Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Because
I love this movie since I first watched it and always will be. I just divorced a man who is and never will be a "family man". I couldn't get it anywhere else so I'm very glad Amazon was there for me. Thanks
Published 3 months ago by Marie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Light and airy and sweet
Mix these movies up together, "It's a wonderful life", "Scrooged", and "Mr. Destiny" and you have a perfect recipe for "The Family Man".
Why?
It's a wonderful life: Nicholas Cage plays the male romantic lead who has a life affirming moment that has him go back in time and see how life could have been different. Well, in this story he does exist unlike George,...
Published on Nov. 22 2002 by Ei


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, Jan. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This movie changed my life. I am now married and have a child that could not replace any amount of money in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Because, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Man (DVD)
I love this movie since I first watched it and always will be. I just divorced a man who is and never will be a "family man". I couldn't get it anywhere else so I'm very glad Amazon was there for me. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is highly underrated. Sure, the story has been done time and time again. This time around the performances steal the movie. The chemistry between the two leads should make this a holiday classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD en parfait état, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Man (DVD)
Le produit était en parfait état, il était conforme à mes attentes et la livraison a été rapide et efficace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Jan. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Family Man (DVD)
Great Movie to watch during the holidays with family and friends with a happy ending that will satisfy all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite!, Jan. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my favourite Nick Cage movies. So comical and heart-warming ... a story of 'what could have been.' Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Really Engrossing Film, June 29 2004
This movie borrows from It's a Wonderful Life and the book Replay, where a man can go back and see how his life would be if he made a different choice.
In this movie, Nicholas Cage says goodbye to his girlfriend (Kate) at the airport. He is going to London for a job. We next see him years later as a successful head of a large corporation, unmarried and basically involved in one-night stands. We are later to find out that when Cage went to London, he forgot about Kate and she went her own way, never to be heard from again.
Cage is on the way home from the office during a snow-storm and thwarts a robbery. The audience expects the robber to shoot cage but instead Cage seems to convince the robber that he would be a better man if he didn't shoot Cage. It turns out that the robber is not really a robber but a type of Angel (similar to Clarence in It's a Wonderful Life) who will give Cage a glimpse of what life would be like if he hadn't stayed in London but instead came back and married Kate.
Cage goes to sleep in his luxury apartment and wakes up the next morning in a bed with an older Kate. Cage slowly learns that he is really a married man with a family and instead of a big time corporate president, he is a tire salesman in his father-in-law's store.
There are several hilarious scenes and some very touching ones. His "new" life looks like a nightmare at first turns out to be the life he will eventually prefer (Some of this is reminiscent of Goldie Hawn in Overboard). Only until he realizes this, he will not be returned to his prior life by the Angel.
The director does a great job in giving us an ending that is different than what you seem to expect. I won't say what but I think it was well done.
One thing that is not explored is that when Cage's glimpsed life finishes, he will lose his two children from that glimpsed life. The director never touches on Cage's feelings about that, unlike the novel Replay where the main character is torn apart because a child he had in an alternate life no longer exists when he is in a different reality.
The movie is well cast and Don Cheadle is excellent as the "angel."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Movie really reach me deep inside !, June 10 2004
By 
Jessy (Montréal, Canada) - See all my reviews
A modern-day Frank Capra story. Jack Campbell, a successful and talented businessman, is happily living his single life. He has everything, or so he thinks. One day he wakes up in a new life where he didn't leave his college girlfriend for a London trip. He's married to Kate, lives in Jersey and has two kids. He, of course, desperately wants his life back for which he has worked 13 years for. He's president of P. K. Lassiter Investment House and not a tire salesman at Big Ed's. He drives a Ferrari and not a mini-van that never starts. And most importantly he doesn't wake up in the morning with kids jumping on the bed. After a bad start, day by day he's more confident in his new life and starts to see what he's been missing. Turns out money's good to have but that's not everything.
- Jack Campbell: a 36 years old, 6'1'', Nicolas Cage.
- Kate Reynolds: a 34 years old, 5'8'', Téa Leoni.
- Annie Campbell: a 6 years old, Makenzie Vega, who is half-Colombian and half-Italian.
- Josh Campbell: Twin Brother Jake and Ryan Milkovich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Classic, Oct. 20 2011
This review is from: The Family Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of my favorite Christmas Classics. A story about the choice in life. This story you will enjoy on long winter nights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Dec 1 2008
Far more entertaining and heartwarming than "It's a Wonderful Life". Hilarious and just plain fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad47b09c)

This product

The Family Man
The Family Man by Brett Ratner (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews