Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park: Ultimate Trilogy blu ray...simply DINO-mite...
VIDEO:

All three films arrived at blu ray with VC-1 1080p 1.85:1 encode. I watched these films with 2 trepidations. Firstly, Universal has a bad track record of lousy remastering, like excessive use of DNR (Digital Noise Reduction). Secondly, the films were remastered using the more primitive VC-1 encode, which in some circle is considered as the Rodney...
Published on Oct. 26 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DTS missing?
This is more a review of the box set. My room-mate has the 2disc box set (before JIII came out) and I have the DTS edition of Jurassic Park. The difference between the DTS 5.1 on mine and the Dolby Digital on his is astounding. Remember that Steven Spielberg pioneered DTS (Digital Theatre Sound) and this was the first movie to have it. Do yourself a favour if you have a...
Published on Sept. 28 2003 by Bricktop


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 1-good, 2-great, 3- [Terrible], Aug. 15 2002
By 
bryhil_04 (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This series was fairly good! The thing that made it bad was the 3rd movie! Everything I wanted to happen in the 3rd one, didn't happen! I was hoping the T-Rex would win and still be the bad guy. But no, it's some stupid dinosaur that one. T-Rex rules! Which is why the 1st two were good.
1st- They get stuck on a island with dinosaurs! Reality, no, but that's what makes it fun! The acting is good, special effects were okay, but that doesn't make the movie. But it also had a good plot, which held the movie together, and is why I liked the movie.
2nd- Better than the first, but there's always room for improvement. This one's funnier and better entertainment, I loved it! This one's the best, compared to what some people think!

3rd- Terrible, their suppose to get better, not worse! They depend on special effects in this one too much, just like Lord Of The Rings. But this was 2x worse! Skip it! Save your money and maybe if you're really bored one day and can waste an hour and a half, watch it, but don't bother if you don't like cheesy dinosaurs and dull characters!
Overall, the movies were fairly good, but the 3rd needs alot of work. The 1st and the 2nd were good and will always be, Jurassic Park forever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great beginnings, with lackluster death...., July 25 2002
The original of this trilogy is the pinnacle of entertainment, allowing viewers to live out their childhood fantasies in an amazingly realistic world of fantasy and suspense. It delivers in every category, keeping you glued to your television as you await the next twist in its amazing storyline.
The second in the series is almost equaled to the first, again creating the tension and suspense you've grown to expect. The effects are, once again, simply amazing, and they never fail to please the eye. The only drawback to this go-round was the weak plot line that undeniably was the movie's downfall. Straying too far from the amazing book ("The Lost World" by Michael Crichton), and culminating in a way that was surprising and disappointing. This film has more humor and a lighter tone to it, focusing more on the character's relationships than it did on the issue at hand.
The whole reason this review fell short of five stars was the third and (hopefully) final chapter of the series. Based on an original screenplay, not a new book, the story of this movie was weak and completely unbelievable. Without Michael Crichton helming the writing process, the story was far too simple and failed to impress on any level. It simply didn't fit. The effects were amazing, as is expected from the great Stan Winston, but the dinosaurs still looked unreal, due to a supposed "evolution". The action is tense but all-together too quick and painless, and the movie ended in the most horrible way possible. Far too short, and full of unbelievable moments this movie falls short of being worth the time.
The trilogy is rounded out, and raised from the dead as a result of the final chapter, by the extra DVD included in this set. It features the extras on each of the movies that somehow disappeared when they were originally released. It gives another in depth look at how the movies came to be, and adds another level in the excitement and wonder that is Jurassic Park.
Buy this set for the extra DVD, if that's your thing. Otherwise, just buy the first two movies, and rent the third. It's just not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park Trilogy, July 23 2002
By 
Paul Rowlands (Hofu, Yamaguchi Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD set is an excellent opportunity to obtain the three movies inexpensively and with a free bonus disc of special features. The trilogy is terrific fun, with some of the most groundbreaking SFX you are likely to ever see, and an infectious sense of wonder and adventure. All three movies have had mixed reviews, but like the Die Hard series they are all different and strong movies in their own right. Personally, I like the second film the best - it gets straight into the action and never lets up, is more hard edged and genuinely scary than the other two, devotes more screen time to the wonderfully sardonic Jeff Goldblum, and is a real rollercoaster ride. The first film is almost as good, and will always be a favourite of mine since I will never forget seeing the T-rex for the first time at the movie theater and being awestruck (I still am). I think it takes too long to get going and to explain the premise, but once it picks it up, it is relentless. The third movie misses Spielberg's touch (he allowed Joe Johnston his dream to direct a JP sequel) and is far too short, but is an enjoyably straight forward action picture, if a little too similar to the first (down to the return of Sam Neill). With some great extras (documentaries, SFX featurettes, trailers, interviews etc) that actually may increase your knowledge of all things dinosaur and SFX, and a DTS mix for the third flick, this is a great set (almost as good as the Die Hard set) that is indispensable if you love the movies. And finally, the picture and sound on each disc is top notch too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Jurassic Park Trilogy, July 12 2002
By 
Kristy M. Ross "Kristy" (CT, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Steven Spielberg's 1993 blockbuster is still the best of the Jurassic trilogy, and the film retains all the amazement and anticipation it had when it was first released.
Taken from Michael Crichton's thrilling novel, Jurassic Park is one Spielberg's most expertly-crafted films. The special effects are from FX maestro Stan Winston, who did the special effects for Aliens (1986) and Terminator 2 (1991). The seamless combination of CGI and robotic creatures creates some truly terrifying action set- pieces.
Despite what some critics thought when the film was released, I feel that all the principal actors give good performances, especially Sam Neill as Alan Grant and Jeff Goldblum as Dr. Ian Malcolm. But admittedly, the dinosaur creations are the main attraction, and Winston's monsters (which won him another Oscar after Terminator 2) are truly frightning. Great entertainment.
The Lost World is an exciting adventure starring Jeff Goldblum, Vince Vaughn, Julianne Moore and Pete Postlethwaite. The film picks up four years after the incident at Jurassic Park, where a corporate businessman Peter Ludlow (Arliss Howard) plans to take dinosaurs off the second island (Isla Sorna, where dinosaurs have been breeding) and bring them to a theme park in San Diego.
Spielberg knows what the audience wants; the film has more dinosaurs, even better CGI and impressive animatronic dinosaurs from the maestro Stan Winston. The action throughout the film is exciting and while not as astonishing as Jurassic, the effects are first-rate. Although the action is good, the story isn't one of Spielberg's best. That said, the principal cast are fine, especially Goldblum as Malcolm ("Ooh, aah, that's how it always starts, and then later the running and screaming") and Postewaite as Roland Tembo, a game hunter intent on shooting one of the Tyrannosaurs. Silly in parts, it's still an exciting adventure movie, with enough action and light humour to satisfy audiences.
Joe Johnston, taking over the reigns from Spielberg, has created an adventure that starts off quickly and hardly ever lets up. Sam Neill, returning to the role which made him famous in the original, is a stronger presence than in the first Jurassic, and the supporting cast of William H. Macy and Tea Leoni manage not to get lost amidst the barrage of CGI dinosaurs. The special effects are, of course the main stars, with Stan Winston's excellent dinosaurs surpass the ones for the original. And the plot (a bunch of people get stuck on an island with dangerous dinosaurs) provides plenty of great scares (a scene with nasty pterodactyls is the high-point) and fast-paced action to satisfy audiences. Great fun.
The trilogy DVD extras are first- rate, with superb picture and sound for all the discs. The special features are exceptional, with a 50 minute 'making of' of the film. Most interesting, however, is the footage of early pre-production meetings with Spielberg and the FX team discussing how certain shots and effects should be done. Also there are storyboards, production photos and web links.
The extras for The Lost Wolrd are fantastic, with a comprehensive 'making of', deleted scenes, trailers and ton of production info. The highlight on the JP3 Disc is the Commantary from the special effects team of Stan Winston, Michael Lantieri and some of the crew. Also, you get a series of 'making of's and trailers. Best of all is Disc 4 "Beyond Jurassic Park" featuring over two hours of never-before-available bonus material from all three films. Excellent entertainment that is a must-have for Jurassic fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent boxed set, May 8 2002
By 
Rhyl Donnelly (Winnipeg - MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
Obviously, the first film was great and everyone enjoyed it. The Lost World was okay, but didn't compare to the first. Finally the third, which I believe ruined the entire franchise. Thankfully enough, there is a new bonus disc that is only available in this boxed set with a few more features for the three films that did not make it onto the film's disc.
I was somewhat disappointed the Jurassic Park was not a 2-disc set. Instead it advertises that there is 60 minutes of bonus footage on both the first and second installments. Fortunately it is more than that. The Jurassic Park III trailer on the first 2 discs is horrible, revealing nothing, it only shows trees and a narration. I was also mad that there are no commentaries by Steven Spielberg, now that would have been interesting. JP3 is loaded with features, more than the first two flicks, most of it is pretty interesting nonetheless.
I would say that this set is still worth it in the longrun mainly because of the bonus disc, and being a fan of supplemental material myself, this was perfect for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life Found A Way, Jan. 26 2002
By 
Cutre (Mexico City, Mexico City Mexico) - See all my reviews
What's wrong with some people? I mean, it seems that power and money tends to make people believe they're gods or something. That's the case in Jurassic Park, where a powerful genetic industry, known as InGen creates living dinosaurs in order to open the ultimate zoo, somewhere near Costa Rica.
And that's how we meet the two main characters of this series, serious Dr. Alan Grant (Sam Neill) and paranoid and funny Dr. Ian Malcolm (Jeff Goldblum). They're both guests to the opening of the park, but as the chaos theory goes, everything goes south. The dinosaurs escape from the confined zones and now we have all hell broke lose. I am sorry to say that The Lost World is not up to the quality of the first Jurassic film, but it still has good moments and what can I say about JP3? I think it's best of all three movies.
This is pure entertainment and it starts with a very and plausible premise. It's just a sci-fi adventure, but a sci-fi adventure like this don't come very often. The two characters are very well written and once you see this, you'll never forget Sam Neill wearing his hat and Jeff Goldblum dressed in black. And I think that's a great thing to say about these films, because those 2 characters stay with you long after you saw the movies... not even the dinosaurs. Human touch, I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you ever wanted to know about Jurassic Park., Jan. 6 2002
By 
Well, without going into the plots of all 3 movies, which I'm sure everybody already knows, I'll give a brief run-down of what's all included in this box set.
First of all, you get all 3 movies and tons of DVD extras with each regular disc. You get stuff like the "Making of's" and "How'd they do that" along with numerous stills of models and story boards. But what's most interesting is that even if you found that one or more of these movies weren't up to par with one or more of the other ones, then watch the special features of each film and you'll get a greater appreciation of each film. Actually the dinosaurs in JP:III were probably the most sophisticated in all of the films. One of my favorite NEW dinos in JP:III was the Velociraptor. New, you ask? Yes, new. Why? Because if you really pay attention to them in the film and in the extras, you really see that they have been totally redone for this film in not only appearance, but also in intelligence.
Also the 4th disc has additional extras for each film that aren't included on the regular discs. Some of the footage is duplicated, but not much. Did you know that the cliff scene in Lost World was shot along the side of a high-rise parking garage on the lot of Universal Studios? Did you know that a lot of the dino scenes in all 3 movies had both CGI dinos and real animatronic dinos? I dare you to tell the difference.
If you liked this series at all, I highly recommend this set for your DVD collection. It ranks right up there with the Die Hard Ultimate Edition and Alien Legacy boxed sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Box Set ROCKS!!, Jan. 5 2002
By 
SpookyChick (in tha' world!) - See all my reviews
Universal has really done a fantastic job with this set of movies. I'm not going to critique the individual films. Briefly, I LOVE the first film- one of the all-time great entertainments that holds up to repeat viewings. The second film was a dissapointment, there wasn't enough new in the story or the effects to inspire the same feelings of awe that the first one did (but it does have it's share of exciting sequences). The third one, while nowhere near the level of richness invested in the first, is a fun and exciting action movie (with a lot of funny moments, too).
Basically, if you like these movies, this set is for you. Unlike many box sets, where the first film is the only truly 'special edition' and the sequels are 'movie-only' editions, EACH of the Jurassic Park films is complemented with a great selection of extra features. True, Spielberg doesn't do any commentary tracks, but Part III does have an informative and entertaining commentary from the special effects guys. The documentaries are great, too. On top of it all, there is a fourth bonus disc called "Beyond Jurassic Park" included that has a ton of extra features (some for each film) that are not on the individual movie discs.
Bottom line: You get a ton of value for your money. These are movies that are great to watch over and over again, especially if you have a 5.1 surround sound system (crank it up, that's what these movies were made for). Plus unlike a lot of so-called 'collector's' or 'special' editions, the features found on these discs are truly worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its worth the wait, Dec 30 2001
By 
R. Sanchez "booker" (Thompsonville, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We bought Jurassic Park on VHS several years ago, but when DVD was getting close my daughter and I decided to wait for the first two movies to come out on DVD, then we heard about a third movie and decided we'd wait until all three of them came out in a single set. Long story short - It was worth the wait and the Beyond Jurassic Park volume is very interesting. We're big Jurassic Park fans and have really enjoyed these great films on DVD. It seems common to rate the movies by preference so here it goes: Jurassic Park is still our favorite. Its just so in-the-right-time and in-the-right-place that the spirit of thing probably cannot be repeated. Daughter thinks The Lost World is her next favorite of the three, as for me, Jurassic Park III is my next favorite. For me The Lost World was too much of a parade of the dinosaurs, and I really didn't believe that Mr. Spielberg had his heart in it, certainly not anywhere near what he put into Jurassic Park. I got that feeling even before the movie was made while watching pre-release interviews with him. He said the audience wanted to see more dinosaurs and that's what they were going to get - and indeed we did. But let's face it, even a medium size effort by Spielberg is still awesome by any general movie making standards. Jurassic Park III was second on my list precisely because Mr. Spielberg turned the camera lenses over to somebody who could still get into it and at least attempt to bring back some of the real magic of the first film. Still - (true confessions here) - we watch all three of them over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jurassic Park, The Lost World, and Jurassic Park III, Dec 25 2001
These three films are truly a saga, but each have their own traits. The first film, JURASSIC PARK, generated fantastic, realistic, and the most incredible ideas ever written for a movie. Excitement and top of the line storytelling truly add to this film. As for THE LOST WORLD, another masterpiece was created. Special effects are spellbounding in this film and the story, although difficult for some people to follow, is truly well told by Michael Crichton and David Koepp. This film adds much more adventure than the first film and doubles in excitement due to the new film score mixed with the old one composed by John Williams. Finally, the third film comes along, JURASSIC PARK III, and adds sort of a dissapointment. Within the third film, the thrill of seeing Alan Grant return is portrayed, but the class to it is lost thanks to brainless writing from new-coming writers Peter Buchman, Alexander Payne, and Jim Taylor. A new comedey angle is taken with the characters and deletes much of the adrenaline to the film. Another factor that deletes this feeling of true excitement is the newcoming composer Don Davis. The score was not well done and did not fit the style to Jurassic Park. John Williams should have done this score. Had he done so, this film may have still had some class to it, but Davis's score was not the one to go with. It also would have been nice to see some better writers and many other credits. Joe Johnson has his legacy in other films, but this was not the one for him to take. This ultimately should have been A Steven Spielberg Film, and a better story should have been waited for. As for its addition to the series, I find it unneccessary. The only parts to it that make it great to buy and have for your Jurassic Park collection is: 1) It is a Jurassic Park movie, like it or not. 2) The science is true for the most part and you can be well educated, especially with the raptor call which has actually been done on hadrosaurs. 3) If you get tired of watching the T-Rex stomp everywhere, it is really nice to see the Spinosaurus jump in, however unfortunate to hear the film score by Don Davis ruin Spiny's big moments. For the most part, this whole Jurassic Park collection is great to have and I recommend purchasing it if you want to recieve chills of fun and adventure. Even though the thrid one is a dissapointment for writers and critics, some, like myself, just have to say "Oh hell, it's a fun ride and I'm gonna buy it anyway!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy Box Set [Blu-ray]
Jurassic Park Ultimate Trilogy Box Set [Blu-ray] by Steven Spielberg (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 74.99 CDN$ 49.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews