Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the bollocks, here comes a great movie
When a puny and decidedly smelly alien crashes into the wrong council estate one night in south London, the delinquent neighbourhood teens make short work of it. But nobody - not the teens, not the local drug gangs, not the police - is prepared for the ensuing invasion of much larger, sharper-teethed, and numerous partners of the first alien. A night of bloody mayhem...
Published on Nov. 30 2011 by Hard Knock Hands

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, not amazing
im on the fence when it comes to this one. I liked the characters even though they were a bunch of young trouble makers and the movie was paced well. There just wasnt anything that made it over the top amazing for me. The aliens were really origonal and cool looking and i would say that i liked attack the block i just didnt love it like i wish i had.
Published on Nov. 13 2011 by Sorpse


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never mind the bollocks, here comes a great movie, Nov. 30 2011
This review is from: Attack the Block (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
When a puny and decidedly smelly alien crashes into the wrong council estate one night in south London, the delinquent neighbourhood teens make short work of it. But nobody - not the teens, not the local drug gangs, not the police - is prepared for the ensuing invasion of much larger, sharper-teethed, and numerous partners of the first alien. A night of bloody mayhem ensues, in which the youths - particularly brooding and determined leader Moses - must reckon not only with vicious aliens but predatory adult criminals, the prejudice of the police and their neighbours, and ultimately, Responsibility.

Yes, Responsibility with a capital R. The movie also tackles Important Social Questions, but to its credit, Attack the Block never gets hackneyed or preachy; there's far too much suspense and danger for that. (The likeable and well-differentiated heroes are constantly in real danger, and - spoiler alert - they don't all make it.) The movie also brims over with the irrepressible energy of the young protagonists; once you get used to their accents and slang, the humour is infectious.

Terrific and satisfying flick. Buy buy buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun romp!, Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not exactly family fun but a classic in its own right.
Characters are somewhat not easy to like at first,
they warm you over though.
Impressive creature design and a generally entertaining film.

Enjoy! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the other Britain, April 6 2013
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Attack The Block (DVD) (DVD)
Even if you can't wrap your ears around the "Souf Wondin" (South London) accents spoken by the actors like they have marbles in their mouths, then don't worry. There is plenty of good action and nice interplay between all the actors here.

Just in case you're wondering why all the action occurs around a singular apartment building and not the entire "block," it's a Britglish. The block refers to that building known as a tower block (think the projects on the South Side of Chicago and you'll get the picture).

Anyway, the creatures are terrifying as rabid aliens. The kids are first-rate in their ability to band together and defend their block. There is also a terrific social commentary on the state of Britain snuck in based on the interplay between the police and the kids. Also, be forewarned the start of the movie which contains no aliens is a pretty sinister mugging that you wonder if you've got the right movie.

The extras are worth getting the DVD for. There's a full hour on the making of the movie and it's beyond terrific. There's a full four more extras thrown in as well on the movie including a reason why a huge chunk was not filmed at all after being storyboarded and location scouted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Attack the Block (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Perfect condition. A plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, not amazing, Nov. 13 2011
This review is from: Attack the Block (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
im on the fence when it comes to this one. I liked the characters even though they were a bunch of young trouble makers and the movie was paced well. There just wasnt anything that made it over the top amazing for me. The aliens were really origonal and cool looking and i would say that i liked attack the block i just didnt love it like i wish i had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mind Numbing Rubbish!!, July 23 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Attack The Block (DVD) (DVD)
Don't miss the sequel " Attack the Producers" for green-lighting this mind numbing rubbish. Profoundly repulsive across the board, this disaster should have been stillborn! Look elsewhere, quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Low budget 'C' movie., Sept. 23 2013
Seriously, don't even watch this on late night TV when it turns up there...better to watch the paid commercial announcement about the 'Amazing Ronco Super Slicer Dicer'. Super 'wolves' start landing in apparently just 1 London neighbourhood. A gang of thug kids eventually team up with the woman they have just robbed and terrorized to try and defeat these aliens, which are essentially small wolves with rabies. The fat guy was in Shawn of the Dead, and the woman was not a bad actor, but nothing could save the horribly written, poorly acted, bad special effects, low budget movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Attack the Block (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Attack the Block (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Joe Cornish (Blu-ray - 2011)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews