Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Much of what we perceive about the universe is wrong", Dec 26 2011
By 
Big Al "Alan Rivière" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
In this popular PBS mini-series Nova: the Fabric of the Cosmos, renowned physicist and author Brian Greene tells us that "lying just beneath everyday reality is a breath-taking world where much of what we perceive about the universe is wrong". He tells us that empty space is in fact not empty. It is substantial. It bends, twists, and interacts with objects in it to form curvatures, which is responsible for what Isaac Newton called gravity. Contrary to popular belief that time is like a river flowing inexorably from the past to the future, time, according to Brian Greene, is actually a stack of infinite number of frozen slices of reality; one experiences reality from one slice to another as he ages and dies, and the past, present, and future exist simultaneously. Brian Greene introduces to the viewers the strange world of atoms, electrons, and sub-atomic particles, where a particle can be at more than one place at the same time. In this world governed by quantum mechanics, a particle exists in a "probability wave" and has no fixed position until it is looked at by an observer, and an event that happens in one place determines the outcome of another over long distance through "entanglement", as if space-time does not exist between them. Lastly, he proposes that there might be exact duplicates of you and me and everybody else in a parallel universe exactly like ours. According to Brian Greene, our universe might be just one among an infinite number of universes floating like bubbles in a forever expanding "multiverse". Brian Greene has done a marvelous job explaining an immensely complicated subject in the simplest terms. Don't miss out on this thought provoking series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great educational Blu-ray, Sept. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was pleasantly surprised because I was expecting a Blu-ray on "What is Space?". Instead, this Blu-ray is a two disk set with four titles: What is space?, The Illusion of Time, Quantum Leap, Universe or Multiverse? Then the show talks about the Universe as a halogram. Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fabric of the Cosmos, April 21 2013
By 
Dennis Gresswell "Movie Buff" (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
An interesting view of the size of the universe. The reality of how small humanity is , in respect to the enormity of matter. Are we alone - Not Likely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
This is a great product for physics teachers, very educational and interesting to watch. I love watching it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service and a Thought Provoking Subject, March 15 2013
By 
R Weigand (Kingston, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
Brian Greene provides a great overview in an easy to understand laymans terms.
Great Service from the sender, quick and clean book.
This is a must for all amateur back yard astronomers who are exploring the heavens and asking why??.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy to understand, Feb. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
Great vulgarisation of a complex and enlightening subject. I understood part of it. People with more knowledge of that science (like one of my friend physicist) knew what the author was talking about and he expanded the presentation for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very educatuinal and informative series., Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos (DVD)
Very educational and informative. A lot of progress has been made to understand the cosmos but realized also there is still a lot to be discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Fabric of the Cosmos, June 18 2012
By 
D. Juschka (Regina, SK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A very informative and enjoyable film on Quantum mechanics - among other interesting aspects of the universe(s). Brian Greene is very clear, uses excellent examples, and his explanations are relatively easy to grasp. A great addition to his book The Elegant Universe. If you are trying to understand string theory, multiverse, quantum mechanics and so forth, this dvd is a very helpful guide - one that is visually spectacular as well - especially in blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars J'ai adoré et finalement "compris" la physique quantique, March 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Fabric of the Cosmos [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Je ne me considère pas comme étant une personne stupide et je regarde une tonne de documentaires. Par contre, j'avais vraiment de la difficulté avec la science derrière la physique quantique. Cette série m'a enfin permis de comprendre.

Le sujet est très bien vulgarisé et imagé sans jamais prendre son public pour des idiots. Les images CGI sont très bien faites et le présentateur (Brian Greene) fait un excellent travail. L'éventail de sujet est aussi très interressant (l'espace, le temps, la physique quantique et les "univers" multiples).

Je vais continuer à regarder ce que NOVA (la production) nous offre comme produit car The fabric of the cosmos est un produit extra-rdinaire, bien au delà de mes attentes.

note: Documentaire en anglais seulement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc0151a14)

This product

The Fabric of the Cosmos [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 29.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews