Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting
I was slightly disappointed because I thought this was the finale of the series but I already saw the first season , I just kept it and watched it again ,I guess the finale does not exist because it does give that impression at the end it will continue ,but it never does
Published 14 months ago by babywu

versus
50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Came-not-a-lot
I love King Arthur and his legendary knights, whether it's gritty "historical" stories or a pile of medieval anachronisms a la Malory.

But the once and future king has really gotten more than his fair share of rotten movies and TV, and the latest disaster is "Camelot." No, not the Broadway musical or the movie adaptation -- this is Starz's attempt at updating...
Published on Aug. 26 2011 by E. A Solinas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Came-not-a-lot, Aug. 26 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I love King Arthur and his legendary knights, whether it's gritty "historical" stories or a pile of medieval anachronisms a la Malory.

But the once and future king has really gotten more than his fair share of rotten movies and TV, and the latest disaster is "Camelot." No, not the Broadway musical or the movie adaptation -- this is Starz's attempt at updating the timeless Arthurian legends (which don't NEED updating), which just turns into a silly, sloppy and overly PC mess.

The evil princess Morgan (Eva Green) murders her father Uther, exiles her stepmother, and allies herself with her dad's enemy King Lot. But Merlin (Joseph Fiennes) is having none of this, and hunts down Uther's secret illegitimate son Arthur (Jamie Campbell Bower), who has been raised by an adoptive family in the country. With Merlin's guidance and training (in rock-climbing), Arthur claims the throne --and gains Morgan's wrath.

He also falls in love with Guinevere (Tamsin Egerton), the beautiful young wife of a loyal knight, and is deftly manipulated by Merlin in decidedly unmagical ways, sometimes with bloody outcomes. As young Arthur struggles to unite Britain under him, he must deal with Morgan constantly trying to undermine his rule and his power -- but with little idea of just how far she will go.

The idea behind "Camelot" is not a bad one, and even the rewriting of Arthurian lore (the origins of Excalibur) aren't that bad. The problem is in the execution. This series wants to be a plot-heavy, gritty, authentic "Game of Thrones"-esque story, but it's actually more of a silly, anachronistic BCC "Robin Hood" (complete with multiculturalism and modern feminism, which makes it doubly ridiculous).

Yeah, this is one of those series where the costumes, sets, perfectly-coiffed hair and even some of the beautiful scenery all feel like they were lifted from a Renaissance Faire. There's no feeling of timeless grandeur, epicness or awe -- instead, it sometimes feels like "King Arthur: The Legendary Journeys." Additionally, the main storyline is.... rather weak, especially since the straightforward Morgan's plans for overthrowing Arthur get downright silly.

As for the acting, it's a mixed bag. Fiennes is wonderfully conniving and Machievellian as Merlin, almost to the point of being villainous, Peter Mooney is dynamic as Kay, and Green is brilliantly wrenching as a destructive yet wronged young woman.

However, Bower's Arthur is a massive twerp, with zero presence or charisma. He's a skinny surfer-dudeish kid whose appeal is honestly a total mystery. I mean, his Arthur only decides to become king because HE CAN SCORE WITH GIRLS. Who can take that seriously? As for Egerton, she's painfully awkward and rather flat, and her character is Mary-Sueish to the extreme.

"Camelot" is a painful experience -- not just because it's a lackluster, weakly-plotted series, but because it could have easily been so much more. Give it a pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, Oct. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was slightly disappointed because I thought this was the finale of the series but I already saw the first season , I just kept it and watched it again ,I guess the finale does not exist because it does give that impression at the end it will continue ,but it never does
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not in the same class as "Merlin" from BBC, Sept. 21 2011
Camelot is a depressing version of the story of King Arthur. If you like BBC's Merlin, it is doubtful that you will also enjoy Camelot. This series seems heavy handed with the dark side of life, with little of the uplifting or encouraging side. Arthur is historically an inspiring character, whose nobility and courage are legend. This Arthur is weak, insipid and flat. The acting is a mixed bag - some quite good, some pretty terrible. Overall, not an enjoyable version of the King Arthur genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Twin Story of Merlin and Morgana, May 1 2012
I thought that this series provided a really interesting spin on the old Arthur story, essentially telling the tale from the points of view of Merlin and Morgana. Merlin is cast as a character with sincere doubts about himself, about his role in history and myth, and about his power and the dangers inherent in that power. Morgana has no such doubts and, in her ambitious use of her magic, she inherently destroys her humanity, her self. I actually liked the first season of Camelot more than that of Game of Thrones (at least until the last couple first-season episodes of that mostly muddy series). But as we know in the perplexing world of popular culture, quality and success are rarely twins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not recommended for history buffs, Dec 28 2011
By 
Jeff W. Fowler "turtle reader" (Ottawa ON CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really don't want to continue the process of watching this series because it was painfull to move into after enjoying Pillars of the Earth. They advertised as though it was in the same class as Tudors which, just by viewing the trailers I know it is a better series and plan on purchasing it very soon. If you have ever read Bernard Cornwell's Arthur, prepare to have the same disappointments. This item just became a re-gift item for the New Year.

Two Thumbs Down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Camelot - Awful, Dec 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was a huge disappointment. It was nearly impossible to follow the story and the movie relied far too much on strange special effects. As well, the lighting - even when the shots were outside - was dark. The acting, except for Joseph Fiennes, was amateurish - especially Arthur's sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it so far., July 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Camelot: The Complete Series (Uncut Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I haven't watched all of the series yet but what I have watched I like, looking forward to finishing the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Series!!, Jan. 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I could not wait for Camelot to arrive.
Now that it has I Am Not Disappointed!!
It's wonderful!!
The actors really do the story justice.
My only wish is a longer series.

If you like King Arthur and Camelot stories,
then you will Love this version of Camelot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camelot, Jan. 20 2012
This review is from: Camelot: The Complete Series (Uncut Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an absolutely fantastic series! You will not be able to stop watching it once you start so set several hours aside to watch back to back episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Nov. 10 2014
By 
Vicki Rigsby "Toby" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great series, if you love the med-evil times this is worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camelot: The Complete Series (Uncut Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 74.99 CDN$ 49.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews