Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Godzilla movie ever
Do you like Kaiju and classic sci-fi flicks?Then you've definetly watched this one. For the few who already hasn't only one suggestion......hurry up and buy it.
I'm not going to complain about the quality of the DVD release or the dubbing in English. For a Godzilla movie of this magnitute, this sounds a bit pointless. For me this film is the top of all the monster...
Published on June 28 2004 by ANA G NTILIA

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie -- very bad dubbing
For the 50th anniversary of Godzilla, we have a special relelease of Destroy All Monsters on DVD. This in itself is good, and an added attraction is that there's a second disc -- a CD of the soundtrack. But there are two downsides:
-- there are no special featuers -- not even a theatrical trailer.
-- the dub is the poorly acted recent dub from a few years...
Published on July 4 2004 by Jim Mann


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie -- very bad dubbing, July 4 2004
By 
Jim Mann (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
For the 50th anniversary of Godzilla, we have a special relelease of Destroy All Monsters on DVD. This in itself is good, and an added attraction is that there's a second disc -- a CD of the soundtrack. But there are two downsides:
-- there are no special featuers -- not even a theatrical trailer.
-- the dub is the poorly acted recent dub from a few years ago. The original dub is not great (what dubs are? Why, oh, why, don't they also offer subtitled versions), this one is very poorly acted, more so that usual even for these types of films.
Overall, I'd still recommend this to Godzilla fans (and I've been one since seeing King Kong vs. Godzilla in its original US showing at the drive-in when I was a kid), but it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars All Hype, No Bite, April 25 2009
By 
Greg "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
I've waited to see this film since I was a little kid. I had a big monster book and was hooked by B&W stills from the movie. Based on reviews I had read over the years from cult film fans, I presumed it was a fairly good film. Instead, it turned out to be a disappointment. The film focuses too heavily on the human storyline, which is boring and lame. The scriptwriting is truly horrid, and the acting and voiceovers are dull to say the least. If you kept a word count of the word "right" you would be shocked by the total--in fact, it appears so many times that it couldn't have been by chance. The spoken lines are so mechanically written that it appears that it was the intent of the writers that the film make fun of itself...but dull is dull, whether intentional or not. The little bit of monster action that there is doesn't begin to make up for all the wasted time on the incredibly boring human storyline. This is quite possibly one of the worst Godzilla films. Not "Godzilla VS Megalon" bad, not "Godzilla's Revenge" bad, but...incredibly dull!

As for the DVD release itself, another disappointment. The cover art was so appealing that I assumed the 20 dollar price tag for this item would be worth it by special features or a beautiful menu. But there are no special features, and no menu. That's right, you can't select a scene--you can't even skip scenes! Pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great Kaiju/Godzilla film., Jan. 23 2006
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters (DVD)
This was a good Godzilla movie. It features just about every single monster and the aliens are also a nice touch. The only thing I didn't like about it was the fact that, with all the monsters around, Godzilla seems rather small.
OK, basically the story goes that all the world's monsters are confined on an island called monster land (or monster island, whichever you prefer.) and they have specail devices to keep them there. One day the defices are shut off and the workers are put to sleep and hypnotized by a yellow dust. The monsters break free and are set to destroy the world's major cities. (Mind you, the year is 1999 and humans have 'special technology' and a base on the moon. Cool, huh?) The humans later find out that aliens are controlling the monsters, and humans have to save the world.
This is one of my fave movies of the Showa series just because it has jus about everything! Aliens, monsters, destruction, explosions, hypnotics, UFO's... it's very fun. My two beefs with this film is the fact that A: As I said before, Godzilla seems small and I think that he should have had a bigger part. B: The parts with destruction and the final battle with a surprise monster are rather short. They are fun, but they could have been longer.
All in all a fun kaiju and G movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Godzilla movie ever, June 28 2004
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
Do you like Kaiju and classic sci-fi flicks?Then you've definetly watched this one. For the few who already hasn't only one suggestion......hurry up and buy it.
I'm not going to complain about the quality of the DVD release or the dubbing in English. For a Godzilla movie of this magnitute, this sounds a bit pointless. For me this film is the top of all the monster flicks. I,d also like to have it uncut and subtitled but i feel privileged and lucky just to own it in a DVD copy. That way i could watch it as many times as i want without damaging the movie. Now i'm even thinking of buying a second copy just to replace the first one in case something happens to it.
I first watched it at a summer theater when i was young and from that point i fell in love with it. I own all of the Godzilla films since i am a Godzilla maniac but this one surpass every other one, easily.
Inoshiro Honda's best movie ever and Ifukumbe's best soundtrack ever.
The story in a few words is the following:
Human race confined all the monsters in monster-island using some kind of transmitters with creates an invisible barrier surrounding the island. Aliens with bad intentions are setting them loose and afterwards they control them. Their primary orders are the demolition of every major city in the world. Later on humanity find the way to set the monsters free from the alien control and turn them against the Alien invaders. At that point the aliens have no other choice than to summon the space monster Ghidrah and set this party on fire.
As you all monster-movie lovers probably asumed by the story above, hell breaks lose on earth and we all can be the front watchers of this titanic rampage!! Godzilla saga DEFINATELY at its best moments.The only movie i expect and hope to throw this 1968 flick from the top of my list is Toho's upcoming Godzilla last project, "Godzilla: Final Wars".
I feel the need to express my graditute to Inoshiro Honda and his crew for making these kind of films(anyone seen "Mysterians" or "Battle in outer space" knows exactly what i'm talking about),which allow you to feel young again and send you on a fabulous journey throughout the boundries of your imagination. Thanx Inoshiro, you'll always have a special place in our hurts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Showa Godzilla flicks, June 20 2004
By 
William G. Piper (English, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
One of my favorite G flicks of his early years. The artwork/movie descriptions are sort of misleading, making one thing this is a huge monster fest. Yes, there are quite a few monsters in the movie, only a few actually have more than a minute of screen time. The final battle is basically Godzilla, Rodan, Mothra, and Gorosaurus Vs Ghidorah, with the other monsters as the audience. At any rate, i still like the film. I'm a sucker for aliens in the Godzilla flicks (i'm glad they are making a come back in the upcoming "Godzilla: Final Wars"), though the beings in this film aren't as interesting as the Devo aliens in Monster Zero!
The dvd itself is disappointing. This disc is about bare bones as a dvd can get. I heard conflicting reports whether this is ADV's or Toho's fault. There is no menu and no chapter stops! just like a VHS, pop it in and it plays. Want to see a certain scene, you have to fast forward it. The newly released "Special Edition" version of this film is the same as this disc, but with different coverart and a soundtrack cd. Besides that, the video transfer is decent and it is letterbox. Audio is the english dub, which isn't as bad as some make it out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Extreme Godzilla Movie Ever!, June 14 2004
By 
S. Koropeckyj "Romi Panchir" (The Bright Side of the Moon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
Remember when rating this movie; I am rating it first as a Godzilla movie and then as a B-Movie. In both the categories it excells. The acting is horrible, the plot is stupid, the monsters are fake, the dubbing is crap, the special effects can't impress anyone, yet this movie for some reason is very good. Where else can you find a movie when you can so easily list everything bad about it and then say, but it was really good afterwards.
There are tons of monsters in this movie and they all have their unique little quirks. (Godzilla's pre-fight scene air punches are totally classic) Rhodan only eats Dolphin- Japanease propaganda anyone?
What however makes the movie is the final fight scene between King Ghidrah and all of the earth monsters. When King Ghidrah is already grounded all the monsters just surround him and start fighting him like a bunch of school yeard bullies. One monster jumps on his neck and other pick up one of his heads and throws it against the ground. Essentially it is too hilarious to recount here.
The plot was just stupid in this movie. It is not worth recounting however what is a funny thing was that this movie was supposed to be based in 1999. They greatly overestimated what technology we would have. Well maybe Japan has that technology today. I mean you never know.
Highly Recommended to all you Godzilla Folks you will laugh you will cry maybe even soil yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Destroy All Aliens" Is More Like It, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
This movie was very exciting when I was a kid. I was given the DVD for my birthday and saw it for the first time in twenty plus years. Boy, was I dissapointed. I did not realise how boring this film is. Godzilla and all the other monsters do not show up until nearly the end of the movie during a climactic battle with Ghidra-The Three Headed Monster (or Monster Zero - as it is called in another movie). That's about it. Most of the film focuses in on aliens (taking up residence in secret headquarters under Mt. Fuji) bent on taking over the earth, gaining control of the monsters, and brainwashing some human inhabitants as well. The set up for this plot is long and tedious until the epic battle with all the monsters. It is best to skip over everthing and go straight to the battle scene. There are better things to watch than wait for the Godzilla et. al to show up 3/4's through the film. Overall, nostalgic but very outdated. GODZILLA vs. MONSTER ZERO has basically the same premise except that Godzilla and Rhodan and Ghidra are the only monsters that show up in the film. This movie held up better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A must for Godzilla fans only, May 14 2004
By 
C. Hanecak (Somewhere, MA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
I bought this DVD because I am a big Godzilla fan and must have every DVD with him in it. That of course doesn't mean this DVD is for everyone. The movie itself is alright, it does have alot of monsters in it but alot of the footage in this movie is stock footage from other movies. Now you do expect that from Godzilla movies because they were on a low budget but this movie does it too much.
The plot is pretty basic and typical for a Godzilla movie, though the nature of the aliens is kind of interesting. The special effects are also typical for this era of Godzilla movies.
What I liked most about the movie is having all the monsters(or most of them anyway) and seeing them attack places other than Tokyo.
What I didn't like is the final battle being so short and well one sided for that matter, Ghidora is strong but he can't take that many monsters on for long.
The DVD itself offers no real extra features, in fact unless I'm blind there wasn't even a menu of any kind.
Overall, I give it 3 stars, typical plot and effects, lackluster DVD features, but decent action and of course its Godzilla, come on! If you're a big fan, obviously you need this DVD, if not, try one of Godzilla's other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ADV "Destroy All Monsters" DVD, May 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
VIDEO QUALITY:
Generally pretty good - the transfer has vivid colours and sharp images. There are a few scenes with some print damage, mainly during the final battle - this consists of some scratches, hairs and some small speckles. For the most part though it's in very good shape. Sadly there were a few problems with the DVD though - mainly some compression problems resulting in rainbows on sharp edges throughout the entire film, and that the film lacks anamorphic enhancement. On whole though, it's generally a sharp looking widescreen version of the film - something never seen in the US before.
AUDIO QUALITY:
The DVD only offers one audio track, the Toho International dubbing presented in mono (doubled up to make 2.0, but it's not true stereo). Despite the rather lacklustre dubbing, the track itself is in very good condition - I don't believe I heard any cracks, pops or other distortions, everything seemed good.
EXTRA FEATURES:
No features, no menu, no chapter stops. It works basically like a VCD - chuck it in and it plays the film. If you want to get to a particular part of the film you have to fast forward through the entire film to get there.
OVERALL:
Reasonable video quality, minus a the compression screw ups, and pretty good quality audio. The films itself is in very good condition, and it's good thing too because that's all the disc offers. Without a menu or chapter stops it's a pretty thin release, however that's been argued back and fourth between it being Toho or ADV's fault. At the end of the day it's the best release of the film you're ever going to get, unless you fork out $55 for the Region-2 DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Showdown That's Unforgettable, Feb. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Destroy All Monsters Vol 1 (DVD)
It's the year 1999 and mankind put all of earth's monsters on an island called Monster Island(a.k.a Monster Land they call it both). There is a base underneath the volcano where scientists study the monsters as there are many defenses to each monsters own instinct.
Suddenly the base fills with poison gas as so does the rest of the island! As Japan's top scientists try to figure out what just happened, Monsters attack the world!
Rodan pummels Moscow! Gorosaurus digs up Paris(they say Baragon because right at that moment they found out the Baragon costume was beat up from all the times it was used on Ultraman and needed something fast)! Mothra takes on Bey Ping! Godzilla ruins New York and other monsters destroy other major cities as Japan is strangely left alone. And it's up to the crew of the Moonlight SY3 to find out who's causing this and where the scientists are. Things start heating up as they take on UFOs and when Japan finally control the monsters to take on the Kilaaks'(the evil aliens) final weapon thought to never be seen again, King Ghidorah(or known as Ghidrah). So get ready for a smack down like never before!
NOTE: Spiega(a.k.a Kumonga) is not a freind of Godzilla. Speiga was being controlled as he still continues to attack monsters like Anguirus and the reason that Ebirah and Kamacuras are not caught until later(same with Gigan, Megalon, and Titanosaurus).
RATINGS:
Plot: A
Movie: A
Acting: A-
Video Quality: A
Overall Average: A(as in 5/5 or ***** stars)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Destroy all Monsters [Blu-ray]
Destroy all Monsters [Blu-ray] by Mediablasters (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 324.14
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews