Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theatre: A New Beginning
Whenever a band announces a change in the line-up, fans do one of two things; furrow their brows and declare the group off limits or become very understanding and realize that as time moves on, so do people's priorities. With the changes in the current Dream Theatre line-up, most fans should be quite accepting and after just one listening of this album, they should be...
Published on Oct. 28 2011 by David Rogers

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its not the new guys fault
DT is DT. Prog music for prog fans and that did not change with Portnoy's departure nor does it get any better. At least for now. Still over-extended on many levels the DT machine churn out a more rock oriented affair and one that has less of the harsh elements that were maybe present on Train of Thought or Systematic Chaos. This band is always hard to review. You...
Published on Oct. 15 2011 by CJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theatre: A New Beginning, Oct. 28 2011
By 
David Rogers (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Whenever a band announces a change in the line-up, fans do one of two things; furrow their brows and declare the group off limits or become very understanding and realize that as time moves on, so do people's priorities. With the changes in the current Dream Theatre line-up, most fans should be quite accepting and after just one listening of this album, they should be VERY happy. Drummers are too easily dismissed as legitimate muscians and for all the credit due to Mike P. over the years, you just can't help but say "the new guy is pretty good".
The chops from the band are still mesmerizing...long, extended musical journeys with lyrics that are both mystical and earthy...they are from the heart. The melodies and signiture time changes only enhance each piece and at the end there is complete satisfaction. A fine blend of rock solid Prog-Metal and moments of quiet introspection. A well made, well conceived album that delivers satisfaction over the whole album.
The DVD is a nice addition as fans can join the band in their search for the new family member. Yeah, some of it is contrived and feels like one of those popular television searches for talent but the insights provided make it a worthwhile 60 minutes of your life. This is a band who sees that the future can't be predicted but you sure can adapt to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Dream Continues!, Oct. 18 2011
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Prog fans everywhere asked the same question; Can Dream Theater continue without the mighty Mike Portnoy? The answer is a resounding, Hell Yeah! DT's latest offering sees the band review what is important to Dream Theater fans, a smathering of styles and textures showcasing four extraordinary musically ambidextrous individuals. Song writing remains strong with the added bonus of an improved mix that leaves room to hear all the members feats of insanity. Chapter two has officially begun for Dream Theater and fans around the world are in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its not the new guys fault, Oct. 15 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
DT is DT. Prog music for prog fans and that did not change with Portnoy's departure nor does it get any better. At least for now. Still over-extended on many levels the DT machine churn out a more rock oriented affair and one that has less of the harsh elements that were maybe present on Train of Thought or Systematic Chaos. This band is always hard to review. You either get it or you don't. And if you don't well then no explanation, praise or begging will probably change your mind. For those in the know, this is still top flight stuff. I found it not as instantly catchy as some other releases though. But I like a grower and keep finding reasons to go back. Which is really the point in the end. Songs Mike Portnoy wished he drummed on: Bridges in the Sky, Build Me Up, Break Me Down, and Outcry which features some ridiculous in-sync playing from Petrucci, Rudess and Myung.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is nearly perfect!!!, Sept. 24 2011
By 
Ric (St. Catharines, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I have listened to this several times now. I always feel the need to do this with a new DT album.They have been my favourite band since the early 90's and I have been over analysing their music for years! True DT fans know what I mean, we are all very critical and fussy listeners, always expecting the best from them. They are truly a musiciazns band. There was one thing that concerned me when I first listened, it was the recording of this disc. I felt that it was "thinner" than I was used to with a DT album. The drumms and the guitar were not as prominent as I liked. The layers and textures that were usually there in their previous offerings seemed kinda flat. The songs were very good and the lyrics were more in line with their early stuff. Gone was the growling and silly lyrics, replaced by thoughfully and tasetfully written songs. Sure it is a bit more mellow than the last few albums but that is good. It goes back to earlier, more progressive stylings like Images and Awake. I find that it sounds truly clean and pure thru my quality headphones. In this way I can hear much better the sublime moments and appreciate the nuances of the music. Standout songs to me are Outcry, This is The Life and Breaking All Illusions.There is not a single weak song on this outing, it is thoughtfully written and Mangini fills in well for Portnoy. I do NOT agree with those who say this is a rewrite of Images and Words. This is the best album they have made in some years and deserves a good listen thru good headphones to truly appreciate. I can't wait for their next album.They have truly reached new heights once again!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream Theater are back., Sept. 23 2011
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
While I've enjoyed every album the band has released, A Dramatic Turn of Events sees the return of that creative spark that originally made me a fan. This is easily Dream Theater's best album in almost a decade, and is the first since 2002's 'Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence' that really sounds like Dream Theater from start to finish.

There's a diverse range of music, with the band's melodic side shining brighter than it has in a long time. The heavy, light, energetic, and mellow elements are well balanced, and the band just sound very inspired, firing on all cylinders. New drummer Mike Mangini gives an excellent, highly musical performance on every song. Singer James LaBrie gives his best performance since the band's classic Awake album, and bassist John Myung sounds very creatively refreshed. Guitarist John Petrucci is incredible as always, with many memorable moments, and keyboard player Jordan Rudess showcases a very musical sensibility that compliments each piece.

One striking improvement over the last couple albums; where they had great moments, A Dramatic Turn of Events has great song after great song. On the Backs of Angels is a fantastic opener that sets the mood. Build Me Up, Break Me Down shows the band's returned willingness to try new things, and it pays off. Lost Not Forgotten and Bridges In the Sky show that when Dream Theater do heavy well, they do it very well. Both are very natural, and Bridges especially has several moments that you'll want to immediately listen to over and over. This Is the Life is a fantastic mellow piece that still brings the rock, and will no doubt be amazing to see live (as will any of the songs on this album).
Outcry has a cool vibe to it, and really gives the band a chance to let loose, allowing each of these virtuoso players a chance to shine. Far From Heaven is a beautiful piano driven piece. It's one you really just have to hear for yourself. Breaking All Illusions showcases the triumphant return of John Myung as a lyricist, and he doesn't disappoint. Musically, this song alone is worth the price of admission. It's a very uplifting progressive piece, emotionally driven, and will no doubt become a fan favorite. This is what a band who truly love what they do sounds like. Finally, Beneath the Surface ends the album on a more mellow note. Both musically and lyrically, it's a masterpiece. The emotion in this song is almost overpowering, and it really is a beautiful end to a fantastic listening experience.

Dream Theater are back. If you're a fan, you'll love this album. If you're not, just give it a listen with an open mind, and you're sure to find something you enjoy and can connect with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best in a long time, Sept. 20 2011
By 
I. Mitchell - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Dream Theater have returned with their first album since the departure of drummer and key member Mike Portnoy and replacement with Mike Mangini. Much as Portnoy is a fantastic drummer, I think his departure may have been a blessing in disguise; they appear to have escaped from the rut they were starting to get into and come out with what I think is their best album in at least a decade.

Dream Theater have always had both their "metal" side and "progressive" side; on this album they go back more towards the progressive end with a sound that is much less heavy than their last couple of albums (closer in a lot of respects to Images and Words). There's also a lot more focus on songs and melody instead of riffs and shredding. That doesn't mean the album doesn't have its metal moments or that there isn't any of the instrumental virtuosity you expect from Dream Theater - just that these elements take more of a back seat and the songs feel more cohesive. I particularly like a lot of John Petrucci's guitar solos on this album; he actually makes musical statements and retains melody in the solos instead of just throwing out notes as fast as he can. The keyboards are also a lot more out front, and keyboards and bass both have their own roles instead of just doubling the guitar parts. Mangini shows that he is quite capable of handling the complex drum parts; I think his style is a bit less aggressive than Portnoy's but maybe a bit more melodic.

It's hard to pick just one song as the best; there aren't really any weak tracks (though some of their fans may not appreciate the acoustic ballad "Beneath the Surface" as much). Breaking All Illusions is probably my favourite overall though - it has amazing variety while still holding together as a strong song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Would be five stars, but..., Feb. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The CD case I received was cracked in numerous places. I take great care of my physical albums, and this is very difficult to do so when the album you receive is already broken. Dream Theater lives on, however. This album is a monster; and I recommend it highly to everyone reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First album with mike mangini, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
After about four listens to the entire album, I grew to like the whole thing. I guess because I kknew there was a different drummer, I really think the feel of the album is different. Probably the songwriting has changed, since Portnoy had a lot to do with the writing before. It still sounds like Dream Theater, and is still great, just different !!! By the way, the DVD of the drummer search is great. I think they had thier minds made up before hand, but it was still fun to watch !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent album, May 11 2013
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The music is pretty standard for Dream Theater but not very spectacular. It sounds like they are trying to be more commercial but it just doesn't work for them.

I would not have really noticed the drummer change if I didn't know about it.

The special edition is a waste of money because the Video content is on Youtube in 720p anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Merci., March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dramatic Turn of Events [Special Edition] [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Merci. Super de faire affaire avec vous. c'est vite et pas de problème. Je recommande a tout le monde. A la prochaine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews