march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry Furniture

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 6, 2016
Fast delivery! Very satisfied with the product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The movie starts at its WWII origins. Chris Evans plays Steve Rogers a puny 4F man who has lied his way into a military science experiment. Tommy Lee Jones plays an excellent Colonel. Meanwhile evil Nazi Hugo Weaving believing he is Darth Maul, has his own plans for world conquest using sharks with frickin' laser beams. (Just kidding about the sharks.) Rogers is a 90 pound weakling who displays intellect, courage, and guts. He is selected for the military's secret program and is transformed into a muscular super hero. The special effects were very good, although we do know from "Last Action Hero" you can't really jump around car roofs. After Rogers is transformed he becomes Captain America to be used as a recruiting tool, as Tommy Lee still has his doubts about the 90 pound weakling.

Of course things change and the rest of the story shouldn't be too hard to figure out, even if you don't read comics. Now the very end utilizes the one-eyed Samuel L. Jackson from Iron Man 2 which hints at an ultimate sequel providing everyone isn't dead by then.

The movie combines action, drama, light comedy, and light romance. Good acting, good dialouge, good frickin' laser beams.

No swearing, nudity, or sex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Good Movie. Great Experience. A++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
While this film represents a fairly accurate adaptation of the Jack Kirby character and origin, it does take a few liberties (pun intended), which I'll critique below ...

First, the costume. While it's not much of a detriment to the movie, I don't see why making changes to iconic costumes are done at all. What's worse is that they insulted the original design by turning into a cheap, ill-fitting USO costume with puffy plush wings on the temples. Clearly the filmmakers were going out of their way to make the original costume look silly when they could have easily made it "real" and cool without changing it. Cap's shirt is supposed to be chainmail, not spandex. I suspect the real reason for all these changes is to avoid any legal entanglements with Jack Kirby's heirs (that's why it was done with all the Marvel heroes in the mid-80s Secret Wars comics).

Second, the origin. It's fairly faithful (definitely more than Thor was), except that instead of Rogers just being skinny, he's now also diminutive in stature. But it's a small point to make (again, pun intended) and the special effects done to Chris Evans were definitely effective. Tony Stark's father being involved in the experiment was another unnecessary addition, but again it doesn't detract from the scene too much. Also, Spider-Man is the one who had the showbiz career before he became a heroic crime-fighter, not Cap. Why the USO subplot was inserted into the film, I don't know. Just as I don't know why Spidey becoming a successful performer is always left out of his movies. It's pretty messed up.

Third, and most importantly, the heroes' use of lethal force. This is the worst offender of modern super-hero films and they are all guilty of it. As long as it continues they'll never earn a five-star rating in my book. In the MCU, Iron Man supposedly gained a conscience when he vowed to stop making weapons of mass destruction ' only to put on a wearable weapon and do the killing personally. Likewise, the Incredible Hulk was said to have murdered dozens of people. (Compare that to Bill Bixby's Hulk, who was said not to kill because Banner could not kill). You would think that Captain America would be the one to draw the line on this kind of behavior. Just because the government says it's not illegal to kill during wartime doesn't invalidate the fact that it is immoral, and you'd think Steve is not the kind of person who would be okay with it. But Evans' Captain America does indeed kill, unnecessarily firing guns, and even sadistically throwing his enemies out of planes without parachutes.

I don't buy the excuse that times are different now, that the world is darker. Not only were most of these classic super-heroes invented during times of war (WWII, Korea, and Vietnam) but they were invented BECAUSE of it--to combat the horrors of war with optimism. But at least the heroes of the MCU are tempered with some sense of decency and responsibility and are frequently shown saving innocent bystanders. Conversely, look at the negative backlash to "Man of Steel" and "Batman v. Superman," films whose agendas apparently endorse so-called "heroes" carelessly racking up "collateral damage." More and more, audiences are speaking with their dollars to keep misguided filmmakers inline where these iconic, optimistic role-models are concerned.

Top 7 MCU films:

1. Civil War
2. Winter Soldier
3. Captain America
4. Ant-Man
5. Age of Ultron
6. Avengers
7. Thor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
Great movie. Enjoyed the second one also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Great Movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
This is a great origin story film. It never plods along or is too dull and does a great job developing the character so that we canunderstand why he makes the choices he does. Great start to what is turning out to be some excellent films. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
TRES BIEN
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
By now, everything that anyone can say about this movie has been said. At the time it was released I was going into a "not another Marvel hero" mood. So I passed it up. Then I saw it on television and decided that it would indeed be a movie I would like to watch and enjoy. At present, I am having fun looking for the errors in it and have reached 17. But that only adds to the fun. Watch my favourite musical "The Bandwagon", and while Nanette Fabray is singing 'Louisiana Hayride', watch for the stage hand who wanders on camera. And no one at MGM caught it. But "Captain America", jingoism aside, is essentially a well made film, and has many special effects that are not of simply destroying the set when it tries for an action sequence; that particular device should now be banned from films. And that magic here is one of its best features. So is the cast, the direction, and the superb camera work.
So even those of us who think we are 'too old' for this fun, need to rethink that, and this is about as good a starting point that I can imagine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse