Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I wasn't just playin' Indian - I was livin' Indian!"
Little Big Man is framed as a retrospective narration by Jack Crabb, who at age 120-plus, is the oldest living survivor of Custer's last stand at Little Big Horn, and in the 1960's (?) is being interviewed by a newspaper writer.
As kids, Jack and sister Caroline are the only survivors of an Indian attack, and they are taken to an Indian village and meet "Old Lodge...
Published on June 20 2004 by K. Gittins

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ehhh
I've read the book, so I'm definitly biased, but I'd like to think that even if I hadn't read the book I wouldn't like this movie. It gets two stars for Dustin Hoffman and his Indian wife, who was really hot.
Published on July 20 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A lovely romp., Jan. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
Dustin Hoffman does a wonderful job. I loved the humor. I've watched it several times and always see something I didn't notice before. Amust for western fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What took you so long?, May 15 2003
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
Another film I have been patiently waiting for on DVD. This is a great ensemble piece and probably my favorite Dustin Hoffman movie. Totally funny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, Feb. 4 2003
By 
Brian Delaney (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
Finally! It's coming out on DVD. It will be so....deliciously wicked! My heart soars like a hawk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for DVD-release..., Oct. 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Big Man (VHS Tape)
One of the best movies of all times - but why isn't it available on DVD??? Uncomprehensible...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Nov. 6 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Bonnyville, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
Love movie night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, Sept. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Big Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEATH OF A NOBLE PEOPLE, April 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
At once the goofiest and angriest of all revisionist Westerns, Arthur Penn's Little Big Man (1970) seems today less notable for its formal qualities than for its (counter)cultural content. This outraged reconfiguration of an all-American genre may be set in the Wild West, but it's also very much a bulletin of its time. Released midway through Nixon's first term and in the heat of the Vietnam War, the film is reflective of the darkening mood--both the nation's and the movies'.Penn's oater didn't just dispel the cloudless America of Westerns past--it dismembered the genre, threw the parts in a trench, and spit on the tombstone. Little Big Man was by no means the first of its kind, but it seems from this vantage to be the most vitriolic of the wild bunch of Westerns that came out during the period. Unlike Sam Peckinpah's epitaphs to the genre, there is no hint of reverence in Penn's version of the West. How could there be when genocide is revealed to be the national project?The movie exposes the lies of U.S. history via a tall tale. Unrecognizable under Terry Miles' masterful makeup, Dustin Hoffman plays 121-year-old Jack Crabb, the only white survivor of Custer's Last Stand. Bookended by scenes of Crabb in the present day recounting his life story to a historian, the narrative is a far-fetched picaresque that offers nothing less than a survey of the American conquest of the West.

At once the goofiest and angriest of all revisionist Westerns, Arthur Penn's Little Big Man (1970) seems today less notable for its formal qualities than for its (counter)cultural content. This outraged reconfiguration of an all-American genre may be set in the Wild West, but it's also very much a bulletin of its time. Released midway through Nixon's first term and in the heat of the Vietnam War, the film is reflective of the darkening mood--both the nation's and the movies.

The movie exposes the lies of U.S. history via a tall tale. Unrecognizable under Terry Miles' masterful makeup, Dustin Hoffman plays 121-year-old Jack Crabb, the only white survivor of Custer's Last Stand. Bookended by scenes of Crabb in the present day recounting his life story to a historian, the narrative is a far-fetched picaresque that offers nothing less than a survey of the American conquest of the West.

Penn takes us back with a beautiful pan of a grassy expanse... that ends on the smoky remains of a plundered caravan. Little Jack and his sister, Caroline (Carol Androsky), cower under a wagon's canopy, their parents murdered, but are soon found by a wandering Cheyenne. The two are taken back to camp, which eventually becomes home to the orphaned Jack. (His sister, ever in fear of being raped by the savages, skedaddles unscathed.Penn's oater didn't just dispel the cloudless America of Westerns past--it dismembered the genre, threw the parts in a trench, and spit on the tombstone. Little Big Man was by no means the first of its kind, but it seems from this vantage to be the most vitriolic of the wild bunch of Westerns that came out during the period. Unlike Sam Peckinpah's epitaphs to the genre, there is no hint of reverence in Penn's version of the West. How could there be when genocide is revealed to be the national project?

Dubbed Little Big Man because of his slight stature, Crabb grows up learning the ways of the "Human Beings," as the Cheyenne call themselves. The source of a few aphoristic riffs, the "Human Being" theme immediately pegs the movie as a product of its time. It's a monicker that subverts the story of the white man's civilizing influence, even as it reduces the white race to something other than, if not beneath, human--a worldview that comes right out of the period's radical ideologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ehhh, July 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Big Man [Import] (DVD)
I've read the book, so I'm definitly biased, but I'd like to think that even if I hadn't read the book I wouldn't like this movie. It gets two stars for Dustin Hoffman and his Indian wife, who was really hot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Big Man [Blu-ray]
Little Big Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 21.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews