Auto Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG boutiques-francophones Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars23
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$50.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

49 of 57 people found the following review helpful
I love King Arthur and his legendary knights, whether it's gritty "historical" stories or a pile of medieval anachronisms a la Malory.

But the once and future king has really gotten more than his fair share of rotten movies and TV, and the latest disaster is "Camelot." No, not the Broadway musical or the movie adaptation -- this is Starz's attempt at updating the timeless Arthurian legends (which don't NEED updating), which just turns into a silly, sloppy and overly PC mess.

The evil princess Morgan (Eva Green) murders her father Uther, exiles her stepmother, and allies herself with her dad's enemy King Lot. But Merlin (Joseph Fiennes) is having none of this, and hunts down Uther's secret illegitimate son Arthur (Jamie Campbell Bower), who has been raised by an adoptive family in the country. With Merlin's guidance and training (in rock-climbing), Arthur claims the throne --and gains Morgan's wrath.

He also falls in love with Guinevere (Tamsin Egerton), the beautiful young wife of a loyal knight, and is deftly manipulated by Merlin in decidedly unmagical ways, sometimes with bloody outcomes. As young Arthur struggles to unite Britain under him, he must deal with Morgan constantly trying to undermine his rule and his power -- but with little idea of just how far she will go.

The idea behind "Camelot" is not a bad one, and even the rewriting of Arthurian lore (the origins of Excalibur) aren't that bad. The problem is in the execution. This series wants to be a plot-heavy, gritty, authentic "Game of Thrones"-esque story, but it's actually more of a silly, anachronistic BCC "Robin Hood" (complete with multiculturalism and modern feminism, which makes it doubly ridiculous).

Yeah, this is one of those series where the costumes, sets, perfectly-coiffed hair and even some of the beautiful scenery all feel like they were lifted from a Renaissance Faire. There's no feeling of timeless grandeur, epicness or awe -- instead, it sometimes feels like "King Arthur: The Legendary Journeys." Additionally, the main storyline is.... rather weak, especially since the straightforward Morgan's plans for overthrowing Arthur get downright silly.

As for the acting, it's a mixed bag. Fiennes is wonderfully conniving and Machievellian as Merlin, almost to the point of being villainous, Peter Mooney is dynamic as Kay, and Green is brilliantly wrenching as a destructive yet wronged young woman.

However, Bower's Arthur is a massive twerp, with zero presence or charisma. He's a skinny surfer-dudeish kid whose appeal is honestly a total mystery. I mean, his Arthur only decides to become king because HE CAN SCORE WITH GIRLS. Who can take that seriously? As for Egerton, she's painfully awkward and rather flat, and her character is Mary-Sueish to the extreme.

"Camelot" is a painful experience -- not just because it's a lackluster, weakly-plotted series, but because it could have easily been so much more. Give it a pass.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 2, 2013
I was slightly disappointed because I thought this was the finale of the series but I already saw the first season , I just kept it and watched it again ,I guess the finale does not exist because it does give that impression at the end it will continue ,but it never does
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on September 21, 2011
Camelot is a depressing version of the story of King Arthur. If you like BBC's Merlin, it is doubtful that you will also enjoy Camelot. This series seems heavy handed with the dark side of life, with little of the uplifting or encouraging side. Arthur is historically an inspiring character, whose nobility and courage are legend. This Arthur is weak, insipid and flat. The acting is a mixed bag - some quite good, some pretty terrible. Overall, not an enjoyable version of the King Arthur genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on May 1, 2012
I thought that this series provided a really interesting spin on the old Arthur story, essentially telling the tale from the points of view of Merlin and Morgana. Merlin is cast as a character with sincere doubts about himself, about his role in history and myth, and about his power and the dangers inherent in that power. Morgana has no such doubts and, in her ambitious use of her magic, she inherently destroys her humanity, her self. I actually liked the first season of Camelot more than that of Game of Thrones (at least until the last couple first-season episodes of that mostly muddy series). But as we know in the perplexing world of popular culture, quality and success are rarely twins.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 20, 2012
This movie was a huge disappointment. It was nearly impossible to follow the story and the movie relied far too much on strange special effects. As well, the lighting - even when the shots were outside - was dark. The acting, except for Joseph Fiennes, was amateurish - especially Arthur's sister.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
I haven't watched all of the series yet but what I have watched I like, looking forward to finishing the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2012
I could not wait for Camelot to arrive.
Now that it has I Am Not Disappointed!!
It's wonderful!!
The actors really do the story justice.
My only wish is a longer series.

If you like King Arthur and Camelot stories,
then you will Love this version of Camelot!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2011
It's hard to imagine that so many people are awestruck by the historical thoroughness and lively acting in this newest interpretation of King Arthur and his land of Camelot when in fact it's just another 'run of the mill' production expected to rake in some quick easy money and then be forgotten about. The historical references are close enough depending on which versions of the story you prefer but that's where the entertainment stops.
The acting is absolutely horrendous, but of course if you are the kind of person who enjoys 'hit' shows like Twilight mixed with a bit of Virtuality, Merlin and topped with a slice of Real House Wives - Los Angeles then this pile of cow dung should suit your expectations perfectly.
Let me be clear, this is not worth wasting your money on and in ten years will be thoroughly forgotten by the masses.
Instead, I recommend a series called Game of Thrones, based on George R. Martin's fantastic novels. This is a story of constant intrigue, clever manipulation, deceit, death and lust for power. I admit the nudity and sex scenes are a little over the top as is everything on TV, but the depth of story, character development and setting are top notch and who doesn't want to watch a great actor like Sean Bean? I have of course read these novels previously and can say that the tv series does it's best match the books considering the scope of the story and magical elements.

Game of Thrones: The Complete First Season [Blu-ray]

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 4-Book Boxed Set: A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, and A Feast for Crows
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 28, 2011
I really don't want to continue the process of watching this series because it was painfull to move into after enjoying Pillars of the Earth. They advertised as though it was in the same class as Tudors which, just by viewing the trailers I know it is a better series and plan on purchasing it very soon. If you have ever read Bernard Cornwell's Arthur, prepare to have the same disappointments. This item just became a re-gift item for the New Year.

Two Thumbs Down.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 20, 2012
This is an absolutely fantastic series! You will not be able to stop watching it once you start so set several hours aside to watch back to back episodes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The White Queen [Blu-ray + Digital Copy]
The White Queen [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] by Max Irons (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 13.49

Reign: The Complete First Season
Reign: The Complete First Season by Various (DVD - 2014)
CDN$ 33.74

Reign: Season 2
Reign: Season 2 by Various (DVD - 2015)
CDN$ 28.97