Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A techno fairy tale
Hanna, played with complexity by Saoirse Ronan (Atonement), is no cape-wearing wannabe super-hero raised by her father to fight crime; she is more Jason Bourne than the X-Men's Rogue or Batman's Robin, and she has been raised and trained in total isolation. The first time we see her, she is hunting reindeer in a snowy wood. It is soon made clear that she is doing so not...
Published on July 29 2011 by Andre Farant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry not my thing
Another movie for my wife

I got bored with it after 30 mins my wife loved it ... so there you go
Published 10 days ago by Mike Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A techno fairy tale, July 29 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hanna (DVD)
Hanna, played with complexity by Saoirse Ronan (Atonement), is no cape-wearing wannabe super-hero raised by her father to fight crime; she is more Jason Bourne than the X-Men's Rogue or Batman's Robin, and she has been raised and trained in total isolation. The first time we see her, she is hunting reindeer in a snowy wood. It is soon made clear that she is doing so not for sport but to feed herself and her father.

She lives with her father (Eric Bana) in a snow-capped cabin straight out of a fairytale, and this is no accident. Hanna, the movie, is a techno-fairytale, complete with a woodsman-like father, a princess with a secret mission, a lupine antagonist, a trio of trolls and, of course, a happy, friendly gnome. Modernism is provided not only by the plot but by a thumping, grinding and gleefully effective soundtrack by the Chemical Brothers; hyped up, Run Lola Run-style visuals; and Bourne-worthy action set pieces filmed with the art-house sensibilities of a director who knows how to balance style and substance, and knows when the former should be allowed to eclipse the latter.

To achieve innovation, to get something different from an action movie, the most effective thing a studio can do is hire a director who does not usually direct action movies. This is not to say that any director can or should be making action films. But directors like Christopher Nolan, Duncan Jones, Sam Raimi, and now Joe Wright, have shown that sometimes it isn't enough for studios and producers to think outside the box, that they might have to invite someone from the outside in and tell him to go ahead and rework the box entirely.

Hanna is an action film, but it refuses to be categorized as such, insisting that it feels just as comfortable slotted in with the art house crowd, the fish-out-of-water drama and, yes, the fairytale. Hanna is a deceptively inventive, enjoyably surprising, and ultimately entertaining film. I look forward to watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry not my thing, April 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hanna (DVD)
Another movie for my wife

I got bored with it after 30 mins my wife loved it ... so there you go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than "Salt", March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought I'd have trouble suspending my disbelief about a 14-year-old girl beating the snot out of people, but the movie manages to make it plausible. A good example of the genre; no Bourne Identity, but worth watching if you like action/espionage movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too artsy to be enjoyed as a spy vs. spy, Dec 5 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Hanna (Saorirse Ronan) is raised in an aortic type of wilderness 9actualy Finland) to keep her safe from the outside world until she decides she is ready. Once she decides she is ready for the world it may not be the world she imagines.

We travel along with her as she learns about family, friendship and love. She also learns about her past and we speculate on her future.

The problem is this film is way to artsy to just be a shoot, slice and bludgeon them up. It spins more time on unique music that is much louder than the dialog. Pictures of vast panoramas that is inconsequential to the story.

The Blu-ray DVD extras are the standard how it is made and whet they are trying to say and do not quite get there. They even made the cabin as a work of art.

Look up Hanna!

"The soul of man has been given wings" (Charles Chaplin), "The Great Dictator"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nice story-Great acting. Its a very suspenseful story. Even though the ending is somewhat predictable the movie carries it well. A movie I didn't think I'd like but which turned out to me liking it a lot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good flick, decent story line with enjoyable characters, nicely done. Well worth the money, I have watched it quite a few times now. Though a bit violent the wife even likes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hunting Hanna, June 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hanna (DVD)
I suppose this could be best described as a chase thriller. The casting is very good but the story line does require some suspension of belief. Saoirse Ronan is Hanna, a teenage girl raised by her father (Eric Bana) in complete isolation in a remote area of Finland and trained to be a killer. When her training is complete she is sent out into the world to kill Cate Blanchettt - an evil intelligence officer. Cate equally is trying to catch and kill her. The chase takes us from Morocco across Europe. As the movie comes to its dramatic conclusion Hanna discovers some shocking things about her life. The special effects are good and the movie draws you along well providing you don't study the story line too closely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating adventure with many curves & turns, Oct. 5 2012
By 
Charles Dimov "Vice President" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hanna (DVD)
A fascinating adventure ride that keeps the viewer guessing as you piece together the elements of the story. Unique plot, as the story of a spy thriller - with the protagonist being a child in early teenhood.

Great work of art with an intelligent storyline, with a certain gritty - real-worldliness to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, Oct. 10 2011
By 
Murray W. Bleakney (Ottawa, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Recommended good movie. It was an experience and thrilling adventure. The chemical brothers really outdid themselves with the soundtrack. Fast shipping and great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hanna, Oct. 7 2011
Director: Joe Wright
Writers: Seth Lochhead, David Farr
Starring: Saoirse Ronan, Cate Blanchett, Eric Bana
Release Date: April 8 2011
Runtime: 111 min

After living in a primitive isolated cabin in snowy European woods with her father Erik (Eric Bana) for nearly fourteen years, Hanna (Saoirse Ronan) chooses to accept a dangerous mission and leave for her destination.

All the years living reclusively with no modern comforts have been spent training for combat, learning how to survive, avoiding capture and the art of the silent kill. Erik has raised his daughter from infancy to adolescence for the sole purpose of Hanna one day meeting and killing a person detrimental to their existence.

Cate Blanchett plays intelligence agent Marissa. Long ago she headed up a program that altered embryos so later in life the child would feel lesser levels of pity, fear and other potentially debilitating emotions, with the overall intent of creating a more superior soldier.

Since the program was scrapped, there have been no known children with the specific altered DNA found living; up until Hanna appeared. Hanna is the only link to the failed program, and apparently her existence is a direct threat to Marissa's life.

The two must eventually meet for the matter to be closed. Who will prevail; the resourceful, tactful trained killer, or an equally resourceful intelligence agent and her creepy henchmen?

Interesting and vibrant locations, along with a memorable soundtrack, are factors that contribute heavily to the overall enjoyment of a movie; Hanna contains both. Hanna makes her way through a videogame-like subterranean enclosure, a surreal abandoned fairytale theme park, and the underbelly of some of Europe's most fascinating cities. Throughout the adventure, or rather very serious and dangerous assignment, Hanna travels through brilliant enchanting cultures and meets quirky characters that exposed her to feelings never before experienced.

The intertwining of the two worlds Hanna is exposed to; a world containing music, a real friendship, ordinary everyday items, and other positive aspects, and a world of violence she has been anticipating and preparing for her entire life, all make every scene engaging and engrossing. It's this melding of the worlds that makes Hanna more than an ordinary chase thriller.

When Hanna does actually become involved in a chase, which is a large portion of the movie and the running stops for a hand-to-hand fight to ensue, these fight scenes are exceptionally well done. There's a real sense that this innocent looking sixteen-year-old girl can actually defeat her stronger adversaries. Erik's fight scenes are equally realistic. The camera angles don't get involved too much and manipulate the situation to the point where it's all a cheap illusions. At times it really looked like faces were punched and stomachs were kicked. Combined, I think the fights in Hanna are some of the best I have seen in a long time.

Aside from the fighting Hanna also does a lot, a whole lot, of running, by which I mean after and from the bad guys, and for the most part it's believable, but there are instances where she gets pretty lucky and/or the characters get plain sloppy, giving her the out she requires to stay alive. There isn't enough of these convenient situations to overshadow the good parts, but their presence loom after the movie.

Hanna is the main character, but I loved Cate Blanchett as a cold, persistent and eerie remorseless intelligence agent plagued by the existence of this young girl. Her lack of emotion toward situations 99.9999% of the populous would consider genuinely pitiable just reemphasized her dedication to staying alive and covering up what was perhaps a mistake she wants to forget. It wasn't just her actions, but Blanchett's natural facial composition made up of sharp lines give her a stern, calculating and authoritative look not seen in too many actresses.

The Chemical Brothers provided the soundtrack to Hanna, and just as in Tron, whose soundtrack was provided by Daft Punk, the house/electronica type of sounds elevated every intense fast paced scene from exciting to exhilarating. The loud synthesized bass injected beats and rhythms played as Hanna eluded her captors were just awesome. If you like those types of repeating computerized sounds, than you?re in for a treat.

Despite all the positive notes, Hanna did have a few flaws, minor in scope, but they had me scratching my head in confusion. The lead henchman Marissa hires independently was described as a person she sees when things need to get done off the books, and he's the type who does whatever is necessary, no matter how vile and inhumane. But as the movie progressed his capabilities diminished and his ineptitude to finish what he was paid for were a bit of a bother. Nevertheless I still really like this guys whole persona; his creepiness and dark demeanor shown through, leaving a chill in your body.

I also wasn't sure why Erik raised Hanna for when she was ready and through her volition to meet her maker. If Marissa was such a threat to his and Hanna's life, why didn't he just leave the woods, kill her and return. Even if Erik and Hanna did leave the woods, Erik has been off the grid for years and Hanna is now a young lady, Marissa would have no idea what she looks like. If someone has seen this movie, maybe you can enlighten me on these points.

There is truly a lot to like about Hanna. A few inconsistencies prevent it from being a near perfect chase thriller, but I still highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc3b3ae40)

This product

Hanna
Hanna by Joe Wright (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews