march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars146
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$39.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VIDEO:

All three films arrived at blu ray with VC-1 1080p 1.85:1 encode. I watched these films with 2 trepidations. Firstly, Universal has a bad track record of lousy remastering, like excessive use of DNR (Digital Noise Reduction). Secondly, the films were remastered using the more primitive VC-1 encode, which in some circle is considered as the Rodney Dangerfield of video compression techniques. More recent films usually used MPEG-4.

While Terminator 2: Judgment Day might have introduced audiences around the world to the possibilities of computer-generated effects, it was Steven Spielberg's 1993 smash Jurassic Park that truly revolutionised modern cinema. Seamlessly mixing CG visuals and life-size models, this movie convinced audiences around the world that dinosaurs still walked the Earth, and in the process transformed the visual effects industry almost overnight. In Jurassic Park 1, many of the dinosaurs are life size animatronics. Close ups are generally animatronics while full body shots are mostly CG. The effect of this is that it gives a weight and presence that can often be absent from CGI.

I am glad to report that all three films bristle with fine detail, and the CGI elements look especially fantastic in that regard. CGI skins of the dinosaurs all look absolutely crystal clear, and the scales and reptilian textures on many of them are virtually tangible.

Jurassic Park: There is a thick grain pattern, which made the picture more film-like. There are fine details, like Sir Richard Attenborough's white hair and beard. The colour reproduction is excellent and vibrant showing off the greens of the island's foliage and the bold red and yellow of the Jurassic Park branding. DNR, if done, is not intrusive. (3.5/5)

Jurassic Park: The Lost World: This movie features a much more muted colour palette and a more refined grain structure, both of which help to serve up a slightly improved picture experience over its predecessor. Delineation is clearer throughout the film, and detailing never really feels obscured by the grain structure. (4.0/5)

Jurassic Park III: Jurassic Park III features the strongest of the encodes.The disc's fine grain combined with the generally brighter, clearer and sharper visuals (real and CG) register increased detailing and vibrancy throughout the film. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:
All three films come in DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1, which is all reference quality and truly electrifying. All three film's mixes sport brilliant fidelity, with absolutely incredible dynamic range, fulsome low end (with some absolutely wall shattering LFE courtesy of little dinosaur footsteps in the night and some great dinosaur roars), with well prioritized dialogue, effects and that anthemic John Williams score.

Equally impressive in all three films is the incredible attention to detail with regard to Foley effects, some of which being almost hilariously brilliant (the little clicking noise the velociraptors' claws make on the kitchen floor in the first film is a great example). Directionality is also spot on throughout all three films, and each film is awash in fantastic panning effects, especially when one of the dinosaurs lumbers into view. But even in more subtle moments, we get some incredibly smart use of the surround channels. About halfway through Jurassic Park III, for example, Macy and Leoni wander off stage left and their voices clearly travel with them, even when the main action is still anchored in front of us. Again and again throughout all three films "little" moments like this help elevate the film's sonic majesty as much as the humongous effects surrounding the dinosaurs do. (All three films: 5/5)

TRIVIA:

Jurassic Park I won three Oscars: Best Sound Effects Editing (Gary Rydstrom and Richard Hymms), Best Effects, Visual Effects and Best Sound. It has a budge of $63 million, and the Worldwide Box Office Receipt was a cool $919 million. And did you know that the glass of water sitting on the dash of the Ford Explorer was made to ripple using a guitar string that was attached to the underside of the dash beneath the glass?

Jurassic Park: The Lost World was nominated for Oscar in Best Effects, Visual Effects. Its budget was $73 million, while its Worldwide gross was $614 million. And if you watch really very carefully, you will see that when the T-Rex bites the traffic signal in San Diego, a street sign on the right edge of the screen reads in part "NO DINOSAURS".

Jurassic Park III had a budget of $93 million, but grossed only $363 million. The Spinosaurus was the largest animatronic ever built. It weighed 12 tons and was operated by hydraulics. This allowed it to operate while completely submerged in water. The effects crew used 250 gallons of oatmeal to simulate Spinosaur droppings.

In summary, Jurassic Park I is a classic and a must-own, but the other two are also entertaining. Both the video and audio are great, although the video is not top-notched. But it really doesn't matter when you start to watch the films. You will be totally immersed in the journey of the actors/actresses in the world of dinosaurs. It is a fun and exciting thrill-ride. After all these years, there are moments that still startled me, making me to jump up from the chair (e.g., while digging a hole underneath the fence trying to escape, the face of the dinosaur suddenly appeared from the other side of the fence!). It is total enjoyment for the whole family. Stop picking at the small deficiencies, but simply just sit back and enjoy the exciting ride. This Jurassic Park Trilogy is truly DINO-mite. Highly recommended.

Finally, I notice that Amazon.ca has a tendency to put many standard DVD reviews in the blu ray section, thus it may create confusion among readers, thinking that they are reading the blu ray review. Be careful, read the date and title of the review beforehand, so that you don't waste your precious time.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2004
Well... at least the first one did.
If you're a JP fan, this is undoubtedly one of the best investments you'll ever make. Not only does it include the Collector's Editions of all three films, but a bonus fourth disc whose material seems to stem from special features that were scrapped for the individual releases. The bonus disc isn't GREAT material, but well worth checking out if you're a fan of the series. I liked the particular featurette that covered the big rain storm during production of the first film.
Jurassic Park - Is there anyone who hasn't seen this movie? Can a review possibly help you? Ah, well. Nuts to it. Here's my two cents: a modern classic that jump-started the special effects craze and once again proved that Spielberg is the master of quality popcorn adventure films. If by some slim chance you haven't seen it yet, I'd suggest renting some sort of rig to remove that big rock you've been hiding under all these years.
The Lost World - someone (the name escapes me) once said of the Marx brothers, "Even at their worst, they're still at the top of their game" (or something to that effect). Spielberg's sequel disappointed many, but I really enjoyed it. It's not necessarily a classic like the summary on the back of the DVD case suggests, but it's still a rollicking good time. The cinematography, special effects and acting, especially by Goldblum and Postlethwaite, are great. If only David Koepp would have invested a little more care into the screenplay...
Jurassic Park III - The script has no real source material and Spielberg doesn't direct; Joe Johnston takes the reins. The result: a suprisingly fun hour-and-a-half adventure. The spirit of the original is thankfully intact and the pace of the film is competent. A flawed movie, no doubt about that, but it really surpassed my expectations (the title of the film itself suggests "rush job"). Here's hoping JP4 doesn't disappoint.
Well, there you have it. You've seen the films and wonder if you should invest your hard-earned cash on this box set. My advice? Go for it. Crank those speakers up, get comfy and immerse yourself into the world where dinos rule.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2004
When this set came out we decided that we had to have it as our previous versions were on VHS. The bonus with this set of four is the fourth disk with all the wonderful extra features. If you enjoy learning how movies are made the fourth disk, while long, is a great companion to the three movies themselves.
"Jurassic Park" introduced us to digital dinosaurs, and how fearsome they could be with modern computer technology. This movie advanced horror and monsters movie in a method similar to the way "Alien" advanced movies. "Jurassic Park" immediately became an audience favorite and the new standard by which special effects would be judged. Stephen Spielberg effectively combined in-your-face terror with special effects to keep people at the edge of their seats and in awe of the life-like creatures.
"The Lost World" unfortunately did not measure up to "Jurassic Park." Many of the characters were unbelievable and there were too many plot holes that were too readily visible to make the movie enjoyable from beginning to end. While there were several parts of the movie that were well-done, there were at least as many parts where the actions of the characters was unrealistic when considering how people in their positions would normally behave. The bumps in actions of the characters just did not allow me to focus on the plot throughout. Another problem with this movie is that it focused too much on action, and very little on the characters themselves. Thus, the movie comes across as more of a cartoon than a horror movie.
"Jurassic Park III" simplified the plot, added new dinosaurs, and allowed the characters to develop more than "The Lost World." The short length of the movie forced the movie to be more simple than the previous movie, and that simplicity makes for a good movie. The best new dinosaur in this movie had to be the pteranodons, though the spinosaur was great also. The characters in this movie generally acted as I would expect them to, and there were fewer outright acts of stupidity. Even the theft of a raptor egg was done in ignorance. So while it was a convenient plot device, you would expect something like that by someone with only minimal knowledge of dinosaurs. I was very happy to see Sam Neill returning in the role of Dr. Alan Grant. His character particularly is very believable.
If you have yet to buy all these movies, and you thought they were all at least good, if not great, this set is an excellent addition to a home video library.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2012
The dollar value of this trilogy was immense and these movies have been a family favourite for a long time. Excellent addition to everyones movie collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 28, 2003
This is more a review of the box set. My room-mate has the 2disc box set (before JIII came out) and I have the DTS edition of Jurassic Park. The difference between the DTS 5.1 on mine and the Dolby Digital on his is astounding. Remember that Steven Spielberg pioneered DTS (Digital Theatre Sound) and this was the first movie to have it. Do yourself a favour if you have a home theatre system and make sure you buy these movies separately with the DTS track on them. It's unbelievable. And with Spielberg signing on to direct Jurassic Park IV and Michael Crichton possibly writing it I would suggest staying away from box sets for the most part unless, like Godfather, you can be sure another sequel is impossible.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2002
Well, without going into the plots of all 3 movies, which I'm sure everybody already knows, I'll give a brief run-down of what's all included in this box set.
First of all, you get all 3 movies and tons of DVD extras with each regular disc. You get stuff like the "Making of's" and "How'd they do that" along with numerous stills of models and story boards. But what's most interesting is that even if you found that one or more of these movies weren't up to par with one or more of the other ones, then watch the special features of each film and you'll get a greater appreciation of each film. Actually the dinosaurs in JP:III were probably the most sophisticated in all of the films. One of my favorite NEW dinos in JP:III was the Velociraptor. New, you ask? Yes, new. Why? Because if you really pay attention to them in the film and in the extras, you really see that they have been totally redone for this film in not only appearance, but also in intelligence.
Also the 4th disc has additional extras for each film that aren't included on the regular discs. Some of the footage is duplicated, but not much. Did you know that the cliff scene in Lost World was shot along the side of a high-rise parking garage on the lot of Universal Studios? Did you know that a lot of the dino scenes in all 3 movies had both CGI dinos and real animatronic dinos? I dare you to tell the difference.
If you liked this series at all, I highly recommend this set for your DVD collection. It ranks right up there with the Die Hard Ultimate Edition and Alien Legacy boxed sets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2002
Universal has really done a fantastic job with this set of movies. I'm not going to critique the individual films. Briefly, I LOVE the first film- one of the all-time great entertainments that holds up to repeat viewings. The second film was a dissapointment, there wasn't enough new in the story or the effects to inspire the same feelings of awe that the first one did (but it does have it's share of exciting sequences). The third one, while nowhere near the level of richness invested in the first, is a fun and exciting action movie (with a lot of funny moments, too).
Basically, if you like these movies, this set is for you. Unlike many box sets, where the first film is the only truly 'special edition' and the sequels are 'movie-only' editions, EACH of the Jurassic Park films is complemented with a great selection of extra features. True, Spielberg doesn't do any commentary tracks, but Part III does have an informative and entertaining commentary from the special effects guys. The documentaries are great, too. On top of it all, there is a fourth bonus disc called "Beyond Jurassic Park" included that has a ton of extra features (some for each film) that are not on the individual movie discs.
Bottom line: You get a ton of value for your money. These are movies that are great to watch over and over again, especially if you have a 5.1 surround sound system (crank it up, that's what these movies were made for). Plus unlike a lot of so-called 'collector's' or 'special' editions, the features found on these discs are truly worthwhile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2001
I am a huge JURASSIC PARK fan. This box set is excellent. The only thing that disappoints me is that you can only buy this box set in widescreen format, and I do not have a widescreen TV. I am not saying that you cannot watch a widescreen DVD on a regular full frame TV, but it just comes out better if you watch a full frame DVD on a full frame TV and a widescreen DVD on a widescreen TV. So I hope Universal will come out with a full frame edition of this box set. And, you can still get the fourth bonus disc and the fancy, silver engraced box itself even if you have the first and second collector's edition DVDs! All you need to do is go out and buy the JURASSIC PARK III collector's edition DVD (in either widescreen format or full frame), and then there is a form inside the DVD which you need to fill out and send off somewhere to receive the extra bonus DVD and box. And there you have it! Now that I've got all that cleared up, I might as well write plots of all three JURASSIC PARK films. Okay? So here we go.
JURASSIC PARK (1993; directed by Steven Speilberg)
Starring: Sam Neill, Laura Dern, Richard Attenborough, Jeff Goldblum, Bob Peck, B.D. Wong, Wayne Knight, Samuel L. Jackson, Ariana Richards, and Joseph Mazzello.
Plot Summary: A wealthy business man, John Hammond (Attenborough), designs a top secret prehistoric theme park on a romote island in the Carribean. He invites a top paleontologist, the paleontologist's girlfriend (who's also a paleontologist), a top mathematician, a lawyer, and his two young grandchildren to explore the park before it opens to the public. Everything is going fine until something unexpected happens and the park's security dies down, letting the dinosaurs break free and it's now up to the humans to find a way to stay alive and get off the island alive.
My Opinion: I loved the original. Speilberg did an awesome job and this is one of his best films ever. The special effects are just spectacular and the sound is incredible. The dinosaurs looked so real. I own the video tape of this film and I must have seen it about a million times already but I still love it and I get a chill down my spine everytime I watch it! *****
THE LOST WORLD (1997; directed by Steven Speilberg)
Starring: Jeff Goldblum, Julianne Moore, Pete Postlethwaite, Arliss Howard, Richard Attenborough, Vince Vaughn, and Vanessa Lee Chester.
Plot Summary: Hammond still can't keep away from his dinosaur theme park. When he agrees to do some stuff for the public on the island, he has to go back. Dr Ian Malcolm (Goldblum) says that he never wants to go back to the island, but when he finds out that his girlfriend is already on the island, he must go back and get her off the island.
My Opinion: THE LOST WORLD was not as exciting as the first. Maybe that is, because I've only seen it on broadcast TV and I haven't seen it in a very long time. Perhaps if I see it again, I may like it more. But the dinos in San Francisco was funny. I forget much of this one because I haven't seen it in a long time. Still, the special effects are pretty good and the dinos are better than ever. ***
JURASSIC PARK III (2001; directed by Joe Johnson)
Starring: Sam Neill, William H. Macy, Tea Leoni, Alassandro Nirvola, Laura Dern (cameo role), and Trevor Morgan.
Plot Summary: Dr Alan Grant (Neill), claims no heaven on earth can get him back to the island of Jurassic Park. But then, a rich couple named the Kirbys (Macy & Leoni) pay Grant a large sum of money to take them across the island for their honeymoon. Grant agrees, but once flying over the island of Isla Serona (the *B* site where the second film took place), the plane crash lands onto the island and their two pilots are eaten by a dino. Then the Kirbys tell Grant that they actually wanted to come here because they are looking for their missing son, Eric (Morgan) who disappeared onto the island weeks ago while para sailing with Amanda Kirby's new boyfriend. Now, they must find Eric and get off the island alive.
My Opinion: I think this was the best of all three! It has a lot more action and gore, and better-looking dinosaurs. The plot is fun and straight-forward. There's more comedy, too. And the action is just awesome and non-stop! The special effects, visual effects, and sound effects are just stunning. The acting is really good, too. This film totally rocked! *****
~Hope this review helps!~
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2001
The Jurassic Park films are very good and are in this four disk DVD set. The first film was onestly the worst of the series. Still it was the first film ever with realistic special effects. Also it was the first film that showed dinosaurs not as reptiles but as warm blooded creatures. It was recently proven with a dinosaur heart. It also had a great idea bring them back with cloning plus great action. Yet the film has very bad scientific problems. First the t-rex vision based on movement was absolute garbage and even if the 1% chance of it being true it still would have sniffed them. Now the dilophisaur shouldn't have spit like that or had that frill. Now the raptors were to big, should have had feathers, and were too smart. Now to move on to the Lost World. It was much better than the first. It has a world were dinosaurs roam free. There was no vision based on movement no dilophosaur and the raptors were not as smart. It has intense action and shows dinosaurs as good partents. Problems, mainly Kelly she was the movies thorn. Jurassic Park 3 was about equal to the second but way better than the first. It has more dino shots than the first 2 films combined. Though not the breackthrough that the first was in movies Jurassic Park 3 has animation so good in some scenes you can't tell the difference between anamatronic and CGI. It involves the return of Allen Grant and how the is tricked into returning to the island. We see the raptors with feather crests. Though I wish they had more crests are better than featherless ones of the first two. Jurassic Park 3 has Spinosaurs instead of t-rex in most scenes. Spinosaurs was the same size as t-rex if you count the sail with more powerful arms but less powerful jaws. The battle was one of the coolest battle scene in the history of movies. Buy this all three films have great picture and sound plus lots of supplements. It will please you until Jurassic Park 4 comes out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2002
Once again a jurassic park boxset is offered but without DTS sound on the first 2 discs,so my 2 choices are:buy them individually and miss a tremendous amount of extras,or buy the boxset and the individual dvd's so as to have all the extras and the amazing DTS sound transfer.I know i'm not doing either,this is another outrage to the fans.DTS was included on the 3rd disc,was it too much to ask to include it on the previous ones in the trilogy.I'll wait until there is a boxset with all the extras and 6.1 DTS surround sound,it's inevitable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse