Customer Reviews


429 Reviews
5 star:
 (312)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (50)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars parfait
Le dvd était en parfait état, tel que décrit. Je suis très satisfaite. Il est arrivé rapidement et était très bien emballé.
Published 16 months ago by joannie lavoie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars more belly laughs than "Tenenbaums" but not as much spirit
Rushmore is entertaining and funny, but not quite as true to life as The Royal Tenenbaums. Jason Schwartzman does a fantastic acting job; as usual, Bill Murray fails convince me that he's in love. Perhaps the fact that the main character is a budding young playwright hints at some autobiographical aspect to the plot?
Published on March 5 2004 by gradesix


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, Feb. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a charming and quirky movie! Well written, well acted, and well filmed... humourous and thought provoking... Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars parfait, Dec 21 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
Le dvd était en parfait état, tel que décrit. Je suis très satisfaite. Il est arrivé rapidement et était très bien emballé.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anderson does it again, Sept. 21 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rushmore (Criterion) (Blu-Ray) (Blu-ray)
Comedy is so subjective. Some people want American Pie, The Hangover, or the latest Eddie Murphy movie, while others prefer gentle indie comedies such as Little Miss Sunshine.

What makes you laugh?

I often think about my own sense of humor and it's difficult to pin down at times. I tend to avoid cheap laughs or things done for shock value, and I admire intelligent dialogue and quirky or original takes on everyday situations. One director who never fails to make me smile is Wes Anderson. He definitely falls into the quirky category, but there is so much more to his movies than that.

Rushmore is Anderson's second movie, coming two years after his debut, Bottle Rocket. Both movies were written with Owen Wilson, and they have a similar feel. Anderson is one of those directors who appears to make movies about nothing and it's easy to sit there wondering what you just watched. But, unlike many comedies, there are deeper themes present. I usually find myself thinking about Anderson's work several days after I see the movie. That's the case this time, and it's the main reason I am writing this review.

Rushmore stars Jason Schwartzman in his first role. He plays Max Fischer, who is a 15-year-old student at Rushmore, a private school. He's there because he wrote a play in second grade and won a scholarship. Most of the students have rich parents, but Max's father is a barber and Max has to lie and claim that he's the son of a brain surgeon in order to gain acceptance.

Max is struggling at school and is informed that he'll be expelled if he flunks another class. His main problem is not one of intelligence, it's his lack of focus. He takes on so many extracurricular activities that he doesn't have time to work on his grades. We see snippets of Max indulging in each of these activities, such as beekeeping and fencing, and these snapshots give the movie a lot of charm. It reminds me of Amelie and some of Jeunet's other work in that regard.

As usual, something feels odd in Anderson's world. This effect is heightened by the dialogue. For example, Max sounds as if he is much older. He talks so seriously and it's funny that someone of that age thinks the way he does. Watch him direct Serpico for the school play and you'll see just what I mean.

The heart of the story involves an unusual love triangle. Max befriends Herman Blume (Bill Murray), who is a wealthy tycoon and former student of Rushmore. They both develop feelings for Miss Cross (Olivia Williams), who teaches at the school.

I won't reveal any more of the plot, because it doesn't really matter. All you need to know is that Rushmore is a typical Wes Anderson film. He'll surprise you at times, make you laugh, and leave you wondering how he came up with such original ideas.

I should also mention Mark Mothersbaugh, who began his association with Anderson on this film by contributing to the soundtrack. Other music used in the film includes songs by The Kinks, The Who, The Faces, and John Lennon. They all add to the nostalgic tone and fit perfectly.

Owen Wilson doesn't appear in this one, but Luke and Andrew Wilson are both involved. If you appreciate quirky comedy, Rushmore won't disappoint.

The Criterion Blu-ray offers a superb presentation. Colors are natural throughout and you'll feel as if you are standing next to the characters. The special features are also noteworthy and the highlight is a 55-minute feature showing interviews with Murray and Anderson on the Charlie Rose Show. Fans of commentaries will be happy that Anderson, Owen Wilson and Schwartzman appear on the commentary track.

If you are curious about the appeal of Wes Anderson, Rushmore isn't a bad starting point. It won't work for everyone though.

Overall score 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ten stars if it was allowed, Jan. 26 2001
By far one of the best films that has come out in recent film history. I don't even know where to begin. From the amazing script that is just one long enjoyable ride of dark humor to the incredible performances of Bill Murray, Jason Schwartzman, Olivia Williams et al to even the music which pulls from classic Brit Invansion tunes. Considering that I bought the Criterion Edition, I feel that a review of that edition is in order.
This is why DVDs were invented. It includes the movie, of course, but a great commentary from director Wes Anderson, coscreenwriter Owen Wilson and actor Schwartzman. It also has a great behind the scenes documentary, by Anderson's brother. The 1999 MTV movie awards clips, where the Max Fischer plays reproduce scenes from Truman Show, Armageddon and Out of Sight is brillaintly, and a great addition to this DVD. There are even interviews with Murray and Wes Anderson from the Charlie Rose show! Even after watching the movie this DVD kept me completely engrossed for hours. It even includes a section called color bars...those lovely "this is only a test of the emergency broadcasting system" bars that we all grew up to love.
So if you haven't scene this movie yet, you are missing out on an American classic. And if you have seen it and are looking for the right way of adding it to your movie collection the Criterion Edition is the perfect choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite films about adolescence, May 1 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
The film that established Wes Anderson as a major independent
filmmaking voice, after his very promising debut with 'Bottle Rocket'.

Quite simply one of the most original films about adolescence ever
made. An unlikely love triangle between a unique oddly brilliant 'cool geek'
teenager, his teacher and a local business tycoon that's
simultaneously funny, absurd and heartbreaking.

Jason Schwartzman is great, and Bill Murray may do his best work ever -
side-splittingly funny, but with a damaged, sad, sometimes dangerous
edge just under the surface.

As in all of Anderson's films, terrific use of songs as score,
wonderfully inventive transitions and visual framing. And a lot of fun.

The Criterion version has notably better
picture quality, and some terrific extras (the regular release is
pretty bare bones). It's more expensive, but worth it for a film
you're likely to return to repeatedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, April 30 2004
By 
James R. Mckinley (San Diego, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
I am a little surprised that so many other people failed to see the merits of this movie. First, this was not a typical predictable Hollywood movie with a predictable ending. Second, it was not a re-hash of some old story line with the same old actors. It is a very well written comedic coming of age movie. Few movies take the time or effort to develop complex, flawed and genuine characters, but director Wes Anderson apparently understands the value of doing so. The emotionally stagnating business tycoon Herman Blume is played brilliantly by Bill Murray - the disappointment he feels with his banal life and idiotic children is wrenchingly palpable. But Rushmore Academy student and quirky prodigy Max Fischer enters Herman Blume's dull life, renewing his enthusiam. The movie is both thought provoking and hilarious. Particularly enjoyable are Max's adaptations of "Serpico" and "Platoon" for the high-school drama club. Hands down this was the best comedy produced in the 90's. With the decade that produced MTV sex and bathroom joke frat boy movies, this film offers an intelligent script, cast of characters, and an excellent soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rushmore is a Great movie, April 16 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
Rushmore might be the best dark comody of all time and is really just weird.I believe it is some kid who is named Max and he is best friends with a rich millionaire (Murray) and he is in love with a girl who is a teacher.And the teacher is going out with Bill Murray this is a spectacular dark comedy
Story 10 Acting 10 Directing 10 Action 7 Entertainment 8
Overall=45/50 this is 90% and deserves its 5 stars nice
Bou this if you like movies it is pretty good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, April 7 2004
By 
Rodrigo Llamozas (the last cubicle at the end of the hall...) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
A story about an overachieving high school student and a depressed millionaire fighting for the love of a preschool teacher sounds too bizarre to be made into a Hollywood movie, right? Well, not for Wes Anderson and Owen Wilson. They came up with one of the smartest, most captivating screenplays in recent years and paired that with Anderson's fantastic and very personal style of directing, and with great casting for the lead roles. The result? Rushmore, one of the best movies you'll ever get a chance to see.
Max Fisher (Jason Schwartzman) is a high school student. He goes to Rushmore. He has it all figured out - he is an average student at best, but his extra-curricular activities can not be contained. He's the president, or founder, or director to almost every single group, club or association in the school, ranging from calligraphy and debate to sword fighting and go-kart racing. And, most of all, he's the head of the Max Fisher Players theater troup.
He meets Herman Blume (Bill Murray), a tired, depressed man who happens to be a millionaire . He has two annoying sons who go to school with Max. They hit it off and become friends - Max finds someone to look up to (other than his barber dad) and Blume finds someone that sparks the interest he lacks for everything else in life.
Enter Miss Cross (Olivia Williams). Max falls in love with her at first sight, but of course, she pays no attention to him, so he recruits Mr. Blume to help him win her, but in the process, he too falls in love with the teacher. What follows is a hilarious battle of wits between the two as both try to get the other out of the way.
Although this story alone would make a good movie, Anderson's writing and directing take this film to the next level. The setting of the film manages to remain contemporary while not being truly current (if that makes any sense). The supporting characters surrounding the leads are also interesting and capture your attention from the first moment (especially Wilson's brother Luke, the great Brian Cox as Max's principal and Seymour Cassel as Max's father).
Another key element of the film is its music. Anderson is one of those directors that 'gets' music and knows how to use it in his movies. I promise you that after watching this movie, you'll want to get the soundtrack to it.
Rushmore is truly a hidden gem, one of those great movies that almost no one saw at the theaters, but that has gained a somewhat large cult following . There is a great Criterion Collection DVD that you should check out to truly appreciate this work of art.
On a final, side note, Anderson and Wilson are the same team that brought us the also incredibly fantastic The Royal Tenenbaums (for which they were nominated for an Original Screenplay Oscar), also starring both Wilsons and Murray. As for Jason Schwartzman, he is another member of one of the most prolific Hollywood movies, the Coppolas - he's the grandson of Carmine Coppola, nephew of Francis Ford Coppola, son of Talia Shire, and cousin to Sofia Coppola, Nicolas Cage and Roman Coppola.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Flat out funny, March 7 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
Rushmore is a hilarious comedy about a fifteen year old Max Fischer(Jason Schwartzman)attends a highly educated school "Rushmore". Herman Blume(Bill Murray)is Max's mentor. Then Rosemary Cross(Olivia Williams)comes along which attracts the both of them to compete for her. You will really really love this film. This film is also genius. This film is a smart comedy, not a stupid comedy so your going to need smarts to watch this film. Max Fischer makes the best of plays, which you would also find it to be the best. This film was written and directed from the person who did the movie "Bottle Rocket". This is a definite must see for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars more belly laughs than "Tenenbaums" but not as much spirit, March 5 2004
By 
gradesix (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rushmore (DVD)
Rushmore is entertaining and funny, but not quite as true to life as The Royal Tenenbaums. Jason Schwartzman does a fantastic acting job; as usual, Bill Murray fails convince me that he's in love. Perhaps the fact that the main character is a budding young playwright hints at some autobiographical aspect to the plot?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadbddf24)

This product

Rushmore (Criterion) (Blu-Ray)
Rushmore (Criterion) (Blu-Ray) by Wes Anderson (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 42.99 CDN$ 36.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews