Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rio blu ray...a RIO..lly great movie for the birds...
VIDEO:

This AVC encoded 1080p 2.40:1 transfer is simply gorgeous. From a visual standpoint this is state of the art CGI. There are all sorts of outlandish bird creatures, many in stupendously bright and beautifully saturated colour. Deep blood reds and unbelievably gorgeous cerulean blues fill the frame. But colour is only half of what's at work here; rich...
Published on Aug. 3 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lil case crack
was a little crack in the case when i received it but it didnt affect the movie thankfully love it!!
Published 4 days ago by Heather Cook-Portelance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rio blu ray...a RIO..lly great movie for the birds..., Aug. 3 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

This AVC encoded 1080p 2.40:1 transfer is simply gorgeous. From a visual standpoint this is state of the art CGI. There are all sorts of outlandish bird creatures, many in stupendously bright and beautifully saturated colour. Deep blood reds and unbelievably gorgeous cerulean blues fill the frame. But colour is only half of what's at work here; rich textures in the characters and environments bring great fidelity to the picture quality, which compliments the color palate very well. The shining moments of the picture come in the wide shots of the city, the jungle, or of the spectacle of Carnival. Fine detail is exceptional, especially with regard to the rendering of the feathers, which flutter seemingly individually in the virtual breeze. (5/5)

AUDIO:

DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 soundtrack really rocks. The pulsating samba rhythm is really immersive and simply fills up the entire home theatre. Sound effects and music are perfectly positioned around the surrounds, and fidelity and dynamic range are spot on. Dialogue is precise. Voicework is also very well handled, with Hathaway once again proving what an appealing audio heroine she can be. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Did you notice that during the scene where Nigel is asking the Marmosets for help, Nigel threatens three monkeys after he tosses the main one in the sky. One monkey has his hands over his eyes, another over his ears, and another over his mouth. (See, Hear, Speak No Evil)

Overall, Rio is a really enjoyable movie. You will clap happily for the hero and heroine at the end. All the birds have their own characters, and are very well illustrated. They look alive and 3-dimensional, as compared to that of the humans. The video and audio are both top notched, with brilliant colours and fidelity, with great sound beat. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, but a fun ride with great presentation, Aug. 3 2011
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Rio (Animation, Adventure, Comedy)
Directed by Carlos Saldanha
Starring the voices of Jesse Eisenberg, Anne Hathaway and George Lopez

20th Century Fox | 2011 | 96 min | Rated G | Released Aug 02, 2011

Video:
Video codec: MPEG-4 AVC
Video resolution: 1080p
Aspect ratio: 2.40:1

Audio:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
English: Descriptive Audio Dolby Digital 5.1
Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1
French: Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles:
English SDH, Spanish

Discs:
50GB Blu-ray Disc
DVD copy
Digital copy

The Film 3.5/5

After seeing a trailer for Rio, I wasn't expecting much when I finally sat down to watch the movie. The trailer consisted of animals shrieking or screaming and performing stupid moves such as dancing. I also dislike that every scene has to be punctuated with a blast from the subwoofer. I chose to watch your trailer and you're going to hold my attention for two minutes, so you don't have to blast noise at me to keep me watching. I'll decide whether something is interesting or dramatic by myself, thanks. That's becoming a huge annoyance.

Anyway, let's get back to the movie.

I love the way Rio opens. There are birds everywhere and they are happily dancing. The colors are very striking and I don't think I have ever seen a more colorful movie. Birds and other animals seem to cover most of the colors in the spectrum and the look of the movie is appealing throughout.

Blu (Eisenberg) is a tiny young macaw and he's captured during the opening scene. We see him rescued by a girl named Linda (Leslie Mann), and he's completely happy as her pet for the next 15 years. The two share a bond and it's a heartwarming relationship. Their world is turned upside down when an ornithologist begs her to take Blu to Brazil as he's thought to be the last male of his species. Linda is reluctant, but eventually agrees.

The two fly to Rio and Blu is introduced to Jewel (Hathaway), his prospective mate. Jewel is more concerned about escape and can't understand why Blu tolerates humans. The two are left overnight to begin their courtship, but a boy steals them and sells them to a gang which deals in rare birds.

The remainder of the story shows what happens as Linda tries to find Blu. She initially rescued him before he learned how to fly and it becomes clear that he still hasn't discovered how it's done. Blu is aided by a variety of other birds as he attempts to find Linda. The gang enlists minions to find Blu and Jewel, resulting in a number of fights and chase scenes.

Rio lacks the heart of Pixar movies, but it does have some redeeming qualities. The story is far from original and it's not difficult to guess the entire plot after a few minutes. Despite that, some of the scenes are quite charming. It's fast-paced and doesn't contain any dull moments. I imagine younger children being captivated by Blu's adventures and the color scheme and ever-present Brazilian music is more than enough to hold their attention.

I enjoyed the story. Yes, I knew what was going to happen, but I found the characters quite likable. The animation becomes more detailed as the story progresses and some of the scenes contain incredible detail. The music is catchy and will be burned into your brain if you're not careful. This movie won't change your life, but it's an enjoyable way to spend 90 minutes.

Video Quality 5/5
The most obvious thing about the picture quality is the excellent use of color. The transfer boasts a variety of appealing colors and will capture your attention. The backgrounds seem a little unfinished in the opening scenes, but that's a stylistic choice and not a fault of the presentation. Later scenes, such as those in the Carnaval, are full of detail. You can clearly make out feathers and hairs on the various animals, and some of the scenery looks spectacular. This is a feast for the eyes and shouldn't disappoint anyone.

Audio Quality 5/5
The English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 mix matches the excellent video quality. The opening scene hints at what is to come and features a pounding Brazilian beat with a multitude of birds singing and squawking. Dialogue is clear throughout the movie and background sounds are frequently worked into the mix.

Special Features 4/5

The extras are all presented in full HD:

The Fruit Stand (1:29) - A deleted scene in which the animation is unfinished.

Explore the World of Rio - An interactive map with four locations to explore.

Saving the Species: One Voice at a Time (24:49) - The best of the features includes comments from the cast and crew.

The Making of Hot Wings (8:02) - Talking about some of the music used in the movie.

Boom-Boom Tish-Tish: The Sounds of Rio (13:30) - A more in-depth look at the music.

Carnival Dance-o-Rama - Learn various dance moves.

Welcome to Rio Music Video (1:37)

Taio Cruz - Telling the World Music Video (1:54)

Rio de Jam-eiro Jukebox (8:34) - Includes five songs from the movie.

Postcards from Rio - Create your own postcards.

The Real Rio (9:31) - Cast and crew comment on the real place.

Theatrical Trailer (2:26)

Digital Copy "How To" (3:35)

Angry Birds:
Trailer (1:32), Nigel Mashup (2:17) and Exclusive Clue Video (0:28)

BD-Live

Rio is fun to experience at least once. It's suitable for the whole family, but children will probably get the most from it. The Blu-ray presentation is wonderful and makes a slightly above average story a lot easier to enjoy.

Overall score 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for everyone :D, Jan. 20 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I didn't think I'd like this movie as much as I did... but it worked for me just the way I would have never imagined.

The story is simple enough, but the characters, both humans and animals, are funny, have great voice acting and animation is top notch. Granted it's not Pixar style in terms of textures, but honestly, it didn't need to be. Fox definitely is getting nice titles out there and if there is a sequel to Rio I'd love to see it. The down of things? Well, the story may be on the easy side, with few characters to populate it so that you know just who's going to end up with who... but the parallels between the bird and his "owner" is quite interesting though predictable... The camera work is, at times, very epic in scope especially during a flying sequence around Rio de Janeiro and manages to work until its very end with a laugh.

Special features are nice enough for older people to enjoy, though it's all done after a little over 80 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My grand son absolutly love it!, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
My grand son asolutly love ait! Its full of colorés, music and the story ils great. If you want to see toi child smile and dance this is the movie to buy. We bought 3 movies, 1 for grand-ma place , 1 for daddy place and another une for home. I recommand ait for children 0 - 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Oct. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Works as advertised. Love that it came with 3 different versions. Blue Ray, Dvd, & Digital. Would buy this format again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars les enfants adore, June 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
mon fils de 2 ans aime les chansons du films et l'histoire n'est pas trop complexe a suivre pour lui.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
No complaints, great movie!Price was right and I will definately buy again. Items were also received and a reasonable timeframe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy viewing, July 5 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good storyline. Characters all well done. Very good on blu ray with all the vibrant colors. Will definitely re-watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Deal!, March 18 2012
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
We are very happy with our purchase. Arrived new in package. Have only tried out the Blue-ray do far but works perfect. Will definitely shop from here again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lil case crack, Aug. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
was a little crack in the case when i received it but it didnt affect the movie thankfully love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rio [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews