Customer Reviews


641 Reviews
5 star:
 (452)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (40)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film
Ce film est à caractère très philosophique et très choquant à la fois c'est pourquoi il faut le voir plusieurs fois.
Published on May 3 2012 by danick

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bare-bones release of a good movie
Like a number of recent Alliance releases, with the corresponding lower price, the Blu-ray of "Requiem for a Dream" comes with no main menu nor any extras (you change sound options via a pop-up display). The quality of the video is okay at 1080p but is noticeably not up to what one would expect from a BD title (although, this may be due to the source material, somewhat)...
Published on March 11 2009 by K. Lynch


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bare-bones release of a good movie, March 11 2009
By 
K. Lynch (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like a number of recent Alliance releases, with the corresponding lower price, the Blu-ray of "Requiem for a Dream" comes with no main menu nor any extras (you change sound options via a pop-up display). The quality of the video is okay at 1080p but is noticeably not up to what one would expect from a BD title (although, this may be due to the source material, somewhat). Sound comes in a 5.1 DTS-HD Master (also 5.1 Dolby Digital) so there's nothing to fault there.

The movie itself has incredible acting and a shooting style that makes it a worthwhile viewing experience for movie buffs. However, I'm afraid that the movie may lose some of its audience if they are used to traditional fare. "Requiem for a Dream" is a big part Art and it won't be for everyone.

Briefly: I'm quite positive about the movie itself, and if you don't care for bells & whistles or the best quality Blu-ray can offer, this release will suffice. However, the bare-bones nature of it may give you pause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I just don't get it., March 29 2009
By 
D. Morrison "drD" (toronto, on) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The film itself get's 5 stars as it is one of my favourite movies. The cast, script, direction & editing are all incredible.
I thought I'd be replacing my DVD but crap ... my DVD widescreen director's cut has much in the way of extra's & the Blu-Ray has squat. The extra's are done & in the can, why not include them on the Blu-Ray? When I started buying Blu-Ray's I had the hopes of replacing some of my DVD's on Blu-Ray, but it's happened (too often) that I have to keep both versions because the features on the DVD aren't on the Blu-ray. Getting kinda fed up with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, May 3 2012
Ce film est à caractère très philosophique et très choquant à la fois c'est pourquoi il faut le voir plusieurs fois.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like jabbing a needle into an open wound, March 2 2004
By 
Ted Duncan "teddy_d" (Anytown, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film, in a word, sucks. For those of you who don't know, heroin
will consume your life. There, I saved you from having to endure the
assault this film provides in the form of a two hour funhouse ride into the bowels of hell. If you enjoy watching people destroy themselves and have nothing better to do with your time then watch this movie; you're probably dead already anyway. Otherwise, treat yourself to an ice cream and forget about the fact that people make some dumb-ass choices that eventually lead to their demise. I've had more fun drilling holes in my toenail to relave the pressure after I dropped a pepsi on my foot. And all I wanted was a pepsi...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dream of a Movie, July 18 2004
By 
Kim Robinson "siammuse" (Duluth, MN. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ooooooh baby!
If one appreciates Independent Films, this is one of the best.
Three characters (mostly)--- Ellen Burstyn, Jennifer Connelly, and Jared Leto make up the brilliant cast.
each of them despartely stuck in situations they appear they cannot get out of, each of them pathetically sick (in different ways), each of them will grab the viewer by the neck and demand their full attention.
they will get it.
Ellen Burstyn in one of the most superb roles of her career...absolutley stunning as the old, lonely, heart-wrenching widow with nothing to look forward to except a pathetic, no-mind game show.
Jennifer Connelly and Jared Leto as heroine junkies...who need it so bad they steal, lie, she sells her body, performs at stag parties---and all of this for a temporary high.
This movie is powerful, will bring you out of your seat (if you're alive), will bring you into places you do not want to be, dark, lonely, bug-filled filth.
But you'll stay...because you cannot bring yourself to leave..,
because you want so much for the characters to change, to be what they are meant to be.
But they don't---they only take up space---only exist while life happens around them. They are like bugs, moving, eating, breathing, but really nothing. Nothing.
This movie was directed beautifully, multi-layered, poetry on the screen (the kind of poetry that will make you cry, feel, and think about for weeks on end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing, Graphic and Great, July 18 2004
I went to this movie hearing plenty of buzz about how graphic the content was. Over the course of the movie you see just how Aronofsky wants to send his message to the audience. The characters start off with somewhat mild addictions and then next thing you know the four main characters are living in hell. I couldn't believe how low they all fell. This movie may be the greatest anti-drug message of all time. I dare anybody to watch this and to not be touched and frightened by these characters. Before the movie started I noticed the audience was quite loud and garrulous, but as it ended and the credits rolled the whole place was stone cold silent. It was amazing.
As a whole I felt the movie was excellent. The visuals were well done and the editing was outstanding. The actors really put themselves into their roles. Jared Leto and Jennifer Connelly had very good chemistry, while Marlon Wayans showed he is a talented actor and not just a talented comic. Ellen Burstyn. Wow! She was amazing. I can't believe an older woman would allow herself to be filmed like that. She has some serious guts. Hands down the best female performance I've watched this year, not even close. I was totally amazed by her.
All in all, I would say Requiem For a Dream is a great movie. It had a profound impact on me and I haven't been able to stop thinking about it since I watched it on opening night. I definitely recommend this movie to anyone. This is a movie everyone should see, but unfortunately not enough will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Film Poor On Special Features, July 27 2009
By 
Kory Williams (Adelaide, SA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Let's start this on the good notes, for a starter i love this film and i loved the book they both have so many great qualities.

The Performances and Directing are beautifully exacuted, arguely Darren Aronofsky's best work, but enough on that front.

The blu ray is lacking in many area's a bit like motel porn just not enough Satisfies any ones needs, there are no featres to be found on this disc at all i'm glad i kept my dvd because it has it all, and as for the transfer it left a little to be desired i honestly don't believe it is at a complete 1080p if it is... i must of recieved a dud copy.

But again i'm glad to have this on blu ray but i do hope a better transfer and more suped up edition turns up.

hope you enjoy

happy shopping
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly depressing drivel, Feb. 18 2004
By 
James W. Anderson (Alpharetta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This movie is little more than two hours of one depressing act after another-- losers wasting their lives away on heroin; desperate old women popping pills and obsessing over appearing on game shows; ... It's basically an account of four very stupid people who each find a way to completely ruin what semblance of a life they previously had.
That Jennifer Connelly received critical acclaim for her utterly depressing role in this film just goes to show you how hopelessly lost our film industry is today. The only positive I can say about this film is that this had some pretty clever photographic sequences, and the musical score, while generally melancholy, was appealing. Apart from that, this movie has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. Glad I didn't pay money to see this movie, because I would have walked out and insisted on a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films I have ever seen, Nov. 19 2003
I could not even watch the whole movie. This is one of the most pointless and bizzare movies I have ever seen. I wish I could give it 0 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great set, Dec 27 2011
This review is from: Requiem for a Dream: Director's Cut (SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Gorgeous packaging, really interesting menus (although putting the audio options in the bonus features section was a weird touch), all around great quality DVD set to go with a great movie. Although heads up, this is apparently a French set or something, because that's the only audio track offered in 5.1 Dolby Surround.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Requiem for a Dream: Director's Cut (SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD]
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 17.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews