Customer Reviews


157 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk Til Dawn Blu-ray
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French...
Published on May 17 2011 by Gene Rutter

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but this Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release trumps the U.S. Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release in every respect
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well...
Published on May 8 2011 by Hugo D. Hackenbush


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk Til Dawn Blu-ray, May 17 2011
By 
Gene Rutter "TRANCE CONISSEUR" (WILMINGTON, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French DTS, 5.1 Dolby Digital. I really think this movie is one hell of a popcorn ride. The special effects are awesome. One of the great Vampire flics. It is ashame Alliance doesn't put any special features on there disc. Overall, It is worth the price. Love It A++++ DJ IssacFrom Dusk Till Dawn [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but this Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release trumps the U.S. Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release in every respect, May 8 2011
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is this imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of the good reviews I've read online, I decided to order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix. My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: for casual and hardcore fans, skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray, which can be had right here on Amazon.com for roughly the same price (or slightly more). Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Maybe someday the fabulous bonus features from the two-disc DVD "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" release will finally be married to a worthy film presentation, such as this Alliance Blu-Ray. For now, fans of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" can only hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 4 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn (DVD)
Cheesy, bloody, gory, and fantastic!

I'm not going to write a novel about the products I buy, if they suck ill let people know but otherwise you get a 2-3 word review then this message
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Violent, crude, disgusting, and loved every minute of it, June 21 2004
From Dusk Till Dawn is one of my all time favorite films.
The story which I won't tell because I don't want to spoil it for people who haven't seen it stars George Cloony and the Brilliant writer and director of Pulp Fiction, Quinten Tarantino.
The story is quite amusing and very WELL ACTED I might add.
This was my favorite Cloony film. It's a very odd Vampire flick too. The gecko brothers are f-d up. Especially Tarantino's character.
This is an awesome film for people who want to see something f-d up.
A word of a warning. This movie is incredibly and I mean incredibly graphicly violent in so much ways. You see Limbs and heads being cut off and sliced off, and some times disturbing.
It's also high on language. You'll probably here cloony say the F word probably atleast 70 times.
Over all it's not a film for little ones.
check it out.
Later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa....this is a Special Edition!!!!, Nov. 11 2011
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Surprise, surprise!

This Steelbook edition of From Dusk Till Dawn is a full fledged Special Edition!

Imagine my shock in actually opening an Alliance disk and discovering that:
1) It seem to be sporting a brand new transfer, deeper blacks and more saturated and natural colors compared to the previous bare bones edition.
2) There is a brand new menu with the following features (as per back cover) - Feature commentary with Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino; Outtakes; Featurette; Theatrical Trailer; Music Video; and more.....(sorry I have to load the disk in my player again to get the full list).

However, the feature length doc 'Full Tilt Boogie' is still absent from this package.

The specs all appear to be the same as before - 1.85:1 AR and 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.

I'm not a pro reviewer so I cannot give a precise breakdown or a scene by scene analysis of the new picture quality, but it looks pretty damn nice on my 50" plasma and thats good enough for me.

(BTW, the package also includes the DVD as well.....Meh!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yikes, this is BARE BONES!, Dec 31 2008
By 
B. Clark "Hello, friend!" (Arizona, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Scene, audio and subtitle selections are all you get with this Blu-ray release of From Dusk till Dawn. It doesn't bother me that much, as I hardly ever view special features. But seriously, nothing??

The transfer is okay, but really could've benefited from complete remaster. There is noticeable dust and clutter in various parts of the movie. Having said that, it is a marginal improvement over the Dimension DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Film, Dec 13 2011
By 
This review is from: From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
Also, ich finde diesen Film einfach toll. Das Steelbook sieht ganz toll aus. Die Bildqualität ist gut bis sehr gut. Habe lange auf diese Veröffentlichung gewartet. Lieferung war sehr schnell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best combination of action, humor and vampires., Feb. 26 2005
Do not hesitate to get this movie, I have seen it over 7 times and never get bored of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk" gets the shaft on Blu-Ray, courtesy of U.S. Blu-Ray distributer Echo Bridge, May 8 2011
(NOTE: This review was originally posted on the U.S.-based Amazon.com website.)

"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work as well as they do, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of my disappointment with the Echo Bridge release, based on the good reviews I've read online, I decided to take a chance and order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix (ignore the notation of 2.0 stereo on the cover of the EB release of "From Dusk", as it's a misprint). My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: since both Blu-Rays are competitively priced and available right here on Amazon.com, I recommend that casual and hardcore fans skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release. Is the picture quality on the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray disc better than the Miramax DVD? Sure...and for all my complaints, it's not the worst transfer that I've seen on Blu-Ray (check out "Five Corners" and "Lars and The Real Girl" to see truly terrible Blu-Ray transfers). However, considering the fact that a far superior three-year-old Blu-Ray transfer already exists elsewhere, there is simply no excuse for the existence of this poor Blu-Ray release, which is why I give the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray a one-star (out of five) review.

Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature-length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Between this and the shamelessly cheap Blu-Ray release of "Halloween: H20", I'm going to take a pass on future offerings from Echo Bridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this isn't the worst edition!, April 28 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a four star fun fest from the 90's but this blu ray is cut rate with no extras at all , however the picture looks much better than on the truly awful
echo bridge blu ray from the states. However alliance could have done a better job on this; only they didn't. The blu ray is less than four stars but many blus have used; just like this one; the best print around with no cleanup. Unfortunately this fun flick wasn't given the top treatment. however it's not a bad as lets say halloween h20 looks on blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb35c8048)

This product

From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD]
From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] by Robert Rodriguez (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 26.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews