Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series
Great movie liked the actors and the story line. Liked the whole series and this fits right in. Can't wait until the next 1 comes out
Published on Jan. 5 2013 by Peter Nadeau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was ok.
It was an ok movie. Not the greatest of them all. A little confusing with the Professors character, but it told the story of the x-men when they were younger.
Published 20 months ago by Lisa Derouchie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Series, Jan. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Great movie liked the actors and the story line. Liked the whole series and this fits right in. Can't wait until the next 1 comes out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertainting from start to finish. . ., April 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Great acting by all. Enjoyable and entertaining. Good plot and tie in nicely with the the later sequal of the series, we have seen earlier. Gut wrentching special effects. Very well done! I wish there were more. .. Look forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top Marvel movie to date!, Jan. 28 2012
By 
Q. T. Vo (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie is carried by the characters of Magneto, Charles Xavier and Mystique! They are very well played by the actors, especially Michael Fassbender that gives a very emotional and nuanced performance!

It could have been just another excuse to jam several x-men characters in a movie to make money, but instead, we started with characters at their beginning and slowly added layers to their motivations and past! What this does is to efficiently make us care for those characters. There are several dimensions to them. Magneto is not all bad. Xavier is not perfect. Mystique simply wanted to be accepted for being her true self. Because these are things that we all share in our daily lives, we are therefore able to relate to them!

Kudos to the writers and directors of this movie! They made something deeper, instead of the usual run-of-the-mill attempt at using and merging big name just to make a quick dollar!

Sure, there are lesser characters that are not as well played, but they are so secondary that it doesn't really bring anything down.

Well worth getting this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, July 13 2013
By 
Michelle McColm (Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Absolutely love this movie. I really enjoyed how it shows how Magneto and Professor Xavier become friends/partners. I've watched this movie like 4 times and I still can't get enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men: First on my List!, July 5 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
4.5 out of 5

After writing a thesis on mutation, university student Charles Xavier is approached by the CIA for his expertise on the subject as they’ve been tracking the villain Sebastian Shaw, who keeps mutant company. Once convincing the CIA mutants exist, Charles begins to form a team of mutants to go up against Shaw before he can execute his plans to start a third World War.

Loaded with thrills, excitement, stunning SFX, fun cameos and a strong story, X-Men: First Class is an amazing prequel to the X-Men films that won’t leave you disappointed.

X-Men: First Class is one of my favorites. It was also a good chance to kind of give the X-franchise a boost after X-Men: The Last Stand. What was cool about First Class is it takes place in the same universe on the same timeline and is indeed a true prequel to the X-franchise we all know and love. Yes, there are some continuity flaws, but overall the whole thing flows. Besides, any other bumps that need ironing out can always be fixed with the upcoming X-Men: Days of Future Past as, well, time travel fixes everything.

The two main characters in this are Wolverine and . . . wait, kidding, it’s Professor X (James McAvoy) and Magneto (Michael Fassbender), and this story goes way back to when they first met and were even on the same team fighting for the same ideals. You got to see how that friendship was forged because their friends-yet-foes relationship was so prominent in the other movies that to make it the spotlight of this one was a smart move.

This is truly an origin tale as you got to see Mystique (Jennifer Lawrence) in her humble beginnings, Professor X all the way back to when he was twelve; they recreated the Nazi camp beginning from X-Men for Magneto’s origin and then expanded on that—which kicked off the main plot of the movie in which Sebastian Shaw (Kevin Bacon) wants to use the mutants under his command to kick off World War III—and also how Hank McCoy (Nicholas Hault) becomes all blue and furry as Beast.

Like the other X-flicks, this movie is amazing at being an ensemble film where each character is given care, the right amount of time in the spotlight, each having unique relationships with the others, and who-does-what-and-why is clearly explained. As a storyteller myself, I find this kind of writing fascinating because it’s easy to fall into the trap of just focusing on one or two people and that’s it, the rest of the supporting cast being way too supporting and not enough of their own people. I think the secret was the X-Men—whether good guy or bad—were approached from the angle of family, the idea that as mutants their mutation was their common bond and it was all for one and one for all regardless of personalities or even if people got along or not. There’s even a bond between the heroes and villains of this flick because of their mutation.

The SFX were out of sight. The flying sequences were thrilling, the teleportations were amazing, the nods to the other movies—complete with cameos so watch closely—totally added to the world-building of the X-universe. That and the attention to the source material—using the yellow costumes from the classic comics, for example—and the overall story make this an awesome X-Men movie.

Man, just writing this review makes me want to go watch it again.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XMen Begins, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Meet young Magneto, learn his secrets, why and how he became Magneto,
Plus a lot more of xmen and the wolverine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Got this on sale for 10 bucks and couldn't be happier. A simple Breakdown for anyone curious.

HD picture Quality is 5/5

Surround Sound is Fantastic 5/5

Is not Bare Bones 4/5

Overall what I got for what I paid 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, June 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Granted, I haven't seen it yet... but I couldn't pass up this deal.

I bought this with the Blu ray X-Men Trilogy Set..... Now I've completed the 4 movie collection.

Great deal... and I highly recommend any X-Man fan buying this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Great X-Men Movie, Oct. 31 2014
This review is from: X-Men: First Class [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I like X1 and X2 (have no desire to see the third or x men origins) but this the first one that really nailed it. Great acting, story, Kevin Bacon's In it what's not to like? The special effects look a little weird sometimes but that's pretty minor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This movie makes all the rest of the series understandable ..., Sept. 20 2014
By 
Gord H "got it 2" (Winnipeg, Manitoba, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie makes all the rest of the series understandable. It fills in some of the questions for the next couple of movies that were view first. It sounds confusing but if you watch them in order of life not in order produced they make sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: First Class  [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 14.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews