Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (320)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of its generation
Many great bands achieve perfection on one album, a high point of epiphany and clarity that is so obvious that it can't be denied - though that band's avid fans often like to. Be it the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper, Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon, Led Zeppelin's fourth album or Elton's Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - all of these albums transcend time and genre, and are immediately...
Published on July 16 2004 by Itamar Katz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Good but not great
Joshua Tree, Boy, The Unforgettable Fire. These are great U2 albums. This is where the slide into electronica started. There are great tunes here; "One" "Even Better Than The Real Thing", but this is just a mix of rock and the rest.
Published 5 months ago by Sir Steven


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic of its generation, July 16 2004
By 
Itamar Katz (Ramat-Gan, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Achtung Baby (Audio CD)
Many great bands achieve perfection on one album, a high point of epiphany and clarity that is so obvious that it can't be denied - though that band's avid fans often like to. Be it the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper, Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon, Led Zeppelin's fourth album or Elton's Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - all of these albums transcend time and genre, and are immediately and eternally accepted as classics by almost everyone, far beyond the bands' fan base. That happened for a record number of artists in 1991 - perhaps the greatest year rock had since 1973. Guns n' Roses had their Use Your Illusion; Red Hot Chili Peppers had Blood Sugar Sex Magik; Nirvana scored with Nevermind, and the list goes on - Pearl Jam, Temple Of The Dog, Spin Doctors. And U2. U2 achieved perfection on Achtung Baby both in their songs and in their sound. Much of the thanks should go to the production team; Achtung is the last U2 album produced by Daniel Lanois, but Brian Eno's (the master-producer who worked with David Bowie, Talking Heads, Bryan Ferry, Robert Fripp and Devo, among others) influence is at its strongest here, and with the help of Mix-artist Flood (techno-wizard who helped Nine Inch Nails and Smashing Pumpkins to the top) he creates a new sound for U2, a sound that is rougher, harder and more electric, but also more captivating and more powerful than they ever were before. U2 dragged themselves kicking and screaming out of the 80s, emerged out of pop-rock and into the alternative and the avant-garde, and created an album that is at once catchy and groundbreaking.
From the very first sounds of the album's opening track, 'Zoo Station', it's clear that this will be a very different experience from The Joshua Tree or anything else they released before. The song is by far the heaviest and hardest track on the album, which makes for a great opener and a great introduction to the 'new', more produced, more experimental U2. That is not to say that the band mates' celebrated skills are nowhere to be seen; in fact, The Edge's guitar sounds better than ever, but he abandoned the clean tone that made him famous during the Joshua Tree / Rattle & Hum period for a much harsher, more distorted sound. What attracted me to U2's music was always the sound rather than the songs, and on Achtung Baby the sound is all around perfect. That can be felt on the album's catchier, mellower pop tunes, like the hit ballad 'One' and the successful single 'Mysterious Ways', as well as on the more experimental pieces - 'The Fly', 'Love Is Blindness', or 'Even Better Than The Real Thing'. U2 made a completely new band out of themselves in 1991, in terms of both music and subject matter; politics are nowhere to be found on Achtung Baby, and even the love songs have become more complex and sarcastic. U2 and Bono are darker here than they ever were.
But all that does not mean that they lost they skill for making catchy tunes; on the contrary. Each song on Achtung Baby is a perfect pop song, and it produced a number of hit singles that equals its massively successful predecessor. Thus the ideal balance is struck between the qualities of each member of the band and the production team - Bono's pop poetry, The Edge's explosive guitar, Eno's always expanding experimentation, Flood's electronics. That balance will not - could not have - lasted for more than one album; Eno would take over on Zooropa, then Flood would have his own on Pop, and Bono would reclaim the group on All That You Can't Leave Behind. All of these albums are great for their own reasons, but not one of them could be compared to the inspiration of Achtung Baby. Even the most cynic of U2's haters should give it a listen; it really is one of the masterpieces of its time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But Could Have Been Better!, Nov. 1 2011
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off U2 fans are a bit like Deadheads they don't like anything negative being said about there band. With that in mind I will try to be gentle. First off Actung Baby is in my opinion U2's masterpiece. Don't get me wrong I loved Unforgetable Fire and Jousha Tree but this is a perfect record. So we have established that I am huge fan of this record. I saw the Zoo TV tour three times and the Show at Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto is still my all time favorite concert. It was even great at the much larger CNE stadium. But back to this box set. The First CD is the remastered album. I didn't know how much a difference remastering would do but I am glad to report the remastered CD sounds a lot better then the original release. The second CD is Zooropa the CD they put out in the middle of the Zoo TV tour. Nice remaster on that ad well. Now the problems start. The next two CD's are remixes. Do we really need two CD's of remixes. I didn't buy the CD singles unless they had unreleased songs on them. I also don't feel Band's have much input when remixes are done so I don't see the point. Disc 5 is b-sides and unreleased songs. Good disc but I am sure you like me have almost everything that's on it. The last CD is a different mix of the whole record. Not sure how I feel about that but I will give it good marks for that.
We now move on the DVD's. First we have "from the sky down" good documentary that was at this years Toronto Film Festival. Actually it opened the festival this past fall. The second DVD is the Videos. Haven't they already sold us these Video's a few times over already. So I really don't see the point of this disc. Next is the Bonus material DVD. It finally has a release of the Zoo TV television special. So two thumbs up there. But the last disc ticks me off. Zoo TV live in Sydney. Seriously how many of you don't already have this. But hey we get to buy it again.
It comes with a hard covered book that is mostly photos. Some text. We also get a bunch of photos in the style of the art work on the album. Again kind of useless. So over all it gets around 4 stars. This is one of the best CD's ever made and the more the better. I just hate buying stuff twice. In closing there should have been a 5.1 mix or at least a high resolution (96/24 or higher) of the album in the box. But I guess we will have to wait until it turns 30,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achtung - Uber, Nov. 2 2011
This review is from: Achtung Baby - 20th Anniversary Edition (Uber Deluxe Box Set) (Audio CD)
Would love to review this product as I've been waiting for over 3 months, but the ever reliable .ca has screwed me again. Hope everyone is enjoying their copies........ looks great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Big Disappointment, Feb. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've waited for years for this album to be reissued on vinyl only to be deeply disappointed. The first one that I received was shipped by Amazon in its factory shrink wrap with no protective box or packaging. Needless to say it looked as if the fine folks that delivered it used it for a hockey puck in a sudden death play off game.

The second one was well packed and arrived without cosmetic damage, but the sound quality is marginal, the jackets and box are cheap and 2 of the 4 albums had surface damage.

I guess Bono was tried of saving the world and needed a new castle so he authorized a reissue using the cheapest possible production and materials. Goes to show you "made in Germany" doesn't mean what it once did.

Very disappointing for such an expensive album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Good but not great, Feb. 12 2014
By 
Sir Steven (Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Joshua Tree, Boy, The Unforgettable Fire. These are great U2 albums. This is where the slide into electronica started. There are great tunes here; "One" "Even Better Than The Real Thing", but this is just a mix of rock and the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for any fan of rock!, June 25 2013
By 
S. Ciampa "sal" (Oak Ridges, Ontario CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion, Achtung Baby may have been U2's greatest of all time and certainly one of the best albums even released by any rock band.

Achting Baby was recorded at a time when the band was at it's weakest moment and was in danger of breaking up. It was until a small demo of 'One' was played for the rest of the band it was a complete 180 from there.

There is a lot of emotion in the album and you can fell when playing back the tracks. You'll feel pumped and engerized at one moment, then brought down feeling true emotion from 'One' and 'Wild Horse'.

Friends, if you've never listened to a U2 album, make Achtung Baby your first. It's was awesome in 1991 and a true classic in 2013. I can never get tired of this album, one of my all time favourites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Sept. 29 2005
This review is from: Achtung Baby (Audio CD)
This album marks the big change in direction the band went through after Bono declared at a concert on December 31, 1989 that they had to go away and dream it all up again. It contains the legendary song ONE (which many believe to be their best ever), which came out of a crisis situation in which the band might have been close to breaking up.
Thank God that didn't happen!
This album is one of the best of all time, and deserves to be a part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Ground Broken, June 23 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Achtung Baby (Audio CD)
Berlin, 1990. U2 are months removed from the end of the "Lovetown" tour, and they are struggling to figure out what to do, as the recording sessions for the untitled new project began. For the first time in their career, they were getting nowhere, and fast. Add this to the fact that there were massive disagreements about the creative direction they should take, and the fact that The Edge was going through a difficult split from his wife at the time, and you have one very tense, very uncertain atmosphere for these recording sessions. It was a breakdown of sorts, and U2 nearly broke up. Were it not for one song, they may have never released anything together again.
Fortunately, that song did come to be, and the rest is history, as it quickly led to U2 finding their groove and figuring out what they wanted to do. Achtung Baby was a much darker, much more techno and dance-oriented then anything they had ever done. Bono's lyrical fortes have always been politics and sexual innuendo, and after a decade of political music, this album is straight a love-sex-relationships-loss record, which is no surprise as The Edge was going through his own marital split at the time and Bono was also having some problems(which have since been resolved) concerning touring and being away from his family for so long. This record captures all the different ways love can manifest itself, and, in contrast, the different ways it can be lost. Highlights include chart hits 'Even Better Than The Real Thing', 'The Fly', and 'Mysterious Ways', live favorite "'ntil The End Of The World'(which has generated so amazing performances), unknown gems 'So Cruel', "'Ultraviolet', 'Acrobat', and 'Love Is Blindness'.
When one things "Achtung Baby", however, one thinks of one song. 'One' is often considered as being right up with "Yesterday" in terms of the greatest rock ballads ever written, and more importantly is the song that saved U2 from breakup. To quote Larry Mullen Jr., "I remember walking into the control room, and hearing this riff, it's the riff from One, and just thinking, 'that is IT, THIS is something special". For me the brilliance of "One" is that it has so many different meanings that no one has ever been able to pinpoint its original genesis lyric-wise. It could be talking about tolerance and acceptance amongst the human race, it could be talking about AIDS, it could be talking about a relationship gone bad, it could even be talking about the band itself, as in the band members are not the same but they have to carry each other in order to make the band work. Just a brilliant song, as are most of the songs on this record(come on, there are only three songs on it that I haven't mentioned).
What's perhaps even more brilliant than this record is the way in which U2 decided to tour it. I am convinced that no tour will ever be able to touch the spectacle that was, "ZooTV". The brilliance of this tour lies in its intent: on the outside, when you see Bono strut on stage in a leather outfit with fly shades and slicked back hair, the band with massive amounts of hardware behind them, the first reaction is that they're a band that has let superstardom go to their heads, a group of arrogant individuals. However, this is not the case. The intent of this tour is to, in fact, make fun of the importance the media puts on things like U2 by putting all those huge TV screens on stage, while at the same time using them to bring more important issues to the public's doorstep: the gulf war, the sarajevo linkups(in which Bono talked to young people in Sarajevo during its wartime, via satellite, during shows), etc.
The most amazing part of all this is that U2 were able to make such drastic changes, take such big risks for already being the biggest band in the world, and be able to not only maintain that title, but attract legions of new fans at the same time, while still being true to the music THEY wanted to make. That hasn't happened very often at all. Ever. Fans will argue over which of masterpiece #3("The Joshua Tree") or masterpiece #4(This) is better, but I say, just appreciate "Achtung Baby" for what it is: A great, groundbreaking rock record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great set in cheap packaging, Jan. 5 2012
By 
Candice Crossley (Fort McMurray, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Achtung Baby - 20th Anniversary Edition (Uber Deluxe Box Set) (Audio CD)
I have had 2 separate box sets sent to me. The first one was majorly damaged sue to poor assembly. How it made it past quality control makes no sense to me. The second box set was beetter assembled but still damaged due to poor packaging. Maybe third time will be the charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For U2 it is a good CD, Oct. 29 1999
This review is from: Achtung Baby (Audio CD)
Good for U2, but nothing compared to major bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews