summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars272
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$19.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 28, 2013
If you're as big an "Evil Dead" fan as I am, You need to get your hands on the Evil Dead II: Dead By Dawn Book of the Dead Edition. The quality of the latex that the book is made from is just excellent and the detail on (and inside) the book is great too. This discontinued collector's gem is worth ever penny, bringing you a [more or less] replica of the Necronomicon Ex Mortis with its incredible skin-like texture and a few replica pages from the film's Book of the Dead. I highly recommend this for serious "Evil Dead" lovers, big Sam Raimi fans, movie collectors, Bruce Campbellites, and rehabilitated Candarian Demons.

Also, I don't recommend reading passages from the book aloud. I'm currently missing a hand, everybody around me is dead, and I'm in the process of being sucked into a portal. I hope this all stops soon, I've got a 9-5 in Sporting Goods tomorrow. Shop smart; shop S-Mart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2011
I lvoe everything about this movie. The setting, the directoin, the camera angles, the different filming techniques, the effects, the acting, the characters, and the plot. Everythign!! The humor is spot on and meshes perfectly with the gore. I also like how he basically remade thge first evil dead (which is equally as good as this one) but changes enough to make it its own movie. There is so much to talk about after watching this movie but i wont spoil it for anyone. I absolutly love this movie and any movie like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2004
When movies were still movies and not advertisements, or worse, "products", a couple of people like Sam Raimi, Scott Spiegel, and Bruce Campbell would get together to make a brilliant movie like Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn. I rented it then eventually bought it because I always felt like I was missing out on something people always quote/talk about. And I was.
I can't think of anyone who is doing this today: this superb mix of comedy and action/horror. There are some truly scary parts here (Henrietta is one of the most despicable characters in all of film; I jumped near the beginning when Demon Ash rose from the water) but most of it is comedic. It's a simple story: Ash and his girlfriend are just minding their business in a cabin when some evil spirits start freaking out because this old man released them wile translating "The Book of the Dead". Later his daughter and her group of stupid friends meet at the cabin and before the movie is over, a tree kills a girl, someone bites an eyeball, and a guy gets hacked to death with an axe. If you have a pulse, you want to watch this unfold.
Watch for a particular scene that involves Ash and the "removal" of his hand. It's one of the coolest scenes in the movies that I can think of. All of this is less scary than it could be, because Raimi is a skilled director who uses the Three Stooges as inspiration. As these characters run amok in this cabin, there is a certain joyful abandon at work here: a scene were mounted, stuffed deers laugh along with lamps and books, dead, decapitated girls that dance in the moonlight. "They just don't make 'em like they used to." Oh, and the ending is so funny that the first time I saw it, as the credits flashed I just had to rewind to savor it again. Army of Darkness was truly icing on the cake.
On the DVD itself side of things, this is a nice disc, hopefully Rosebud or Anchor Bay won't release 4,000 versions of this like they did with the original Evil Dead. It has both widescreen and full screen versions of the movie (for once the full screen doesn't look bad; you could say it's better) and it has a nice set of extras. A really interesting and informative doc about the making of the movie; this was pre-CGI, everything was done by hand (no pun intended). We learn about camera tricks involving floorboards and full body casts and dummies controlled by a man on a skateboard. They also take joy in pointing out some of the errors of the film, such as Henrietta's ripped bodysuit in one scene. Any commentary with Bruce Campbell is a winner. Trailers and bios round out the package, but this is more than sufficient for this movie.
I must say the movie is absolutely beautiful to watch and hear-I put it through my stereo and it came alive. This certainly beats the old version of this movie. If you like action/horror/comedy movies, you have to buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2004
Evil Dead 2 is not just another low budget horror movie. It is a singular experience. There is no other movie like it. If it were not for Peter Jackson's Dead Alive, a very different movie of the same genre, I would say that it is, by far, the best horror/comedy ever made. I hate saying horror/comedy, but I guess it fits.
The story is simple: Ashe and his girlfriend Linda take a trip out to, what he has assessed To be an abandoned cottage in the woods. After a little cagey chit chat, Ashe discovers a tape recorder and decides to play the tape. On the tape are ancient incantations from the "Sumerian Book of the Dead" that, once again, awaken a demon inhabiting the very woods surrounding them. The demon possesses Linda and the fun is underway. The movie never lets up from here on out.
The production is amazing. One of the best aspects of the movie is the combined use of sound effects, cinematography, and editing in such a way that they compliment each other and become, in effect, one effect (excuse the silly redundancy.) The jarring sounds, mixed with the equally jarring angles and lens usage, together with the tight editing makes for a movie that moves along like wildfire. Add to this the impossibly charismatic character of Ashe, portrayed perfectly by Bruce Campbell (I swear he was born specifically to make this movie) and you have the best movie of the genre, and, come to think of it, the best movie Sam Raimi has ever made.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2004
While the first Evil Dead was good, it lacked something, and Army of Darkness (sometimes referred to as Evil Dead III) had the most money, Evil Dead II is a comfortable medium. It has the best black humor of the series and is just cheap enough to work as a lovable "Hey guys let's see what we can do with what we have" movie. This film will always have a special place in my heart. I saw it with my best friend at the time way back in '87 at the theater. We both loved it. Shortly after that, he ran away from home and I never saw him again.
For those who love some humor with their horror, this is a perfect film. Bruce Campbell is loved by his fans, and he appreciates what he is. A B-movie actor who loves what he does. Who couldn't like a guy like that. His timing is perfect and as Ash he's a character many can relate too. I mean c'mon who else in Hollywood can play a guy with a possessed hand and beat the crap out of himself.
This DVD has an outstanding behind the scenes making that is as entertaining as the film itself. It looks like so much fun, the average Joe would want to pick up his camera and make a movie with his buddies.
Though the extras show the tribute to Freddy Krueger in the shed, (right above and center to the door on the inside), his glove appears in one other scene. When Ash is in the celler to get the pages, there's one shot of the door he has to open and go through. On the left Freddy's glove hangs again.
ALso no one mentioned it, but when Demon Ash throws the professor's daughter against the wall and is about to kill her, he turns back into normal Ash atthe sight of his dead girlfriend's necklace. Check out the chain before he picks it up. Someone placed it in the shape of a skull.
For a frightening good time with the guys, or on the couch with that special girl, you can't go wrong with Evil Dead II. As Ash would say 'Groovy'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2004
I give the the film 5 out of 5 stars. Everything that can be said about this film has been said many times over.
The dvd on the other hand.. I had heard good things about this dvd such as "excellent commentary, great transfer...". The picture quality seems acceptable most of the time except in the very dark scenes where it looks like there's some mosaic type effect. Never noticed that on my vhs copy or on any other dvd. It's not a big deal. 3 stars for the picture quality.
The commentary suffers from having 4 people yakking at once too often. 2 seperate commentary tracks would have been better. Or just Bruce and Sam. The fx guy says plenty in the doco "gore the merrier" which is also included on this dvd. Having him blabbing in the main commentary too is overkill. 2.5 stars for the commentary.
The extras consist of some stills, trailer (brings back some memories!) and the doco Gore the Merrier. This isn't bad as effects docos go, if you're really curious about "how they did that".. I'm not. The best part of it for me was the actress who played Linda talking about how much "fun" she had having the nude cast done of her body.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2004
Immediately, when you pop in this DVD, it gives you the choice of Widescreen or Full-Screen, Followed by the statement, "Warning: This Film Contains Scenes Which May Be Too Intense For Persons Under The Age Of Seventeen". Bruce Campbell (NBC serial, "Generations", in 1989) returns four years later in this sequel to the 1983 film EVIL DEAD. Ashley brings a girlfriend up to the cabin where he was terrorized before. Something happens. Ashley plays the reel to reel player with spell on it. The evil force is released. Girl taken through window. Ashley finds her possessed. Girl killed and buried. Then the evil spirit gets a hold of Ashley, temporarily. He gets back into the yellow car only to find the Dangerous Bridge has been totally destroyed. The evil spirit won't allow him to leave and chases him back into the cabin and into the cellar. meanwhile, there are other people who have flown in just to get to the cabin. The tow truck man knows another road. Ashley is now fighting with the evil spirit and with his own possessed right hand. Plays like a "drive-in" film and uses special effects we have seen in "7th Voyage of Sinbad" and "Basket Case" Studio must have been given him an extra $100 for the budget this time. Followed by the third sequel, Army of Darkness (1993).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2004
When I first saw "Evil Dead 2," I had recently become a fan of watching horror movies and mocking them with a friend and a beer. A friend of mine told me I had to see "Evil Dead 2" so I thought that meant it would be pretty bad and I would have myself a good time watching it. From the first six minutes of "Evil Dead 2" I became strangely in love with this film and watched with awe. "Evil Dead 2" is a remake of "The Evil Dead" but instead of making a serious horror film, it is a satire of the whole genre. "Evil Dead 2" has some of the greatest and most interesting camera work I've seen in a movie. The film is filled with the craziest crap your eyes will ever see. Bruce Campbell, instead of being a wimp like he is in "The Evil Dead," is now a witty mad man that can take anything and delivers some of the greatest one liners ever (kinda like John McLane in the "Die Hard" series). If you want to see a horror film that is beyond anything you've ever seen and will actually enjoy then you need to see "Evil Dead 2." It is the best horror film I've seen thus far and the best in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
In 1982, moviemaking team Sam Raimi, Robert Tapert, and Bruce Campbell found that their low-budget film THE EVIL DEAD was a hit. Producer Irvan Shapiro wanted a sequel, but the team had no plans for a follow-up to the Stephen King-acclaimed horror hit. But soon Shapiro had advertisements for "Evil Dead II: The Medieval Dead" (which later became ARMY OF DARKNESS), and the crew was forced to make a sequel. Thus we have EVIL DEAD II, co-writer/director Sam Raimi's horror masterpiece follow-up to the original hit. Also known as "Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn", EDII isn't as much a sequel as a semi-remake of the first film. In a flashback which changes the story from the first film slightly (there were only two people who came to the cabin instead of five), Ash (Bruce Campbell) travels to a cabin in the woods completely isolated from society with his girlfriend, Linda (Denise Bixler). But soon, Ash has accidentally unleashed the forces of evil that have been lurking in the woods; forces that possess the flesh of the living and gut anything and everything that moves. With Linda headless and possessed, the film picks up where the first left off with Ash still trapped in the woods with the evil force. This time, however, a group of strangers stumble upon the cabin and they too are trapped with Ash; but they aren't the only ones still hiding in the cabin ...
EVIL DEAD II is a masterpiece of horror; Sam Raimi perfectly mixes creepy, gory horror with laugh-out-loud Three Stooges-esque comedy. Bruce Campbell's performance of Ash is classic and goes beyond description. Campbell goes through so much physical pain (including chopping off his own hand with a chainsaw) as to be both unbelievable and outrageous. The effects are fine, albeit not the best; Joseph LoDuca, who later worked on XENA: WARRIOR PRINCESS and HERCULES (both produced by Raimi and Tapert, and featuring Campbell), provides a good score. The film can entertain you time and time again, and keep you laughing and cringing till the end of your days. All in all, EVIL DEAD II is essential for horror fans; it is, possibly, the greatest horror film ever made. With the ending, there had to be one more in the series to criticize, however ...
Ash J. Williams + Chainsaw & Shotgun shall return in:
ARMY OF DARKNESS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2004
There are many reasons why this one is rated as the greatest Bruce Campbell film and the finest film that director Sam Raimi (Spider-man) has done to date. First of all the cinematography in this movie is hands down one of the best you will ever see for a film of its type because the camera swirls around the place as if attached to an anti-gravity device. The next is the outstanding acting ability of Mr. Campbell as he literally holds the screen by himself for the vast majority of this fun horror movie. One of the most notable scenes in this picture is Mr. Campbell beating up himself on the screen. It is downright hysterical and looks brutally real (because it is!). There is no doubt that this guy will do anything to please the audience and there is also no doubt that the director just loves to torture him. "Mr. Cambell, do you mind while I strap you to a plank of wood and then drive you at top speed through the bushes and trees while you spin around on its axis?" .... "Hell yeah, sure Mr. Raimi. Whatever you say. I just love being in your pictures."
It is too hard to put down a single shot or scene in this movie as that which defines it. The whole thing from start to finish is just a fury of action that doesn't stop. This is also one of the best character build-ups in the history of cinema. At the start Ash (Bruce Campbell) is a sort of frightened scared little pissy-pants but by the end of the movie he is a fully fledged action hero with some wicked one-liners to boot. This film has some of the most memorable quotes in modern cinema.
Evil Dead II is largely a remake to the first Evil Dead movie but is also a sequel or can work as a stand alone vehicle. The premise is simple. Ash heads to a log cabin in the woods with his girlfriend and manages to wakeup the undead who turn his world, and cabin, upside down. There are things in the cellar, things in the woods and a chainsaw in the workshop.
There is no other film that moves at such pace and speed except maybe Black Hawk Down. Here Raimi conjures up scene by scene mayhem on a larger budget than his previous efforts and just keeps up the velocity relentlessly. It is no wonder why this film tops many fanboy polls as the greatest flick of all time.
In short you will be hard pressed to find a horror film with more action in it than Evil Dead II except for maybe Aliens, but then that is more of a Sci-Fi movie. If you have not seen Evil Dead II then it is about time that you did. This movie is a riot and is deserving of its everlasting repeating viewing appeal (And believe me fans do watch this one a couple of times a month).
One of the greatest shames in Cinema is that Hollywood has not been able to utilize or realize one of the finest B-movie actors of our generation. Maybe with Mr. Raimi picking up momentum there we just might get to see his lead star do more for the box office.
An essential for any horror/action fans collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse