Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

What a great DVD and the story of the Hollies is a great journey. I was amazed at so many songs being available with live recorded performances. There music is very diverse, even with the changes that occurred in the band, but the three part harmony remained the definitive sound that was the Hollies. I loved the contributions by the band members and the stories behind the songs. I think people will find the quality of the DVD to be surprisingly good and the sound as well. To see the videos performed by the band was exciting and fun to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Great buy, I would recommend it to a friend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Great sixties band. Never cared for Graham Nash but other band members were very talented. This contains all their big hits at various venues around the world. Filmed live but no crowd noise to disrupt the performances.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 17, 2014
I thought the Hollies would be a concert and not a bunch of old black and white clips. Do NOT waste your money on this piece of old out dated video. I only wish I could have got a second hand version for a quarter of the cost.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
What a great band - what a great Era! This is an impressive review of The Hollies and their history from beginning to end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2012
If you are a Hollies fan, you will definately enjoy this DVD. This is a piece of 60's pop history that has been overshadowed by the popularity of the 'instigators' of the "British Invasion" The Beatles. I was lucky enough to see the Hollies in concert in the UK in 1964 and this DVD certainly brought back memories. The interviews are revealing, not least the revelation that original bass player Eric Haydock suddenly stopped turning up for rehearsals and promptly left the band! In their interviews, this event is briefly mentioned by the other members of the group with no animosity. I remember that in 1964 he was the band member with the least enthusiasm for signing autographs. I am not sure why the singles "Stay", "We're Through" (which is a Hollies composition) and "Yes I Will" are not included on this DVD. Maybe, these singles were not released in the USA and Canada. This is the only negative for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
Well worth the entry price, this is a good documentary on the Hollies' career and it contains many complete song performances, some of which are played live, some of which are lip synched (a plague in those days...). And were they good live! Several band members share their thoughts and memories, and you also have additional footage from the period. The documentary lasts around 2 hours. The bonus material contains about 1 hour of just the songs, which were already in the main documentary however, minus some intros perhaps. So, not much value added here, but it doesn't hurt either. You'd want more of course, but for a good overview of the group, you can't go wrong with this DVD. I guess there's no point having it in blu-ray since this is just interviews and old footage which probably would not gain much from high resolution treatment (the same goes for the sound). You won't find demo material in here, just good old memories of one of the great lesser-known bands of the sixties (well, mostly the sixties).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
I've always loved the Hollies but you don't really find much product for them, compared to the other more obvious British Invasion bands (Beatles, Stones, Kinks, Who). I was pleasantly surprised to find this DVD on Amazon and I ordered it based on other positive reviews. All I can say is WOW, it's a Hollies goldmine! It's the whole story of the band told via recent interviews with members and interspersed with live footage (some is lip-syncing on a TV show though). You have the options of just playing all the live footage, and there's a LOT of songs, all the biggest hits and played in their entirety. The whole program is well over 2 hours and it's very interesting. A lot of care has gone into this product... The film is well edited, the interview comments are very thoughtful and well articulated, and the remastered video and sound quality are also very good, especially considering the age of the footage. The company that makes this DVD has a proven track record of making great music related DVD's (I own some of their Jazz Icons DVD's and every one is great).

The Hollies as a live band sound pretty well the same as on their records, although many records used double tracking as well, so they're really a great band... great harmonies, really interesting bass, lead guitar and drumming as well. There's footage of them recording at Abbey Road Studios, and some songs even have an explanation and demonstration of the lead guitar or drum parts before seeing the old live footage. Also cool for musicians is seeing all the old and now vintage gear they used.

Overall, a MUST buy for any Hollies fan and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for any fan of 1960's British Invasion. Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
I have been searching for years for a good quality Hollies video with full length songs. Could't even find anything in London in the Fall. And just when I had given up, this came along. Fantastic compilation of songs and interviews which make it a must for anyone interested in this group. I only wish that they had included more songs with Terry Sylvester who replaced Graham Nash in '69 as he was on board for some of their biggest hits and is not as big feeling as Graham.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2011
Another great British Invasion artist produced by Eagle Vision, Reelin' in the Years series they are all excellent, interviews and vintage clips of rare television and concert songs are clear with good sound as well. Buy all of the artists in this series - a must have for collectors and music lovers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed