Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie was funny, touching and even nostalagic
When I first saw this film, I was skeptical, thinking it was a low-brow glossed-over "milk the renewed interest in Disco".
I am pleased to say I was wrong!!
In a very elite cast, I thought Mark Wahlberg, as "Dirk Diggler" aka John Holmes, the well-endowed porn king who winds up a hapless coke addict "stole the show". Growing up in...
Published on July 1 2004 by georgia moyers

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars No
L'offre affiche 2 DVD avec des extras et des suppléments. Dans les faits, il n'y qu'un DVD sans aucun supplément.
Published 17 months ago by M. Guerin


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE film of the 90s, Sept. 30 2003
By 
M. Gary Buglass (Edinburgh SCOTLAND UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
I saw this not knowing what to expect because of the subject matter. What I saw is possibly one of the most original, funny, violent and sexy movies ever.
Mark Wahlberg really can act!!!!! Boogie Nights is EVERYTHING Pulp Fiction TRIED to be. I think Quentin Tarantino should take a leaf out of PTA's book. This is master film-making.
I personally love how the end of the 70s and beginning of the 80s is filmed - pure perfection, charting the change in music from disco to rock, and the change in the movie industry from film to videotape. I recommend this to anyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The movie is still great, but..., Sept. 6 2003
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is as wonderful as ever, but I'm dissapointed in the "special edition" DVD. The commentary consists mostly of PTA talking about wanting to talk about how to talk about movies, but somehow never really getting around to talking very much about ~this~ movie, in terms of theme or character. Granted, that is my own quirky interest in commentaries as I am not a film maker, so someone in the business might find what he has to say quite fascinating.
Even more annoying though is that Whalberg literally, and I mean literally, yawns and grunts his way through his literally phoned in commentary. He also constantly complains that he's got to leave for the airport or something, as if in such great demand that he can't be bothered to discuss his work with the likes of us. Geez, you'd think that knowing this will be listened to for many years, by many many people, he could have contstrained himself and pulled it together for the short time it took to do the commentary, or made an appointment for a different day!
Juliann Moore is delightful (when she's allowed to choose what she wants to say),as is John C. Reilly, and so I will give three stars for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films of the nineties..., Sept. 4 2003
By 
M. Hencke "m hencke" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
Incredible movie. About porn but you will love the characters. Virtuoso filmmaking. Anderson's best film. Julianne Moore should have gotten an oscar. Cheadle is the man. This is a film worth buying. Made me want to be a filmmaker/screenwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, a true gem of a film, July 23 2003
By 
N. Durham "Big Evil" (Philadelphia, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
Loosely based on the life and times of late porn king John Holmes, Paul Thomas Anderson's Boogie Nights is a true gem of a film. Anderson weaves the classic tale of a rise and fall of a star, but puts a twist on it by placing the setting in the pornographic film industry during the 70's. Mark Wahlberg plays busboy Eddie Adams who is discovered by director Jack Horner (Burt Reynolds in an Oscar nominated role) and begins to build quite a career and makes a great life for himself; until (naturally) it all comes crashing down. Anderson proves once again (just as he did in his previous film Hard 8) that he can weave an emotionally rich story with extremely well developed characters that we can releate to one way or the other, and despite the film's setting Boogie Nights comes out a real winner, and a true gem of a film. The rest of the fantastic cast includes Julianne Moore (in her Oscar nominated role), Don Cheadle, John C. Reilly, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Thomas Jane, Ricky Jay, Heather Graham, Luis Guzman, Philip Baker Hall, William H. Macy, and the late Robert Ridgely. All in all, Boogie Nights is a modern day classic that finds a writer/director at his best, and was also a star making vehicle for Wahlberg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable, mesmerizing film, July 16 2003
By 
Zach Pajak (Clarksville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
A film that is epic in its ambition and story, Boogie Nights chronicles-through the eyes of a young pornography phenomenon-the events of the adult film industry from its success in the late 1970s to its gradual decay in the early 1980s when pornography began to be recorded on video cassette instead of film. The story is gripping, riveting, powerful, dark, and filled with much pathos and humor. Told realistically and in great visual flair by talented writer-director Paul Thomas Anderson (who before making this film wrote and directed Hard Eight) with a pitch-perfect cast and brilliant writing, this film is a demanding viewing.
The movie revolves around a cacophony of characters (most of whom are introduced in an amazing opening scene that is one long, kinetic tracking shot) who are, in one way or another, involved in the adult film industry. The top director of porn films, Jack Horner (Burt Reynolds), meets a young busboy named Eddie Adams (Mark Wahlberg) at a San Fernando Valley nightclub called "Hot Traxx". Jack learns that Eddie has an unusually large sex organ and recruits Eddie into his films, making him a porn-movie phenomenon with the new name of "Dirk Diggler". Dirk's rise to fame and success is a bit sudden, however, and he gets in way over his head in excessive sex, drugs, money and violence as a result.
The large cast of colorful characters (who are all played magnificently by many great, versatile actors of today) are delineated both realistically and as caricatures (much like the characters of Robert Altman's 1975 masterpiece Nashville about country-western singers). Luis Guzman plays Maurice T. Rodriguez who manages "Hot Traxx" and aspires to be in Jack's films. John C. Reilly portrays the uninhibited and goofy Reed Rothchild who plays in Jack's films and becomes Dirk's best friend. Heather Graham plays Rollergirl, a young star of many of Jack's movie's who never takes off her roller-skates. Ricky Jay performs as Jack's cinematographer, Kurt Longjohn, and Philip Seymour Hoffman plays Scotty J., a homosexual who works the sound of Jack's films and who believes that Dirk is in love with him (even though Dirk is straight).
Floyd Gondolli (Philip Baker Hall) is the president of the adult film industry who informs Jack that pornography's future lies in videotape. Little Bill (William H. Macy) is the frustrated assistant director for Jack whose wife (Nina Hartley) is constantly having affairs with other men. Buck Swope (Don Cheadle) is an aspiring hi-fi salesman and an actor for Jack's movies who is always trying to discover the right "look" for himself. There is a throng of other characters, but there is only so much that one can write in these reviews.
The more important characters of Boogie Nights are the complex Dirk Diggler, Jack Horner, and Amber Waves (Julianne Moore). Wahlberg is first-rate as Dirk, the young stud who reaches fame as a porn-star sensation who then faces a major downfall. Moore plays with immense aptitude the challenging role of Amber Waves, the drug-addicted veteran of Jack's movies who acts as Dirk's surrogate mother because she cannot have custody of her son. And Reynolds, as the cooler-than-ice director who acts as a father figure for Dirk and who wants to make pornography movies that are of artistic substance, plays the role of Horner with vigor, sincerity, clarity and precision, delivering one of his best performances. Reynolds does as much as he can with his seasoned abilities. The acting is all-around, in a word, astonishing.
The writer and director of the film, young Paul Thomas Anderson, richly textures Boogie Nights with characters that are extraordinarily real, strikingly realistic dialogue, and hugely flamboyant visuals that all compliment the successfully depicted 70s and 80s look of this film. Every scene is made with masterful camerawork and editing (the cinematography was by Robert Elswit and the film editing was by Dylan Tichenor), and a significant number of scenes are inspired by many old movies (including Goodfellas, Raging Bull, I Am Cuba, A Star is Born, La Haine, some of Jonathan Demme's films, and many others). Another aspect of the film that is worthy of acclaim is Michael Penn's score, which has a sad carnival and funereal sound (Penn's score is not the only music in the film, for the soundtrack to Boogie Nights also contains hip 1970s and 1980s songs galore). Overall, Anderson makes as much as he can of every scene.
Boogie Nights, which is one of the most vastly underrated films of 1997, is a remarkable and mesmerizing achievement in every respect. Hopefully Anderson will be able to keep up with his inspired filmmaking and continue to make films as well crafted, well acted, and well written as this one. Some will not care for the more shocking and unpleasant scenes of the film, however that certainly does not mean that this film isn't worthwhile. Hands down, Boogie Nights is a hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love/Hate, July 15 2003
By 
Greekfreak (Pusan Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
Without a doubt, one of my top ten favourite movies of the 90's, and a big part of that is the casting.
What Burt Reynolds had in mind with his boycotting of the film prior to the premiere, I have no idea, but he should get down on his hands and knees and thank P.T. Anderson for choosing him to anchor this character-driven masterpiece.
Burt, along with Julianne Moore (always great), Mark Wahlberg, Luis Guzman (my fave character actor these days), Don Cheadle, and William H. Macy make up the nucleus of one of the best ensemble casts of recent memory, and propel the already brilliant material into cinematic history.
The subject matter turned a lot of people off, but you have to look past your peripheral vision, and admire the superb soundtrack, editing, production, and direction--a phenomenal movie on all counts, even without the bonus material.
Anderson may be borrowing heavily from other influences such as Robert Altman and Martin Scorcese, but somehow he's come out with a unique voice of his own. Much better than the subsequent bore, "Magnolia".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Notes on the "definitive" edition, July 9 2003
By 
T. Blikre "tblik" (Redmond, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great film that captures the sense of the time spot on. The cast couldn't be better. A few notes about the extras- the commentaries are excellent. The transfer and sound rate five stars. The second disc is a little weak. The deleted scenes with commentary are generally good, and commentary with them informative if a bit too reverential (PTA loves his actors). The John C. Reilly Files are not "all that." They consist of extended versions of three scenes where he is inventing the dialog as he goes along- a remarkable show of talent but you can see why they were cut short. Plus they are shown in a "keyhole" letterbox for some odd reason, and the quality is poor. As if they were shot with a small video cam? The cast and crew information is weak, consisting only of filmographies. The music video wraps it up (yawn). Not really enough to fill out a 2nd disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, July 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is the first movie of Mr. Anderson's that I became acquainted with. The second was "Magnolia" Obvious parallels can be drawn between the two in terms of style and presentation.
"Boogie Nights" is an awesome achievement and is the first movie you come to realize just how good an actor Mark Wahlberg really is. This movie elevated him from more than just another pretty face to a true actor courtesy of a magnificent performance. It was actually heartbreaking to watch at times. Of course, the fact that he was surrounded by a stellar cast certainly contributed to such an impressive performance.
This is a biting look at the porn industry of the 70s and is supposedly loosely based on the life of real-life porn king, John Holmes. Nonetheless, the performances are positively phenomenal. With a cast including Don Cheadle, Julianne Moore, William H. Macy, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Burt Reynolds, John C. Reily, the often overlooked Luis Guzman, Heather Graham; need I say more?
It is an unflinching look at the industry and a rather distrubing one to be sure. There is also no real or structured "plot" per say, but the focus is on the impact this particular lifestyle had on the personal lives of the participants and those closest to them.
This is an excellent exercise in character study and is most worthy of any movie collection. Do yourself a favor and pick it up. You will NOT be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars P.T. Anderson's Best, June 11 2003
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
What a movie! For my money, it's P.T. Anderson's best. There's so much to love -- Burt Reynolds used to even better effect than John Travolta was in PULP FICTION, a script that performs the exceedingly difficult balancing act of making a poignant, resonant story with characters who are completely ridiculous and laughable, a Polaroid-perfect rendering of the 70s and early 80s, and of course the cast. But of course this is a review of the DVD specifically -- and it's really, really worth buyting. P.T. Anderson's commentary is among the best DVD commentaries I've ever heard, the deleted scenes include wonderful performances by Luis Guzman and Don Cheadle, and overall the special features are really satisfying. The packaging for this DVD is in a great faux-70s style and includes an essay on BOOGIE NIGHTS from Film Comment magazine. Totally awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You know, I'm gonna be a great big bright, shining star., June 7 2003
By 
Jeff (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boogie Nights (Widescreen) (DVD)
this is definately my favorite film of all time. everything about it is flawless. i know i have seen this movie over 10 times and i never get tired of it. in fact i admire it more each time. the cinematography, acting, and directing is a dream. i love the way it goes so "high" and falls so low and then evens out. buy it and don't ask questions. this is one of the greatest movies i have ever seen. don't be scared of mark wahlberg, he can act!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 318 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boogie Nights [2-Disc DVD]
Boogie Nights [2-Disc DVD] by Mark Christopher (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 109.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews