march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars121
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$30.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Brave is the latest and certainly one of the best of Pixar's creations. Right up there with "The Incredibles: and "Wall:E". A beautifully rendered and superb sounding movie set in the highlands of medieval Scotland where a fiery redheaded princess will set into motion events that could literally rip apart both the kingdom and her family. And through which great courage and determination will be required.

The movie is basically in two parts. The first part is based around the castle and is full of comedy and lots of action as Merida the Scottish Princess tries to cope with her upcoming nuptials whether she wishes them or not. Then the second half becomes more darker as she must wrestle with the consequences of a spell gone horribly wrong and the real possibility that she could lose her mother forever! In fact, this is the main gist of the movie; the growing alienation between mother and child and what will be required to heal the breech.

Disney and Pixar have done an incredible job here. Every leaf, moss, cloth and hair is rendered in beautiful detail and if you have a surrround sound system capable of handling it; nothing less than an English Dolby True HD 7.1 soundtrack! It's one of the few Blurays that I've heard that really, really makes use of the rear sound field. They even have a Dolby Digital Plus 7.1 audio track for French speakers plus Dolby True HD 5.1 and Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks in English and Dolby Digital 5.1 in French and Spanish. The dvd is Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks in all three languages as well. So nobody gets shortchanged in the audio.

The extras are equally impressive. On the main bluray disc there are a ton of extras, all in high definition, everything from shorts to a tour of Scotland. My favourite being a beautiful little 7 minute short called "La Luna" which I highly recommend. It even comes with the 7.1 soundtrack. In addition on this five disc 3D combo pack, there is a second BD bonus disc with even more extras well worth watching of which my favourite is a promotional 3-1/2 min. animated montage that looks like it may have been originally designed as an animated background for the ending credits and if it wasn't, it should have been used that way as it would have been perfect for it. Also impressive is a huge interactive art gallery with at least 500 or more images which show just how much talent and artwork go into making a picture like this. Overall, this is one impressive package.

Plot wise, I'd give this about four stars with five for audio and video. So overall, let's call this a four. A little too scary for the young crowd, but any kid who can handle the typical sci-fi movie should be okay. Definitely recommended.

J. A.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The graphics is great on yet another Disney princess film. The film starts out with some deep themes. Mom attempts to mold Merida into her expectations of her being a princess. Merida is daddy's girl and a tomboy. When it comes times for suitors, the 15 year old rebels against her mother to win her freedom to choose her own life. This was all great as the classic female roles are being broken, a reflection of today's world. I was really enjoying the film.

After this great start the film digresses into magic and witchcraft. Now I have nothing against either one, it is just at this point the film loses track of the theme and becomes needlessly silly and moves off into a new direction and creates a kids version of "The Monkey's Paw" i.e. be careful what you wish for. The preteen kids will enjoy it, I can't imagine adults getting too excited. 3 1/2 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
I love animated movies, however, my partner typically does not. This was our Christmas family movie for the year (we pick something that no-one has seen and has limited violence).
The plot is rather typical, but well-written and the voices and actions were very apt. With my partner having grown up for a time in Scotland, we did rely on her opinion of the language and such and she was pretty impressed and actually enjoyed it!
Great to have a female protagonist in a kid's movie, even though she's still a princess, she doesn't act like all the stereotypical Disney princesses. Instead of waiting for a man/prince to come save her, she gets herself into trouble on her own and manages to get herself out of is on her own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2016
Brave is amongst my favourite of the recent Disney princess releases and I was excited to get this movie to share with my daughter. There are some dark elements to the story that may be frightening for a younger audience, but nothing that I would expect to be too distressing or cause nightmares. I appreciate having a main character that fights for herself rather than needing to be saved and I loved the underlying story about the relationship between mother and daughter. The animation is quite spectacular and the level of detail is incredible, particularly Merida's amazing red hair. I'm sure I'll have to watch this movie at least 20 times once I give it to my daughter, so I'm glad it's a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
This dvd is superb, not only for children, but for old people with a young heart. I saw it in a cinema and all I saw were mothers with their daughters, very enlightning and that's why I wanted to own the dvd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2016
I loved this movie when I first saw it in the theatres. This 3D version brings everything back - it's just spectacular to watch ... again, and again. Little Merida is absolutely adorable, and later on, between the shenanigans of her 3 little brothers (who never actually speak a word) and all of the clans come to win Merida's hand, my cheeks just ache from all the smiling. The story has some good lessons for children, but they'll never know they're learning them because they'll be enjoying the movie too much to realize it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO (2D):

Brave arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.39:1 encode. Pixar's amazing animation is simply stunning and gorgeous, bringing breathtaking life to Merida's world, making her somewhat humble adventure even grander and more satisfying. The film's palette is nothing short of magical, with lavish reds, fiery oranges, lovely greens, disarming earthtones, bright blues and inky blacks, all delivered via perfect colour and impeccable contrast. Detail is magnificent, capturing every nuance the animators saw fit to incorporate into their already jaw-dropping animation, like tattered kilt seams, tight tartan patterns, pinpoint freckles, scraggly beards, errant whiskers, shaggy manes, scuffed armor, knicked blades, matted fur, the smallest droplets of water, thinnest blades of grass, tiniest leafs on distant trees... nothing misses the mark. Edges are sharp and clean. The image is as pristine as they come. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Brave 3D arrives with MPEG-4 MVC encode. Capturing the rapturously inviting world of its characters with absolutely pitch-perfect technical acuity, the 3D elements on this disc are immersive without being gimmicky, and depth is handled sensationally across the board. And picture quality is top-of-the-line; to boot: colour accuracy is rock solid, detail is impossibly sharp and well-defined, and black levels are steady from top to bottom. All the descriptions in the 2D are included here, but with an added more immersive experience. (5/5)

AUDIO (2D & 3D):

Both the 2D and 3D versions have the same fantastic and outstanding Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track, with the 2D version also in Dolby TrueHD 5.1 too. Even in the film's opening minutes, the quality of the experience becomes abundantly clear, like the wind rustling the tops of the trees, the grass crunching beneath Merida's feet, the sudden deafening roar of a demon intruder, and the weight of the girl's father charging into battle. It only gets better from there too as Merida strikes out beyond the castle grounds, into the wild wood and farther. The rear speakers, meanwhile, create a truly enveloping and immersive soundfield. (5/5)

MOVIE:

The impetuous, tangle-haired Merida, though a daughter of royalty, would prefer to make her mark as a great archer. A clash of wills with her mother compels Merida to make a reckless choice, which unleashes unintended peril on her father’s kingdom and her mother’s life. Merida struggles with the unpredictable forces of nature, magic and a dark, ancient curse to set things right. The choice of Kelly MacDonald, Emma Thompson, Billy Connolly and Julie Walters as voices for Merida, Elinor, Fergus and the Witch respectively, is simply perfect. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Brave has an estimated budget of $185 million, but only grossed $236 million, a disappointment, when compared to Toy Story 3 ($1,062 million), Finding Nemo ($865 million) and Up ($727 million).

This film marks the first time a Pixar produced film has a female protagonist. Princess Merida is also the first Pixar character to be included in the Disney Princess line.

Two additional computer softwares were specially developed for this film by Pixar in the period of three years. One of them allows simulation of Merida's 1500 strands of hair curls to move together with her movements.

Brave is the first film to use the new Dolby Atmos sound system. The new system expands from the 5/7.1 channel sound mixes to 64 discrete speaker feeds and 128 simultaneous and lossless audio channels. Wow! A really holosonic soundfield!

PACKAGING:

It has a 3D lenticular cover, and consists of 5 discs: 3 BD-50 discs and 2 DVDs. The 3D and 2D versions are in separate blu ray discs, plus one BD-50 disc for Bonus Features. The 2 DVDs are standard DVD and Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Brave isn't Pixar at its best, but while watching this 3D Blu-ray edition of Brave, you probably won't care all that much: this release is a technical stunner, milking every drop of potential out of its high-def capacity. It is one of the best, if not the best 3D movie this year. If you have a 3D TV, this 3D/2D set is definitely preferred, because the pictures in both 3D and 2D are equally stunning, plus a top-notched audio track. This set is definitely very highly recommended.

UPDATE (FEBRUARY 24, 2013):

Congratulations to Brave who deservedly won the Oscar for Best Animated Film. Brave and Wreck-It Ralph (also nominated) are truly the better animated features in 2012. Merida in Brave also reminded me of the Best Actress Oscar winner Jennifer Lawrence who starred in The Hunger Games.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2012
What a wonderful family film! I guess it's a "kid's" film but I absolutely LOVED it! It has such wonderful lessons and it was done so well. The film is happy and sad, funny, and has emotional momemts, even a touch of magic is in the air. It is colorful and has music, even to the bagpipes of Scotland. This is a Disney Pixar film, so you have the wonderful animations that feel almost human.

The movie begins with the king and queen playing with their little red-haired daughter on her birthday. Even at the ripe old age of maybe 5, little Merida is headstrong, bright, and bubbly. And she sees the wisps, a kind of blue fairy type light that sends her in certain directions.

We watch Princess Merida grow, and be instructed in the ways of a Princess by her "Mum," the Queen. Now that she is of age, Mum decides it is time to have a suitor party so the gents can compete for her hand. But Merida has a mind of her own. Just to add a little extra excitement, Merida has three young brothers (triplets!)

Again, this is a fun flick with lots of funny moments, some even laugh-out-louds. And the bagpipes are always special to me (some of my heritage). Some valuable lessons for the children about perception, seeing things in a certain way, responsibilities, listening to others, considering alternatives, forgiveness and love. Many of you with children will likely buy this movie when it becomes available.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
At first I bought this movie thinking it would be funnier than it actualy was and about a brave independent girl who has the scottish spirit. It was really about a mother-daughter relationship and seeing life from both sides. It was really cute and was very heartwarming, but did not have that comedy I was looking for. But I really loved it and learned a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
The movie itself was ok. However, be forewarned that the digital copy included with this collection is NOT high-definition. I purchased this collection to get the digital copy and thought that it would be HD, after all it is the "Ultimate Collector's Edition". If it included a HD digital copy I could have given it an extra star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse