Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Haunting
The Double Life of Veronique (1991)
Drama, Fantasy, Music, 98 minutes, French and Polish Language
Directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski
Starring Irene Jacob and Philippe Volter

The Double Life of Veronique sparks all kinds of thoughts, makes me cry, and leaves me feeling like I entered another world.

The film is probably the most beautiful...
Published on Feb. 29 2012 by Steven Aldersley

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but Over-rated
There are several things that previous reviewers here have written that are on target as far as the "artsy" nature of the film the nature of the interaction between director and actress, the actress herself, and so on. I can't add anything to that. What I can say is that it was this type of commentary that induced us to purchase and watch the film and, while it was...
Published on Nov. 3 2007 by Laura Knight-Jadczyk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Haunting, Feb. 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Double Life of Veronique (1991)
Drama, Fantasy, Music, 98 minutes, French and Polish Language
Directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski
Starring Irene Jacob and Philippe Volter

The Double Life of Veronique sparks all kinds of thoughts, makes me cry, and leaves me feeling like I entered another world.

The film is probably the most beautiful I have ever seen. The color palette is rich and places an emphasis on reds, greens and yellows. There are many instances of images viewed through things which distort reality: a clear plastic ball, mirrors, windows, reflections in glass and also a magnifying glass.

Music is a huge part of the experience, whether it's happening in the story or part of the soundtrack.

The first 30 minutes of the story concerns Weronika. She is Polish and a gifted singer. Weronika is so in tune with life that it's painful. When she sings, there is pure joy visible on her face. She ignores outside distractions such as pouring rain because she's so caught up in the moment. She makes love the same way.

***Spoiler Alert***

Unfortunately, Weronika has a heart problem and drops dead while performing at a recital.

The film switches locations and we find ourselves in France with Veronique. She appears identical to Weronika and both women are played by Irene Jacob. Veronique seems to sense Weronika's death, although she can't pinpoint why she is feeling a sense of loss.

This is a film about connections and feelings. Are we alone in the world or are there people somewhere just like us? Do we share any kind of connection? Is any of this controlled by some higher power, or are events simply random? The "coincidences" in this film are too frequent for everything to be random, aren't they? Room 287, a plastic ball, a ring, a shoestring, loving fathers and absent mothers, and probably a few things that I completely missed.

Kieslowski doesn't tell us what any of this means. We don't know whether the two women are related or twins separated at birth. It doesn't really matter why any of this happens. The film is intended to make us think and feel, and it succeeds very well.

I often wonder whether Jean-Pierre Jeunet was thinking of Veronique when he created Amelie. Although one is completely serious and one is a comedy, both contain elaborate scenes in which one character encourages another to seek them out. France features in both films and the color palette's are similar.

I can't make a sweeping recommendation. This is the kind of film for people who like to contemplate the meaning of life and their own existence. The narrative meanders along and there are no clear answers or startling resolutions to the story. It just is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, March 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this movie. The script was well written, the actors were talented, and the cinematography was very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great films by Polish director Kieslowski, Oct. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Director K. Kieslowski was not exactly a prolific director, and this makes 'Double Life of Veronique' all the more precious. A young Irene Jacob played the similar roles of two characters, one living in Paris and one in Warsaw. She was just stunning to watch. Like Decalogue, Kieslowski's film makes you think, throughout and after the film. Now this DVD sits nicely next to my Three Colours Trilogy set. I am sure these will continue to provide me with entertainment and food for thought in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but Over-rated, Nov. 3 2007
By 
Laura Knight-Jadczyk (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There are several things that previous reviewers here have written that are on target as far as the "artsy" nature of the film the nature of the interaction between director and actress, the actress herself, and so on. I can't add anything to that. What I can say is that it was this type of commentary that induced us to purchase and watch the film and, while it was interesting, at the end I felt that the alleged messages of the film could have been conveyed more effectively and efficiently and I could have spent my time better reading a book.

My husband is a Polish scientist and we live in France, so we have a certain perspective that embraces both worlds. He wanted to watch this one out of a sense of national solidarity, but his solidarity began to crack about 20 minutes into the film. Like me, he could think of many other things he would rather be doing than watching a Polish director "make love" vicariously to a French actress with a camera.

In short, if you like arty movies that focus on a single character with amorphous plot and dialog designed to produce a sensation of mild confusion, go for it; you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable, Jan. 22 2004
Some movies inexplicably stick to your mind and make you return to them over and over again. Just like "Unbearable lightness of being" this movie posses that quality. Nothing much happens in it. But little that does touches you in a very personal and emotional way. Beautiful, quiet masterpiece of a brilliant director. Definate must see for anyone who likes European cinema.
Red, White and Blue are also wonderful movies by the same director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough..., June 30 2000
By A Customer
There is so much to see, to hear and to understand in this movie. It truely is one of the most gorgeous and intelligent works of the last few decades. However, I am shocked and surprised to see that none of the reviewers understood (or mentionned at least) one of the most defining themes of this film. This is not only the story of two women who share a soul and share a destiny, but in parralel, it is the story of Europe divided. Two Veroniques, one in France, one in Poland. Both separated not only by destiny, but by two political and social systems, by the burden of XXth century European history. Remember this film was made in the late 80's early 90's when the world was changing rapidly in Europe, when the two side where getting to know each other once more. Veronique in Poland, suffering from her poor health, was like Eastern Europe suffering under the oppression and limitations of the communist regimes. Veronique in France discovering she had a part of herself in Poland, was like Western Europe taking consicence of the fact that Europe could not be Europe without its other side behind the Iron curtain. There is so much symbolism in this movie that points towards a larger, more universal and maybe even political message. Another thing that makes this movie so memorable and moving is the absolutely magnificient soundtrack. Rarely has film music acheived such perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, Oct. 29 2011
By 
Robert Lachapelle (Lachine, Québec, CA) - See all my reviews
Excellent restoration!
Really better than the original VHS.
Highly recommended.
I hope trilogy will be available soon!
Blue, White and Red.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars haunting and beautiful, Oct. 8 2002
By A Customer
This is perhaps the most haunting and beautiful film ever shot. Its images breathtaking, and its storyline one of the most ambitious ever. The sadness and poignancy of this film are overpowering, as is the music of Zbigniew Preisner. This movie will stay with you forever. Absolutely sublime. Thank you Mr. Kieslowski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Misterious and excitng, June 26 2002
By 
PAPA140 (Chambersurg, Pa. United States) - See all my reviews
This is a great movie for those who like a great plot that contains
a good story line,that draws you into the scenes that include strong passion and sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent..Magnifique..Brilliante', Dec 23 2001
By 
Christina (Boston, Ma United States) - See all my reviews
I can not hope to match the elequent words and descriptive nature and which they were spoken in the previous reviews. Nor will I attempt. After all why try to re-invent the wheel. If you like Romance, surreal enviroment, back-ground music that is always lingering, and touching your nerves, even without you knowing why.... then this is a movie to be OWNED.
You need to view this movie several times, to gain the expierience of what Kowalski has done for us here.
Its enchanting, and thoughoughly enjoyable. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1820048)

This product

Only search this product's reviews