Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Welcome to My Nightmare
Dragontown is a great CD if you like the harder, darker Alice. His voice has never been better and the CD showcases why he is still the original shock rocker. Not so much shocking in mindless Goth Rock blood and guts kind of way. But in a way that is typical Alice --- Sarcastic and funny but still twisted and sick. Most all of the songs on this CD are well written and...
Published on June 4 2004 by David

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Follow-up
I got this and Brutal Planet recently. I'm not sure which I like better. Dragontown works far better as a whole and conceptually, but I think Brutal Planet has more standout songs. In any event, this is a real solid album, worth picking up if you liked Brutal Planet at all.
The style is not that completely similar. I want to say it's a bit less commercial and...
Published on Feb. 18 2003 by Nick Teplanson


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best since Welcome to My Nightmare, June 4 2004
Dragontown is a great CD if you like the harder, darker Alice. His voice has never been better and the CD showcases why he is still the original shock rocker. Not so much shocking in mindless Goth Rock blood and guts kind of way. But in a way that is typical Alice --- Sarcastic and funny but still twisted and sick. Most all of the songs on this CD are well written and follow Alice in his decent into Dragontown. Dragontown, Sex Death and Money, Triggerman, Sister Sara are all standouts on this CD. The Song I Wanna Be God was very disturbing to me when I first heard it. Then I realized that that statement and the lyrics are so ridiculous that Alice is just trying to get a rise out of the listener. The extra's on the Special Edition are ok but the real winner on this album is the new material and you; if you buy this one for your collection. DARK !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Follow-up, Feb. 18 2003
I got this and Brutal Planet recently. I'm not sure which I like better. Dragontown works far better as a whole and conceptually, but I think Brutal Planet has more standout songs. In any event, this is a real solid album, worth picking up if you liked Brutal Planet at all.
The style is not that completely similar. I want to say it's a bit less commercial and accessible, still hooky, but not as obvious. It's darker, feels a bit like a horror movie. Good solos too.
The production is a bit better then brutal planet. Not as sterile sounding, and the drums fit in better, but could still be improved.
The only reason I'd say you'd like it if you like BP is because it's a heavier, less commercial Alice. I really don't have a lot else to say about it, just that you shouldn't expect a masterpiece, but a solid effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...even after all these years, Sept. 29 2002
By 
KB (Woodbridge, VA. United States) - See all my reviews
Alice Cooper is simply amazing...and his latest effort prooves it. I bought Dragontown when it first came out, and I didn't like it as much as his under-appreciated Brutal Planet, but I still liked it. Today I went to Best Buy and saw this Limited Edition CD in a white slip case with mirrorized red lettering and had to have it. Not only is Dragontown an awesome record, but the bonus disc just adds to its' brilliance. Four songs-3 live and one remix and 2 videos. "Clowns will eat me" I think is on the Brutal Planet deluxe edition, and the song is great. The 2 live tracks are ultimate classics (in my view), "Go to Hell" & probably my favorite Alice song, "Ballad of Dwight Fry." His vocals sound amazing...even on hitting the high notes in "Ballad of Dwight Fry." The remix could sound more haunting, more Alice. It sounds as if "Brutal Planet" was being played at a dance club (but not as poppy or cheesy). I think if Rob Zombie remixed it the song would be better. All in all, Dragontown Limited Edition is amazing and it's a must have for any Alice Cooper fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dance dance dance dance, Sept. 24 2002
By 
Coy McCoy (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
"Sound alarm
It's Armageddon R.S.V.P.
Sound alarm
Babylon's burning sea to sea."
--A&M recording artist Michael Anderson, 1988
Alice Cooper releases "Dragontown" again, and the original disc is still the same old gloomy thing it was a year ago, not that I didn't dig it.
We will focus on the bonus disc here, leading off with "Clowns Will Eat Me," available since the original release of "Brutal Planet" in 2000, Japanese release only.
I always liked "Clowns," when it was on my hard-drive a long time ago. It's finally nice to have it on regular CD... I guess. I can't deny feeling like Jimmy Fallon, insincere and with my hair sticking up ...
It is a really good song, but has very little to do with the Brutal/Dragontown theme, so far as I can see.
We have live versions of "Go to Hell" and "Ballad of Dwight Fry," both from the "Brutally Live" DVD soundtrack.
They are both stellar performances.
The gem here is the "Brutal Planet" re-mix. When I first heard the original, alcohol logged and through tinny speakers reaching my tinny ears (in May, 2000), I thought, "That siren's got to go!"
I have since come to love the siren, or the guitars which I think sound like a siren. It's appropriate for a Brutal Planet headed toward Armageddon.
However, I missed my fun-loving Alice, but only a little because of songs like "It's the Little Things" (featured on computer-playable video here, Quicktime preferred). Most of the CD was very dark, and "Dragontown" was even way, way darker.
"Brutal Planet" re-mix features an outright danceable version. I'm reminded of the guy who used to dance by himself in the middle of the Amarillo Civic Center in the early '80s during intermissions of rock shows. I will never forget him swaying to Black Sabbath's "Heaven and Hell," all by himself.
This re-mix is for him!
I do love it, but I'm old enough to be a parent, really (even though I'm not) of the younger ones who love the harder edge of the original.
So I guess I can just take Alice's cue from "Flush the Fashion" in 1980, from the kid's perspective:
I get a kiss good-bye
I get all numb and high
From all the smoke left on their breath
I smile and wish them well
Then I pray like hell
They go and dance themselves to death
Come on momma
Come on daddy
Come on skinny
Come on fatty
Shake it Martha
Shake it Larry
Shake it Mr. Coronary
You gotta dance dance
Come on and dance dance
Dance til you're outta breath
If it's all the same to you, I WILL be dancing to it. I love the re-mix!
(Also featured is the video for "Gimme.")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cooper bounces back with another strong one., Aug. 6 2005
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Brutal Planet should have been a great album, what with the presence of Ezrin. However, one of the busiest producers around, Bob Marlette, got his hands on it and made it sound far too generic. The riffs were dull and the album thudded boringly, with so little of that classic Alice personality.
Dragontown is like Alice waking up. It's a transition from Brutal Planet to Eyes Of, which celebrated a return to classic 70's Alice. It's not quite there yet, but it's getting there. Marlette is still producing, but this time he and Cooper have decided to brighten the whole affair.
There are a couple really outstanding songs here. "Every Woman Has A Name" sounds like something Alice would have done with Ezrin. It's a lush song with strings that recalls "Only Women Bleed" or "It's Only My Heart Talking". Also great is "It's Much Too Late", which reminds me of "Wind Up Toy" from 1991. It has a lot of the old Alice 70's vibe too, it's fantastic. Very pop. Modern production is left off this one, the instruments sound cleaner and bright.
"Triggerman", the opening track, is fast with an industrial sound, but with much more emphasis on melody than Brutal Planet. "Disgraceland" features Alice doing quite a great Elvis impersonation, and the band are kicking back in a rockabilly groove too. Some might consider this track fluff, and it's definitely different than any other on the album, but it's pretty fun.
Unfortunately "Deeper" is just basically a rewrite of Brutal Planet's title track, with some "Blessed By Fire" mixed in. Just a boring, uninteresting track, with terrible sounding cymbal samples and a muddy riff that is just horrifically generic.
The bonus disc here is totally worth owning, even for casual Alice fans. Actually, especially for them in a way, because it'll give them exposure to some other awesome Alice tracks they may have missed. "Go To Hell" and "Dwight Fry" are live. (I cannot tell you if they are same versions as on Brutally Live or not, but I suspect that they are.) "Clowns Will Eat Me" was previously only available on Japanese import, and it's a great party track that fits much better in Dragontown than Brutal Planet for which it was recorded. Finally there's the remix of "Brutal Planet" itself which gives it a Rob Zombie feel. It's not a superior mix, (I miss the female backing vocal) but I always dig robots talking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My First Alice Cooper "NON BAND" CD, July 9 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dragontown (Audio CD)
After the finish of the Alice Cooper original band as we knew it, I swore I would NEVER bother to buy just an "ALICE" CD. Well I lied...., I did buy this one and "Love it to Death". I guess, I will just have to become a lttle more tollerent of his individual music and sond writting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 9/10 � C�mon Down!, July 6 2004
This review is from: Dragontown (Audio CD)
Dragontown is the follow-up to the Coop's new direction on 2000's Brutal Planet. Brutal Planet was an excellent album, and following it up is definitely a difficult task, but Cooper does so, and with flying colors.
Triggerman - 100% This song is excellent. Great guitar intro, lyrics, chorus. It's not as noticeably heavy or angry as the opener/title track of Brutal Planet, but it works, and makes a good opener.
Deeper - 95% We'll, we're goin' deeper into Brutal Planet down to Dragontown now. Good percussive work at the beginning. We got the Cooper lyrics here, and the way he "sings" this song really fits the atmosphere.
Dragontown - 100% Oriental sounding intro. This song, is a lot like the title track to Brutal Planet, even though they don't sound similar. The same basic theme is there, and it worked before, and it works again. "You're really going to like this." Darn right you will. Did I mention it's got a good chorus?
Sex, Death, and Money - 95% Bass intro. This song is a little weird. First pass just seems like Cooper wants to toss out Sex and Death and Money all together, but, somehow, it works. This is one of the heavier tracks off of the album, and fits well with the overall theme of the album.
Fantasy Man - 85% Cooper's humor resurfaces from "It's The Little Things" on Brutal Planet on this song "Don't send flowers/or take showers" - well even with the lack of bathing, this song certainly doesn't stink, it's just one of my personal favorites, but a welcome song on the album at any rate.
Somewhere in Jungle - 90% I like the "feel" of this song, it works well. It's not really angry, nothing on this album really is like on Brutal Planet, everything here is more just a look at this Dragontown place. This song does a good job. Another great chorus.
Disgraceland - 100% Where the heck did this come from? This song is easily my favorite off the album, and was wonderful live. This song really doesn't fit the theme of the album... although, it's not too far off the mark. Not that it would matter. It's a good song. Cooper does an awesome Elvis impersonation (even live.) Cooper's humor is definitely out in force on this song, making it quite enjoyable. "He ate his weight in country ham" He sure did.
Sister Sara - 95% Starts off nice and heavy. Has Brutal Planet-esque female vocals, that work well with Cooper's voice in telling the story of a "nun havin' fun."
Every Woman Has A Name - 90% Yet another ballad from the Coop. Much in the same vein as "Take it Like A Woman" from Brutal Planet, yet different enough to be enjoyable. Cooper once again proves that he's a proficient ballad writer.
I Just Wanna Be God - 90% This is an interesting song. Nice and heavy, with some intriguing lyrics. Basically: Satan wants to be God. That's really all you need to know.
It's Much Too Late - 85% The style of this song is quite different then the prevailing style on Dragontown. It's lighter and peppier, if you will. His singing style is a bit different here. In fact, this song would probably fit on The Eyes of Cooper... right there with "Man of the Year." This is a good song, with a good chorus, and lyrically, it mostly fits with the theme of Dragontown.
The Sentinel - 95% Nice closer. Heavy, with something interesting lyrics about terrorists. Interesting is used loosely. "Connect the green wire here/or was it red?" Another great chorus from Cooper.
Dragontown concludes the intertwined concepts of Brutal Planet and Dragontown. It also marks the end of Cooper's heavier direction, as Eyes harkened back to his garage days. At least he created two solid albums that, in my opinion, are some of his best.
One note that I forgot to mention on my Brutal Planet review is the production of these two albums. Absolutely fantastic. Every instrument is clear, and Cooper's voice is never buried in the mix. Good production also creates a better listening to experience, and the production on these two albums don't leave much to be desired.
My final score is a 9/10, which of course Amazon doesn't account for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars My 2nd Least Fav Of the Coops Master Peices, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Dragontown (Audio CD)
After hearing the great work Alice did with a new deeper sound on Brutal Planet, i was hoping this album would deliver aswell. But IMO it failed! Only a handfull of songs did I think were good! It does contain a great, and one of my fav Alice songs called "Fantasey Man" which is somthign i feel i can relate to, and found to be a great song. Alice slows down a notch and does another slow song called "Every Woman Has A Name" which seems to be a song about Alice lost a dear freind? I'm not sure, but its a nice little number! "DiscrgraceLand" is Alice singing a bit like Elvis as a...well, i wouldnt call it a tribute? its like Elvis has gone to hell and Alice has sung about it!
I really only liked about 4 of the 12 songs on this album.
The rest were very disapointing IMO.... It is my second least fav album by Alice with Schools Out coming in at #1 which I only liked 2 out of the 9 track son that one!
I possible recomendation? That speichel edition of Dragon Town with the extras , if you get a good deal on it, this Album didnt appeal to me and lacked that classic quality that Alice adds to any form of Rock N Roll. It just didnt shien on this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'll keep you on your knees. I am the brain police!, Aug. 1 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dragontown (Audio CD)
This latest effort by the Godfather of Shock Rock has proven beyond reasonable doubt that after 30 years of recording, he NEVER AGES! In almost every CD, Alice Cooper is able to regenerate his sound and theatrical concept to successfully adapt to upcoming music scenes of the current generation. 2001's "Dragontown" is no exception. I can best describe this album's nature as that of "Brutal Planet-Part 2" because Cooper chose to continue experimenting with the roaring metal bass guitars and stomping drums he introduced through his previous effort. What makes "Dragontown" different, however, is that the tracks exhibit a little bit more melody here. Generally, this CD is meant to be a frightning carnival tour through the village of the same name; situated just a few miles off the fiery road to Hell, it's a depraved town steeped in sin, one where the ground is foul with the corpses of Chinese civilians, and damned souls immerse themselves in endless indulgences of sleaze and violence. I have quite a few favorites among the 12 songs. While listening to the slow, swaying rhythm of "Sex, Death & Money," one can almost smell the sweat of aroused flesh and envision the blinking colored lights of a XXX Peepshow. Interestingly, Alice used this track to express how appalled he was in witnessing the latest films unleashed by the entertainment industry; he could not believe how much gross sexual humor and explosive violence are shamelessly exploited by the movie business just to sell tickets! Where do we draw the line? "Fantasy Man" is a humorous little ditty about the average dirty, lazy, trash-talkin', beer-drinkin', all-around Couch Potato MAN. "Somewhere in the Jungle" is similar to "Pick Up the Bones," only here it concerns the enormous massacre of warring African tribes; upon hearing the track, I picture in my mind the dismembered heads and limbs molded together in a bleeding, narrow column. "Disgraceland" is another slice of black humor, and it tells the story of how Elvis Presley was sent to Hell because he wasted his remaining years as a fat, heavily medicated, Las Vegas lounge singer (and then died his own bathroom!). "Sister Sara" is a loud, slow tale starring a nun who abandons her Christian faith in exchange for drugs and prostitution, only to die and wind up enslaved by Cooper's Satanic alter ego! Anyway, I could go on and on writing about the remaining sections of "Dragontown," but I don't want to make you readers feel bored. What I can safely say in the end is that Alice Cooper gets better with time, and the "Dragontown" CD is solid proof of this. Get it while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A rebirth, July 28 2003
This review is from: Dragontown (Audio CD)
So, the pop metal phase has finished, as did the art-rock phase twenty years ago, and the father of shock rock has once again ascended to the heavy metal throne.
No-one in hard rock or heavy metal writes better lyrics than Alice Cooper, and his raw, gritty voice has lost absolutely none of his power even now as he has entered his mid-fifties. He manages to be simultaneous compassionate, furious, sardonic and threatening - just listen to the evil Elvis-satire "Disgraceland" (is that really Cooper singing?!), or the poignant, yet powerful ballad "Every Woman Has A Name", a succesful throwback to the days of "Only Women Bleed".
This album is highlighted by the slow, sludgy rap/heavy fusion track "I Just Wanna Be God", the melodious "Every Woman Has A Name", the furious "Triggerman" and the harsh "Fantasy Man". Cooper's vocals has never been better, and this album finally restores him to his former glory.
No pop metal or weird prog-rock anthems here, just pure, unadulterated heavy metal, and the one of the best and most versatile solo album Cooper has ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragon Town (Vinyl)
Dragon Town (Vinyl) by Alice Cooper (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews