Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another story against corporate imperialism
The Master is at it again. This time, he has stolen the file of the Doomsday Weapon from the Time Lords. In order to deal with it, a small group of Time Lords, presumably the Celestial Intervention Agency later mentioned in the Deadly Assassin story, use the Doctor to deal with it. The Doctor and Jo, who happen to be in the TARDIS testing out a new dematerialization...
Published on Jan. 25 2003 by Daniel J. Hamlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor returns to space
The Time Lords use the Doctor to investigate the barren planet Uxarieus, where the powerful Interplanetary Mining Corporation is pressuring a group of colonists to vacate the mineral-rich planet. Intrigue, murder, and deception abound while the Doctor and Jo uncover an awesome power buried deep within an ancient city...
Spoilers follow. This Jon Pertwee story is...
Published on Nov. 1 2002 by Ian D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another story against corporate imperialism, Jan. 25 2003
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Master is at it again. This time, he has stolen the file of the Doomsday Weapon from the Time Lords. In order to deal with it, a small group of Time Lords, presumably the Celestial Intervention Agency later mentioned in the Deadly Assassin story, use the Doctor to deal with it. The Doctor and Jo, who happen to be in the TARDIS testing out a new dematerialization circuit, get whisked off to Uxarius, on 3 March 2472.
They meet a group of colonists, headed by Robert Ashe, who are having such horrible luck, that "unless things improve drastically, [their] colony is in grave danger of starving to death." Since their arrival a year ago, they planted subsistence crops in order to reclaim worn out soil, but the crops shoot up, wither, and then die. They also live in an uneasy truce with the local race of Primitives, whom they give food, not helping their dwindling food supply. Not only that, but two colonists are killed by giant lizards. The Doctor and Jo promptly give their help as usual.
As if they didn't have enough troubles, a detachment from Interplanetary Mining Corporation, headed by the cold-hearted Captain Dent, arrive and claim mineral rights, in conflict with Ashe's claim that Uxarius was classified for colonization. An Adjudicator is sent for, however, they normally favour IMC in disputes. The hot-headed Winton, Ashe's deputy, favours an attack on IMC to drive them out, in contrast to the more diplomatically-minded Ashe. On the side of the IMC, there's the mineralogist Caldwell, who begins to question some of IMC's methods of getting their bottom line. The Adjudicator does come, and guess who it is?
Things heat up between the colonists and IMC, whose role in the colonists suffering may be connected. Then there's Norton, a survivor from another colony attacked by giant lizards and Primitives, whose behaviour in Episode Two becomes definitely suspect.
Colony paints a grim picture of Earth back home, "no room to move, polluted air, not a blade of grass, a government that locks you up if you think for yourself", a place where people don't live like human beings but like battery hens in floating 300 story islands. An unflattering picture is painted of corporations. Dent says in true fascist, corporate style, "What's good for IMC is good for Earth." As for the colonists, he doesn't care the least about their hardships. All he cares is about the profits they'll make in gutting Uxarius of duralinium. It's also an interesting look at the leadership styles and decision-making, Ashe, Winton, and Dent in particular, and why they either succeed or fail.
Other things: Mary Ashe says that "there's no animal life, just a few birds and insects." So, uh..., what exactly does that make birds and insects? Apart from that, Helen Worth stands out as Mary, as does Nicholas Pennell (Winton), Bernard Kay (Caldwell), and John Ringham (Robert Ashe), who also appeared as the ruthless Tlotoxl in Who story The Aztecs and the no-longer available The Smugglers as Blake. Another in-joke was a reference to how the Spanish ambassador was mistaken for the Master, as Roger Delgado (the Master) was himself half-Spanish, half-French.
Some padding is apparent throughout this six-parter, but it's a thoughtful story on the reaction against post-industrial urbanization (the colonists) and the ruthlessness of corporations (IMC).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad episode at all., May 9 2005
By A Customer
I disagree with the other reviewers. While this isn't the very best of the 3rd doctor stories (i.e., not as good as The Silurians or Inferno), I think it's the strongest and most interesting of its season. It's certainly far better than the other 6-parter, The Mind of Evil, which is plodding and repetitive at times. Here, we have a story that finally justifies its length due to the number of elements involved - the colonists' effort to survive on a barren planet, the mining corporation's attempt to destroy the colonists to make way for their own enterprise, the ancient buried alien civilization fallen into primitive decay, and the Master's effort to find the Doomsday device. And the aliens don't look too bad - especially the little shrunken one at the center of the underground city.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor returns to space, Nov. 1 2002
By 
Ian D. Smith (Bangor, ME United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Time Lords use the Doctor to investigate the barren planet Uxarieus, where the powerful Interplanetary Mining Corporation is pressuring a group of colonists to vacate the mineral-rich planet. Intrigue, murder, and deception abound while the Doctor and Jo uncover an awesome power buried deep within an ancient city...
Spoilers follow. This Jon Pertwee story is not remembered for much beyond it being the first Third Doctor story where the character leaves Earth. As a change of pace, 'Colony In Space' may have been refreshing when it first aired, but in comparison to other Doctor Who stories (most of them set on other worlds), there is not too much in this padded 6-parter that stands out. The plot involving scheming mining officers and the bland colonists is insufficient to fill out over 2 hours of story, but a few actors, particularly those playing the chief miners, gamely put their all into their limited roles. The plot gets more interesting once the ever-reliable Roger Delgado again shows up as the Master (posing as an Adjudicator), but only slightly. The final storyline about the struggle to control an ancient doomsday weapon is cliched but necessary to give this story an extra bit of kick. Jon Pertwee, Katy Manning and Delgado are as delightful as usual and obviously the foremost reasons to purchase this video, one of the last Pertwees not yet released commercially. For all the roundabout storytelling with characters escaping from capture only to wind up imprisoned again to kill time, and the campy aliens and robots, fans of this show and these actors will probably enjoying seeing 'Colony In Space' again for the first time in a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOt the best, but..., Nov. 6 2002
By A Customer
I'm a long time fan of the Time Lord, and I've
always had a special place for Jon Pertwee, the third doctor, who
was one of the best. He had the most conviction as a Doctor as far as I'm concerned. Yes, this is a longish episode
and not exactly jam-packed with 'excitement', but well worth
seeing/ owning if only for the sheer joy of watching
Pertwee and his new companion Jo Grant, with whom he
had (I felt) a great raport on screen. This episode also
features the Master, played to a 'tee' by Roger DelGado, who
also embraced his roles. Mr. DelGadoo has passed away, but he was a real MASTER at the craft of acting, and always created some sparks when facing off with Pertwee. These are, in many ways, unsung heroes of entertainmet. I'm glad they met in space/time so that we could glimpse what they were capable of pulling off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Still, it's a Pertwee!, Feb. 28 2003
By 
J. J. Dangermond (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whether you agree or disagree with the overall story being good or bad, this is still a good way to get your Jon Pertwee/Katy Manning fix. I first saw this on PBS, luckily one episode each Saturday, in 1976.
This is probably the weakest story of this particular season, although it promised a lot by being the first Pertwee adventure away from Earth. I think that too many elements were added for this story (Master, colonists, mining company, natives, Doomsday Weapon...eliminating something from it actually would have created more interest). The ending of Episode 2 is actually a fun cliffhanger.
It was fun to note that Jo Grant's reaction in the TARDIS was no different than most of the other companions before her (bigger inside than out, NOT ON EARTH, OH MY!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good!, Jan. 18 2003
By 
C. C. Cotham "Charles Christopher" (Austin, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jo Grant (the Doctor's assistant) is taken on a trip in the TARDIS for the first time (in a wonderful sequence that encourages the viewer feel her excitement). The planet they arrive on is seriously drab though, and once they've arrived, the story begins to ramble a little over the course of three hours. (Amazon.com has already provided a tidy plot summary, so I won't detail it here.) Even by DOCTOR WHO standards, the effects and sets are amazingly cheap. It's reccomended only to the serious enthusiast of that peculiar genre of "British Telefantasy". But the story is solid, the characters are easy to get attached to, and it won't insult your intelligence. It's a diverting three hours or so, even if it doesn't wind up being DOCTOR WHO at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ho Hum, Nov. 17 2011
By 
John Shelley (Stone Creek MB Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Colony in Space (DVD)
This is another 6 parter that should have been a 4 parter, slow and not too exciting. Even when the action did build up in the second half, I didn't find that it held my attention. The plot is standard Dr Who: on a far off planet, the good guys, who are just trying to scratch out a living, fight the evil corporate bad guys who want to strip the planet's resources, and local natives complicate things for both sides. Same old, same old. This storyline has been used several times on Dr Who, so maybe that's why I didn't find it too interesting, I knew from the start what was going to happen. It's ironic that this version of the storyline was possibly the first time it was used during the original broadcasts, because it's the first one after the Time Lords release the Tardis, but all the later shows by Jon and the other Doctors that used this storyline were made into DVDs before it, so maybe this serial deserves more credit than it's getting. Katy, Terrance, the director and a couple of secondary names do the commentary. Watchable, but wouldn't be my first choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Colony in Space (DVD)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Doctor! Come back at once!", April 1 2003
The Doctor gets a reprieve from his exile on Earth, only to do the bidding of the Time Lords. Landing on a planet with Jo Grant, the Doctor gets involved with some colonist close to starvation . Meanwhile, IMC, the ruthless mining corporation from Earth, is trying to remove the colonist from the planet. A very early politically correct/socially aware Who serial. It's also very padded and dull, but still fun. There are some silly-looking natives throwing spears and stones and a mud-fight. Captain Dents's hair-style is way cool...NOT! Not really much to say about this one, but it is far more interesting until the obligatory appearance of the Master arrives. Still, it's got it's moments. You just have to wait a while for things to happen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I agree with the other guys, Jan. 27 2003
By 
Alan D. Patten III "A. Daniel Patten, III" (Taylors (Greenville), SC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This story is typical of most 6-parters in Dr. Who, strong through the first 3 episodes but then dragged out as if it were really intended to be a four part story but they had to stretch it out.
As I have been collecting Dr. Who videos since the Mid. 90's, and I'm hoping the BBC will release the rest here by 2004, buying or not buying this video was not the question.
The biggest thing that stood out was the photocopied wall in the Doctor's TARDIS, which looked cheap.
Unless you're a collector like myself, I wouldn't recommened this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Colony in Space
Doctor Who: Colony in Space by Michael E. Briant (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 30.98 CDN$ 23.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews