Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG giftguide Tools

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars13
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$23.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 22, 2015
my first dr: what else can I say
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
Very slow paced and silly episode from the third doctor of the old series. Fans only
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
Très bon service et produit.
Gabriel Daniel
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 17, 2011
This is another 6 parter that should have been a 4 parter, slow and not too exciting. Even when the action did build up in the second half, I didn't find that it held my attention. The plot is standard Dr Who: on a far off planet, the good guys, who are just trying to scratch out a living, fight the evil corporate bad guys who want to strip the planet's resources, and local natives complicate things for both sides. Same old, same old. This storyline has been used several times on Dr Who, so maybe that's why I didn't find it too interesting, I knew from the start what was going to happen. It's ironic that this version of the storyline was possibly the first time it was used during the original broadcasts, because it's the first one after the Time Lords release the Tardis, but all the later shows by Jon and the other Doctors that used this storyline were made into DVDs before it, so maybe this serial deserves more credit than it's getting. Katy, Terrance, the director and a couple of secondary names do the commentary. Watchable, but wouldn't be my first choice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2005
I disagree with the other reviewers. While this isn't the very best of the 3rd doctor stories (i.e., not as good as The Silurians or Inferno), I think it's the strongest and most interesting of its season. It's certainly far better than the other 6-parter, The Mind of Evil, which is plodding and repetitive at times. Here, we have a story that finally justifies its length due to the number of elements involved - the colonists' effort to survive on a barren planet, the mining corporation's attempt to destroy the colonists to make way for their own enterprise, the ancient buried alien civilization fallen into primitive decay, and the Master's effort to find the Doomsday device. And the aliens don't look too bad - especially the little shrunken one at the center of the underground city.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 8, 2003
The Colony is Space is definitely a classic John Pertwee Dr. Who. If you are a big fan
of John Pertwee, this is a must for your collection. I thought the video was okay. If you
are a huge Dr. Who fan I would recommend buying this. If you are not a Dr. Who fan and
are just getting started out, I would not recommend this video. The plot in general was fairly
solid, but too many things going on to concentrate on the plot. The Master arrives, but is a very
weak bad guy character that could have been left out. The video did not drag on like some of the
longer episode ones. The sound quality was fair and archive quality, so I had to adjust the
volume several times while watching. I believe this was a lost episode that was restored from
some old video tapes from PBS. I had never seen this video before until now, and it filled in
the gap for me. The story was classic Dr. Who will all the model ships, fake looking masked
aliens, and fair to poor quality sets. This IS Dr. Who with all the can fix anything,
karate fighting, expert at everything John Pertwee style. If you are getting started I would
recommend other Dr. WHO videos from John Pertwee like: Spearhead from Space,
Planet of the Spiders, Death to the Daleks, and my favorite Frontier in Space.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on April 1, 2003
The Doctor gets a reprieve from his exile on Earth, only to do the bidding of the Time Lords. Landing on a planet with Jo Grant, the Doctor gets involved with some colonist close to starvation . Meanwhile, IMC, the ruthless mining corporation from Earth, is trying to remove the colonist from the planet. A very early politically correct/socially aware Who serial. It's also very padded and dull, but still fun. There are some silly-looking natives throwing spears and stones and a mud-fight. Captain Dents's hair-style is way cool...NOT! Not really much to say about this one, but it is far more interesting until the obligatory appearance of the Master arrives. Still, it's got it's moments. You just have to wait a while for things to happen...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2003
Whether you agree or disagree with the overall story being good or bad, this is still a good way to get your Jon Pertwee/Katy Manning fix. I first saw this on PBS, luckily one episode each Saturday, in 1976.
This is probably the weakest story of this particular season, although it promised a lot by being the first Pertwee adventure away from Earth. I think that too many elements were added for this story (Master, colonists, mining company, natives, Doomsday Weapon...eliminating something from it actually would have created more interest). The ending of Episode 2 is actually a fun cliffhanger.
It was fun to note that Jo Grant's reaction in the TARDIS was no different than most of the other companions before her (bigger inside than out, NOT ON EARTH, OH MY!).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 27, 2003
This story is typical of most 6-parters in Dr. Who, strong through the first 3 episodes but then dragged out as if it were really intended to be a four part story but they had to stretch it out.
As I have been collecting Dr. Who videos since the Mid. 90's, and I'm hoping the BBC will release the rest here by 2004, buying or not buying this video was not the question.
The biggest thing that stood out was the photocopied wall in the Doctor's TARDIS, which looked cheap.
Unless you're a collector like myself, I wouldn't recommened this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2003
The Master is at it again. This time, he has stolen the file of the Doomsday Weapon from the Time Lords. In order to deal with it, a small group of Time Lords, presumably the Celestial Intervention Agency later mentioned in the Deadly Assassin story, use the Doctor to deal with it. The Doctor and Jo, who happen to be in the TARDIS testing out a new dematerialization circuit, get whisked off to Uxarius, on 3 March 2472.
They meet a group of colonists, headed by Robert Ashe, who are having such horrible luck, that "unless things improve drastically, [their] colony is in grave danger of starving to death." Since their arrival a year ago, they planted subsistence crops in order to reclaim worn out soil, but the crops shoot up, wither, and then die. They also live in an uneasy truce with the local race of Primitives, whom they give food, not helping their dwindling food supply. Not only that, but two colonists are killed by giant lizards. The Doctor and Jo promptly give their help as usual.
As if they didn't have enough troubles, a detachment from Interplanetary Mining Corporation, headed by the cold-hearted Captain Dent, arrive and claim mineral rights, in conflict with Ashe's claim that Uxarius was classified for colonization. An Adjudicator is sent for, however, they normally favour IMC in disputes. The hot-headed Winton, Ashe's deputy, favours an attack on IMC to drive them out, in contrast to the more diplomatically-minded Ashe. On the side of the IMC, there's the mineralogist Caldwell, who begins to question some of IMC's methods of getting their bottom line. The Adjudicator does come, and guess who it is?
Things heat up between the colonists and IMC, whose role in the colonists suffering may be connected. Then there's Norton, a survivor from another colony attacked by giant lizards and Primitives, whose behaviour in Episode Two becomes definitely suspect.
Colony paints a grim picture of Earth back home, "no room to move, polluted air, not a blade of grass, a government that locks you up if you think for yourself", a place where people don't live like human beings but like battery hens in floating 300 story islands. An unflattering picture is painted of corporations. Dent says in true fascist, corporate style, "What's good for IMC is good for Earth." As for the colonists, he doesn't care the least about their hardships. All he cares is about the profits they'll make in gutting Uxarius of duralinium. It's also an interesting look at the leadership styles and decision-making, Ashe, Winton, and Dent in particular, and why they either succeed or fail.
Other things: Mary Ashe says that "there's no animal life, just a few birds and insects." So, uh..., what exactly does that make birds and insects? Apart from that, Helen Worth stands out as Mary, as does Nicholas Pennell (Winton), Bernard Kay (Caldwell), and John Ringham (Robert Ashe), who also appeared as the ruthless Tlotoxl in Who story The Aztecs and the no-longer available The Smugglers as Blake. Another in-joke was a reference to how the Spanish ambassador was mistaken for the Master, as Roger Delgado (the Master) was himself half-Spanish, half-French.
Some padding is apparent throughout this six-parter, but it's a thoughtful story on the reaction against post-industrial urbanization (the colonists) and the ruthlessness of corporations (IMC).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Doctor Who: The Mind of Evil
Doctor Who: The Mind of Evil by Jon Pertwee (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 29.97

Doctor Who: Death to the Daleks
Doctor Who: Death to the Daleks by Jon Pertwee (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 24.53