Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sequel To The Ultimate Experience In Grueling Terror
I wasn't sure what to expect with the Blu-ray quality of this movie. Some older movies don't translate so well to the new format. Especially the lower budget movies like this one. But I am happy to say that the video quality on this movie is far beyond what I had hoped. Only a few shots have much grain in them. Most of the movie is very sharp. Looks great.
I haven't...
Published on Nov. 17 2011 by Andrew Foster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
I saw _Army of Darkness_ first, which I can highly recommend as
a nearly perfect blend of humor and horror. This movie, which I saw first, isn't up to the quality of _Army._ Mostly it's bad SFX, with amateurish acting. It's fairly scary in parts, but there is exactly one funny part, and that's when Ash is fighting with his own right hand, and losing. Campbell, as...
Published on March 15 2004 by R. Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is the blu-ray to get! Best version so far., Jan. 24 2013
First off, I have bought this movie twice on DVD before (the reissue with the 'UK' cover and The Book of The Dead Edition) so obviously I was VERY reluctant to pick up another version! The main reason I waited for a reissue on Blu-ray was that the picture quality of the original Blu-ray release wasn't considered great. The only bad thing I can say about this release is apparently it's not the correct aspect ratio (it's been cropped a bit to fit the screen for 16x9) and one of the much more notable improvements they digitally removed the stick that was attached to the 'flying eyeball' scene. That's a thumbs up from me and maybe a thumbs down from hardcore purists. But hey, Spielberg took out the reflection from the glass pane separating Indy from the snake in Raiders on the recent Blu-Ray release and most people didn't seem to care!

Aside from a bunch of lengthy special feature footage in HD (interviews and film clips are HD but all the other behind the scenes stuff is transferred from VHS tape) my one requirement for purchasing this movie again was that it had to have the commentary with Bruce Campbell, Sam Raimi, Scott Spiegel and Greg Nicotero. This commentary is probably my all-time favourite commentary of any film ever because it takes the MST3K riffing approach to making fun of it's own movie and it's HILARIOUS. I should also add that the picture quality is impressive and the sound is great too. An excellent package for Evil Dead heads.

Now bring on a director's cut of Army of Darkness akin to what MGM released in China only in HD and I'll die happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Best, Dec 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Been one of my favorites for years. Glad to finally get it on DVD. My VHS copy was getting worn out.lol If you love horror and like to laugh this is for you. The whole series is awesome. Must have....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, Beautiful Quality, AMAZING Special Features!, Nov. 10 2012
There's nothing about Evil Dead II that hasn't already been said. But this Blu Ray is superb. Its got awesome commentaries, a sweet documentary about the making of Evil Dead II, and its packed with tons of great, retro, behind the scenes footage. For any Evil Dead fan, this is the definitive copy you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Evil Dead 2, March 28 2012
By 
Kevin Pack "Kev" (Lethbridge, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 [Import] (DVD)
Evil Dead 2 is a cult classic, you don't really need to see 1 but is just more great stuff. This should be followed by Army of Darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!, Feb. 28 2012
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
If Evil Dead 2 is a sequel to the original Evil Dead, it is essentially a sequel to the original concept of the series, that is a story where demons, released from the pages of a book called the Necronomicon, haunt and torture college students who are staying inside a cabin down in the woods.

For this version, everything that happened in the first movie has been retconned and modified. Of the college students staying at the cabin, only Ash and Linda are left to find the Necronomicon. Instead of seeing their woes for eighty minutes like in the first movie, everything is condensed in the first seven minutes as we then see what happens to Ash as he becomes the victim of the Necronomicon curse. Meanwhile, five other characters (Annie, Bobby Joe, Professor Ed Getley, Jake, and the dead Henrietta, played by the excellent Ted Raimi) come into the story and add a lot of baggage to the Necronomicon's true origins, including a shocking twist at the end.

The special effects, both stop motion and gory juices, are more sophisticated than in the first movie and used to quite a comedic effect, especially with the hand of a certain character and his psychotic illusions. The camerawork is also perfect as it is once again used to film Ash's troubles, but also plays the role of the Necronomicon spirits as they hunt the characters around the house and the woods, a visual strategy that adds more tension to the story than any special effect done in post-production.

The soundtrack by Joseph LoDuca is still as efficient as the first one, but is more classical than in the first movie, which was more experimental. Done with a larger orchestra, the score doesn't suffocate the movie and the characters' actions and is both comical and dramatic, adding the perfect atmosphere to the story.

As for the script, this one was richer than the first movie and only kept the best elements of the first version of the Evil Dead story. Unlike the first movie, Evil Dead 2's story rhythm was faster and I didn't feel that some characters were useless to the movie. In fact, there were times I felt that certain traits of Scotty, Cheryl and Shelly were present in Ash, Linda and Annie. In terms of narration, classical devices are used as a narrator informs us of the origin of the book, flashbacks show us how Annie's family discovered the Necronomicon in Sumerian ruins. Finally, instead of doing a gore horror movie like in the first Evil Dead, Sam Raimi mixes more comedy in the story, which gives quite many funny scenes even though the situations are just horrible for all the characters, especially Ash's misadventures which take a final conclusion in Army of Darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Horror Comedy ever made, Aug. 3 2012
By 
Sean H (Ottawa, Ontario) - See all my reviews
I have no idea why Amazon refuses to associate the 239 worthwhile reviews of this movie to this particular edition but if you want to get the straight scoop on this movie and why so many people love it: http://www.amazon.ca/Evil-Dead-Blu-ray-Bruce-Campbell/product-reviews/B000UR9QGW/ref=sr_1_14_cm_cr_acr_txt?ie=UTF8&showViewpoints=1

Evil Dead 2 is a fantastic horror comedy movie that made the careers of both Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell. The only legitimate complaint I can think of is how many times this movie gets re released with additional bonus features; other than that, the actual movie is perfect, the ultimate B movie.

To Amazon, why do you let people post 1 star reviews based solely on price, especially on Amazon with prices that constantly change / get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!!, March 24 2011
This review is from: Evil Dead II [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I lvoe everything about this movie. The setting, the directoin, the camera angles, the different filming techniques, the effects, the acting, the characters, and the plot. Everythign!! The humor is spot on and meshes perfectly with the gore. I also like how he basically remade thge first evil dead (which is equally as good as this one) but changes enough to make it its own movie. There is so much to talk about after watching this movie but i wont spoil it for anyone. I absolutly love this movie and any movie like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious gore fest!, Sept. 7 2005
This sequel to the cult classic film, Evil Dead, is the next installment into, what is praised to be, one of the goriest black comedy horror films to ever hit the film circuit. This film glorifies the very campy fun and essence of your typical B-movie plot, with a side of exaggerated amounts of cartoony violence and blood. Ash takes his girlfriend to a deserted cabin for a splendid weekend together of romance, but everything goes spiralling down into a blaze of horror as Ash idiotically finds a tape recording of a reading of, what is refered to as, "The Book of the Dead." From here on, this is when the film picks up and the girlfriend goes missing after 'something in the woods' smashes through her window. The origin of the book is narrated in the first 2 minutes, and it almost takes and additional 3 minutes for the girlfriend to go missing. For the rest of the film, Ash battles the forces of evil that reincarnate themselves into everything, from huge trees to even small books. The film is hilarious, with its 'splatstick' humor that pays homage to the likes of The Three Stooges. The pop up scares are impeccable and are always right on target with their build ups. This is a fast, fierce, scary, and most of all, incredibly good humored work by Sam Raimi. I highly recommend this film to horror fans who love a good scare, but at the same time, don't mind laughing at the same time as they're doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REALLY FUN!, July 23 2005
By A Customer
The first film was devilish and scary , but this is just goofy scary fun.This has so many jumps to make Alfred Hitchcock scared.the special effects are really dated but freakishly creepy and wierd.I do recommend this for a fun scary movie night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Groovy!, Aug. 12 2004
The two best horror movies ever are Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2, nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 326 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb19696cc)

This product

Evil Dead 2 [Import]
CDN$ 16.83 CDN$ 15.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews