Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First among heroes
I have to admit, I didn't have high expectations for the Captain America movie. They're tried to adapt it twice before and... well, it was ridiculous. And I'm not just talking about the costume.

So it came as a pleasant surprise that this latest comic book movie is not only better than the previous adaptations of Captain America's story, but is a robust,...
Published on Feb. 20 2012 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pale Shade of Indiana Jones
Good to have the background on this character, but it doesn't hold up very well against the other Marvel movies.
Published 2 months ago by Anne


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First among heroes, Feb. 20 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
I have to admit, I didn't have high expectations for the Captain America movie. They're tried to adapt it twice before and... well, it was ridiculous. And I'm not just talking about the costume.

So it came as a pleasant surprise that this latest comic book movie is not only better than the previous adaptations of Captain America's story, but is a robust, action-packed thriller in its own right. "Captain America: The First Avenger" has an earnest, idealistic tone mingled sometimes poignant realism -- exactly what it needs to have.

The time: World War II. Scrawny asthmatic Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) desperately wants to defend his country, but he's too puny to enter the army. Dr. Abraham Erskine sees the goodness and courage in Steve's heart, and enlists him in a top-secret experiment to create a super-soldier. Within minutes, Steve has superhuman strength, speed and big shiny muscles. HOORAY!

Unfortunately, the army seems more interested in using the superpowered Captain America as a mascot than a fighter. Are you really surprised? This is the GOVERNMENT we're talking about.

When Steve learns that his best buddy has been captured by the Nazis, he singlehandedly invades an enemy base and rescues dozens of soldiers. But this brings him to the attention of the Nazi super-science division Hydra, and its malevolent leader Johann Schmidt (Hugo Weaving) -- who is the only other man as strong as Captain America.

This summer has had a lot of comic book movies -- some were horribly disappointing ("Green Lantern," "Priest") and some were wonderful ("Thor"). I wasn't entirely sure which kind of movie "Captain America: The First Avenger" would be, but I was pleasantly surprised by how well-written and solidly-plotted it was.

There's also a lot of gritty, smoky action with flying bullets (and shields), fiery explosions, and speeding trains carrying machine-gun robots. But the writers don't neglect the human side of Captain America's story, whether it's his friendship with a fellow soldier or his budding romance with an icy sharpshooter.

My biggest criticism is the MacGuffinness of the subplot MacGuffin, which really doesn't do anything except also be an unnecessary deus ex machina. Really, was there ANY reason for the Odin cube to be in this?

As for the cast, they're uniformly solid. Chris Evans plays Steve as earnest, sweet and loyal, but with iron-clad determination and plenty of courage, and he's backed by excellent performances by Tucci, Tommy Lee Jones and a steely-nerved sharpshooting Hayley Atwell. And Hugo Weaving is AWESOME -- this guy can play a Nazi in a red latex mask, and still come across as insanely scary.

"Captain America: The First Avenger" is a lot like Captain America himself -- robust, action-packed, with a good earnest heart at its core. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Four stars are for the movie - I wish I could give one or zero stars for the price tag, April 10 2014
By 
Jeffrey Timpano (North Bay, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Great to see the origins story of Cap - But $41 for a movie that' has already been out for a while now and is not considered a blockbuster is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for Marvel!, April 20 2013
By 
Luc Durocher (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Thanks again for the great price and service, guys. Everything was on time and in perfect order. Everything was first class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, Feb. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Captain america, just like the rest of the Marvel superheros have origin stories and this one is told perfectly and is honestly one of the best, if not the best marvel superhero movie. Very true to the comics, possibly better than previous incarnations of cap's origin story. Solid acting, good cast and good FX and a sweet lead up to Avengers. After this flick you'll see that captain america is probably one of the best heroes marvel has produced and has a distinct and awesome personality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie. Boy it sure makes you wonder what it would be like to be pushed into the future like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie., March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great action packed movie. I was never much of a Captain America fan before this. The suit looks a little tight ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Pale Shade of Indiana Jones, Feb. 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good to have the background on this character, but it doesn't hold up very well against the other Marvel movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Done right, once again., Dec 20 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
There is an element of irony in the way Captain America feels today. Strong, patriotic, never questioning his beliefs, etc. He is a living caricature of the American Dream, and director Joe Johnston plays it like such for the majority of the movie, but never at the expense of the character or the actor. And this is what makes the movie so good (for me, it is): many characters meet irony in the face when Rogers becomes Captain America. The symbol may lack perspectives, but Rogers is all heart when it comes to battling the Red Skull's army. The time reconstitution is quite astounding, and so are the special effects, all blended for the purpose of bringing the comic book character to cinematic life for the first time (let's not talk about that 1990 Captain America movie, please).

For a fan who expects many special features, Marvel and Paramount have grown quite cheap indeed, for they include just under 60 or 70 minutes of special features, never really going deep into the process of production, following the EPK formula of interviews and what a great time it was, etc. They feel rushed and not even scratching the surface.

Nevertheless, that shouldn't hold you from watching Captain America The First Avenger, for it contains its fair share of fun, action, special effects and all the goodies one may have come to love and enjoy from a Marvel movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Liked It!!, Dec 9 2013
By 
WolverineVx (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a very entertaining movie. Fast paced.

I think every Marvel fan should watch it.

Even maybe even sci-fi lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm not kissing you!", Dec 4 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A young man, Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) wants to join the military. Unfortunately this is during World War II and he is deemed to be 4F. He doesn't really want to kill Nazis just thwart bullies. He gets his chance through the efforts of Dr. Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci,) who fattens him up a bit through injections and extreme infusions of blue light energy. Now comes the question of how will he use his newfound abilities, for good, for evil, or for frivolity?

Most of us already know the story of Capt. America many of watched programs or read the comics. So we already have a preconception of how this should come about and what he should be doing as the superhero. However I suggest you set those preconceptions aside and watch the movie for what it is. You will find that it is entertaining, fast-paced yet slows down every once in a while so that Steve Rogers can look into Peggy Carter's (Hayley Atwell) eyes and wonder what it would be like if the world was different.

Being a little bit on the cynical side you would almost think that this movie is really an outlet for out of work actors. We see many of our favorites and a few that may become favorites. Tommy Lee Jones looks a little bit like he might've melted in his old age but we still remember him from that fantastic movie "Volcano." Every time I see the bad guy okay the Crimson Skull (Hugo Weaving) I think of "Lord of the Rings." But it's too bad that Stanley Tucci did not get a longer part as he is a very flexible actor. You should really see Stanley in the movie "Undercover Blues."

I only saw the Blu-ray version so I cannot comment on any peculiarities of the other versions. And watching the credits they explained that this is really just the first movie of the series of movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb11f3678)

This product

Captain America: The First Avenger (Blu-ray/DVD Combo) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 48.99 CDN$ 41.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews