Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 3.5-star average? Oh, hell no!
Maybe it's hard for me to be objective since Meshuggah are my idols and all, but I don't think this release gets enough credit. First of all, it combines their debut album "Contradictions Collapse" and the jaw-dropping EP "None" for about an hour of solid destruction, but you knew that already. This reissue lets you hear how Meshuggah evolved from a hugely talented band...
Published on Oct. 23 2003 by Wheelchair Assassin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay...
I don't like Meshuggah. I find most of their music to be [loud] noise and not much else. Not because I can't handle it, but because it puts me to sleep. If you listen to songs off Chaosphere or Nothing, you'll see what I mean. Polyrhythms, downtuned guitars/bass, a singer shouting like he has nails in his throat and screechy, atonal solos that go basically everywhere and...
Published on May 3 2003 by Nicholas Alla Koholick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The End of All Things To Come, June 10 2004
By 
S. Chamberlain (Rowlett, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
If only people knew what was upon them when they first encountered a Swedish thrash band named Meshuggah. This full length debut features 80's thrash in the same vein of Metallica and Anthrax.
On Contradictions Collapse, there is nothing here that is mindblowing but its your generic 80's thrash metal that is good but nothing that compares with the aformentioned bands. Musically they show that they can go head to head with any thrash band with some killer and often catchy riffs and lightning fast drumming. "Erroneous Manipulation" is by far the best track on the album and something I would even prefer to hear live from them on a rare occurence. "Greed"'s intro starts with a haunting acoustic (yeah Meshuggah and acoustic amazing) with a start stop guitar onslaught. The vocals are something that leaves something more to be desired from Jens Kidman. Yet as any Meshuggah knows now he turns into a rabid fast vocal man on Chaosphere and shows such a demonic presence on Nothing.
So, you're probably asking why the four starts well one word : NONE! This four song EP is filled with the technical heavy Meshuggah we have all come to love. The breakout track "Sickening" is still a regular in the band's setlist with its very grooving beat. "Ritual" is something that shows Jens showing his own sort of melody in what could be the slowest Meshuggah ever.
Buying this album is fully worth it just knowing that this is the end of a Meshuggah that also shows the very beginning of things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 3.5-star average? Oh, hell no!, Oct. 23 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
Maybe it's hard for me to be objective since Meshuggah are my idols and all, but I don't think this release gets enough credit. First of all, it combines their debut album "Contradictions Collapse" and the jaw-dropping EP "None" for about an hour of solid destruction, but you knew that already. This reissue lets you hear how Meshuggah evolved from a hugely talented band of Bay Area Thrash impersonators to a hugely talented band with a sound and vision all their own. However, I recommend this album unreservedly for way more than any historical value. I recommend it because it rules, especially the concluding four songs that comprise "None."
"Contradictions Collapse," the band's first full-length release, starts things off with nine tracks from Meshuggah's early days. Although this album's sound is nowhere near as distinctive as that of "Destroy Erase Improve" or "Chaosphere," as it displays more than a little influence from the likes of Metallica, it still rocks as hard as anything they've ever done. It actually features some of their more memorable riffs, and at times it's even *gasp* catchy. Still, though, you can see Meshuggah starting to trace the path that would eventually become their own through such devices as call-and-response vocals, complex arrangements, and the occasional wacky time signature.
It's on "None" that you can hear Meshuggah really developing into the greatest band of all time. Even before looking at the CD case, I could tell that "Contradictions Collapse" ended after track nine because there was such a dramatic change in the overall sound. With "None," the riffs became tighter, the drumming more technical, the song structures more complex and less predictable, and Jens Kidman's growls much more powerful and assured. Those polyrhythms that you hear so much about? They started here. The songs become less catchy, but far more inventive and substantial.
In the end, I find this CD to be almost as essential as everything that came after it. You get about an hour of tunes, you get some background on a great band, and, well, it's Meshuggah. Need I say more? If you consider yourself a Meshuggah fan, this album is an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Excellent E.P. (toby_banks@hotmail.com), May 22 2003
By 
"euphoric_maniac" (Canberra, A.C.T. Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
Anyone who knows what the hell a polyrhythm is will blow a load over this one-Meshuggah are the people for polyrhythms. But aside to that, they have some other good qualities too. For starters, the damn cool riffs (it's great-they tune the guitars down to C or B or something) which fit the style near-perfectly. The drumming speaks for its self - it's amazing. I'd say the only mild downer is the singing-it's kind of annoying-but you get used to it. That's another thing about this album, I'd reccomend that you buy this, but don't get too annoyed and take it back too quickly - at first it doesn't seem as good as it is - it's one of those albums that grows on ya like a fungus or something. So if you do get your act together and get this cd then keep it until the last day you can take it back, if you still want to, then you are quite the odd one.
Also, if there are any big big meshuggah fans out there who read this, would you please email me at my email adress (it's just above this review) and tell me what you reccomend? If you do, then thanks a lot.
So, to finish off - I thought I'd tell you about three of my favourite songs one the album. Starting off with "Internal Evidence". Great riffs, awesome beat and the singing's awesome, especially after the first chorus when he does a real mammoth shout - it's damn cool. Secondly - "Choirs Of Devastation". The first real part of the song is, well "nice" sounding - no distortion and it has a sort of classical feel to it. Then it kicks in with the quick palm muted triplet/quad etc picking and drumming. The singing isn't so harsh in this one (not that the harsh singing is bad) and it works very well. For the last one i shall discuss, I choose "Sickening". The intro is stunning - a few random guitar parts spread out over about 30 or so seconds (just by its self) when the drums come in with a roll. Then it pauses. Then just about the most killer riff if the whole album - the singing's not too shabby either.
So i highly reccomend this album for any thrash/black metal fan who hasn't heard it already - a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay..., May 3 2003
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
I don't like Meshuggah. I find most of their music to be [loud] noise and not much else. Not because I can't handle it, but because it puts me to sleep. If you listen to songs off Chaosphere or Nothing, you'll see what I mean. Polyrhythms, downtuned guitars/bass, a singer shouting like he has nails in his throat and screechy, atonal solos that go basically everywhere and nowhere at once. Not to mention an annoying 4/4(gasp!) hi-hat/splash cymbal beat in the background under it all, giving it a 'machinery' sound. The theory these guys possess is amazing, and the concept of the music is impressive as well, but the execution is quite horrible. Which brings me to this release. Here, Meshuggah were just a thrash band in Sweden with an insatiable love for Metallica and a good drummer who count in t.s. other than 4. So they made a thrash record, occasionally tossing in these odd times and feels. The result:
An interesting, above-average, and highly overlooked thrash record, complete with noisy screaming and odd times, Meshuggah's trademark. But here, we also have catchy riffs(right out of the Anthrax/Metallica/Sepultura camp), group vocals, and music lively enough to keep me awake, which doesn't take much. No [hopeful] industrial, no plodding machine-sounds, and no pretensious air.
Unfortunately, this release is a horrible Nuclear Blast digipack re-release, with a flimsy, boring package. In fact, the only bonus is clear sound quality and four tracks from the None EP, which, unfortunately, take on the annoying 'new' Meshuggah sound brought to fruition on Destroy Erase Improve. Alas, I take a star, leaving this whole thing at 3. I wonder sometimes, what would have happened had this band continued on this course. Maybe we would have had a new Metallica on our hands. Or maybe DEI was the way that things were simply supposed to go. I guess I'll never know...
Meshuggah fans should come here to see the roots and the one-time greatness. "Internal Evidence" is a nice start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Too bad the reissue is terrible..., Oct. 3 2002
By 
"pkummerfeldt" (Miami, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
This album is spectacullar. Heavy as ..., catchy, technical and just makes you proud you listen to metal. This release contains the debut full length "Contradictions Collapse" which displays the band at their thrashiest, it is also thir most straighforward release (by no means does this imply that the album is "accesible", it is still Meshuggah and their crazy rythms, riffs and drums!). The second part of this release is the "None" e.p., but whithout the closing song (Aztec Two Step), but that song was just weird industrial noise, so you won't miss it.
Every song on this album is awesome, from the brutal openner "Paralysing Ignorance", with its catchy chorus and awesome lyrical content. The next song "Erroneous Manipulation" is very heavy, with a slow paced groove. Next highlight is "Internal Evidence", which has one of the best verse riffs i've ever heard, and the riff is complemented by Thomas Haake's wierd dumming, sounds like the band are completely out of pace, but close listening proves you the awkward sounding rythm is a deliberate attempt to play with your min!, and they aren't out of synch!! The fifth song "Qualms of reality" breaks into an all out assault on your senses near the ending, this song also has some huge backup vocals (think huge choruses ala 80's). Excellent debut. The same goes with the "bonues tracks", which are from None, and sound like their follow-up release, "Destroy Erase Improve"
The reason I gave this 1 star is because the reissuing is ..., you get no liner notes, no lyrics, no info on the line-up (they were a 4 piece, and the picture they show on the packaging, is a picture of a different line-up!!!!). It is also a digipack, and those things decompose and deteriorate very fast. I appreciate Nuclear Blast reissuing these long out of print releases, but they can do a better job. BEWARE: almost every NB re-release is a ... digipack, this goes for the Hypocrisy reissues, the Therion reissues, Sinister reissues etc. etc. whiuch I think is an embarasment to metal fans and consumers! , ... metal fans who never purchased the originals, and instead are forced to buy unproper and mediocre re-releases .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars meshuggah at it's best, Sept. 25 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Bethpage, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
This is one of my wisest purchases ever. The drumming on this cd is seriously some of the best i've ever heard. The vocals sound like james hetfield a hundred times better and a hundred times more brutal. Oh and the bass? It really shines on this cd, unlike meshuggah's other ones. The bass is so good that i often find myself just paying attention to it and nothing else. i'm sure you will too. It's hard to put meshuggah into a genre of music but this cd i guess would be called thrash.
The guitar's play some riffs that just blow my mind. I can just imagine that if i was a guitar player i would have some trouble playin these riffs. I listen to a lot of metal bands and many different kinds of metal but I haven't ever heard a cd like this one.
The cd had 13 tracks and it's over an hour long so you really get more bang for your buck and all the songs are memorable. The amazing thing is that despite all the instrumentation being very technical, all the songs are very very catchy and they don't repeat that much.
Easily, one of the all time great metal cds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Riffs ala metallica, Feb. 11 2000
By 
aphexin (Snobtown, Elitistville) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
I am quite sure that Meshuggah is the only band in the world that can rip off numerous metallica riffs and get away with it. I am not calling it a bad thing, because Meshuggah is one of the premier metal bands, and they happen to be one of my favorite bands on top of that. Anyway, this cd is a reissue of Contradictions Collapse, an earlier release by them when they were still in their thrash metal days. The accompanying tracks are from an EP "none", which is one of their finest releases. But on "CC", there are at least five, count 'em, 5, opening leads and/or riffs that they took from metallica; very well done might I add. Meshuggah took "Master of Puppets", "Disposable Heroes", parts of "Battery", and some of "Leper Messiah". And this is only off of "CC"! Oh well, they do it too beautifully. On "None", the opening to the first song, I think it is, takes the opening riff from "Shortest Straw". But "None" is absolutely stellar. Buy this reissue if you really, I mean, really like thrash metal, and you'll enjoy all of "CC" and some of "None". If you like Meshuggah at their OWN creative best, just stick with the import EP "None".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The "None" tracks are worth the cost..., Dec 23 2002
By 
Mark W. Kulacz (Southborough, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
The last four tracks on this re-release, from the 94 EP None, are worth the cost of this album. They are raw, punnishing, complicated, always on the edge of your seat awesome songs. My legs hurt after listening to these songs while driving my car because I simply cannot sit still with the rythym. The first 2/3 of this album lacks that entirely, and is dime-a-dozen heavy metal with a little speed here and there (not quite death metal or black metal). Some of the tunes are ok here and there, but easily forgettable. This album is 1/3 five stars, and 2/3 2 stars, so that works out to be 3 stars. Since the last 4 tracks were written in 94, and the first tracks were written in 91, it is evidence that Meshuggah has matured, and this means I will be purchasing more Meshuggah track sfrom after 1994. Good Metal just might be the hardest of the music genres to write for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars metallica should praise meshuggah !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Dec 11 2003
By 
bobby page (stockton, california United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
this meshuggah album is one of the births of this style thrash aks any metal fan...as for the guy who said metallica's new stuff is better than meshuggah you need to open your ears. i gurantee that metallica had the one and only meshuggah in mind when they made st.(horrible album)anger..i cant describe this band in so little words but all i have to say is technical.when i first heard this band i heard chiors of devastation and thought how original the sound was compared to alot of other bands that came out in 1991.but with age this band just gets better i think everyone who is a metallica fan should not take offense to what i said because i truly do respect metallica, but i think everyone should respect meshuggah for their sheer talent...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The birth of Meshuggah is "None", May 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Contradictions/None (Audio CD)
I get such a kick out of this combo album. Contradictions Collapse can merely be considered fundamental thrash. Simply practice, maybe the boy before he becomes a man. The soon to be trademark group sound creeping out at times. But boy, take notice once None begins at track 10. In fact it's impossible not to take notice. For my 5 stars are based merely on its 4 songs of polished, polluted, shower of immense groove. The out of print None EP which made its debut in '94 actually has one additional track, which is really not to be missed. Thrash was indeed in need of an update and these Swedes have the ability. Take notice of drumming, tempos and time signatures. Crazy ... definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contradictions Collapse & None (Vinyl)
Contradictions Collapse & None (Vinyl) by Meshuggah (LP Record - 2012)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews