countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 18, 2016
Great album and solid debut for new drummer Mike Mangini!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2015
HEAVY ROCK...HEAVY METAL...PROGRESSIVE ROCK...All titles which would adequately cover the band called DREAM THEATER If you are looking for a light MIDDLE OF THE ROAD FOLK BAND steer clear of this group. If you are looking for something to wake you up and get you dancing well this is totally for you. DREAM THEATER will have your blood pounding you eyes dilated, and most definitely will get you up dancing within a very short time. Everything about this group is energy including all their cover art which is right out of left field, I love everything I have seen so far. I am now looking to buy the entire library of their work.. They have been around for quite some time now going back at least to the late 80's, so if you like any of the brands I laid down in the beginning of the piece here you will most definitely like this group....Spigomars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
The CD case I received was cracked in numerous places. I take great care of my physical albums, and this is very difficult to do so when the album you receive is already broken. Dream Theater lives on, however. This album is a monster; and I recommend it highly to everyone reading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
After about four listens to the entire album, I grew to like the whole thing. I guess because I kknew there was a different drummer, I really think the feel of the album is different. Probably the songwriting has changed, since Portnoy had a lot to do with the writing before. It still sounds like Dream Theater, and is still great, just different !!! By the way, the DVD of the drummer search is great. I think they had thier minds made up before hand, but it was still fun to watch !!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2013
The music is pretty standard for Dream Theater but not very spectacular. It sounds like they are trying to be more commercial but it just doesn't work for them.

I would not have really noticed the drummer change if I didn't know about it.

The special edition is a waste of money because the Video content is on Youtube in 720p anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
Merci. Super de faire affaire avec vous. c'est vite et pas de problème. Je recommande a tout le monde. A la prochaine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
After what I consider their best album ever, Black Clouds & Silver Linings, I find their latest uninspired and soulless. The music feels generic, the guitar solos are forgettable (Please bring John Petrucci back from his sleep, he was awesome in Shattered Fortress), and the lyrics, cheesy.
After 5 or 6 listenings, I just want to go back to their other, better albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2011
..music on this CD is even better than 'Metropolis Part 2'.
DT deviated on these two albums from the style established on "Images and Worlds".
"Metropolis" and "The Dramatic Turn.." are the most beautiful examples of 'melodic - sympho -neo-prog -conceptual' music !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2011
Whenever a band announces a change in the line-up, fans do one of two things; furrow their brows and declare the group off limits or become very understanding and realize that as time moves on, so do people's priorities. With the changes in the current Dream Theatre line-up, most fans should be quite accepting and after just one listening of this album, they should be VERY happy. Drummers are too easily dismissed as legitimate muscians and for all the credit due to Mike P. over the years, you just can't help but say "the new guy is pretty good".
The chops from the band are still mesmerizing...long, extended musical journeys with lyrics that are both mystical and earthy...they are from the heart. The melodies and signiture time changes only enhance each piece and at the end there is complete satisfaction. A fine blend of rock solid Prog-Metal and moments of quiet introspection. A well made, well conceived album that delivers satisfaction over the whole album.
The DVD is a nice addition as fans can join the band in their search for the new family member. Yeah, some of it is contrived and feels like one of those popular television searches for talent but the insights provided make it a worthwhile 60 minutes of your life. This is a band who sees that the future can't be predicted but you sure can adapt to it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2011
These four words are pretty much exactly what can be said about the new album. They bring a whole new level of musicianship and intimacy to the table in this release (not that they didn't have any of that before). Dream Theater is back to their original form; what some people would call "the way Dream Theater was meant to be". I am one of these people. The single, On the Backs of Angels is the weakest song on the album, yet it's obviously still fantastic. I was almost in tears by the end of the next song, Build Me Up, Break Me Down: The Dream Theater I knew and loved was back. Goosebumps ran up and down my spine throughout the whole album during the extremely technical passages in Lost Not Forgotten and Outcry, and during the intimate moments of This is the Life, Far From Heaven, and Beneath the Surface. Not enough good things can be said about the album.

Whether you're a Dream Theater fanatic or just checking out the band for the first time, this is a must-have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse