Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars16
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$19.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2014
The CD case I received was cracked in numerous places. I take great care of my physical albums, and this is very difficult to do so when the album you receive is already broken. Dream Theater lives on, however. This album is a monster; and I recommend it highly to everyone reading this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
After about four listens to the entire album, I grew to like the whole thing. I guess because I kknew there was a different drummer, I really think the feel of the album is different. Probably the songwriting has changed, since Portnoy had a lot to do with the writing before. It still sounds like Dream Theater, and is still great, just different !!! By the way, the DVD of the drummer search is great. I think they had thier minds made up before hand, but it was still fun to watch !!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
The music is pretty standard for Dream Theater but not very spectacular. It sounds like they are trying to be more commercial but it just doesn't work for them.

I would not have really noticed the drummer change if I didn't know about it.

The special edition is a waste of money because the Video content is on Youtube in 720p anyway.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
Merci. Super de faire affaire avec vous. c'est vite et pas de problème. Je recommande a tout le monde. A la prochaine.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
After what I consider their best album ever, Black Clouds & Silver Linings, I find their latest uninspired and soulless. The music feels generic, the guitar solos are forgettable (Please bring John Petrucci back from his sleep, he was awesome in Shattered Fortress), and the lyrics, cheesy.
After 5 or 6 listenings, I just want to go back to their other, better albums.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011 on this CD is even better than 'Metropolis Part 2'.
DT deviated on these two albums from the style established on "Images and Worlds".
"Metropolis" and "The Dramatic Turn.." are the most beautiful examples of 'melodic - sympho -neo-prog -conceptual' music !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 28, 2011
Whenever a band announces a change in the line-up, fans do one of two things; furrow their brows and declare the group off limits or become very understanding and realize that as time moves on, so do people's priorities. With the changes in the current Dream Theatre line-up, most fans should be quite accepting and after just one listening of this album, they should be VERY happy. Drummers are too easily dismissed as legitimate muscians and for all the credit due to Mike P. over the years, you just can't help but say "the new guy is pretty good".
The chops from the band are still mesmerizing...long, extended musical journeys with lyrics that are both mystical and earthy...they are from the heart. The melodies and signiture time changes only enhance each piece and at the end there is complete satisfaction. A fine blend of rock solid Prog-Metal and moments of quiet introspection. A well made, well conceived album that delivers satisfaction over the whole album.
The DVD is a nice addition as fans can join the band in their search for the new family member. Yeah, some of it is contrived and feels like one of those popular television searches for talent but the insights provided make it a worthwhile 60 minutes of your life. This is a band who sees that the future can't be predicted but you sure can adapt to it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2011
These four words are pretty much exactly what can be said about the new album. They bring a whole new level of musicianship and intimacy to the table in this release (not that they didn't have any of that before). Dream Theater is back to their original form; what some people would call "the way Dream Theater was meant to be". I am one of these people. The single, On the Backs of Angels is the weakest song on the album, yet it's obviously still fantastic. I was almost in tears by the end of the next song, Build Me Up, Break Me Down: The Dream Theater I knew and loved was back. Goosebumps ran up and down my spine throughout the whole album during the extremely technical passages in Lost Not Forgotten and Outcry, and during the intimate moments of This is the Life, Far From Heaven, and Beneath the Surface. Not enough good things can be said about the album.

Whether you're a Dream Theater fanatic or just checking out the band for the first time, this is a must-have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2011
Prog fans everywhere asked the same question; Can Dream Theater continue without the mighty Mike Portnoy? The answer is a resounding, Hell Yeah! DT's latest offering sees the band review what is important to Dream Theater fans, a smathering of styles and textures showcasing four extraordinary musically ambidextrous individuals. Song writing remains strong with the added bonus of an improved mix that leaves room to hear all the members feats of insanity. Chapter two has officially begun for Dream Theater and fans around the world are in for a treat!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
I'll keep this short and simple. This album exemplifies the fact that Portnoy's departure from the band allowed their creativity to soar to new levels, and they are flexing their musical talents in a way that brings them back to their glory days of Falling Into Infinity and Train of Thought.

If you're a fan of their older work, I'd highly recommend checking this one out. My only nitpick (and it's a small one) is that the slow vocals focused songs are not for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Systematic Chaos-Reg.Edit
Systematic Chaos-Reg.Edit by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 2007)

Octavarium (2 LP)
Octavarium (2 LP) by Dream Theater (LP Record - 2013)

The Studio Albums 1992-2011 [Box Set]
The Studio Albums 1992-2011 [Box Set] by Dream Theater (Audio CD - 2014)