Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Aniston. Wow
If you're like most people at some point you have probably worked for a horrible boss, and so you can derive a vicarious thrill from this movie.

If you have seen Hitchcock's classic Strangers on a Train, or Throw Momma from the Train starring Danny De Vito the premise will be familiar. Subtract a train, substitute 3 authority figures for a parental figure, add...
Published on Feb. 1 2012 by Inkhorn

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding?....No you aren't,are you?
Horrible Bosses(released June/11)stars,among others,Jason Bateman,Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis, Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell,Kevin Spacey,Donald Sutherland and Jamie Foxx.This is a juvenile film chock full of the type of low gutter humour/aka "the easy laugh", that Hollywood churns out these days.It's an inspired cast in a film that goes no where.
The...
Published 4 months ago by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Aniston. Wow, Feb. 1 2012
By 
Inkhorn "Innerchi" (Huntingdon Beach) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you're like most people at some point you have probably worked for a horrible boss, and so you can derive a vicarious thrill from this movie.

If you have seen Hitchcock's classic Strangers on a Train, or Throw Momma from the Train starring Danny De Vito the premise will be familiar. Subtract a train, substitute 3 authority figures for a parental figure, add a healthy dose of Murphy's law, and a hitman consultant, MF Jones, played by Jamie Foxx, and a few absurd twists, and you have Horrible Bosses.

Three horrible bosses. Three disgruntled employess. You kill my boss. I kill yours. No one will suspect any of us. Makes perfect sense. Nothing could possibly go wrong. Right? Right..

Horrible Bosses has a wealth of talent, including two Academy Award winners. It's amusing, gripping, absurd, and has some surprising twists and turns.

It has some outstanding scenes, particularly Jennifer Aniston's hot portrayal of the oversexed over the top maneating dentist, who does unthinkable things with her sleeping patients, and tries the patience of her unfortunate just got engaged assistant. Not just a sexual overtone. More like a sexual symphony.

Last year she was in a clever movie The Switch (2010), also starring Jason Bateman, and a scene stealing kid, and it's apparent that comedy more than drama is her strength and passion, and improvisation her forte as she showed in the recent Just Go With It, which I totally loved. For her the clock appears to run backwards rather than forwards, and her talent and presence continues to grow.

Combed over Colin Farrell is almost unrecognisable as the idiotic heir to a chemical company with chemical dependency issues, while Kevin Spacey reprises the familiar psychotic role.

If you like this movie, check out director Seth Gordon's The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters, given two thumbs up by Ebert and Roeper. Think of it as the Spinal Tap meets Donkey Kong. Truly outstanding.

If you're like me, it doesn't matter if you watch it in the theater or on dvd, I think you will love it. And, if you do have a horrible boss, send him or her a copy of this movie. They might get the hint. They might not. Recently, I saw Jennifer Aniston in Just go with it. I consider it one of her best performances, and I highly recommend it.

I hope you found this review helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant classic., Nov. 9 2011
This review is from: Horrible Bosses (Totally Inappropriate Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I took a chance on this one and bought it before seeing it, or knowing much about it - no regrets here. Everyone in this movie does a stellar job. I've never been a big fan of Jennifer Aniston, but she steals the show here. Highly recommended for old-school, sticky situation, buddy comedy enthusiasts who love original one-liners and male bonding done well. Pepper in Kevin Spacey as one of the biggest pricks ever to grace the screen and you've got an instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than The Devil Wears Prada, Dec 22 2011
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Horrible Bosses (Totally Inappropriate Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie made me laugh real hard because they are terrific. Even Jennifer Aniston's character is what I never get enough of that movie just as if I never get enough of Cameron Diaz's Bad Teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding?....No you aren't,are you?, March 28 2015
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Horrible Bosses(released June/11)stars,among others,Jason Bateman,Charlie Day, Jason Sudeikis, Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell,Kevin Spacey,Donald Sutherland and Jamie Foxx.This is a juvenile film chock full of the type of low gutter humour/aka "the easy laugh", that Hollywood churns out these days.It's an inspired cast in a film that goes no where.
The story is simple.On the one hand we have the "good guys": Bateman,Day and Sudeikas VS "the bad guys",the titled Horrible Bosses: Aniston,Farrell and Spacey.Bateman's nightmare is Spacey who makes him work long hours for nothing,denying him a promotion that he deserves.Day is up against Aniston who wants to bed Day at every turn and is sexually harassing him constantly.Finally we have Sudeikas whose late bosse's son Farrell has unfortunately taken over a company that he has no business running.Over a nightcap at a local bar the trio's discussion turns to getting rid of their bosses.It eventually pans into an actual plan,of sorts.Day first arranges a meeting with a "wet professional",which he believes is just a code name for hitman.No.As it turns out, the guy that arrives at a hotel room the three rent out, pees on his clients for a living.Ooops.Next they secure the services of Foxx who plays one Dean "MF"Jones(I am not allowed to tell you what MF stands for,you'll have to guess...and it won't be that hard!).He takes $5,000 of their hard earned dollars for simple advice on how to carry out their plan.Out of all the suggestions Jones comes up with,the one that has each guy knocking off their friends bosses,appeals to them the most.
They start reconnoitering their respective bosses homes,getting clues and ideas as to their vulnerabilities.While checking out Spacey's home one of them drops a cell phone belonging to Farrell that they took earlier.Spacey later finds it and storms to Farrell's home and shoots him dead.Bateman, who just happens to have been there anyways, witnesses it and the three later confront Spacey at his home during a surprise birthday party.Spacey is not the least bit intimidated and in fact threatens their lives.Sudeikis who had a recorder on him and was supposed to be present when Spacey actually confessed, is no where around(he is busy making out with Spacey's wife).They all leave and Spacey pursues them.He finally corners them and just before the cops arrive he shoots himself to make it look like it was they who shot him and confessed to the murder of Farrell.The cops arrive and it looks like Spacey's scheme will work until an on board security program(the equivalent of On-Star) in Sudeikas's car alerts them all to the actual conversation that took place,nailing Spacey.
The film comes to an end as Bateman finally gets his promotion,Sudeikas retains his job but with a newer and nicer boss and Day finally gets Aniston.He has a friend come in as a patient and gets Foxx to record the whole thing on film from outside.
If you want to see Aniston like you have never seen her before and Farrell as a hopped up druggie,all wrapped up in a blanket of swearing and sexually explicit language which gives a bad name to the words "humour" and "innuendo",then this baby is for you.Fortunately, there are those still with some semblance of taste and to those I strongly recommend you avoid this film like the Bubonic plague.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 1:77:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include only deleted scenes.
All in all a BIG disappointment.With a cast like this I was expecting better,funnier and with better taste.Ahh,Hollywood,you have to love their choices.Although,as of this writing there is a sequel to this film out there in theatres.So,hey,what do I know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a couple of good parts. For the most part, Aug. 1 2015
It was okay to watch, a couple of good parts. For the most part, it was not really along the lines of my particular sense of humor, though far better than Monty Pythong, at least Horrible Bosses was not a choppy movie, it did flow. I wish I had the option of either adding on at least another half a point (giving a 3.5) or having the option of rating it from 1-10 and given it a 7. This would have been more along my brothers' sense of humor, he like Vince Vaugh and Colin Farell and Dumb and Dumber movies which I do not like in the least. (Those movies I would rate a 0 given the option to do so)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic!, Aug. 1 2014
By 
StarterQuest - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best comedies in recent years I've watched. While the plot is a bit out there, it makes for great fun! The cast are all amazing actors and work really well with one another. Can't wait for the sequel which is supposed to come out in a few months time!

Easily a 5/5 - if you like comedies, pick this movie up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny worth checking out, Jan. 2 2015
By 
Russ Crossley "Rusty by the Sea" (Vancouver Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An example of How a dumb film is elevated by talented actors. Some laugh out loud moments make this twist on strangers on a train worth watching. Check it out. Warning this film is adults only, not suitable for children due to sexual language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revenge, April 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved it and everyone who watches it can relate in some way to anyone of the bosses because they are out there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a funny movie, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Such a hilarious movie. Definitely a movie to watch when you need a good laugh. But if your parents are the types to be at least somewhat-conservative, make sure not to watch this movie when they are around as it does contain quite a bit of inappropriate things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of Iran, March 15 2014
By 
Peyman ADLDOUSTI (Persian Gulf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a comedy at best. There are three bad bosses and three employees who are being hurt by their bosses. These three employers are going through elaborate scheme to murder their bosses. But can they? Watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Horrible Bosses (Totally Inappropriate Edition) [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews