Customer Reviews


210 Reviews
5 star:
 (159)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulp Fiction (blu ray)...a remarkable movie with all-star casts and great dialogue with top-notched video/audio remaster...
VIDEO:

Pulp Fiction comes to blu ray with AVC encoded 1080p transfer in 2.35:1, personally supervised and approved by Mr. Quentin Tarantino himself. The video is a considerable improvement over the standard DVD. The picture is razor sharp, with an incredible amount of detail. From the blood streaks in Jules' car after Marvin is shot, to the individual strands...
Published on Oct. 8 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for insane DRM on the Blu-ray
This movie looks really amazing on Blu-ray if you can find a player to play it.

The DRM on this disc is particularly onerous, and it outright doesn't work on 2 of the 3 players in my house. Updating the firmware on those players didn't help. I can play it on my computer, but only the main feature without any menus, so no special features for me.

A...
Published 14 months ago by umdesch4


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulp Fiction (blu ray)...a remarkable movie with all-star casts and great dialogue with top-notched video/audio remaster..., Oct. 8 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pulp Fiction / Fiction Pulpeuse (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Pulp Fiction comes to blu ray with AVC encoded 1080p transfer in 2.35:1, personally supervised and approved by Mr. Quentin Tarantino himself. The video is a considerable improvement over the standard DVD. The picture is razor sharp, with an incredible amount of detail. From the blood streaks in Jules' car after Marvin is shot, to the individual strands in Travolta's hairpiece, every aspect of Andrzej Sekua's vivid cinematography is presented perfectly. Colours are bold and realistic, such as in the Jack Rabbit Slim's sequence. Uma Thurman's crimson lips simply pop off the screen. Skin tones are always very natural looking. Beads of sweat can be seen clearly running down the face of Marsellus. I also appreciate the subtitles within the screen, and located on the side of the person speaking. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack is equally impressive. Dialogue is crystal clear. The music sounds satisfyingly full-bodied. The selection of songs for the soundtrack is superb. The song Son Of A Preacher Man revitalized Dusty Springfield's career. To hear Urge Overkill's 1994 version of Girl, You'll Be A Woman Soon is also a rare treat. (4.5/5)

'Pulp Fiction' is a beloved film that made Tarantino's career, plus revitalizing John Travolta's career in the process. The storytelling is masterful as well, with three distinct stories coming together in unusual ways to complete the scrambled narrative. And each individual story takes such wild turns, upending clichés in every instance possible, that the end result is a movie that compels the viewer to return for additional viewings.

The casting is also first-rate, including John Travolta (Vincent Vega), Samuel L. Jackson (Jules Winnfield), Ving Rhames (Marsellus Wallace, the Mob Boss), Uma Thurman (Mia..she looked younger of course and more rounded than when she appeared in Kill Bill series 9 years later), Bruce Willis (Butch Coolidge, the aged boxer). Cameos included Harvey Keitel (Winston Wolfe, problem fixer), Christopher Walken (Captain Koons), Steve Buscemi (Buddy Holly look-alike) and of course Quentin himself as Jimmie.

Quentin Tarantino won an Oscar for Best Writing, Screenplay written directly for the Screen, together with Roger Avary. The movie also garnered 6 Academy Award Nominations, including Best Picture (Lawrence Bender), Best Director (Quentin Tarantino), Best Leading Actor (John Travolta), Best Supporting Actor (Samuel L. Jackson), Best Supporting Actress (Uma Thurman) and Best Film Editing (Sally Menke).

TRIVIA:

Did you know that the passage from the Bible that Jules has memorized was mostly made up by Quentin Tarantino and Samuel L. Jackson. The only part that's similar to what the Bible says is the part where he says, "And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger. And you will know My name is the Lord when I lay My vengeance upon thee." However, the parts about the righteous man and the shepherd are not real.

The shot of Vincent plunging the syringe into Mia's chest was filmed by having John Travolta pull the needle out, then running the film backwards.

Knoxville, Tennessee, where Butch was meeting his connection and where his great-grandfather bought the gold watch, is also Quentin Tarantino's birthplace.

Pulp Fiction had an estimated budget of $8 million. The Worldwide Box Office Receipt was a staggering $213 million!

In summary, Pulp Fiction is a great and very enjoyable film from beginning to end. The story is well-paced. The running time of 2 hours 34 minutes ran by very quickly. Both the video and audio are top-notched together with a great cast. This is for sure the definitive version of Pulp Fiction. The very memorable dance sequence between Travolta and Thurman alone is worth the price of admission. Please also note that the price is also very reasonable. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could listen to these characters talk for hours, March 12 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pulp Fiction / Fiction Pulpeuse (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Pulp Fiction (1994)
Crime, Thriller, 154 minutes
Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Starring John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Bruce Willis, Uma Thurman, Christopher Walken and Harvey Keitel

It's not easy to write about Pulp Fiction. The plot is deliberately non-linear and we follow several stories at once. The opening scene is set in a diner and we see two people discussing the virtues of robbing restaurants. The closing scene returns to that same diner and we see the result of their attempts as they interact with other characters we meet during the course of the story.

Crime is a recurring theme and part of the story focuses on Jules Winnfield (Jackson) and Vincent Vega (Travolta) as they carry out hits for their boss. We get to know these characters well, and that's one thing that makes Pulp Fiction great. Tarantino's dialogue is very distinctive. It's funny and true to life, but it also provides plenty of exposition and characterization. You will come away from Pulp Fiction feeling as if you know Jules and Vincent. Like any employee, they talk about things other than their job. Whether it's burgers, miracles, or foot massages, it's always entertaining.

Another thread follows Butch (Willis). He's a boxer who is paid to fix a fight, but he wins anyway. That means he has to go on the run.

One thing I like about Tarantino is the structure of his films. He regularly includes a scene immediately before a sequence to explain the motivations of the characters in that scene. In Kill Bill 2, remember how Beatrix was shown learning skills from Pai Mei immediately before her escape from the grave? In Pulp Fiction, Butch is given a watch. Christopher Walken's cameo is one of the funniest I have seen in any film. He explains how he and his father protected the watch and why it's important that Butch looks after it. This explains why Butch will risk death to return to his apartment and recover the watch later in his life.

A third story shows Vincent taking Mia Wallace (Thurman) out for the night. Her husband is likely to kill him if he makes a wrong move, so his night is filled with tension. The dialogue is at its best when the two talk in the restaurant. Tarantino makes some good observations, such as why we feel the need to talk about trivial things rather than enjoy the silence.

All of the characters are connected with each other. Butch will eventually meet Vincent and Mia's husband. Vincent and Jules will meet the robbers shown in the opening scene.

Perhaps the best story in the entire film involves Winston Wolfe (Keitel). He's a man who knows how to solve problems and he doesn't waste a second or expect anyone to deviate from his instructions. An unfortunate accident leaves Jules and Vincent in an awkward predicament. They have to dispose of a body and remove all traces of the incident. Tarantino even makes a cameo in this chapter as Jimmy.

Pulp Fiction will confound some viewers because it doesn't follow an established structure. A character might die in one scene and show up later in the film. The plot meanders all over the place and offers a glimpse into the lives of these colorful characters. It's not important what happens to them; it's more an exercise in style and mood. Pulp Fiction happens in an unfamiliar world.

The music and dialogue are vital ingredients in any Tarantino film and this one is no different. The actors have so much fun delivering his words. If you focus on Jackson, it's hard to imagine anyone else playing the part of Jules so well. Willis plays Butch in the same way. There are unlikely alliances, a Mexican standoff, shots of women's feet, shots from inside a car trunk and all the things you would expect from Tarantino.

I've heard people complain about the violence in Pulp Fiction, but there aren't actually many deaths and most of the violence isn't directly shown. One thing I should mention is the language. If you are sensitive to excessive swearing, this film might not be for you. But the swearing does fit the characters and it always feels authentic.

Tarantino's films are a lot of fun. If you have a sense of humor that's similar to mine, you might find it among the funniest material available on film. I grin my way through all his films and Pulp Fiction feels about an hour shorter than it actually is.

The Blu-ray presentation is just about perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy!, April 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of my favourite films of all time, and to see this Limited Edition Steelbook made me very happy. The artwork is great inside and out of the casing! The film also looks amazing on blu-ray. A must have for any movie collector, or fan of Pulp Fiction!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, April 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Your father carried this Blu Ray around for 5 years then he died and so I carried it around for 5 years and now it's yours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A pulpy delight, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Pulp Fiction / Fiction Pulpeuse (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
"Pulp Fiction" is one of those legendary movies that you're pretty much required to watch, if you consider yourself a movie buff. Instant classic.

And while he's gone for over-the-top spectacle in his recent movies, "Pulp Fiction" is Quentin Tarantino at his leanest and tightest -- a series of intertwined shorts about boxers, mobsters, thieves and assassins. But despite the dark subject matter, it's a deliciously funny movie with a lot of quotable dialogue and endless pop culture references.

But it's also very hard to summarize, because it doesn't really follow a linear narrative. The stories bounce forward and backward in time, only loosely connected by a few important characters. It starts with a pair of professional thieves, "Pumpkin" (Tim Roth) and "Honey Bunny" (Amanda Plummer) discussing a robbery. Yes, this is actually important, so be patient.

Then the narrative switches over to hit men Jules Winnfield (Samuel L. Jackson) and Vincent Vega (John Travolta), who chitchat on their way to kill someone and retrieve a mysterious briefcase, on behalf of their gangster boss Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames). Soon after, Vincent is ordered to keep Marsellus' wife Mia (Uma Thurman) entertained, but the evening takes a dark turn.

Meanwhile, a boxer named Butch (Bruce Willis) is hired by Marsellus to take a dive... but instead he accidentally kills his opponent. When retrieving his heirloom watch from his apartment, Butch ends up running afoul of Marsellus -- only for both of them to end in a horrendous situation in the back room of a pawnshop.

Finally (going back to the second subplot), Jules and Vincent's job is derailed by a bizarre shooting that may involve divine intervention. And after a freaky accidental shooting, they end up having to call in an expert to help them avoid any kind of weird attention... which steers them towards an unexpected confrontation.

"Pulp Fiction" isn't a simple watch-it-from-beginning-to-end movie -- the narrative is more a Möbius strip. The timeline is all over the place, and sometimes it feels more like a string of short films that have been taken apart, rearranged, and given important characters who show up in multiple segments (Marsellus is important in every part).

It's also wildly, wickedly funny. Despite all the death, cussing and gruesome injuries, Tarantino presents much of the story in a tongue-in-cheek way -- just consider the scene where Jules and Vincent are forced to strip naked and be given a hose bath, then dressed in goofy casual-wear. How many movies have hit-men chatting about TV pilots, foot massages and quarter-pounders with cheese on their way to kill someone?

And yes, the dialogue is absolutely glorious -- witty, tight and funny. Like many Tarantino movies, the characters tend to witter away, but it's surprisingly funny and quotable ("ENGLISH, mother****er! Do you speak it?... Say what again! I dare you! I double-dare you!"). Just don't play a drinking game with all the f-bombs, or you'll be dead before Butch's story is wrapped up.

It's hard to single out a single great performance in this movie, because it either made or revived the careers of pretty much everybody in it. Thurman, Roth, Rhames, Plummer, Christopher Walken, Harvey Keitel and the rest all give amazing performances, but my favorites were easily Willis as a desperate boxer with a very special watch, Travolta as a henchman who keeps screwing up, and Jackson as a hotheaded guy who spouts pseudo-Bible verses.

"Pulp Fiction" is one of THE rare movies that deserves its praise -- a pretzel-shaped film overflowing with wit and dark comedy. Definitely a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what to say except AWESOME, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pulp Fiction / Fiction Pulpeuse (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Great movie! One of the best; not just from Tarantino's library.

Great retro cover makes it stand out. Amazing image quality. A must have in the DVD or Blu-ray library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ce genre de film....., June 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
je suis accro à tarentino...je l`ai acheté pour en faire cadeau a mon fils....il sera agréablement surpris.d`autant plus qu`il est un cinéphile ayant du gout!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SAY "WHAT" AGAIN!!, April 14 2013
Pulp Fiction is definitely one of my favourite movies ever made. This movie made a Quentin Tarantino fan out of me. The dialogue between the characters worked extremely well, and the movie shared my dark sense of humour. Everything about this movie worked flawlessly.
The story is divided into segments that don't even play in order. However, this benefits the movie as a whole by giving it a more satisfying (and hilarious) ending. These segments are divided amongst two hitmen, a mob boss chasing after a desperate boxer, and one of the hitmen taking out the boss man's wife, with horrific and unexpected results. Be warned, though: there is a LOT of swearing in this, which may or may not bother you. Even if you are one of those viewers who can't stand strong language throughout a two and a half hour movie and still manage to soldier through the movie will, guaranteed find this movie amusing.

***** out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That was it., Feb. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
That was the product that I was expecting. I'm quite satisfied whit my purchase. thanks a lot for you services.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the greatest film ever, Dec 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not much to say here, if you're buying this, you already know that this is one of the best films of all time. The Blu-ray disc had your typical picture quality and sound (no complaints).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pulp Fiction / Fiction Pulpeuse (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD]
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 10.00
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews