Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceded my expectations.
This laptop has exceded my expectations. It initially impresses with solid build quality and it looks like a stealth fighter. Nothing about the laptop feals cheap. There is litte to no flex around the keyboard. Top quality craftsmanship. When you turn the laptop on it is whisper quiet and the screen is amazing. Even under load this laptop is very quiet. Asus has done an...
Published on Dec 9 2011 by Boban

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends almost entirely on whether...
Your liking of this laptop boils down to two factors:

#1) Do you use an external mouse?
#2) Do you use external speakers?

The laptop performs admirably in every other area save the above two. It runs quietly and with a reasonable level of heat production. It has great specs and a wonderful monitor.

Having said that, the speakers are...
Published on April 6 2012 by A Reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceded my expectations., Dec 9 2011
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
This laptop has exceded my expectations. It initially impresses with solid build quality and it looks like a stealth fighter. Nothing about the laptop feals cheap. There is litte to no flex around the keyboard. Top quality craftsmanship. When you turn the laptop on it is whisper quiet and the screen is amazing. Even under load this laptop is very quiet. Asus has done an amazing job with the cooling system. The color, brightness and clarity of the HD screen rivals my macbook pro (2009). The laptop comes preloaded with a lot of software so you need to spend some time removing programs you do not want. When on, the laptop is quick and stable. The video card tears through games (BF3, WOW, SWTOR). I purchased a Sager Np8170 with similar specs before buying this laptop. The Sager is based on a clevo case. The screen, quality of build, noise level, and performance of this laptop is on a different level from what I just returned. In conclusion, I am very impressed with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great gaming note book, Feb. 23 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
This notebook is great. It is very well built and has been very stable. Runs modern games at a good speed (FPS). It is very quiet, even under heavy load (the cooling system is very well designed). My only issue is with the track pad, it is too large for my liking. Other then that it is great value for what you pay
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome gaming laptop, April 23 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
pros: nice processor & video card
great screen with high resolution
runs silently and cool
awesome price
solid design and looks like a bau5
cons: bad sound quality and volume,recommend external speakers

overall, the best one u can get from this price level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing laptop, poor sound, April 23 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Amazing, quiet and beautiful laptop, best specs for the price. Unfortunately for this price, I'm disappointed in the poor (low) speaker output. Also, the the mouse pad seems to move the cursor when you type, even when deactivated - very annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT Desktop Replacement - Not so portable!, Jan. 15 2012
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
@WillieL - your review is VERY misleading.

It is Stereo, you probably are suffering from the known "low audio" issue.

Head on over to rog.asus.com/forum and you'll find the fix.

Just wanted to set the record straight, this laptop is probably the best piece of technology I have owned in years and I am a Mac guy.

Overall - best investment made in a PC in a long time - first one I have bought to own in over 7 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great laptop, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
I bought this laptop for school as I'm in computer science. So far, it's been a great laptop. Really solid (no flex in the keyboard), fast, great screen with decent viewing angles and really quiet even while gaming.

The only slight annoyances I have are:
-it's a mono speaker system. It's probably a space issue but it's weird.
-SD card slot is a little too flush with the laptop. I find it takes a little extra effort to pop the SD cards out.

The graphics card is pretty powerful in this computer (although it can't max out BF3 and Skyrim, everything's on high, not ultra) and I'm very happy with it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Be careful of the description, April 24 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Be careful of the description for this product. It is listed as having 2 hard drives. When you order it, it only comes with one. Amazon claims this is Asus' fault - that Asus is responsible because they supply the product. Asus claims this is Amazon's fault, saying Amazon is responsible for the product description. Neither company is willing to actually stop making excuses and correct either the product or the product description. Buyer beware.

Other than the obvious shortcomings mentioned above, the computer itself is an excellent model and so far plays everything I've tried on the highest possible graphics settings. 5 stars for an awesome computer, zero stars for crappy customer service, averages out at 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends almost entirely on whether..., April 6 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
Your liking of this laptop boils down to two factors:

#1) Do you use an external mouse?
#2) Do you use external speakers?

The laptop performs admirably in every other area save the above two. It runs quietly and with a reasonable level of heat production. It has great specs and a wonderful monitor.

Having said that, the speakers are by far the worst I have ever seen on a laptop and I consider them pretty close to unusable for everything between youtube videos and actually watching movies. The sound is small, tinny and with awful reverberation at any volume.

In addition, the trackpad is brutal. I have pretty much turned mine off permanently. It's huge which means I inadvertently hit it when typing and even just on normal use found the cursor magically on the other side of the screen at times.

So...I now have external speakers and an external mouse and will manage going forward.

Would I buy this laptop again? It's hard to beat the specs at this price point and we will certainly see how it evolves over time but the trackpad/speakers are a special level of awful and so I honestly don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the sound, Jan. 22 2012
This review is from: ASUS G74SX-RH71 Republic of Gamers 17.3-Inch Gaming Laptop (Black) (Personal Computers)
le seul commentaire négatif est que le son est vraiment mauvais..

mais j avais deja lu les critique et j y étais pret...

mais l image, la carte graphique sont vraiment a la hauteur de mes attente mais je comprend pas pk le son est aussi a chier...

mais sa c est le probleme de asus..

et ups son un peu nul car 2 x sur un achat d un manette razor onze et leur souris ils me l ont livré mais sans aucune siganture et déposé devamnt ma porte dans une tempete de neige !!
la manette elle sous un meuble devant ma porte mais quand meme innaceptable ils sont mieux de le laisse au bureau de poste je serais allé le chercher comme mon sac de mont ordinateur...

mais pour amazone j ai que de bon commentaire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc16623fc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews