Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding in high-def
I haven't seen this film in 3D, but short of that, blu-ray is the ideal format for it. Some of the paintings in the Chauvet Cave in France are 32,000 years old but look as if they were done yesterday, and by an excellent artist too. The cave has been kept in its pristine condition since it was discovered in 1994 by excluding all human traffic except a few scientists --...
Published on March 29 2012 by Gary Fuhrman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Impossibilité de visionner un dvd qui n'est pas programmé pour l'Amérique (zone 1).
Published 2 months ago by bissonnette jean-pierre


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding in high-def, March 29 2012
By 
Gary Fuhrman "gnox" (Manitoulin Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I haven't seen this film in 3D, but short of that, blu-ray is the ideal format for it. Some of the paintings in the Chauvet Cave in France are 32,000 years old but look as if they were done yesterday, and by an excellent artist too. The cave has been kept in its pristine condition since it was discovered in 1994 by excluding all human traffic except a few scientists -- and now Herzog's film crew, who made the most of their opportunity to document this amazing art.

Herzog also interviews some of the scientists and cave explorers involved, intercutting the interview footage with shots of the cave walls. We begin to imagine what it was like to live in an ice age among mammoth, rhinoceros, lions and cave bears, and freely roaming horses. The drawings of these creatures in the cave convey an intimate acquaintance with them, and the background information supplied in the earlier part of the film prepares us so that the lingering contemplations of the art later on have their maximum effect, enhanced by slow movement of camera and lights which bring out the subtle details. The result is a hair-raising sense of connection with our Cro-Magnon ancestors.

In addition to his flair for documenting very special places, Werner Herzog also excels at combining them with special music. Here he calls upon Ernst Reijseger, whose mix of improvised cello and wordless choral singing suits the film very well. It's not quite classical, not quite sacred music, not quite avant-garde, but finds a space near enough to all of these to enhance the sense of strangeness and awe which the cave itself inspires. As he did with Grizzly Man, Herzog includes here a "making of" the soundtrack. Other extras or commentary tracks would be superfluous. This film is a must-see if you want to get a sense of prehistoric humanity.

I should perhaps mention that the version i obtained (thanks to a gift certificate) came from Amazon.com and combines 3D and regular Blu-ray on one disc (along with the extras); the Blu-ray version available from Amazon.ca may be slightly different, though i doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cave of forgotten dreams" has relevance, March 12 2012
This review is from: Cave of Forgotten Dreams (DVD)
Slow paced, but meticulous and timeless in its approach. Great edutainment value as well as a major contribution to the rare visual material on the Chauvet Cave. A very serious production with a soundtrack that is the perfect backdrop to Herzog's heavily accented narration as he raises questions of spirituality, religion, art, science, and more. As the film proceeds, the archaeological evidence in the cave is explained, revealing patterns of life 32,000 years ago and inviting the viewer to understand theories of the importance of symbolism regarding the paintings. Fascinating in its scope and treatment of unique subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paleolithic life revisited, Aug. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've always wanted to visit the caves of France. There is something amazing about knowing that despite all the world can destroy, it can sometimes also preserve such delicate histories of our past. This bluray is top quality. The circumstances with which the filmmakers had to go through must have been a bit frustrating but in the end it came out really nice. If you like Werner Herzog's dramatic style, and you are interested in seeing a place that you'll likely never get the chance to see, than check this out. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching but has trouble staying focused, Feb. 21 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Jean-Michael Geneste Director of the Chauvet Cave Research Project takes us through the discovery and interpretation of what they believe we are seeing in a recently discovered Cave in southern France.

We see the trouble gone through to seal the cave from the outside environment and the wearing of sterile shoes. However they do not mind the effect of light or of taking scrapings.

There are drawings that date back about 30,000 years. We see them as a small film crew walk through. The lighting and angles are still professional. There is consistent thematic (violocello, organ, piano, and flute) music in the back ground that is not necessarily needed but helps the different parts of the film be coherent.

We get different interviews from professionals related to the cave discoveries. Much of this is speculation on what the creators/artists were thinking. There are more than just pictographs displayed such as skulls of cave bears. We deviate to Paleolithic Venuses to try and show what was happening elsewhere at the time. They also toss in ivory flutes from south western Germany.

There is an epilog about an artificial tropical biosphere created from exhaust water from nuclear reactors as a very loose connection to the original subject of the presentation.

Even though the DVD presentation is in 3-D and 2-D I only watched the 2-D. However I can see how 3-D would render a new dimension to the viewer. The presentation did not distract from a good 2-D presentation.

This production is well worth reviewing to bet a better look at the details overlooked in the first viewing. This is just a 90 minute overview of what can be a fascinating subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent, Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is An incredible film that takes us places we have never been and are never likely to go. This place exists in our collective unconscious as the place where art, poetry and storytelling began. You must see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Aug. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My son had told me about this dvd all he did was tell me how unbelievable it was, so I decided to give it a look see; now I know what he was talking about, it really is amazing, almost unbelievable. I would recommend this as a great view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, Sept. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Impossibilité de visionner un dvd qui n'est pas programmé pour l'Amérique (zone 1).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is wonderful, saw it on the big screen and just had to own it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but a bit monotonous, Jan. 17 2012
By 
Edmond J. Helstab (Kanata, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a beautiful, thought provoking film about an amazing discovery. However the material is limited and could have been compressed, alternately could have tied into what archeologists and human origin scientists theorize about the state of our and other specicies in that timeframe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great film..., Dec 29 2011
This review is from: Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is another great film by a fascinatingly complex and interesting director. He continues to produce works that discuss something important about the human condition. I look forward to his next venture...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray]
Cave Of Forgotten Dreams [Blu-ray] by Werner Herzog (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews