Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
one of the best album of alice cooper
Published 3 days ago by alain privé

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars New and Different
Alice Cooper's "Brutal Planet" is filled with good music. It's new music that Alice had to experiment with. The experiment didn't turn out too badly, and the album wasn't horrible. Brutal Planet features good, hard shock rock, and has a few soft songs too. The only thing that brought this album down from 4 or 5 stars was the lyrics. The lyrics stand out as being...
Published on April 22 2003 by polska1


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 23 2014
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
one of the best album of alice cooper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALICE CONTINUES TO ROCK FOR GOD, Oct. 13 2006
By 
B. Robyn Donison (Fort Qu'Appelle, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Brutal Planet is the masterful followup to his spectacular "The Last Temptation" album, which was based on terrible struggle and conversion to Christianity. Now born again, Alice lets loose from the top with a scathing statement about what the world will be like following the second coming of Christ. Thundering rhythms and mind-bending axework are featured throughout. Again strong songwriting, arrangements and production triumph. Another must have for all Alice Cooper and hard rock fans. Next in the series is an album featuring the worst city on the Brutal Planet - "Dragontown."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 9 out of 10 � Gimme Indeed!, July 5 2004
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper's Brutal Planet is his first release of the 00's, and it's fantastic! It's an entirely new direction for the Wicked One, and he used it to create one of his best albums.
Brutal Planet - 100% This is by the far the best song on the album! Who knew Cooper was so angry? "Here's where we starve the hungry, here's where we cheat the poor" etc. Brutal indeed. And it works so well. This track mixes Cooper's anger, with a female-voiced chorus. Killer opening track.
Wicked Young Man - 95% This track carries the momentum (and anger) of the opening track. While Cooper's not a young man anymore, I think we can forgive him for thinking he's still 18, for fear of what he might do to us if we don't! (He's got a pocket full of bullets.)
Sanctuary - 85% Sanctuary isn't nearly as impressive as the one-two punch of the first two tracks. Good lyrics, but musically, it doesn't do enough for me. Although, it's got a pretty good chorus.
Blow Me A Kiss - 90% Nice little opening guitar riff. No frills here. More angry lyrics from Cooper, executed with great results. Another great chorus.
Eat Some More - 95% The title says it all. I love the song just for the title. This song gets off to a nice slow, chugging start, which fits the song well. There are some particularly creative lyrics from Cooper in this song "Do you like the taste?/Stuff it in your face."
Pick the Bones - 100% Probably the best song here after the title track. A nice slow, acoustic, intro, that builds with a second electric guitar over top, and then eventually the song comes crashing into the chorus. Cooper's never been known for having a fantastic voice, but he really puts his emotion through in the song. This song paints a picture of a planet more brutal, then the title track. "There are holes in the wall/bloody hair on the bricks/and the smell of this hell/is makin' me sick."
Pessi-Mystic - 10% If I cut make one change to this album, I'd remove this song. I just don't like it. Sorry folks, I just don't find anything redeeming about this song. I can excuse it though, since the rest of the album is just fantastic.
Gimme - 100% This song was a single, and a has a pretty decent music video. Starts off with a great riff, and really makes up for the clunker that is Pessi-Mystic. Another great chorus. "Gimme this/gimme that/gimme this/gimme that." That's society in a nutshell. Nicely done.
It's The Little Things - 90% This song features Cooper's great sense of humor. "You can burn my house/you can cut my hair/you can make me wrestle naked with a grizzly bear/you can poison my cat/baby I don't care/but if you talk in the movies/I'll kill you right there." It's a little bit weaker than Gimme, but overall, a very welcome song on this album.
Take it Like a Woman - 95% Nobody knows how to write a ballad quite like Cooper. The man's been churnin' 'em out consistently for over 30 years. This is another great addition to his arsenal, although it sounds a bit out of place on the album. Oh well, a good song is a good song.
Cold Machines - 95% What? Last song? Nooo I was enjoying this album so much... the album finishes with Cold Machines, another great chorus from the Coop.
Overall, this album is a strong 9/10, but that's not how Amazon works. But, 9/10 is my real score. After a great follow-up (Dragontown) I was a bit disappointed that Cooper abandoned this direction with 2003's The Eyes of Alice Cooper. At least Brutal Planet will stand out as one of the best albums in Cooper's huge catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his greatest work, but still good!, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Alice has had a go at so many diffrent forms of Rock and pop. and I was suprised that this type of DEEP METAL sound appealed to me! USually I cannot stand that thrashing new age heavy metal sound, but i guess it depends on who the man behind the mascara is?
Tho I dont like every song on this album, i still like most of them! It has turned out quite a few suprising gems! This album is a kind of story adventure type of thing, not easy to tell if you hadnt read that before but its there in a way! This album is defnitly mich better then DRAGONTOWN and has a great selection of new age sounding masterpeices of Alice. Tho if your into solo guitar playing, you will sorely miss them on this album!
My favorite would have to be "little things" Alice has a great sense of humor built into this song. it might not be belly laughing funny, but I still think its great!
Some may mistaken the lyrics as beeing fairly depressing death lyrics, but if you listen more carefully, there actually just classic Alice's scare tactics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice Cooper is a GENIUS!, Sept. 23 2003
By 
Marseagle (Hollywood, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Listen up all you old school metalheads, nu-metal enthusiasts, goth lovers, shock rockers, and rock n rollers...The Master is here to show everyone how it's really supposed to be done. Alice never left the throne, he just stepped outside to take a [restroom break]. While he was gone a slew of wannabes tried to take a seat, but good ol' Uncle Alice has returned to chop of all the heads of the pretenders to the throne. I'm talking to you Marilyn Manson, Rob Zombie, Slipknot. Anyone can SHOCK, but only Alice can do it with razor sharp wit, biting social critique, humor, and the musical chops to back it all up. Nice try boys, but no dice.
ALICE is back with one of his greatest albums ever! This is why he's a LEGEND. 30 years and he's still putting out great material in his own unique, twisted, brilliant style. BRUTAL PLANET'S a concept record, a bonecrusher, a balls out METAL record, a social commentary, a mirror to society. Alice's
music is exactly like the title suggests, BRUTAL. Not brutal in a sludging, overly distorted, noise crammed junk that mostly passes as "metal" today. I'm talking heavy, evil, beautiful music that makes you wanna bang your head! This CD is a classic in waiting. Every song is so powerful and unique you'll be hitting the rewind button after each song to hear it again. This is excellent from start to finish, and only gets better with each new listen.
Don't dismiss ALICE COOPER as some old foggy who's irrelevant to todays flash in the pan, whatever's popular this moment trend. He's the REAL DEAL. Like OZZY, ALICE trancends time, genere's, age, and trends. Every generation should revere him and worship at his metal feet for all the great music and innovation he has, and continues to bring to music. This album is another in a long line of classic albums.
Buy this CD, and step onto the world of BRUTAL PLANET. once you're here, you'll wanna stay, grab a bone of the ground, and use it as a weapon to fight your way to DRAGONTOWN.
Long Live ALICE COOPER!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really hate to repeat myself but...nothing's free., Aug. 1 2003
By 
Pamela Scarangello (Middletown, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
There is no doubt in my mind that 2000's "Brutal Planet" is the heaviest metal album Cooper released in his 30-year career. I can best characterize this CD as being a nightmare for the new millenium: from start to finish, the tracks on here roar with stomping, grinding bass guitars, slamming drum rhythms and explosive lyrics of unadulterated rage. The lyrics are quite
shocking too, for Cooper snarls out references to grisly murder, prostitution, Christ's crucifiction and even anti-semitism (Mein Kampf!)."Brutal Planet's" concept appears to be set in the latter half of the 21'st century, when human lives are merely barcode numbers and advanced technology automatically determines mankind's destiny. In the midst of all these cold machines, the streets are rampant with poverty, famine, gun violence and other forms of endless suffering. All 10 songs are situated within a doomed society where self-control is no longer an option. I personally have chosen a few favorite tunes which I'd like to pinpoint: "Wicked Young Man" is a song in which Alice accepts the evil role of a murdering skinhead; interestingly, it speaks out against media censorship, stating that exposure to violent video games, loud music or R-rated films DOES NOT encourage anti-social behavior among American youths (this undoubtedly became an issue after Marilyn Manson was unfairly blamed for causing the 1999 Columbine tragedy). In "Blow Me a Kiss" (a gory track about guns, homicide & suicide), hints of a techno remix are intermingled with the rock guitars; I strongly believe that the general sound pulsating throughout "Brutal Planet" was heavily drawn from Rob Zombie, who in 1999 collaborated with Cooper on "Hands of Death (Spookshow Remix)." "Eat Some More" explains how starvation in the U.S. has increased at an alarming rate while plentiful amounts of food are left to rot; this song MAY cause listeners to get nauseous, since Cooper graphically describes the disgusting decay of moldy bread, spoiling meat, etc. Such a foul stench becomes even more potent in "Pick Up the Bones," when Cooper gathers a pile of festering remains left over from his family, who were savagely ambushed and massacred by heavily armed demons. Every inch of the neglected grave is told by the Godfather of Shock Rock in VERY explicit detail. And of course, there is "Gimmie," the album's first single; here Mr. Cooper once again dons the Devil's guise, manipulating an unnamed loner into his tangled web of damnation
with promises of unending wealth and fame. Such a deliciously henious performance was previously done by the singer on 1994's "The Last Temptation," and would continue on 2001's "Dragontown."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New and Different, April 22 2003
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper's "Brutal Planet" is filled with good music. It's new music that Alice had to experiment with. The experiment didn't turn out too badly, and the album wasn't horrible. Brutal Planet features good, hard shock rock, and has a few soft songs too. The only thing that brought this album down from 4 or 5 stars was the lyrics. The lyrics stand out as being different from the second you open the insert. They are written in paragraph form, and for a very simple reason. If they were written normally (i.e.: verse, followed by chorus, then verse, etc.), the resemblence between songs would be remarkable. EVERY SINGLE SONG is written the exact same way. There is one good verse in the beginning of the song, then there is a chorus. After the chorus, there is one more verse (usually a sentence long). Then the chorus begins. Alice sings the chorus about five or six times in each song, and then the song ends. (To sum it up, there is 1 full verse, enveloped by about 6 repetitions of the chorus.) If you've got the album, check for yourself. Even though the songs have the rhythm and the melody, they lack the lyrics. If you're a person who doesn't care for the lyrics of a song, this is a 5 star album for you, and a must by, but if you feel, like me, that the lyrics are just as important as the melody, this album is good, but definately not Alice's greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alice's Brutal Planet., March 17 2003
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
The King of Shock Rock is BACK! Alice Cooper has done it again. In 2000, Alice released "Brutal Planet". This album is definately some of Alice's best work yet. The album's content in the lyrics contain evil, cruelty, death, hatred, and greed. It's very evil, and very demon like (just like Alice himself). Outstanding heavy metal guitar riffs and loud drum beats done by KISS's former drummer Eric Singer.
The opener title track "Brutal Planet" is the song of the album. The lyrics contains excellent loud guitar riffs along with Eric's drumming talents. The lyrics are very evil in tone. A definite Alice classic. Another good tune is "Sanctuary". As you get into the chorus line, the song gets a lot faster. It's a good Alice song. It contains very hard rock riffs and anthemetic lyircs. The next track, "Blow Me A Kiss" is a song of hatred and cruelty. Some lyrics like "Blow Me A Kiss, cus I'm shakin', say goodnight then Blow Me Away."
"Eat Some More" is a rather disgusting song. It sounds great in general. It's very satanic and demond like. The song also is about hunger and starvation. Some of the lyircs sound like, "So we Eat Some More, throw up on the floor. We're so hungry, it's so pathetic." This next track, "Pick Up The Bones" is like another addition to "Eat Some More". This one deals with death, evil, cruelty. By the title you can somewhat tell what it sounds like.
"Gimme" is about a lot of greed. It has great guitar riffs and anthemetic lyircs. A good ballad that Alice wrote was, "Take It Like A Woman." The lyrics go like "You've been beaten down, pulled around. But you took it like a woman. Victimized, terrorized, paralyzed. But you took it like a woman." It's a good ballad though. Another Alice classic.
This album is the next one in your Alice collection. Come down to Alice Cooper's Brutal Planet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The heavy Alice, March 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
I was quite suprised when I first played this cd. I mean yeah Alice has always been one of the original Metal Men, but this went past a lot of that. With Heavy distortion, fun lyrics, and a just a great progession of songs. Not his typical album I think but good non the less. Recomended for heavy metal fans and those already into Alice Cooper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Such a Grungy Planet, Jan. 26 2003
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brutal Planet (Audio CD)
Alice enters the 2000's with his hardest heaviest and thickest record ever. Appears his time with Rob Zombie has rubbed off on the Coop, and while that is not necessarily a compliment, it sure did make him a more harder rocker than - say - his time with the Bon Jovi crowd of the "Trash" days.
I will grant you that this is a far more listenable album than, say, "Constrictor" or even "dada," but one of the last thing I ever expected fron Alice Cooper was a lecture. "Brutal Planet" does a LOT of lecturing. Alice is really angry on the title cut. As Angels sing about how lovely things look from a distant place in heaven, Alice shreds history into parcels of evil mistakes with a killer guitar riff. "Eat Some More" bellyaches about our wasteful culture. "Wicked Young Man" trashes the Department of Youth. It was strange, being a 25 year Alice fan to suddenly get hit with a change nearly as radical as "Flush The Fashion"'s leap into Gary Numan synth-pop. This is still a keeper album, but since "Dragontown" pretty much found Alice back to playing his strengths, I'll just surmise that "Brutal Planet" was Alice's turn of the century venting of steam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brutal Planet (Vinyl)
Brutal Planet (Vinyl) by Alice Cooper (LP Record - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews