Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARS 2 (5-Disc Combo)(blu ray)...Pure Video/audio excellence
VIDEO:

Pixar films are always spectacular on Blu-ray, and 'Cars 2' continues this trend with its direct digital transfer (1080p/AVC MPEG-4, 2.35:1 aspect ratio). Colour, detail, texture, and depth are nothing short of jaw dropping in every scene. What always amazing me in Pixar films is how, despite the fact that it's a cartoon, textures for water, painted...
Published on Nov. 2 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weakest of all Pixar flicks
The Cars series is definitely the weakest of the excellent movies put out by Pixar. I think it has more to do with what they have to work with. There's only so much you can do with a car.

Although, visually as usual it is fantastic and the details are tremendous. If you read Japanese, you'll get a kick out of the names of the shops during the opening race held...
Published 24 months ago by Brian Maitland


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARS 2 (5-Disc Combo)(blu ray)...Pure Video/audio excellence, Nov. 2 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Pixar films are always spectacular on Blu-ray, and 'Cars 2' continues this trend with its direct digital transfer (1080p/AVC MPEG-4, 2.35:1 aspect ratio). Colour, detail, texture, and depth are nothing short of jaw dropping in every scene. What always amazing me in Pixar films is how, despite the fact that it's a cartoon, textures for water, painted metal, paved streets, and various other surfaces all look photo realistic. Tokyo and London in particular will be a showstopper for home cinema enthusiasts. The bright neon signs contrast nicely with wet surface streets, inky black skies and shadowy alleys. Buckingham Palace and all the historic sites are so realistic. Pixar films are known for their attention to detail, not only in terms of technical achievement, but in filling every pixel with information. (5/5)

AUDIO:

The 7.1 DTS-HD MA surround track is pure auditory delight. While not nearly as aggressive as something like a 'Transformers: Dark of the Moon', this track is filled with bombastic bass, perfect voice work, outstanding panning, and an array of discrete effects that will suck any listener into the world of 'Cars 2'. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Miles Axelrod's engine (referred to by Mater as the worst engine ever made) is a 3.9 liter Rover V8, which was installed in Land Rover Defenders from 1994-1998. Lightning McQueen calls Sir Miles Axlerod "Sir Axlerod" several times. The correct way to address him would be "Sir Miles"; a knight is addressed as "Sir" followed by his first name.

In the Paris scenes, a rooftop sign is visible in the distance, for a restaurant called "Gastow's". The restaurant and sign are a parody of "Gusteau's," the restaurant that is the main setting of Pixar's Ratatouille.

Finn McMissile (voiced by Michael Caine)'s license plate - 314-FNMC - includes Michael Caine's birthday, March 14th.

This is also the first John Lasseter-directed Pixar film not to have a score by Randy Newman.

At the End Credit, I realized that voice of Jeff Gordon (NASCAR racer) was used for Jeff Korvette, and Formula 1 racer Lewis Hamilton as himself...wow!

It has a budget of $200 million. The domestic box office gross was disappointing ($190 million), while the Worldwide box office gross faired better ($548 million).

'Cars 2' takes a cue from successful sequels like 'Aliens' by changing genres. Gone is the ode to Small Town Americana, and in its place we have a spy thriller parody set against an exotic international racing tournament sponsored by an alternate energy fuel. Beside genre, the big shift from 'Cars' to 'Cars 2' is the lead character. While NASCAR racer Lightning McQueen is still here, tow truck sidekick, Mater, takes center stage when his fish out of water antics get him mistaken for a spy. There is much more action in Cars 2 than Cars 1.

From the trailers, I learn that the next Pixar film for theatre in 2012 is called Brave, while for 2013, the film will be Planes..in the theme of Cars as live characters.

'Cars 2' is an entertaining spy thriller/comedy with reference quality HD video and 7.1 audio. The film itself is very good, but doesn't quite live up to the other Pixar films in terms of emotional investment. Anyway, it is an enjoyable film with top-notched video and audio. Highly recommended.

My 5-disc 3D edition actually cost the same as the 2 disc combo. How come, you may ask? Please allow me to share my experience and some of the tips to get the lowest price or the best bang for your money, shopping at Amazon.ca:

1) Review the future releases to track down the titles that you want.
2) Pre-order the item EARLY...like as soon as Amazon.ca announced the date and price. In some cases, this price is the lowest (e.g., Steve Winwood blu ray, Peter Cetera blu ray..my initial price was $16.09 as soon as it was announced, and now it has gone up to $22.99). Of course you also have the Pre-order Guarantee, but it only guarantees the currently listed price (which may be the higher price already as noted in the previous examples). In this case of Cars 2, my initial price was $36.99.
3) Check the website often to look for special coupon. In this case, there was a $7 off coupon which I used.
4) Note down the price you have ordered. Prices in the website do vary from time to time. So check the actual prices often. The % discount ($ saved) figure alone could be misleading sometimes.
5) When you notice that the price of your pre-ordered item has gone down, check your Account Page. Normally, Amazon.ca will accordingly adjust the price to the lower one. But if this was not done, feel free to email to ask Amazon.ca to adjust to the lower price (as long as the item has not been shipped). In my case, the original $36.99 was lowered to $34.99. The final price at shipping was $27.99 which was now the same as the 2 disc combo. The staff at Amazon.ca is always very courteous and prompt in action and reply.
6) As I noted before, besides pre-order early if you know what you want, or simply just pre-order, because prices may go up after initial release, e.g., initial pre-order price for Star Wars The Complete Saga (blu ray) was $99.99 at first, but before release, it was lowered to $79.99, which I paid. Now it has gone back up to $90. The Force is definitely NOT with Amazon.ca right now. Other bargains that I got included West Side Story box set (blu ray). I pre-ordered it at $47.99 as soon as it was announced, and now before release, it has gone up to $62.99, a $15 saving so far...I can go on and on.

I hope my tips will help you in savings shopping at Amazon.ca. Happy shopping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weakest of all Pixar flicks, April 19 2012
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cars 2 (DVD)
The Cars series is definitely the weakest of the excellent movies put out by Pixar. I think it has more to do with what they have to work with. There's only so much you can do with a car.

Although, visually as usual it is fantastic and the details are tremendous. If you read Japanese, you'll get a kick out of the names of the shops during the opening race held in Japan. Plus kudos on getting the colloquial spoken Japanese right.

I just found the whole spy plot a bit silly and way too much focus on Cars 2 on Mater. He's goofy for sure but I wouldn't consider him the character you'd want the focus on.

The extras are nice. You get a Toy Story short where the toys create a Hawaiian vacation for Ken & Barbie. There's also an Air Mater short as well as in the previews is one for a Pixar movie called Planes coming out in spring 2013. The tie-in is obvious as it looks basically like Cars in the air. What's next--Boats? I'm sure a cute but grumpy little tugboat will bond with a snazzy speedboat in that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars overrated, Feb. 27 2012
By 
This review is from: Cars 2 (DVD)
I dont really understand why people like this movie so much. I found it one of the more boring pixar movies. I almost feel asleep. Same for the first cars. perhaps this just isnt my type of movie. Regardless I think there are better animated movies with more deeper meanings that this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Si a Cars le dí 5 estrellas..., March 27 2014
By 
Juan P. Gonzalez "100% Chapín..." (Somewhere in the World...) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 (Spanish Edition) (DVD)
... a ésta le pudiera haber dado 10 estrellas luego de ver la reacción de mi sobrino cuando se la di. Cuenta mi hermano que él no paró de ver la película mañana-tarde-y-noche por semanas! Esta película viene hablada en español.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars go mater, Jan. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 (DVD)
certanily plays to the strengths of the Mater character from the first movie
enjoyable by any Cars fan
targetted at that older pre-teen kid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Always a big fan of Pixar, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The main feature as well as the Pixar shorts are a must have for any collector of Disney movies. We keep returning to this movie very once in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 (DVD)
Yes again a must see movie for All age
All kids Well love the action And the story from this red car
Family night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived quickly, Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This package came a lot quicker than I had anticipated and was in perfectly new condition as promised. The movie is a gift for my son for Christmas so I have not watched the movie yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great laugh!!, Oct. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It was funny in Blue Ray and it was funnier in 3-D. Tow Mator wow what a character...and what a voice!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Différent de la commande!, Oct. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cars 2 (DVD)
Cette version n'est pas celle de la commande, elle n'inclus pas la traduction française même si dans le coin inférieur droit du dos il y a indiqué doublé au Québec. Donc mon fils doit écouté son film favoris en anglais ou s'il préfère, en espagnol... wow! Deux fois bravo pour cette bourde!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3c0b630)

This product

Cars 2 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 56.99 CDN$ 39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews