Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST D.W. GRIFFITH FILM EVER!! HANDS DOWN!!
This is the best film of D.W. Griffith, HANDS DOWN!! Out of all his films (the controversial Birth of a Nation, the powerful Intolerance, the HIGHLY OFFENSIVE Broken Blossoms, and the beautifully sad Orphans of the Storm), this is HIS BEST! The story of a poor innocent religious farm girl Anna (played with perfection by Lillian Gish) who goes to the city to get money to...
Published on Sept. 6 2003 by emilycrawfordgreene2

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy DVD Print
Impossible to enjoy this DVD due to terrible, washed-out, fussy print.Film needs major restoration!!!
Published on Oct. 13 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST D.W. GRIFFITH FILM EVER!! HANDS DOWN!!, Sept. 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
This is the best film of D.W. Griffith, HANDS DOWN!! Out of all his films (the controversial Birth of a Nation, the powerful Intolerance, the HIGHLY OFFENSIVE Broken Blossoms, and the beautifully sad Orphans of the Storm), this is HIS BEST! The story of a poor innocent religious farm girl Anna (played with perfection by Lillian Gish) who goes to the city to get money to for her mother and is wooed by a sleezy playboy who tricks her into a mock marriage and gets her pregnant and leaves her is emotionally gripping. No one should find ANY faults in this film. It is brilliant. David Bartlett, Anna's true love played by Richard Barthlemess, known for his offensive role in Broken Blossoms makes up for his previous film with this one. It is truly brilliant, the scenes with him and Lillian are so loving and beautiful, its more powerful than any romantic movie in our era now. And of course the scene were Anna is driven out into a blizzard and almost falls over a waterfall is the most powerful stunt ever seen. And Lillian did it herself AND in a blizzard AND Richard did indeed save her. It is truly magnificent! D.W. Griffith makes up for his previous film with this one! It is truly heart-wrenching and beautiful!! I cannot say enough of this movie! In fact I am going to watch it again!! Brilliance Sheer brillance and Genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest Scenes In Movie History, April 4 2001
By 
Cindy Starr (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
The Ice Flow...Anyone Who Has Seen This Classic Film Will Know Exactly What I'm Referring To. This Is One Of The Greatest Scenes In Movie History, Without Question & I Believe, The Greatest Action Sequence Ever Filmed. Remember, These Were The Days BEFORE Stunt Doubles. That Was Really Lillian Gish Being Rescued On The Ice Flow Heading Over The Falls - That Was Really Her Hero, Nearly Falling Off The Ice During The Rescue & Dropping Her - That Was Her Hand Dangling In The Freezing Water As She Lay On The Frozen, Floating Ice. Her Desire For Perfection In The Scene Included Dangling Her Hand In The Freezing Water & Resulted In Her Having Pain In That Hand For The Rest Of Her Life. Now THAT, Is Artistry & Dedication To Your Craft. I Doubt Very Much That Julia Roberts Or Any Current Stars Would Do The Same. Lillian Gish Was A Legend - She Invented The Close-Up, Along With D.W. Griffith & In My Opinion, This Is Her Finest Work. If You Ever Cared To Learn About Silent Film, Watch THIS Movie & You Will Not BELIEVE Your Eyes !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go Way Back to Griffith, Feb. 28 2001
By 
Mr Peter G George (Ellon, Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
In order to truly enjoy a film like Way Down East it is necessary to try to perform the seemingly impossible task of transporting yourself back into the 1920's. It is very easy to be critical of the moralizing, the melodrama and the attitudes. It is easy to find a film like this primitive in its techniques and its acting. But this is to miss the point and prevents a viewer from having a great silent film experience. This film carries the viewer along with the intensity of the emotion that is portrayed, especially by Lillian Gish in what is perhaps her best performance. Certain scenes have become archetypes, such as the 'leave my house' scene. Some people may criticise the so-called comic relief scenes in this film. But it must be remembered that they are not intended to be funny in the sense of Keaton or Chaplin, for this would make the film fantasy rather than drama. They are supposed to be light relief, nothing more. The best thing about this DVD is that it shows the film complete. The colour tinting, which should always be reproduced if at all possible, is subtle and greatly adds to the mood of each scene. The print shows some damage in places which at times is quite serious, but does not detract from the enjoyment of the film. We must accept that sometimes it is not possible to restore a film to perfection. It is better to have a few damaged frames than to have them missing. The original music for a 1928 reissue is reproduced and sounds fine. Finally this DVD includes extensive sleeve notes which are informative and well written. Griffith, as far as I am concerned, will always remain one of the greatest of directors and Way Down East is one of his finest films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Gish Performance, Jan. 31 2000
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
Way Down East, although technically imperfect by the over-exacting standards of modern-day audiences (who are used to expensive computer-generated special effects which rarely serve to truly augment a film and often serve as a cover for woefully deficient plots), is nothing short of a masterpiece. As usual, Lillian Gish's acting is superb, and the ice floe sequence near the end is truly riveting even with a couple of continuity problems. Richard Barthelmess shines through as David Bartlett, turning in another fine performance. Way Down East is another of Griffith's masterpieces, and this release features the full-length version mastered at the correct film speed, complete with original tints, and the original score, recorded on Vitaphone discs for the film's 1930 reissue, making for an outstanding evening's entertainment. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required Gish Viewing, Dec 2 1999
By 
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
This and Broken Blossoms are the defining moments in Lillian Gish's career. Watch and you'll be hooked. I pretty much bestow all the same accolades as everybody else about this film. Griffith was not quite a master of slapstick, but the moments here are not much different from other comedies at the time. The key of course is Gish's mesmerizing performance and a simple plot (this is 1920 of course). What a treat it is to own this movie and other silents on DVD. The picture quality is virtually perfect. The music score is a recording of an original score. It's scratchy but authentic. My only gripe with this edition is the title cards. The letters look like they came from the Sunday comics. One small quibble in an otherwise remarkable DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another amazing film from Griffith!, April 11 1999
By 
S. Watanabe "Creative Producer" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
I had the pleasure of watching Way Down East for the first time a week ago and it has stayed with me since. I'm quite a fan of Griffith's earlier works, including in my opinion his finest film ever, Broken Blossoms. Lillian Gish (star of Way Down East and Broken Blossoms) is magnificent with her girl-like charm and portrays a character who is complex and simplistic alike. For anyone who enjoys the pre-Classical Hollywood Cinema silent feature, I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best silent movie ever made!, Sept. 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
I loved this movie! It was entertaining, suspenseful, and romantic! I fell in love with the character David, the moment i laid eyes on him. Too bad he was born such a long time ago. I would have loved to meet him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the silent era's shining lights, May 28 2013
By 
Rick M. Pilotte "Author, artist, and solver o... (Victoria BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Way Down East (Silent) (DVD)
The editing for the movie was great with no dropped connections, so the flow was perfect...not something that was a given at this point in time. (1920) The music was the only drawback...it was dull, monotonous and repetitive and moody. Only in a few scenes later on did it have any variety and in anyway match the mood of the scene on the screen at the time. Fortunately the music was not overpowering.I have a DVD not a Blue ray. It played fine and the quality of the reproduction was very good...no flaws noted. The company is Alpha and I have many from this company and not one yet has failed to play on my $10 DVD player.
as a story, it was interesting in it's periodness value.
as a movie it stands up with even the the best the talkie period has to offer. There is a curious note. though this appears to be a contemporary story, there is not a single motor vehichle in the movie, just horse drawn carriages. Is this something to do with the "Down east" connection? is this a subtle D.W. Griffith insinuation?
Be that as it may, this is a great movie. As I watched and saw the cover I remembered a bit of a story behind the making of the film. That is real ice and Lillian Gish is really freezing and in danger in the footage...something few actress' would allow these days.

There was some humourous aspects plopped into the movie that were almost silly and seemingly out of place...and in a way detracted from the overal quality of the production. I gather that Humour was thought of in one ways at the time and this appears to be Griffiths weakness. He's good at getting the best an actor and story can give, but his handling of humour is primitive so the two don't jibe too well. But I guess one could just atribute it to the time period and how humour was used at the time. Still the humour bits do do what they intend...to lighten up the mood...so give him that.

And there is an extraordinary bit of footage of Lillian and her eyes that is incredible... yet impossible to describe; but Griffith captured an amazing aspect of Lillian in one clip that has her eyes the most beautiful a girls eyes could possible ever look. An incredible peice of lighting and footage. I've never seen a girls eyes look quite this fabulous in any other movie I've seen. I don't know what he did or got her to do, but it's an incredible aspect of this movie that is possibly unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy DVD Print, Oct. 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
Impossible to enjoy this DVD due to terrible, washed-out, fussy print.Film needs major restoration!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lousy DVD Print, Oct. 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Way Down East (DVD)
Impossible to enjoy this DVD due to terrible, washed-out, fussy print.Film needs major restoration!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

D.W. Griffith's Way Down East [Blu-ray]
D.W. Griffith's Way Down East [Blu-ray] by D.W. Griffith (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 39.95 CDN$ 29.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews