Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality!
Fantastic dvd, finally caught up in the best zombie production, with film like quality to it. Superb ensemble, we really end up caring about the characters. Love the title with the double meaning; the extras were great too. Good value and makes me want to see more.
Published on May 9 2011 by Alex Labarda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I may be one of the few...
In terms of action, drama, suspense and all, it's quite good indeed, but honestly, I'm getting tired of seeing the same zombie stories being told without trying to add a bit more.

I don't want to spoil anything for those who have yet to see it, but many things didn't click with me BEFORE the zombies happened. So many things in fact that I'll stay at season 1...
Published 10 months ago by Simon Bergeron


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality!, May 9 2011
Fantastic dvd, finally caught up in the best zombie production, with film like quality to it. Superb ensemble, we really end up caring about the characters. Love the title with the double meaning; the extras were great too. Good value and makes me want to see more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Très bon achat!!!!, July 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Une série vraiment géniale!!! L'intrigue est superbe, les acteurs sont tous très bons et drôles! Il fallait vraiment y penser pour faire une série comme ça. C'est vraiment une des meilleurs émissions qui m'a été donnée de voir. Je vous recommande de l'acheter sans attendre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Pilot Show, March 31 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
For a show that involves a great deal of makeup work, it's awesome!

There is only 6 episodes in the first season, watched it in 2 days... and left me wanting more..

Storyline is very good as well as the acting.

I can't wait for season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Landmark Horror Apocalypse, Dec 7 2011
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
The Walking Dead has the absolute distinction of being the best live-action adaptation of a zombie apocalypse ever filmed. It takes its cues from George Romero's 'Living Dead' film series and updates it for a post-9/11 audience without falling into the trap of trying to be more than it is. The series centers around a group of people who are inextricably caught in the middle of an apparent viral outbreak that brings the dead back to life to feast on the living. As loved ones turn into corpses and slay their own family members and friends, the zombie plague spreads until the Atlanta area has been completely overrun. Now the group must use their wits to survive in a hostile new world where the dead are constantly prowling for human flesh to consume.

At its heart, The Walking Dead is a zombie series, but it would be unwise to label it purely as such. There is a high emphasis on dramatic elements and progression of story that centers firmly around the characters and their personal interactions. At the heart of the chaos is Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) who awakens from a hospital coma after being shot on duty as a police officer to discover that the world around him has gone literally to hell. He soon comes upon the aforementioned group which includes his wife Lori (Sarah Wayne Callies)young son Carl (Chandler Riggs) and best friend/partner Shane (Jon Bernthal) whose witness to Rick's return begins to spark mixed emotions. It soon becomes apparent that each of the characters in the group are harboring their own personal demons which, given the circumstances, threaten their very survival if unleashed.

The first season was short, clocking in at only 6 one hour episodes to test the waters of reception. Plenty enough happens, however. The audience learns of a secret shared between Lori and Shane, and bears witness to some very close calls which culminate in a catastrophic attack by their zombie pursuers. It all climaxes with a visit to the CDC in Atlanta, where the mysterious nature of the zombie outbreak is partially explained. It's quite enough to whet anyone's appetite for Season 2 which, although starting off slow, seems to be picking up some serious steam at the culmination of its first winter break.

The best aspect of The Walking Dead is its incredible sense of danger and nihilism. George Romero's initial 'Night of the Living Dead' kicked off a film series which allowed the director to make social commentary about the human race by putting them in an extremely stressful situation and watching them implode. The Walking Dead takes a similar approach without letting mayhem consume the group. Instead, they suffer slowly through personal loss, anxiety, paranoia, jealousy and anger. The writers put the characters in a pot that is slowly brought to a boil before it explodes and causes serious repercussions that affect everyone around them. The characters themselves are wonderfully different in nature from each other. Andrea (Laurie Holden) is a woman looking out for her younger sister only to suffer a terrible tragedy and become stone-hearted and recklessly suicidal. Glenn (Steven Yeun) is frustratedly passive to the point of bottling up his opinions for fear of upsetting others. Daryl (Norman Reedus) is the younger brother of Merle, an unhinged, aggressive and bigoted redneck who raised his brother to be the same way. Daryl's gritty, rebellious nature comes into conflict with new feelings of acceptance and companionship when he joins the group. And finally there is Dale (Jeffrey DeMunn), a straight shooting and overprotective father figure who tries his hardest to keep his "family" together, especially the fragile Andrea. Together, this group of characters is what makes the show such a fascinating watch.

Zombie effects are, quite honestly, the best I have ever seen. Nobody has nailed the zombie apocalypse so well before, even Romero himself. Makeup and prosthetic effects are absolutely blood curdling, as are special effects including zombies severed in half at the waist and missing limbs. The creators of the show wisely decided upon a mix of traditionally slow zombies and "fast" zombies like the ones seen in such films as the 'Dawn of the Dead' remake and '28 Days Later.' Depending on the time of death, certain zombies may shuffle along at a snail's pace, or half-sprint just enough to make them a threat that can't be outrun forever. This approach satisfies both diehard traditional zombie fans, and those who are always wondering why you can't just run away all the time. As for the gore, it's in abundant supply! AMC hasn't shied away from massive amounts of graphic horror violence. Chunks are bitten out of limbs and necks, blood spews from the mouth, and stomachs are torn open for buckets of intestines to spill out in a disgusting mess. It's every zombie fan's dream, and certainly not for the squeamish, but the violence does not exist purely so satiate horror movie fans. It is also used as a proper narrative device that is meant to inject a feeling of intense horror and shock when the moment demands it, and ONLY when. It is this sense of integrity that sets the show apart from a violence-fest designed to push the envelope as far as it can go.

The recommendations are already there, and the accolades are well deserved. It is based on the comic series of the same name, but several changes have been made to the overall story and characters. Those who have read the comics in depth will see similarity, but there are plenty of surprises in store as well. It is worth noting that the comic moves much, much faster than the TV show, as well. Certain plot elements in the comic that were wrapped up within the space of the first 4 issues have still not been resolved in the TV series. 'The Walking Dead' is serious stuff. It's a bleak, unforgiving world where anyone, and I mean ANYONE can die horribly with no apology. What better way to draw the audience closer to these characters than by keeping them on the edge of a knife? It's a boldly written show and one that should definitely change the face of the TV series for a long, long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Show for the Zombie Fan!, June 4 2011
The walking Dead as a comic is a wonderful medium to tell this story of surviving in a world taken over by the dead. This series has done a great job capturing that same spirit and translating it to film. This is a must have series for any zombie fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real good series, April 5 2011
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
First 6 episodes gone too fast!
Can't wait for season 2 sometimes in 2012 (a real season with 15 episodes I heared).

Good story telling. Walking deads look realistics and the make-up and special effects are great. But behond that, the human tragedy is what's keeping you coming back for more.

Only bad note for Amazon is that not many series comes with French track (or at least sub-titles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best. Zombies. Ever., Feb. 16 2011
By 
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
As a TV addict, I usually find it difficult to pick out particular favourites. The Walking Dead however is definitely near the top of my list! There's action and drama and best of all, zombies. The storyline is believable (as much as you'd believe a potential zombie apocalypse...which some of us do) and the characters make you actually care about them. The acting is very well done, especially when it's a cast made up of mostly unknowns. The make-up for this show is amazing, truly some of the best zombies I've ever seen. The show is epic and feels more like a movie than a TV show. The show is a bit graphic, but it just adds to the intensity. One episode at a time just doesn't feel like enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars parfait, Aug. 11 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: The Complete First Season (Bilingual) (DVD)
C'est un vendeur sure, livraison rapide, produit neuf, rien a dire d'autre. Vous pouvez lui faire confiance. Bonne journee au revoir
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.V. at its finest, July 3 2011
By 
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
As an avid fan of the graphic novel series this is based on, I was thrilled to findout that AMC had a television adaptation. I finished the final episode of this season today and found the whole thing to be quite compeling.

For anyone who is a fan of the comic and looking at picking this up, I don't think you will be disapointed; unless you are looking for a shot-by-shot remake of the graphic novels. In order to make this story work on television as well as it does on paper, AMC had to change the storyline in some places, and tweak the exisitng cast. AMC has done a terrific job of capturing the spirit of the graphic novels, and they have expanded the story in some unexpected ways that have really impressed me.

I have heard season 2 will be 13 episodes and I cant wait to see where they go. Its nice that they are telling thier own story in many ways so having read all the graphic novels really hasnt spoiled the T.V. show for me,

Cheers,
Andrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Characterization of the living only adds to the spectacle of the dead, March 26 2011
By 
Andre Farant (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead: Season One (DVD)
We follow Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln), a sheriff's deputy who awakens from a gunshot-induced coma to discover that the world has been overrun by zombies, or Walkers as they are called here (I always wonder why, in zombie fiction, the characters rarely if ever refer to the walking dead as zombies). He has a young son and a wife and he promptly sets out to find them. Along the way, he meets the members a small community of survivors who have set up camp just outside Atlanta.

Rather than focusing on the living corpses, the writers and directors, Frank Darabont (The Green Mile, The Mist) among them, of The Walking Dead have chosen instead to emphasize the interactions and relationships that exist within the small group. Though not all developed to an equal extent, the characters are used to depict different aspects of life after a zombie apocalypse.

Interestingly, the zombies provide only a minor, often indirect amount of the suspense. Most of the tension and conflict stems from character interaction as we wonder how one character will react to another's actions, or how one character's actions might affect the rest of the group.

Visually, the series is well shot, but only to the extent that it manages what is expected of such shows. The pallet is dull, almost sepia-toned, and reminiscent of The Road or The Book of Eli. Where it does stand out, however, is in its depiction of the zombies. The makeup effects are excellent. I would even go as far as to say these are some of the best zombies I have seen--ever. And, though the focus is on characterization, there is plenty of gore.

The Walking Dead is a fun, well-executed show and, though it does not create the "what will happen next?" tension for which shows like 24 and Dexter are famous, I look forward to the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead: The Complete First Season (Bilingual)
CDN$ 44.98 CDN$ 19.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews