Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk Til Dawn Blu-ray
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French...
Published on May 17 2011 by Gene Rutter

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but this Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release trumps the U.S. Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release in every respect
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well...
Published on May 8 2011 by Hugo D. Hackenbush


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No extras, but this Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release trumps the U.S. Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release in every respect, May 8 2011
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is this imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of the good reviews I've read online, I decided to order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix. My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: for casual and hardcore fans, skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray, which can be had right here on Amazon.com for roughly the same price (or slightly more). Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Maybe someday the fabulous bonus features from the two-disc DVD "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" release will finally be married to a worthy film presentation, such as this Alliance Blu-Ray. For now, fans of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" can only hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Dusk Til Dawn Blu-ray, May 17 2011
By 
Gene Rutter "TRANCE CONISSEUR" (WILMINGTON, DE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French DTS, 5.1 Dolby Digital. I really think this movie is one hell of a popcorn ride. The special effects are awesome. One of the great Vampire flics. It is ashame Alliance doesn't put any special features on there disc. Overall, It is worth the price. Love It A++++ DJ IssacFrom Dusk Till Dawn [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino and Rodriguez? Excellent!, July 16 2004
By 
sloc234 (California, USA) - See all my reviews
I've watched a couple Quentin Tarantino movies, and I absolutely loved them. I also liked 'Once Upon A Time In Mexico' from Robert Rodriguez. So as you can imagine, when I heard about this movie, I was very excited. Tarantino is a masterful screenwriter, and Rodriguez definitely has decent skills behind the camera.
After watching the movie, I have to criticize one thing. The first half (about) of the movie was flawless, with QT and George Clooney as two Convicts, the Richie and Seth Gecko. When they embark from the first scene on, it seems as though the movie could go any direction and still be entertaining. However, when you throw in a night club that is flocking with vampires (fitfully so, the club is open dusk till dawn), you can't keep the same movie that you had. I give the story a lower score due to the fact that it doesn't fit well. If you couldn't guess from the title, and you hadn't seen the trailer, you would be oblivious to the fact that the second half of this movie is all vampires. I believe it would've worked better as a full movie of either type. Crime or Horror. But nevertheless, I couldn't resist the acting from QT and Clooney, along with Harvey Keitel and Juliette Lewis. Other than my single complaint, I really enjoyed this movie. As bloody and violent as it is, it's just so fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Dusk Till Dawn" DVD Review, June 10 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
"From Dusk Till Dawn" is the type of movie that you either love or hate. There really is no middle ground. As a fan of both Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino, this one practically had me drooling. A cinematic wet dream for movie geeks and Fangoria readers alike, "Dusk" is an excuse to mix underrated movie stars with yesteryear's cult heroes for plenty of violent mayhem and sharp dialouge.
Dawn's first half is a crime spree flick with the psychopathic Gecko Brothers (George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino) kidnapping Harvey Keitel's disgruntled preacher Jacob Fuller and his kids and using them to hop the border. By the second half, it has managed to erupt into a full-out Mexican vampire bloodbath as the Geckos join forces with the survivors of a melee at a Mexican strip bar. Filled with funny one-liners, unrelenting violence, and more vampires than you can shake a stick at, "Dawn" is a somewhat dumb but very fun genre flick. Any movie that includes a jaw-dropping music number featuring Salma Hayek dancing around in a black G-string and matching undergarment with cleavage aplenty is sure to be a winner with at least the male demographic.
Miramax's double-disc DVD edition has pretty much every feature you could ask for. Quentin does his very first audio commentary as he and director Robert Rodriguez go back and forth on all the entertaining details of the film's production. If you couldn't get enough information from it, you also get the movie's original production featurette and a full-length documentary, "Fult Tilt Boogie" that covers nearly every aspect of the film's production. There are also a few deleted scenes. While there isn't a whole lot to offer here, there is a cool Salma Hayek snake sequence with some silly-looking digital effects. If you're a true fan of "Dusk Till Dawn", you are gonna want to pick this DVD up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, Sometimes Offensive, But NEVER Boring, June 7 2004
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Directed by Robert Rodriguez with a script written by Quentin Tarantino who also co-stars in it, this film resembles the proverbial little girl with the curl: "When it's good, it's very, very good but when it's bad...." Not much of a plot. Two psychopathic brothers (Clooney and Tarantino) kidnap a fallen-away minister (Keitel) and his two children, commandeer their van, and head south to Mexico to do business with drug dealers at The Titty Twister roadhouse. As in El Mariachi (1992) and then Desperado (1995) which Rodriguez also directed, the emphasis is on interaction between and among characters to create intense moments which may or may not advance the plot, such as it is. Rodriguez is a master of creating a stunning variety of atmospherics (hilarity, menace, confusion, bravado, etc.) amidst truly inspiring posturing by his lead characters. Moments of delicious tenderness are suddenly obliterated by gratuitous violence, both verbal and physical. I probably should have seen it coming but I didn't: Those who frequent Titty Twister roadhouse (only open from dusk until dawn, of course) are vampires. The Gecko brothers and their companions find themselves in harm's way and then....
I always enjoy spotting veteran actors in subordinate roles. In this film, for example, Michael Parks (Texas Ranger Earl McGraw), John Saxon (FBI Agent Stanley Chase), Marc Lawrence (Old Timer) and Selma Hayek (Santanico Pandemonium). At one point, as the roadhouse band performs "Mary Had a Little Lamb," I wondered if Stevie Ray Vaughan was also in this film. (He isn't.) This film is obviously not for everyone. (For Rodriguez and Tarantino, that may well be a badge of honor.) The quality of acting is superior to the plot; the aforementioned atmospherics are superior to whatever "messages" Rodriguez and Tarantino may have intended to send to their audience. Almost everyone who sees this film will either enjoy it or stop watching it long before its conclusion. Whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino Fetish-fest, May 16 2004
By A Customer
I really didnt enjoy this movie, which surprized me, because im a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino. I had high hopes when I rented it, but its just too creepy to finish. I noticed that there were alot of sick things in this film, like the rape and murder of a hostage, Tarantino's character fantasizing that a teenage girl is telling him to eat her *****, and tarantino's notorious foot fetish pops up like a billion times. But after all of thats over, and it finally gets to the vampires, its all one stupid gore fest. And i dont even have a problem with gore, i mean its cool, but it was almost comical in this film, but not in a witty way. Its like they made the movie and afterwards were like,"Oops! I didnt mean for it to be that cheesy," but it was. And as for all of the sexual content, i could look past that in any other movie, but this film just seemed like an outlet for Quentin Tarantino to make all of his fetishes come to life. Im giving it two stars just because i love Tarantino's other work, and Im sure that when he wrote it, he didnt mean for people to interpret the film like i did. So, sorry to all of the "Dusk Till Dawn" fans, i just didn't like it.
(...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OK Ramblers lets get ramblin., April 30 2004
By 
I LOVE THIS FLICK!
Sorry I just couldnt think of any other way to start this off. If your an aspiring filmmaker with a passion for genre films, this one is up there with "Kill Bill", and Once Upon a Time in Mexico".
You get two genre mini-flicks here in one package, who ever thought crime/horror would go together so well? And one of the coolest cinema criminals ever Seth Gecko came to life in this film,how ya gonna beat that.I saw this when it first hit the theatre and Cloony just sold me on his ability, his character here is the epitome of cool.
The rest of the cast is great to, and having Tom Savini, and Fred Williamson onboard along with Michael Parks and John Saxon in the beginning is just heart warming. Speaking of warming Selma Hyak is just devestating as the queen of the vampires.
Of course Rodriquezs whole cast of usual suspects are here and they are all terrific.
As far as this version of FDTD goes its the one to buy. Takin from the laserdisc version the quality of the pictue is excellent, and the audio is surround with a capital S. The commentary with RR & QT is probably the the most valuable gem in this edtion. If you have a love for this genre stuff the way I do you will practically mind meld with these two as they gab away.
The documentary "Full Tilt Boogie " is the whole second disk and it is a well made, and educational look at making a film. At least from a broad view.
Love this stuff and I cant wait for RR & QT to give us more, in the mean time if you havent already check out "Love & a 45", "Love and a Bullet","Versus","Dawn of the Dead"('79),"Full Contact"and everything by Rodriquez, and Tarantino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blood Sucking South of the Border, March 24 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is really two movies in one. First is the ultra-violent crime spree. Second is the ultra-violent horror film. Packaging used to concentrate on the first part so I avoided picking this one up until recently.
The Gecko brothers (George Clooney and Quentin Tarrantino) are running for the border and leaving bodies in their wake. One brother is rather twisted. They kidnap a family and manage to get safely across the border to Mexico.
Once in Mexico they head for a biker/trucker bar to make meet their contact. Unfortunately, the bar is actually a front for hordes of vampires. Much violence ensues until the final climactic battle.
A very interesting film but it does come off as two separate pieces. There is the crime film and then the horror film as if the film makers had two ideas and only one budget. My biggest problem was the sheer number of vampires. There were so many they should have bled Mexico dry years ago.
This film is followed by two sequels but they do not have the same characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange how From Dusk Till Dawn isn't a Tarantino film...., March 19 2004
By A Customer
I've found it sadly amusing that so many people who reviewed this film have NO IDEA what they're talking about. First off, (and I'll be directing the rest of these towards reviewer "G-Money"), this isn't a Quentin Tarantino film. This movie was directed by Robert Rodriguez. Quentin merely wrote the screenplay.
Since when was Tarantino dialogue senseless? He's renouned in the industry for having the most cutting dialogue around.
So, because he wrote the screenplay to a violent movie, he's murderer at heart? Then I suppose Scorsese and Hithcock are murderers too...wait...so by your logic everyone that enjoyed this film must be a sadist? That's wonderful. Plenty of people enjoy this movie, and even more (I would wager the vast majority of serious film fans) enjoy his masterpieces: Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. These people are not sadists, and anyone with a head upon their shoulders should realize this. Anyone who appreciates film should be able to appreciate Quentin for the brilliant filmmaker he is (sans From Dusk Till Dawn, which isn't even HIS FILM!). Now, you may not fit into said categories, or maybe you just haven't seen any of Quentin's real films (as you seem to be confused as to who he is). The latter is perfectly forgiveable...although it seems, (from your review) that you have. In which case, you are truly missing out, and you have my sympathy. They are among the greatest cinema has to offer.
Maybe I'm asking too much of you...you don't seem to be the kind of person that takes film seriously. I mean, just glancing of the films you've given four and even five stars, I find generic and trendy titles (all of the following being sub-par to TERRIBLE) such as: Rush Hour 2, Bad Boys 2, Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle, Anger Management, They, The remake of Rollerball, Ghost Ship, The Transporter, The Adventures of Pluto Nash, Batman and Robin, etc...you can see a trend. This is truly a sad thing, that someone can have such a distorted perception of film...such as Quentin Tarantino being a sick hack, and Batman and Robin being brilliant, worthy of 5 stars. I assume you're really young and you haven't yet matured in terms of film taste. I hope you will.
I wish you a better movie going future, and I pray you get a greater respect for the great, BRILLIANT Quentin Tarantino, as well as film in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantinio strikes again, Nov. 24 2002
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
After the superb masterpiece Pulp Fiction came From Dusk Till Dawn which continued his consistently origanal flair for diversity. This wild, action-thriller sees two brothers going on a desperate crime spree. Quentin Tarantino puts in an effective performance as a completley deranged convict who aloingside the dynamic on-screen presence of George Clooney, kidnaps a preacher (played convincingly by Harvey Kietel) and his two children (which includes Juliette Lewis of Natural Born Killers). They flee for safety to a remote and eerie looking nightclub in Mexico. Whilst the film seems to be settling down as a compelling hostage drama it rapidly steers direction and is thrown into a darkly humorous horror movie as the nightclub is crawling with blood-thirsty vampires. The outrageous plot twists makes it all the more compelling and riveting and the scripts roll along like a rollercoaster. The special effects are vastly impressive and the energetic film making and engaging performances makes this truly another masterpiece to Tarantinos credit. Directed by Robert Rodriguez, his in-your-face shocker is an absolute must see. From Dusk Till Dawn makes a comfortable transistion to DVD and there are some extra features to be found beyond the movie making this collectors edition essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD]
From Dusk Till Dawn: SteelBook Edition [Blu-ray + DVD] by Robert Rodriguez (Blu-ray - 2011)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 17.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews