biss boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 17, 2015
Fantastic. Thank You.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2015
so many ways of making batman, so it's just another way, but batman is batman, all comes down to the same thing just presented in different ways,but still good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
REALLY GOOD.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Cool art and story
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Good Movie. But it's a better rental than own it. Unless you can find it at the price you'd rent a movie I'd say pass.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
Only downfall was that there was abit of damage on the backside of the case.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
Good
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
The storyline of the movie flowed really well and it showed the depths and realistic struggles of the characters. I recommend this movie any Batman fan than wishes to know how it all started.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
A wonderful adaptation of the comic book! Always fun to come back to the bat's roots! The Catwoman short story was also an unexpected pleasure...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4.5 out of 5

After spending many years abroad, Bruce Wayne returns to Gotham City to fulfill the vow to rid it of crime that he made to his deceased parents when he was a boy. At the same time, Chicago cop James Gordon moves to Gotham to start with the GCPD. Soon, Bruce adopts the identity of the Batman and makes war on Gotham's crime families, with James Gordon hot on his tail as the cop tries to take down the vigilante crime fighter.

I love origin stories. The mythology of characters, their history, their motivations, the events leading up to the creation of a super identity--all of it's gold in my book. Batman: Year One is such a story, giving you not only Batman's origin, but the chance to walk a mile in his shoes during his first year as a crime fighter. You get to see him test the waters, make mistakes, have some wins and losses, and watch as he earns the trust of Gotham's finest.

This movie is a down-to-earth story about Batman and James Gordon, very much a crime story versus a superhero-vs-supervillain tale. Batman deals with real world criminals in real world ways. You also get a glimpse into the hard life he leads, what he gives up to be Batman, and how he balances life as a fool in the public eye so he could be a fear to the criminal underworld at night.

You also get to see a different side of James Gordon, the marriage trouble, his humanity, and the plight of being a good cop in a bad town. His portrayal makes him every bit a hero as Batman in this story.

This flick is based on the one-shot comic book by comics superstar Frank Millar and matches the book's style for the most part, really bringing it to life.

This is a story of beginnings so the pacing is different than what most people are used to, and instead of having a beginning, middle, big lead up to a climax then end, it has--to me, anyway--more of a beginning, middle and then part of an end because it's really a prequel to all the other Batman stories that come after it. Which is fine. It works, but I remember going, "Is that it?" when it ended after I first watched it.

I'm glad that Batman's first year was brought to the small screen and I hope more first year stories are made for other heroes. Superman next would be great.

Recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse