summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on November 25, 2011
This ten-DVD set has the complete sound output from the boys' tenure at the Hal Roach studios...the picture quality varies, but the restorations for the most part are excellent. Stan and Babe have never looked or sounded better. I would have paid full price just for "Our Relations", which is finally at long last on home video in North America. Throw in the foreign language (and in some cases longer) versions of their films, plus guest appearances and so on and you have a collection that will make L&H fans ecstatic. Packaged like a book (with extensive liner notes), it actually takes up less space than the L&H VHS tapes I bought years ago. As they used to say --- accept no substitutes. THIS IS THE REAL DEAL!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2014
Long over due! I have spent years trying to locate such a collection and now it has arrived! This is Stan and Ollie at their best working for the Hal Roach Studios. The picture and sound quality is perfect.

These two are the masters of comedy with a chemistry that will never be repeated.

A must have ...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2014
Have you ever been a Laurel & Hardy Fan and spent loads of time and money importing VHS tapes and looking through video stores that clam to be special just looking for those Hal Roach shorts you grew up on as a kid? Where you disappointed more often than not because they were unknown films? Laurel & Hardy: The Essential Collection is like Santa, the Easter Bunny ad the tooth fairy riding shot gun delivered to you the HAL ROACH STUDIOS Holy Grail as an overdo apology for all those VHS disasters! This collection deals only with the "TALKIES" but it is all neatly organized and YES there all there movies shorts worth every penny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 23, 2014
You get 10 discs in this set - the sound shorts and feature from the Hal Roach Library. There is a lot to enjoy and some nice extras - there are some commentary tracks on several films that, for me as a more casual fan of Laurel & Hardy, were very informative. I would recommend this if you have even the slightest interest in classic comedy. There's a reason these two have retained an avid following - they were, quite possibly, the greatest comedy team in cinematic history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
If you love Laurel and Hardy, you will want this collection. If you are not familiar with them, check them out on YouTube. As laughter is contagious, they are best enjoyed with a group of people. This cd collection is ideal for this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2014
it is very nice, but please, do not use my name publicly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2012
This Laurel & Hardy: The Essential Collection is excellent in every way. I can gurrantee you a belly laugh every minute. I have no hesitation in recommending purchase of this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
Purchased as a gift for my mother. It's excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
fantastic collection ...very good quality!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
It's a fine mess to get yourself into...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse