Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies: Look Through Any Window 1963 - 1975 DVD...story of the Hollies with original performances in the 60s & 70s.
VIDEO:

The picture is 1.33:1. In telling the story of the Hollies, the interviews are in colour, while the precious original music performances are both in black and white, and colour. Overall, the picture is very pleasing. Contrasts and black colour are also acceptable. (4/5)

AUDIO:

The audio is in Dolby Stereo 2.0. Considering the age of...
Published on Oct. 6 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies
I thought the Hollies would be a concert and not a bunch of old black and white clips. Do NOT waste your money on this piece of old out dated video. I only wish I could have got a second hand version for a quarter of the cost.
Published 6 months ago by glen potter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies: Look Through Any Window 1963 - 1975 DVD...story of the Hollies with original performances in the 60s & 70s., Oct. 6 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
VIDEO:

The picture is 1.33:1. In telling the story of the Hollies, the interviews are in colour, while the precious original music performances are both in black and white, and colour. Overall, the picture is very pleasing. Contrasts and black colour are also acceptable. (4/5)

AUDIO:

The audio is in Dolby Stereo 2.0. Considering the age of the footage, the sound is really very acceptable, showing off the 3-part harmony of the Hollies. (4/5)

CONTENTS:

This is where this disc really shines. The picture consists of interviews with Graham Nash, Allan Clarke, Tony Hicks and Bobby Elliot. I really enjoyed the stories told by the Hollies members, giving me more insight into many of their hits. For example, their original 2-part harmony was tailored after the Everly Brothers. Then, by accident, they developed their famous 3-part harmony, when Tony Hicks was humming in a low voice. The song Stop Stop Stop was written after their encounter at a strip-tease club and Tony Hicks was showing us how he got to play a banjo for that song. Their experience at Abbey Road studio was revered. And the song Carrie-Anne was really written after the beautiful Marianne Faithful and they were too shy to use her name, not wanting her to know that they all wanted to make love to her....and the steel drummer in that song was taken from the street, not to be seen again later. In the song Jennifer Eccles, Jennifer was Allan Clarke's wife's first name, and Eccles was Graham Nash's wife's maiden name! The conflict of Graham Nash was detailed. After Graham Nash left for Crosby, Stills & Nash, Hollies had a major hit with He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother. The famous producer, Ron Richards, said that the song was the best recording he ever produced. And don't miss the End Credit, where the Hollies sang Amazing Grace, not listed at the back cover.

The other parts of the picture are of course the music performances, taken from various sources. But they were original performances done at the height of their prime. Very precious indeed. All the hits are there...22 performances. Like those old K-Tel commercials: Original Artists, Original Hits! (5/5)

This Hollies DVD is the fifth in the British Invasion series. The previous 4 DVDs are available as a box set, released in 2010, featuring Small Faces, Gerry & The Pacemakers, Dusty Springfield and Herman's Hermits, with a fifth bonus disc, containing previously unseen performances by Dusty Springfield and Herman's Hermits. These are all original performances by original artists at their prime. Try to buy NTSC versions from Canada, because the UK versions are PAL, not playable in many players.

Reelin' In The Years Production has done an excellent job in bringing the Greatest Hits of Hollies with good audio and video. Great job! Hopefully, there are more such series in the future, for artists such as the Searchers, Manfred Mann, Dave Clark Five, just to name a few.

Lastly, if you really like the Hollies, a 6-CD box set called The Hollies: Clarke, Hicks & Nash Years was released early this year.

In summary, I enjoyed this Hollies DVD very much. If you like the music from the 60s, this disc is definitely for you, plus all their major hits are included. It is highly recommended for you to take "Just One Look".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Jan. 12 2012
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
I've always loved the Hollies but you don't really find much product for them, compared to the other more obvious British Invasion bands (Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who). I was pleasantly surprised to find this DVD on Amazon and I ordered it based on other positive reviews. All I can say is WOW, it's a Hollies goldmine! It's the whole story of the band told via recent interviews with members and interspersed with live footage (some is lip-syncing on a TV show though). You have the options of just playing all the live footage, and there's a LOT of songs, all the biggest hits and played in their entirety. The whole program is well over 2 hours and it's very interesting. A lot of care has gone into this product... The film is well edited, the interview comments are very thoughtful and well articulated, and the remastered video and sound quality are also very good, especially considering the age of the footage. The company that makes this DVD has a proven track record of making great music related DVD's (I own some of their Jazz Icons DVD's and every one is great).

The Hollies as a live band sound pretty well the same as on their records, although many records used double tracking as well, so they're really a great band... great harmonies, really interesting bass, lead guitar and drumming as well. There's footage of them recording at Abbey Road Studios, and some songs even have an explanation and demonstration of the lead guitar or drum parts before seeing the old live footage. Also cool for musicians is seeing all the old and now vintage gear they used.

Overall, a MUST buy for any Hollies fan and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for any fan of 1960's British Invasion. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
I thought the Hollies would be a concert and not a bunch of old black and white clips. Do NOT waste your money on this piece of old out dated video. I only wish I could have got a second hand version for a quarter of the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies., Feb. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
What a great band - what a great Era! This is an impressive review of The Hollies and their history from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Hollies fans, July 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
If you are a Hollies fan, you will definately enjoy this DVD. This is a piece of 60's pop history that has been overshadowed by the popularity of the 'instigators' of the "British Invasion" The Beatles. I was lucky enough to see the Hollies in concert in the UK in 1964 and this DVD certainly brought back memories. The interviews are revealing, not least the revelation that original bass player Eric Haydock suddenly stopped turning up for rehearsals and promptly left the band! In their interviews, this event is briefly mentioned by the other members of the group with no animosity. I remember that in 1964 he was the band member with the least enthusiasm for signing autographs. I am not sure why the singles "Stay", "We're Through" (which is a Hollies composition) and "Yes I Will" are not included on this DVD. Maybe, these singles were not released in the USA and Canada. This is the only negative for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, Feb. 15 2012
By 
Nicolas Turgeon (Montreal, QC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
Well worth the entry price, this is a good documentary on the Hollies' career and it contains many complete song performances, some of which are played live, some of which are lip synched (a plague in those days...). And were they good live! Several band members share their thoughts and memories, and you also have additional footage from the period. The documentary lasts around 2 hours. The bonus material contains about 1 hour of just the songs, which were already in the main documentary however, minus some intros perhaps. So, not much value added here, but it doesn't hurt either. You'd want more of course, but for a good overview of the group, you can't go wrong with this DVD. I guess there's no point having it in blu-ray since this is just interviews and old footage which probably would not gain much from high resolution treatment (the same goes for the sound). You won't find demo material in here, just good old memories of one of the great lesser-known bands of the sixties (well, mostly the sixties).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollies, Jan. 5 2012
By 
Hal E. Oare "halliehawk" (Nova Scotia, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
I have been searching for years for a good quality Hollies video with full length songs. Could't even find anything in London in the Fall. And just when I had given up, this came along. Fantastic compilation of songs and interviews which make it a must for anyone interested in this group. I only wish that they had included more songs with Terry Sylvester who replaced Graham Nash in '69 as he was on board for some of their biggest hits and is not as big feeling as Graham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars British Invasion Leads the Way Again, Nov. 15 2011
By 
B. Konopski (Thunder Bay, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) (DVD)
Another great British Invasion artist produced by Eagle Vision, Reelin' in the Years series they are all excellent, interviews and vintage clips of rare television and concert songs are clear with good sound as well. Buy all of the artists in this series - a must have for collectors and music lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD)
Look Through Any Window 1963-1975 (DVD) by The Hollies (DVD - 2011)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews