Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pumpkins are Smashing on this debut!
Gish is one of those rare, amazing debuts from a band. One of a few landmark grunge albums to be released in 1991, this one has the least coverage. Released a month before Nirvana's Nevermind, this is the last grunge album to be released when grunge was still an underground phenomenon. And what a great disc to end the period with.
Musically, this is where the roots...
Published on Oct. 6 2004 by JG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing
The most profound and innovative use of a single chord progression played time and time again until the listener is fooled into believing that there are, in actual fact, different songs. Sweet soothing harmonies teamed with a band image not to be seen on the morning of a hangover. Wonderful.
Published on Sept. 11 2003 by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pumpkins are Smashing on this debut!, Oct. 6 2004
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
Gish is one of those rare, amazing debuts from a band. One of a few landmark grunge albums to be released in 1991, this one has the least coverage. Released a month before Nirvana's Nevermind, this is the last grunge album to be released when grunge was still an underground phenomenon. And what a great disc to end the period with.
Musically, this is where the roots of everything SP would cover lie. From hard rocking "Siva", to dreamy acoustic guitars (the underated "Crush"). And the melodic mid-tempo numbers "Snail". Though all the songs are of very good quality, these three are the standouts, along with (of course) "Rhinoceros". Also good is the psychedelic "Window Paine" and the nice ender "Daydream" sung by D'Arcy.
Lyrically, Corgan is taking his babysteps here. Though some of Corgan's catchiest lyrics are found on here. Please don't tell me that after listening to Rhinoceros, you haven't found yourself singing "and she knows, she knows, she knows." to yourself!
This album is not Smashing Pumpkins' best, but it is an amazing debut without a doubt. This is for sure one of the best grunge albums of the time. It might take some time to get into this album, but once you get hooked on one song, without a doubt you'll get hooked by the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just smashing, May 30 2004
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
They're better known for the sprawling double-disc "Mellon Collie And the Infinite Sadness," but the Smashing Pumpkins first leaped onto the scene with "Gish." It's not as epic as some of their later material, but still a vibrant, musically-polished album, and one that has the flavor of experience on the first time around.
Kicking off with the undulating riffs of the excellent "I Am One," the Pumpkins slip effortlessly between multilayered hard rock (the mind-blowing "Siva," the magnificent bass-sputtering "Tristessa," the panoramic "Snail") and haunting ballads ("Rhinoceros," the vaguely psychedelic "Crush," the sweeping "Suffer") before wrapping up with the eerie "Daydream."
It's a rare band whose music can still be so relevant so long after it first came out -- let alone still being a voice for the disillusioned. Originally released in 1991, "Gish" definitely established the Smashing Pumpkins as a musical force of genuine artistry, talented songwriting and musical integrity. It's hard enough to find one of those, let alone three.
The grinding, kinetic guitars and bass in the harder songs form a wall of solid sound, except in "Siva" -- there, the sound keeps dying away to complete silence, before reviving with a swirling roar when you least expect it. At the same time, Corgan tones down the guitars to a gentle acoustic strum in the more balladic songs. Jimmy Chamberlin's lightning-fast drumming is an excellent accompaniment, as is D'Arcy's bass.
As a songwriter, few rockers can parallel Billy Corgan; his songwriting has the quality of poetry set to rock, which aren't things you generally see together. Corgan's high, reedy voice is interwoven well into the music, giving his poetic lyrics a certain heartfelt quality. And bassist D'Arcy gets to shine with her low, sweet voice in "Daydream."
"Gish" is recognizably the Pumpkins, at the roughest stage of their musical development -- but with edge, the musical force and the beauty that just needed refinement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High End Quality ... Without the Price, Jan. 17 2012
This review is from: Gish (vinyl) (LP Record)
Received my order with the recently reissued 180 gm version of Gish. At first, I thought the reissued colour obtuse, but upon second thought, it's a good way of distinguishing the original from the reissue. The artwork is very nice, the gate-fold extremely heavy and well done. They even go the extra mile and include a poly lined inner sleeve along with the original inner artwork that is not replicated on a single sheet like most reissues, but is actually capable of storing the disc which shows that they are putting in quite the bit of effort to deliver this version of the album. The copy I received did have one minor quality control issue to note. I first opened the disc and thought the Side B label was bubbled up and in a horrible state. As I placed the record on the spindle, I noticed it started to come off altogether. As I peered under, I noticed there were in fact two labels applied, and the first was still perfectly in tact, so I could remove the second. Nothing serious, just something to note. Sonically, it presents a very wide soundstage that has been well mastered for the vinyl, and I would believe it is from the original analogue tapes, and does not have its origins from a digitally compressed version like some of the European/Japanese reissues that have flooded the markets lately. I now no longer have to search for a decent used copy of the original, since this one does the album justice. Unless you are stuck for wanting the original artwork, then this should be perfect for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beginning Was Beautiful, Too., May 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
Here is The Smashing Pumpkins' full-length debut album from 1991. The Pumpkins' sound here displays what we would come to expect from the gang: heavy, searing, multi-tracked guitars (a technique which often superficially gets compared to Jimmy Page and Brian May - of Led Zeppelin and Queen fame, respectively), melancholic, dreamy soundscapes and lyrics, contrasts from heavy sounds to soft sounds. However, these are the beginning stages of what would fully blossom on later efforts like 1993's _Siamese Dream_, and 1995's _Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness_. While the heavy tracks feature the ethereal wall-of-sound that the Pumpkins are known for, this heaviness is not as full, lush, and oceanic as it would become on aforementioned following discs, but you can hear where the band was headed.
However, when taken as it is -- an album showing the band in it's earliest stages -- _Gish_ is an excellent, highly enjoyable album. It is hardly a disappointing album -- far, far from it. The Pumpkins' amalgamation of heavy (but melodic and dreamy) rockers and dreamy, atmospheric, psychedelic-tinged mellow tracks appear here, giving ample proof that the Pumpkins didn't necessarily change their sound over the years, but rather refined it. "I Am One" and "Siva" open up the album on hard-driving notes. The former could be heard on alternative rock radio stations, even to this day. Do you think that because The Smashing Pumpkins made hard-rockers, they used nothing more than simple power chords? Well, both these tracks feature arpeggiated chords that are beyond simple.
The hard-driving rockers are interrupted for what are possibly the most ethereal, wispy, mood-inducing six minutes on the album: "Rhinoceros" is such a heavenly beauty, and is without a doubt, my favorite track on this album. Billy Corgan's acquired vocal stylings blend perfectly with the dreamy atmospheres brought on by the guitar arpeggios, textured arrangements, and the treatment of them all. Many complain about Billy's voice, but what other vocalist could complement the Pumpkins' music as perfectly as his? Nobody I can think of (except maybe one of the other Pumpkins.. ), but regardless, his voice was an ethereal instrument unto itself.
Elsewhere, "Crush" seems to foreshadow "Thirty-Three," as it's a dream-folk track (it's very hard to categorize in exact terms.) Billy's vocals are lovely here. "Snail" is a moody piece that seems to share a kinship with most adult contemporary music -- except this rocks harder, and the lyrics are probably a bit more inscrutable. The rocker "Tristessa" sounds like it could have been a dry run for "Cherub Rock." Listen to some of those whacked-out fills from drummer extraordinaire Jimmy Chamberlain. "Window Paine" is almost as mood-inducing as "Rhinoceros," and takes it's time by resting on one or two chords, which build up to an explosive, cathartic climax, and the ethereal, acoustic closer "Daydream" features bassist D'Arcy on lead vocals, followed by a brief coda from Billy.
An excellent album from an excellent band, of whom I miss dearly. Definitely worth owning, but if you're new to the Pumpkins, start with _Siamese Dream_ first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars By far my favorite Pumpkins album., July 10 2010
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gish (Vinyl) (LP Record)
By far my favorite Album from the Smashing Pumpkins, so full of energy and groove, you can't help but like it. I ended up ordering two copies!

Being a casual vinyl collector, I recently stumbled upon Amazon's offerings. I am more then pleased with them, I only wish more artists would offer special vinyl copies. Heck I usually end up buying multiple copies to give to friends or to keep shrink wrapped for when I wear out the first copy I purchased.

Thank you Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gish Review, Aug. 24 2009
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
Awesome smashing pumpkins record. It does a good job at showcasing the heavier, more jagged side of Billy's vocals. Anyone who enjoyed tracks like Cherub Rock and Geek USA from their more popular second album will really love this one. D'Arcy (Bass) can even be heard singing in the last song of the album, Day Dream. Gish, Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie are amazing chapters in the career of the Smashing Pumpkins. If you like one of these albums, you'll love the other ones too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maybe the Best SM CD, Jan. 31 2004
By 
Chaklader N Jamal (Aberdeen, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
well like many of you i heard of smashing pumpkin's '1979' and i loved them. the video was great but i didnt know much about the pumpkins really. so in my quest to broaden my musical horizon instead of getting of getting MCIS first i bought Gish. This CD is unbelieveable. i could not believe how great this band is. first off im a drummer and jimmy chamberlain needs no introduction. second, James Iha! i love his huge chords and those solos that are vintage. Billy has a very unique voice. hmm... if you listen to this record you will find that no matter what they do there is always a hint of sadness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing., Dec 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
For anyone who is willing to call Smashing Pumpkins just another angsty rock band of the 90's, Gish without a doubt proves them completely wrong. The musicianship on this album is stunning. The originality of the music is outstanding. Far from the grunge trends of the time, Billy Corgan (one of the most underrated guitarists of recent) combines his psychedelic guitars with Jimmy Chamberlin's amazing drumming flawlessly. This, along with Nevermind and Siamese Dream, is a key album of the early 90's that everyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing debut., Dec 19 2003
By 
Aron Hsiao (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
For an early album, Gish is spectacular. If you're a big fan of Siamese Dream or Mellon Collie, you'll enjoy much of Gish, incluidng "Rhinocerous," which has probably become the Pumpkins second signature tune, behind Tonight, Tonight from Mellon Collie.
Some parts of the album are a little uneven, especially when compared to the absolutely unmatchable duo of Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Still, the Pumpkins are the Pumpkins, and they have a knack for creating futuristic hooks and smiling choruses in the midst of their avant-garde breakfasts that stand the test of time.
If you like the other Pumpkins work before Adore and Machina, definitely buy Gish. If you're a big Adore or Machina fan, probably check Gish out from your local library first... and *then* buy it... because it's a damn good CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing debut from a band that would become big, Dec 7 2003
This review is from: Gish (Audio CD)
..this album shows it. "Gish" was released in 1991, and sadly, was eclipsed by the release of Nirvana's "Nevermind" knocking the Pumpkins back a bit. But that surely didn't stop the band, as they went on to relase such amazing works as "Siamese Dream" and "Mellon Collie" in later years. "Gish" is an power assault on the ears, nice crunchy guitars, with haunting vocals by Billy Corgan, and one track ("Daydream") featuring the bassist, D'Arcy on lead vocals. The band proved to be both experimental and unique, tying in hardcore rockers like "Siva" with the soft gently, trippy sound of songs like "Snail" and "Crush". Here, the Pumpkins perfect their loud-soft dynamic, especially on songs like "Rhinocerous" (great flanger effect on the guitar here) and of course "Daydream" which even features, yes, a cello! "I Am One" has the best drum intro, proving Jimmy Chamberlain a drum god, while "Siva" the first single, shows Billy and James' amazing chemistry and guitarwork. "Rhinocerous" is a slow rocker, that builds up in the middle, one of my all time favorites - was released as the second single for this album and was also featured on the E.P. "Lull" issued in 1992. "Bury Me" is just awesome, if not trippy at times.. and there are some really awesome guitar licks in this song right before the end where Billy sings "She will bury me". "Crush" is another favorite, which begins with a scale on the bass, a slow, trippy, beautiful song. "Suffer" another rocker with lines like "All that you suffer is all that you are" and "too late to recover piece of mind/too late to recover me" - the song takes a turn in the middle and just.. simply rocks, I can't even describe it, the song just emits an aura, a feeling. "Snail" and "Tristessa" are 2 of my favorite tracks. "Window Paine" is a slow song, that probably is my least favorite on the album- "window paine around my heart" Billy sings. Its just too slow for my tastes, but sort of reminds me of "Silverf***" on Siamese Dream in some ways, its just an odd sort of song. The closing track "Daydream" is a sad song lyrically, but musically sounds happy. "my daydream screams bitter til the end.../the love i shared true, selfish to the heart/my heart my sacred heart" - D'Arcy sings. D'Arcy adds a really nice touch to this song, the original demos had Billy on vocals. But, Billy still chimes in at the end of the song theres a small bit called "I'm Going Crazy" in which Billy sings "I'm going crazy/I don't want your feelings..". All in all an amazing debut from a band that would go on to create greater things. This album is a must get for any pumpkins fan, and its great to see how the pumpkins began. Musically, this album is a triumph and really shows the talent of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gish (Deluxe Edition)
Gish (Deluxe Edition) by Smashing Pumpkins (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews