Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (43)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the english patient
Fiennes & Binoche - spectacular. Can't leave for a minute. Captures all our emotions. This is definitely repeatable viewing. Love is so powerful.
Published 21 months ago by Mikey

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch
For all of you who have had your pre-order cancelled for this title, let Amazon.ca know how you feel. Bait and switch tactics are not acceptable. This title has been released with a new transfer and is currently available for under $12 is the USA. Amazon.ca has forgotten that the Canadian dollar is at par and has recently started to over charge on many other classic new...
Published on Feb. 4 2012 by B. Clampet


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bait and Switch, Feb. 4 2012
By 
B. Clampet (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
For all of you who have had your pre-order cancelled for this title, let Amazon.ca know how you feel. Bait and switch tactics are not acceptable. This title has been released with a new transfer and is currently available for under $12 is the USA. Amazon.ca has forgotten that the Canadian dollar is at par and has recently started to over charge on many other classic new releases .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointed, Feb. 25 2012
By 
Filmfan - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I agree with the previous reviewer. I ordered the recently re-released Miramax version of English Patient in 1080p but Amazon replaced it with the 2009 Alliance release which is a grossly inferior bare bones transfer(1080i, no supplements). I eventually received a refund but Amazon insisted that I had originally ordered the older Alliance version. Why does Amazon.ca even make the import American versions available if they're just going to pull them? I noticed they've done this same thing with Take Shelter, the Piano, Cold Mountain and the new blu-ray release of Adaptation. Poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the english patient, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The English Patient (DVD)
Fiennes & Binoche - spectacular. Can't leave for a minute. Captures all our emotions. This is definitely repeatable viewing. Love is so powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very rewarding, Aug. 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The English Patient (DVD)
I have owned The English Patient on video forever and it became time to own it on DVD. I have also read the book, so I really have nothing but praise. A remarkable movie with wonderful actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor customer service system, March 1 2012
By 
Will O'Neill "groceryboy" (Gloucester, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Filmfan, I believe the name was, you should contact them again. Amazon did the same thing with me (switching one edition for the other), but I was able to prove that they had done it since I had the e-mail from my orginal order, which had the picture of the correct edition. They did apologize for making the switch, and claimed to not know how it happened, but I have trouble believing that. Anyway, they refunded my order, and also gave me an additional $20 credit.

Still, Amazon should not change people's orders without informing them, and I wish they would educate their customer service on the differences between video transfers, being one of the largest retailers of DVDs and Blu-Rays in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OVER THE DESERT, IN AN ENGLISH PLANE FLYING ON GERMAN GASOLINE..., Nov. 10 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The English Patient (DVD)
Love and Betrayal. God and Country. Courage and Frailty. The whole range of Human Condition is captured on a canvas of infinite sands and beige dreams.

This is a breathtaking film that got the Oscar acclaim it deserved. A Modern Classic - people of coming generations will talk of this film the same way we talk about CASABLANCA.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OVER THE DESERT, IN AN ENGLISH PLANE FLYING ON GERMAN GASOLINE..., Nov. 10 2007
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: NEW English Patient (DVD) (DVD)
Love and Betrayal. God and Country. Courage and Frailty. The whole range of Human Condition is captured on a canvas of infinite sands and beige dreams.

This is a breathtaking film that got the Oscar acclaim it deserved. A Modern Classic - people of coming generations will talk of this film the same way we talk about CASABLANCA.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shoot down that Englander, Nov. 25 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Towards the end of the Second World War patients are being moved from one location to another. One mortally wounded patient is in such a condition that travel is impossible. A nurse traveling along with this patient finds an abandoned villa. They deposit the patient there and she waits for his demise before planning on catching up with the convoy. We also wait as the "English patient" slowly lets his history unfold forasmuch as he can remember. But wait someone else finds out about the English patient and is determined to help them remember. As time passes we are not sure that he ever forgot. You will have to watch the movie to see how it unfolds.

This is more of a psychological drama than it is an action movie. It's not that it moved slowly but it digresses as it moves in and out of flashbacks that you have to intricately put back together to find the full story; if there is a full story.

I have to confess that I have not read the book. However the extra information on the DVDs explains how they compared and contrasted the movie to the book; also they had to explain the differences that makes the movie work as it has to get a different sequence in place of the book. However not knowing any different I saw this is an excellent presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, Oct. 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The English Patient (DVD)
Sexy, romantic, heartbreaking film. Gorgeous photography ! Perfect for a date . Lots of action and interesting music. historically important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ralph fiennes at is best, Aug. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The English Patient (DVD)
sometimes we must give in love and go head first to feel... even when you know that you will suffer after
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The English Patient
The English Patient by Anthony Minghella (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews