Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings out the inner kid (and adult) in us all
I grew up watching these cartoons on TV, so many years ago when laserdiscs were popular I was delighted to buy a quite expensive set of laserdiscs with all the Looney Tunes cartoons (including the "banned" ones about the Japanese). Times move on, BluRay comes along, and I get the opportunity to buy another set of these cartoons in high-resolution for a fraction...
Published 2 months ago by Dr. Tim Parker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Box set had some damage to the case.
Published 1 month ago by Trevor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings out the inner kid (and adult) in us all, Oct. 17 2014
By 
Dr. Tim Parker (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I grew up watching these cartoons on TV, so many years ago when laserdiscs were popular I was delighted to buy a quite expensive set of laserdiscs with all the Looney Tunes cartoons (including the "banned" ones about the Japanese). Times move on, BluRay comes along, and I get the opportunity to buy another set of these cartoons in high-resolution for a fraction of the price of the laserdisc set!

The quality is excellent throughout. Despite their age, even the early Bugs Bunny cartoons look good through BluRay. The color saturation is solid, the sound is good, and the cartoons still get a giggle. I love starting at the earliest shorts in the set and seeing the evolution of the characters through time, including the first introductions of some of the beloved characters like Sam and Elmer. Sitting through these cartoons, a few at a time, brought back memories, quite a few chuckles, and an appreciation for what the creators did for the genre of cartoons (Saturday morning binges!) and humour. Looking at some of these through much-aged eyes now, I can pick up on different levels of humour built into the series, as well as the rich music score.

I've had a blast sitting through these discs, and while I don't have any kids to watch them with, my wife was as enthralled as I was. Yes, we've probably seen them all before, but having them together in high quality is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classics from a Golden Era, Dec 9 2011
By 
Mike Kenwell (Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume One (Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I absolutely love having this DVD set. Nowadays, whenever you watch "The Bugs Bunny & Tweety Show," you get the same cycle of watered-down, ultra-politically correct cartoons.

This set reminds me of what cartoons were about. The music, and special features regarding music are unreal! Each feature had amazing orchestration, animation as well as voice work. Speaking of voices, Mel Blanc is in fine form as always.

I feel like this set is more for die-hards rather than just the casual fan. Regardless, the enjoyment that it has provided myself and my family make it well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's nice to see these old cartoons, Feb. 24 2014
By 
D. Milton (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume One (Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's nice to see these old cartoons in uncut fashion. Better than the politically correct sanitized versions shown on TV as it is honest to the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Vol. 1 (Ultimate): a superb collection of 50 shorts, bringing back happy memories!, Jan. 19 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume One (Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33.:1 encode. This is a collection of 50 of the most famous shorts, spread over 2 discs. Disc one is comprised of familiar characters, chiefly Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck. Disc two is home to some of the more obscure, yet memorable characters that we've seen over the years. Taz, Marvin the Martian, Witch Hazel, Ralph Phillips and Marc Anthony all get their chances to shine. All the shorts varied from 50 to 70 years old. Because of the age of the original print, nicks, scratches, scuffs, dirt, dust and marks occasionally appear. However, each imperfection is inherent to the original source and animation cels, and has little or nothing to do with the tender, loving, restorative care Warner has afforded the various shorts. The palette is alive and kicking, with bright, vibrant colours, vivid primaries and inky blacks drizzled from the animators' pens. Every last detail and flick of the wrist is present and accounted for as well, and it holds up well under high definition scrutiny. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection has no lossless DTS Mono track. Instead, we were given Dolby Digital Mono track. It isn't terrible, but audiophiles and 'Looney Tunes' fans alike are going to be disappointed that they don't have a lossless track to go along with their favorite cartoons. The mix handles the frantic action on screen with relative success. Dialogue is clear, although it's sometimes hampered by cracks and hisses. It's easy to tell the age of these soundtracks from the tinny sound that they give off from time to time. (3/5)

CONTENT:

The set that I purchased (while it was on sale) is the Limited Edition (21668 of 36000). There are three blu ray BD-50 discs, with an excellent 52-page Blu ray Book with rare images and Cartoon Guide by Historian Jerry Beck, plus the following goodies: a framed litho cel with certificate of authenticity, a souvenir tin sign, plus a 2.5 oz character collectible glass (mine was Bugs Bunny). Wonderful! (content: 5/5)

Disc 1: (1) Hare Tonic (2) Baseball Bugs (3) Buccaneer Bunny (4) The Old Grey Hare (5) Rabbit Hood (6) 8 Ball Bunny (7) Rabbit Of Seville (8) What’s Opera, Doc? (9) The Great Piggy Bank Robbery (10) A Pest In The House (11) The Scarlet Pumpernickel (12) Duck Amuck (13) Robin Hood Daffy (14) Baby Bottleneck (15) Kitty Kornered (16) Scaredy Cat (17) Porky Chops (18) Old Glory (19) A Tale Of Two Kitties (20) Tweetie Pie (21) Fast And Furry-ous (22) Beep, Beep (23) Lovelorn Leghorn (24) For Scent-imental Reasons (25) Speedy Gonzales (plus six Extra Features)

Disc 2: Six One Shot Classics: (1) One Froggy Evening (2) The Three Little Bops (3) I Love To Singa (4) Katnip Kollege (5) The Dover Boys at Pimento University (6) Chow Hound; The Complete Marvin The Martin: (7) Haredevil Hare (8) The Hasty Hare (9) Duck Dodgers In The 241/2th Century (10) Hare-Way To The Stars (11) Mad As A Mars Hare; The Complete Tasmanian Devil: (12) Devil May Hare (13) Bedevilled Rabbit (14) Ducking The Devil (15) Bill Of Hare (16) Dr. Devil And Mr. Hare; The Complete Witch Hazel: (17) Bewitched Bunny (18) Broom-Stick Bunny (19) A Witch’s Tangled Hare (20) A-Haunting We Will Go; The Complete Marc Anthony: (21) Feed The Kitty (22) Kiss Me Kat (23) Feline Frame-Up; The Complete Ralph Phillips: (24) From A To Z-Z-Z-Z (25) Boyhood Daze; (plus five Extra Features)

Disc 3: Over 5 hours of Content Saluting Animator Chuck Jones, including a Greeting from the Master, insightful Documentaries and Additional Rare and Unique Shorts from Jones and others.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember vividly that when I was a young kid, I always had the anticipation of any Looney Tunes cartoons before the Main Feature, and thoroughly enjoyed those shorts. As far as this set is concerned, yes, it is a little disappointing that Warner Bros. stuck us with another lossy audio, but the rest of the collection is superb, including the exhausting array of special features, documentaries, and bonus cartoons. Looney Tunes should be enjoyed by many generations to come. I also appreciate and treasure those extra goodies that came with this Ultimate Collector’s Edition. At 71% off, the price is certainly right. If you don't want those extra goodies, you can also get the regular edition for $4 less. Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Volume 1 (regular or Collector’s edition) is highly recommended for fans and casual viewers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome little collection, Nov. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome little collection. I got these for my daughter and she enjoys them as much as I did 20+ years ago.

They are not remastered from what I can tell but are still very good audio/video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cartoons, excellent price, Nov. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great cartoons, excellent price. I bought volume 2 at the same time. Waiting for volume 3 to go on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Classic fun as it was meant to be seen. These were the golden age of Cartoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
many hours of memories watching these in past excellent quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Vol. 1 (regular): a superb collection of 50 shorts, bringing back happy memories!, Jan. 19 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33.:1 encode. This is a collection of 50 of the most famous shorts, spread over 2 discs. Disc one is comprised of familiar characters, chiefly Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck. Disc two is home to some of the more obscure, yet memorable characters that we've seen over the years. Taz, Marvin the Martian, Witch Hazel, Ralph Phillips and Marc Anthony all get their chances to shine. All the shorts varied from 50 to 70 years old. Because of the age of the original print, nicks, scratches, scuffs, dirt, dust and marks occasionally appear. However, each imperfection is inherent to the original source and animation cels, and has little or nothing to do with the tender, loving, restorative care Warner has afforded the various shorts. The palette is alive and kicking, with bright, vibrant colours, vivid primaries and inky blacks drizzled from the animators' pens. Every last detail and flick of the wrist is present and accounted for as well, and it holds up well under high definition scrutiny. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection has no lossless DTS Mono track. Instead, we were given Dolby Digital Mono track. It isn't terrible, but audiophiles and 'Looney Tunes' fans alike are going to be disappointed that they don't have a lossless track to go along with their favorite cartoons. The mix handles the frantic action on screen with relative success. Dialogue is clear, although it's sometimes hampered by cracks and hisses. It's easy to tell the age of these soundtracks from the tinny sound that they give off from time to time. (3/5)

CONTENT:

The regular set consists of three blu ray BD-50 discs, with an excellent 52-page Blu ray Book with rare images and Cartoon Guide by Historian Jerry Beck. (content: 5/5)

Disc 1: (1) Hare Tonic (2) Baseball Bugs (3) Buccaneer Bunny (4) The Old Grey Hare (5) Rabbit Hood (6) 8 Ball Bunny (7) Rabbit Of Seville (8) What’s Opera, Doc? (9) The Great Piggy Bank Robbery (10) A Pest In The House (11) The Scarlet Pumpernickel (12) Duck Amuck (13) Robin Hood Daffy (14) Baby Bottleneck (15) Kitty Kornered (16) Scaredy Cat (17) Porky Chops (18) Old Glory (19) A Tale Of Two Kitties (20) Tweetie Pie (21) Fast And Furry-ous (22) Beep, Beep (23) Lovelorn Leghorn (24) For Scent-imental Reasons (25) Speedy Gonzales (plus six Extra Features)

Disc 2: Six One Shot Classics: (1) One Froggy Evening (2) The Three Little Bops (3) I Love To Singa (4) Katnip Kollege (5) The Dover Boys at Pimento University (6) Chow Hound; The Complete Marvin The Martin: (7) Haredevil Hare (8) The Hasty Hare (9) Duck Dodgers In The 241/2th Century (10) Hare-Way To The Stars (11) Mad As A Mars Hare; The Complete Tasmanian Devil: (12) Devil May Hare (13) Bedevilled Rabbit (14) Ducking The Devil (15) Bill Of Hare (16) Dr. Devil And Mr. Hare; The Complete Witch Hazel: (17) Bewitched Bunny (18) Broom-Stick Bunny (19) A Witch’s Tangled Hare (20) A-Haunting We Will Go; The Complete Marc Anthony: (21) Feed The Kitty (22) Kiss Me Kat (23) Feline Frame-Up; The Complete Ralph Phillips: (24) From A To Z-Z-Z-Z (25) Boyhood Daze; (plus five Extra Features)

Disc 3: Over 5 hours of Content Saluting Animator Chuck Jones, including a Greeting from the Master, insightful Documentaries and Additional Rare and Unique Shorts from Jones and others.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I still remember vividly that when I was a young kid, I always had the anticipation of any Looney Tunes cartoons before the Main Feature, and thoroughly enjoyed those shorts. As far as this set is concerned, yes, it is a little disappointing that Warner Bros. stuck us with another lossy audio, but the rest of the collection is superb, including the exhausting array of special features, documentaries, and bonus cartoons. Looney Tunes should be enjoyed by many generations to come. Looney Tunes Platinum Collection Volume 1 is highly recommended for fans and casual viewers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what's up doc, July 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes the good old days when cartoons were cartoons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume One (Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 86.15 CDN$ 73.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews