Customer Reviews


244 Reviews
5 star:
 (201)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark gothic fantasy
In the history of screen adaptations of comic books, Alex Proyas's adaptation of James O'Barr's underground comic _The Crow_ is one of the finest. I like Marvel Comics a lot and I've enjoyed most of the recent adaptations of the Marvel catalogue. But in comics-to-screen-land, I have _three_ favorite Lees: Stan, Ang, and the late Brandon.
(Brandon Lee, as most...
Published on Jan. 3 2004 by John S. Ryan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE SIGN OF THE RAVEN ( gasp ! It's a bat ! )
THE CROW can be seen for its second half full of fury. Otherwise, this movie is nothing than a B production destined for the 12 years old of mental age. For the make-ups, go back to the BATMAN serie which seems to have inspired both the director and the producers of THE CROW.
No need to concentrate on the dialogs and the music both of the worst kind. In fact, I'm...
Published on June 17 2003 by Daniel S.


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark gothic fantasy, Jan. 3 2004
By 
John S. Ryan "Scott Ryan" (Cuyahoga Falls, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the history of screen adaptations of comic books, Alex Proyas's adaptation of James O'Barr's underground comic _The Crow_ is one of the finest. I like Marvel Comics a lot and I've enjoyed most of the recent adaptations of the Marvel catalogue. But in comics-to-screen-land, I have _three_ favorite Lees: Stan, Ang, and the late Brandon.
(Brandon Lee, as most visitors to this page will already know, died tragically as this film was being produced. That's a terrible loss and it adds an even darker edge to an already dark film.)
Alex Proyas, who would later give us the haunting noir-SF _Dark City_, here turns his directorial hand to bringing _The Crow_ to (heh heh) life. The film recalls all the best elements of Tim Burton's first _Batman_ film and, I think, outdoes its predecessor by quite a bit.
You probably already know the plot here. Rock musician Eric Draven (d'Raven; get it?) and his fiancee Shelly Webster are brutally murdered on Devil's Night (the night before Halloween). Exactly one year later, Draven returns temporarily to life in order to exact revenge on the thugs who murdered them. Which he does, very stylishly.
Dressed in Goth black and with his face painted white, he comes across as something like a vampire, something like a one-man combination of Batman and the Joker, and something like the old comic book hero the Spectre (remember? murdered policeman Jim Corrigan returned from the dead?). The whole thing is calculated, in the old Batman phrase, to strike terror into the hearts of evildoers, and so is Draven's remarkable healing ability: since his wounds close over just about as fast as they're formed, he's all but unstoppable.
Anyway, the overarching theme is that love is eternal, but along the way we get to see a lot of dark and gratifying violence as the bad guys get what's coming to them.
The cast and the script are magnificent. Of course the late Brandon Lee steals the show. But everybody else is good too, including the bird.
The cinematography is brilliant. Everything is muted into almost pure black and white, with occasional touches of red. The cityscape is wonderfully realized, fitting somewhere between Burton's Gotham and Proyas's own Dark City. And it always seems to be raining. On top of all that, the entire thing is lifted high into the (night) sky by Graeme Revell's otherworldly score.
If you like noir fantasy, don't miss this one. The genre doesn't get any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love the mythology and the movie, the cast and dark to it. I love this movie and i always will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cult classic, Aug. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crow [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
One of the best movies I've seen in a while, full of action and characterization from a bygone age when that was key to entertainment instead of more explosions and less clothing. Already a strong movie, it becomes even more awesome when you read up on its history. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, May 23 2013
By 
C. Whitmore "kicking_queen" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crow [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Even better on Blu-Ray! Brandon Lee at his very best before his premature passing. His father would have been very proud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars origonal gothic comic, May 6 2012
This review is from: The Crow (DVD)
i thought it all looked and felt very cool kind of like a gothic take on the comic book genre of movies. had its own personality and feel to it and held my attention the whole way through. i liked how he came out of the ground like a zombie and was a refreshing take on the revenge genre. good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD played it both on my laptop and DVD player, April 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Crow (DVD)
If you believe, truly believe that spirits will carry a sole back when something so wrong has happened it needs to be corrected, then this is a film for you. Very good acting all the way around. A nice revenge film. I watch this movie at least a few times a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sadly brandon lee's last film, Feb. 18 2012
This review is from: The Crow [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
A great movie made even better by Brandon Lee's brilliant ( and ultimitely heart -breaking ) performance, this
Blu - ray looks much better then it did on DVD. I still found it hard to watch at times, the Crow character and what
happened to Brandon are so intertwined but I thought it was his best performance and deserves to be watched.

Excellent movie , very dark , RIP Brandon Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ALEX�S CAPSULE MOVIE REVIEWS, Nov. 13 2003
Highlights: Brandon Lee's doomed performance, resonating dread and malice; astounding sets that possibly rank amongst the best in comic book adaptations (except, perhaps, the original Batman and Alex Proyas' later Dark City), non-stop full-throttle energy.
Lowpoints: Over-dramatized bits; lack of decent dialogue.
Conclusion: The Crow, famous for its protagonist's death during the shoot, is a startlingly uncompromising visual experience that will be cherished by fans of dark comic books, such as Spawn, The Punisher and even Alien. Watch it for its groundbreaking special effects, efficient rock soundtrack and possibly the most agreeably gothic atmosphere ever created in a film.
SEE THIS IF YOU LIKED: Spawn, Batman I, II, Dark City, Aliens.
DON'T SEE THIS IF YOU LIKED: Daredevil, Spiderman, or any other PG-13 atrocity out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dark tale worthy of Shakespeare, June 24 2003
By 
Spartan7 (Edmond, OK United States) - See all my reviews
No, I'm not kidding. Yes, I'll stand by what I just wrote. The Bard himself could've written a dark, tragic story like this.
For the uninitiated:
Our story begins with the brutal murder of Eric Draven and the vicious rape of his fiance, Shelly Webster, who later dies after thirty hours of emergency surgery. Detective Albrecht, the policeman assigned to the case, is determined to solve this crime. In the distance, the city -- which is never named, by the way -- is burning from multiple fires, as the city's lowlifes celebrate another Devil's Night with rampant destruction and chaos.
One year later, Albrecht's been busted down to patrolman for refusing to stop investigating the Draven/Webster case. Another Devil's Night is fast approaching. And in the graveyard where Eric and Shelly were buried, a solitary crow lands on Eric's gravestone and taps it with its beak, as if knocking.
And Eric Draven lives again.
Eric has come back to avenge what happened to Shelly and himself, and now he's got the abilities to do it. He heals from any injury within seconds. He can feel the thoughts and sins of others. Through it all, he's guided to the violent thugs responsible for it all by the same crow that greeted him when he awoke. Not only that, but we know as much about this crow and what it's done to Eric as he himself does; which is to say, not a lot. We don't know how this happened. We don't know how any of it's possible. We know Eric himself never asked for this, because he's just as mystified by his condition as we are.
The sweeping panoramas of the city itself evoke a feeling of Blade Runner, but whereas Ridley Scott's movie was a neon-drenched postmodern future, this one reflects the urban blight and hopeless decay you'd see in present-day Detroit, Belgrade, or Baghdad. In fact, this has to be the first color movie filmed in black-and-white I've ever seen.
This movie is magnificent. It's alternately dark, violent, and amusing by turns. And Brandon Lee himself is a wonder; he's utterly convincing as an undead avenger equally consumed by rage and drowned by grief. Neither Macbeth nor Hamlet could hold a candle to the character of Eric Draven, and it's a massive credit to Brandon Lee that he could pack so much into so few lines. If not for his tragic death on-set, I firmly believe he would've gone on to even bigger and better things.
Although, what would've been better than this is hard to imagine. And I can imagine quite a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE SIGN OF THE RAVEN ( gasp ! It's a bat ! ), June 17 2003
By 
Daniel S. "Daniel" (Geneva, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
THE CROW can be seen for its second half full of fury. Otherwise, this movie is nothing than a B production destined for the 12 years old of mental age. For the make-ups, go back to the BATMAN serie which seems to have inspired both the director and the producers of THE CROW.
No need to concentrate on the dialogs and the music both of the worst kind. In fact, I'm sure that THE CROW would have been a masterpiece if it had been shot in black & white and with a 1925 piano as musical background.
Correct special effects, above-average violence and interesting bad guys save THE CROW from the total oblivion. Alex Proyas will be much more convincing with DARK CITY.
An average DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3fa4e7c)

This product

The Crow [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual)
The Crow [Blu-ray + DVD] (Bilingual) by Alex Proyas (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 22.99 CDN$ 18.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews