Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This horror story’s a real scream!
A family struggling to come to terms with the past attempts to make a fresh start in a beautiful Los Angeles mansion, unaware of the horrors that have unfolded through the years on the property.

The pilot of American Horror Story really drew me in and held me for the entire season. It’s a TV series that (just like ‘The Walking Dead’) perfectly...
Published 23 months ago by Jamie MacDougall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a moitiee
moi bien aimee la premiere saison bons acteurs et bonne histoire horrifiante d horreur ( sauf le generique qui est tro mal fait trop horreur glacante en image et son )
je suis tres decue de la saison 2 ( je vais meme la donner a mes fils.
aime pas les personnages de la 2 et l histoire est trop troublante et trop dans un mauvais contexte.
Published 3 months ago by clau


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This horror story’s a real scream!, Oct. 12 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A family struggling to come to terms with the past attempts to make a fresh start in a beautiful Los Angeles mansion, unaware of the horrors that have unfolded through the years on the property.

The pilot of American Horror Story really drew me in and held me for the entire season. It’s a TV series that (just like ‘The Walking Dead’) perfectly grasps everything that makes the horror genre so great when done right. With its sly nods to numerous films and tales from years past and its own unique and disturbing blend of fear and sexuality, there’s a lot here for horror fans to sink their teeth into.

The show also offers up truly amazing acting across the board with gripping performances from Dylan McDermott, Connie Britton, Denis O’Hare, Frances Conroy, Zachary Quinto, Taissa Farmiga and Evan Peters. But it’s Jessica Lange’s maniacal performance as Constance Langdon, the mother/neighbor from Hell, that really steals the show.

American Horror Story arrives on Blu-ray with this 3-disc set containing all 12 episodes from season one. The show is shot on film and looks great on Blu-ray. The picture quality is true to the intended presentation of the series and while it doesn’t pop with the color and fine detail of many recent TV show releases due to its dark tone (and often frantic filming style), it does capture the series very beautifully in all of its inky black shadow-soaked creepiness. A fine level of grain is also present and provides a cinematic feel to the proceedings. The audio presentation is also solid.

The set offers up a standard assortment of special features, including a commentary on the series pilot by co-creator Ryan Murphy on the first disc, and 4 featurettes (totaling about an hour) on the third disc. I personally would have liked to see a few deleted scenes and a couple cast commentaries thrown in as well.

Can’t wait to enter the Asylum for season 2! Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Very Good!, Oct. 11 2012
By 
Andrew in Calgary - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I never watched the show when it was on TV, but having the entire season on disc, commercial-free, gives the viewer the chance to follow the rather complex story more easily. My wife is not a fan of horror, but she quickly got hooked until we had watched the entire season in about a week. Great cast. The acting and the directing is excellent, with everybody showing a creepy edge at one point or another. The script has plenty of surprises, I won't say anything about them but I think you will enjoy every episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Television Series, Sept. 9 2012
By 
David Connell "basileus2" (Hamilton, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
When the promo's for this show started showing up in 2011, I wasn't entirely sure what to make of it. Personally, I thought it would be cancelled fairly soon since horror doesn't tend to do well in a TV series format. I am so glad to say I was wrong. Right from the first episode I was gripped. And as each episode went on, more layers about "The Murder House" were revealed, and more of the characters motivations. For sure there were some questions that were left unanswered, but many classics always leave you thinking about it. The acting was great, particularly Jessica Lange as Constance and Francis Conway as Moira. I loved this show so much I put it on pre-order and can't wait to see it again. And I am also highly anticipating the second season of American Horror Story: Asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing taste of horror...in high-definition!, Nov. 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Two television shows currently on the air have brought back the horror genre to great heights in the medium. Along with 'The Walking Dead', 'American Horror Story' also deserves some serious credit. Twisted, bizarre, deviant, visceral and layered...these are all words one could used to describe the Season 1 experience on Blu-ray. Created by Ryan Murphy (Glee), AHS is a creepy and brillantly written self-contained anthology show that delivers a full experience beginning to end.

The first season surrounds a family that move into a vintage home in Los Angeles in an effort to save the bonds that have been nearly severed by traumatic and psychological issues. But the house contains a dark and malevolent history that soon becomes prominent in their lives, as it harbours the souls of any persons that died or were violently killed within its walls. These ghosts appear as living people in the residence, with the family none-the-wiser to their true existence. Can the family prevent becoming permanent household spirits as well?

AHS is a wickedly bloody and dramatic horror show that's backed up by a pretty credible cast, including a highlighting award-winning supporting role by Jessica Lange. But the hook is the show's incredible depth of mysterious mythology, especially as it pertains to the ghosts. For example, not only are they able to physically interact with the living, but on Halloween they are able to leave the confines of the house and venture into the world for one night only.

The Season 1 Blu-ray high-definition package is fairly impressive in its sleek 3-disc set. Picture quality is pristine in detail and vibrant on color, backed up by a strong DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio track for your home speaker system. The set also contains some good extras including episode commentaries, a tour experience of the house and featurettes about the making of the show, the ghosts/characters and the crazy-cool opening title sequence.

Do yourself a favour, if you love horror and a fresh breath of creativeness into the genre, then check out American Horror Story. What do a rubber man, a demonic baby, and a half-burned homeless person have in common? They are all part of this extremely disturbed and unique show that is unlike anything else ever put to television or Blu-ray digital disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird but exciting!, Jan. 4 2013
By 
Sarah (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This show is a definitely different from the many horror shows out there.
Not your typical ghost story.

Strange and disturbing occurences in the mansion make the house filled with ghosts.
Explore the ghosts' lives and find out about their pasts at the same time getting
to know some of the mortal residents that inhabit the house... and how the lives of the ghosts cross with the lives of the humans.

AHS also involves forbidden love and sexual relationships between ghosts and humans.

Spooky, creepy, and worth watching.

Great acting from Jessica Lange, Evan Peters, and Taissa Farmiga.

Also has a lot of cool songs/music in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!!, Sept. 17 2012
By 
This review is from: American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This show is amazing, the acting , the writing, the story lines. I cant get enough. I have watched the entire season 1 in like a 4 days. This show is the best in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a moitiee, June 20 2014
moi bien aimee la premiere saison bons acteurs et bonne histoire horrifiante d horreur ( sauf le generique qui est tro mal fait trop horreur glacante en image et son )
je suis tres decue de la saison 2 ( je vais meme la donner a mes fils.
aime pas les personnages de la 2 et l histoire est trop troublante et trop dans un mauvais contexte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, May 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The first season is great if your a old school horror fan. Lots of reference to eighties horror. Jessica Lange is AMAZING in it! Cool makeup effects, great characters and really interesting story! If your a horror fan it's a must watch! Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horror Galore!, April 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OMG Love love love! Still watching season 2... hehehe Gotta watch a bit at the time - gives me greater enjoyment. (wink) Too many hours of this in one shot will drive you nuts for sure! LOL
Delivery very fast and in great condition. Ordering/Sold (Movies And Music Canada.) - great price deal for the season 1 &2 - it's worth it buying these 2 together. Totally satisfied. Thank you!
PS Can't wait for season 3 to come out! More nuts to absorb...hahaha (kidding around)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scarily good, April 1 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Amazing acting. Scary, disturbing, haunting. Edge of your seat action. Have recommended it to friends who can handle the horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Horror Story (Sous-titres français)
American Horror Story (Sous-titres français) by Jessica Lange (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 49.98 CDN$ 34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews