to say that I LOVED the first Shrek movie. It was brilliant as a story, as a movie, and as parody of fairy tales. It's probably one of my favourite computer-animated films of all time.
This film, despite all of the hype about it, in my opinion falls into the "cash-in-sequel" category. The story is promising; Shrek and Princess Fiona get an official message from her mother and father, who believe her to have married Prince Charming (who we find out comes to the castle after Shrek does to rescue her, only to find that his princess has already been rescued by an Ogre). The first meeting between the ogres and the people of "far, far away" where Fiona's parents live predictably goes awry, but the fairy god mother (the mother of Prince Charming) is determined to put Shrek out of the picture for good so that her narcissistic son can marry Fiona as was the original plan.
The problem with the film isn't with the new characters, which are actually pretty interesting and amusing (although Puss in Boots didn't make sense for me as a character... Shrek is his sworn enemy, and suddenly he begins to help him?), but with all of the old ones. They are simply not put to any good use in this film. Shreck and Fiona are uninteresting simply because they don't have any dramatic flaws; they're completely PERFECT and always do the right thing. The little personality flaws that made them interesting in the previous movie are gone here, leaving behind only boring characters that are simply not funny. Donkey doesn't even have a legitimate reason to be in the movie; he just sort-of follows Shrek around the film and makes his usual wise-ass (pun intended) remarks. The Gingerbread man and other friends of Shrek also somehow manage to make their way into the film, although it is unexplained exactly how they managed to travel to the land of "far, far away" in less than a day when it took Shrek and Fiona many months to get there.
It all just feels too artificial for me. The original Shrek, while being a great comedy, also made sense as a story. Shrek 2 just feels as if the story was cooked up as a reason for the jokes to happen. The "feel-good" ending didn't make sense to me either; I won't give it away, but I couldn't help but think that there is no possible way that Fiona's parents should have been as happy with it as they were.
All said, this is a real publicity-type, give-the-audience-what-they-want type of movie, complete with a cheesy ending that shamelessly rips off the ending to the original Shrek. It apparently worked, because the audiences and critics loved it. I'll bet you, however, that a lot of them are now thinking back on the movie and realizing that it wasn't as good as they originally thought it was (much like Star Wars: Episode 2 is now considered to be a bad movie now that people have had time to reflect on it and realize what a horrible script it had).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It Wasn't That Good, Oct. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek 2 [Import] (VHS Tape)
Shrek 2 was a big disappointment. I liked the first movie a lot better. The second movie didn't have half the humor, or the adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1a696b4)

This product

Shrek 2 Blu-Ray/DVD Combo (Bilingual)
Shrek 2 Blu-Ray/DVD Combo (Bilingual) by Andrew Adamson (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 34.99 CDN$ 16.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews