Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars163
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$15.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 90 reviews(5 star).Show all reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2011
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French DTS, 5.1 Dolby Digital. I really think this movie is one hell of a popcorn ride. The special effects are awesome. One of the great Vampire flics. It is ashame Alliance doesn't put any special features on there disc. Overall, It is worth the price. Love It A++++ DJ IssacFrom Dusk Till Dawn [Blu-ray]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 19, 2004
I've found it sadly amusing that so many people who reviewed this film have NO IDEA what they're talking about. First off, (and I'll be directing the rest of these towards reviewer "G-Money"), this isn't a Quentin Tarantino film. This movie was directed by Robert Rodriguez. Quentin merely wrote the screenplay.
Since when was Tarantino dialogue senseless? He's renouned in the industry for having the most cutting dialogue around.
So, because he wrote the screenplay to a violent movie, he's murderer at heart? Then I suppose Scorsese and Hithcock are murderers by your logic everyone that enjoyed this film must be a sadist? That's wonderful. Plenty of people enjoy this movie, and even more (I would wager the vast majority of serious film fans) enjoy his masterpieces: Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. These people are not sadists, and anyone with a head upon their shoulders should realize this. Anyone who appreciates film should be able to appreciate Quentin for the brilliant filmmaker he is (sans From Dusk Till Dawn, which isn't even HIS FILM!). Now, you may not fit into said categories, or maybe you just haven't seen any of Quentin's real films (as you seem to be confused as to who he is). The latter is perfectly forgiveable...although it seems, (from your review) that you have. In which case, you are truly missing out, and you have my sympathy. They are among the greatest cinema has to offer.
Maybe I'm asking too much of don't seem to be the kind of person that takes film seriously. I mean, just glancing of the films you've given four and even five stars, I find generic and trendy titles (all of the following being sub-par to TERRIBLE) such as: Rush Hour 2, Bad Boys 2, Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle, Anger Management, They, The remake of Rollerball, Ghost Ship, The Transporter, The Adventures of Pluto Nash, Batman and Robin, can see a trend. This is truly a sad thing, that someone can have such a distorted perception of film...such as Quentin Tarantino being a sick hack, and Batman and Robin being brilliant, worthy of 5 stars. I assume you're really young and you haven't yet matured in terms of film taste. I hope you will.
I wish you a better movie going future, and I pray you get a greater respect for the great, BRILLIANT Quentin Tarantino, as well as film in general.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 24, 2002
After the superb masterpiece Pulp Fiction came From Dusk Till Dawn which continued his consistently origanal flair for diversity. This wild, action-thriller sees two brothers going on a desperate crime spree. Quentin Tarantino puts in an effective performance as a completley deranged convict who aloingside the dynamic on-screen presence of George Clooney, kidnaps a preacher (played convincingly by Harvey Kietel) and his two children (which includes Juliette Lewis of Natural Born Killers). They flee for safety to a remote and eerie looking nightclub in Mexico. Whilst the film seems to be settling down as a compelling hostage drama it rapidly steers direction and is thrown into a darkly humorous horror movie as the nightclub is crawling with blood-thirsty vampires. The outrageous plot twists makes it all the more compelling and riveting and the scripts roll along like a rollercoaster. The special effects are vastly impressive and the energetic film making and engaging performances makes this truly another masterpiece to Tarantinos credit. Directed by Robert Rodriguez, his in-your-face shocker is an absolute must see. From Dusk Till Dawn makes a comfortable transistion to DVD and there are some extra features to be found beyond the movie making this collectors edition essential.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2004
I've watched a couple Quentin Tarantino movies, and I absolutely loved them. I also liked 'Once Upon A Time In Mexico' from Robert Rodriguez. So as you can imagine, when I heard about this movie, I was very excited. Tarantino is a masterful screenwriter, and Rodriguez definitely has decent skills behind the camera.
After watching the movie, I have to criticize one thing. The first half (about) of the movie was flawless, with QT and George Clooney as two Convicts, the Richie and Seth Gecko. When they embark from the first scene on, it seems as though the movie could go any direction and still be entertaining. However, when you throw in a night club that is flocking with vampires (fitfully so, the club is open dusk till dawn), you can't keep the same movie that you had. I give the story a lower score due to the fact that it doesn't fit well. If you couldn't guess from the title, and you hadn't seen the trailer, you would be oblivious to the fact that the second half of this movie is all vampires. I believe it would've worked better as a full movie of either type. Crime or Horror. But nevertheless, I couldn't resist the acting from QT and Clooney, along with Harvey Keitel and Juliette Lewis. Other than my single complaint, I really enjoyed this movie. As bloody and violent as it is, it's just so fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2004
"From Dusk Till Dawn" is the type of movie that you either love or hate. There really is no middle ground. As a fan of both Robert Rodriguez and Quentin Tarantino, this one practically had me drooling. A cinematic wet dream for movie geeks and Fangoria readers alike, "Dusk" is an excuse to mix underrated movie stars with yesteryear's cult heroes for plenty of violent mayhem and sharp dialouge.
Dawn's first half is a crime spree flick with the psychopathic Gecko Brothers (George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino) kidnapping Harvey Keitel's disgruntled preacher Jacob Fuller and his kids and using them to hop the border. By the second half, it has managed to erupt into a full-out Mexican vampire bloodbath as the Geckos join forces with the survivors of a melee at a Mexican strip bar. Filled with funny one-liners, unrelenting violence, and more vampires than you can shake a stick at, "Dawn" is a somewhat dumb but very fun genre flick. Any movie that includes a jaw-dropping music number featuring Salma Hayek dancing around in a black G-string and matching undergarment with cleavage aplenty is sure to be a winner with at least the male demographic.
Miramax's double-disc DVD edition has pretty much every feature you could ask for. Quentin does his very first audio commentary as he and director Robert Rodriguez go back and forth on all the entertaining details of the film's production. If you couldn't get enough information from it, you also get the movie's original production featurette and a full-length documentary, "Fult Tilt Boogie" that covers nearly every aspect of the film's production. There are also a few deleted scenes. While there isn't a whole lot to offer here, there is a cool Salma Hayek snake sequence with some silly-looking digital effects. If you're a true fan of "Dusk Till Dawn", you are gonna want to pick this DVD up.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2004
Sorry I just couldnt think of any other way to start this off. If your an aspiring filmmaker with a passion for genre films, this one is up there with "Kill Bill", and Once Upon a Time in Mexico".
You get two genre mini-flicks here in one package, who ever thought crime/horror would go together so well? And one of the coolest cinema criminals ever Seth Gecko came to life in this film,how ya gonna beat that.I saw this when it first hit the theatre and Cloony just sold me on his ability, his character here is the epitome of cool.
The rest of the cast is great to, and having Tom Savini, and Fred Williamson onboard along with Michael Parks and John Saxon in the beginning is just heart warming. Speaking of warming Selma Hyak is just devestating as the queen of the vampires.
Of course Rodriquezs whole cast of usual suspects are here and they are all terrific.
As far as this version of FDTD goes its the one to buy. Takin from the laserdisc version the quality of the pictue is excellent, and the audio is surround with a capital S. The commentary with RR & QT is probably the the most valuable gem in this edtion. If you have a love for this genre stuff the way I do you will practically mind meld with these two as they gab away.
The documentary "Full Tilt Boogie " is the whole second disk and it is a well made, and educational look at making a film. At least from a broad view.
Love this stuff and I cant wait for RR & QT to give us more, in the mean time if you havent already check out "Love & a 45", "Love and a Bullet","Versus","Dawn of the Dead"('79),"Full Contact"and everything by Rodriquez, and Tarantino.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2002
Quentin Tarantino wrote the screenplay to this tribute to B-grade horror films which had Robert Rodriguez at the helm. Tarantino and George Clooney star as the Gecko Brothers; two looney outlaws on a crime spree that kidnap a family (Harvey Keitel, Juliette Lewis, Ernest Lieu) to get across the Mexican border and are to meet an accomplace at a seedy bar. But little do they know that this bar is overrun with vampires, and this is where the fun begins. Honestly to all of those giving From Dusk Till Dawn a bad review have either never seen it or are still whining about the success of Pulp Fiction; From Dusk Till Dawn is a tribute to B-grade horror films of old that Mystery Science Theater 3000 loves to spoof, and that is what makes this film so fun. The first half is a road movie which establishes the characters so the viewer can get to know them. Keitel and Clooney are great in they're roles, especially when they have to interact with each other. The second half of the film is an over the top blood spewing gore fest (of the R rated kind) that will have you laughing your head off if your not one of those delicate types. All in all, From Dusk Till Dawn is a blatantly cheesy horror movie that is just a reminder of the days when you could have fun while making a movie, and the audience can have even more fun watching it. The great cast includes Cheech Marin (in three roles), Fred Williamson (blaxploitation extrordonaire), super sexy Salma Hayek, Kelly Preston, B-movie god John Saxon, and gore meister Tom Savini as a whip brandashing biker.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2002
Let's face it: the guys who made this gutsy tough guy movie knew they crossed the line in just about every aspect...and from the looks of the outcome, they had a blast and so do we.
Many movies have successfully combined action and horror, the best-made and probably greatest of all being Romero's masterpiece Dawn of the Dead, made in 1979. Then came 1996, a new era of style, humor, and violence...this was Tarantino's era.
After the incredible Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction, Tarantino tried his hand at horror and succeeded. George Clooney and QT himself play two merciless, totally out of control (but somehow lovable of course) gangsters who find themselves fending off hundreds of vampires in a seedy Mexican club...this is truly the ultimate story of two guys who walked into the wrong bar.
Right from the opening sequence, you just know that anything is possible in this wild, wild movie. Within the first five minutes, Clooney and Tarantino execute a cop, engage in a shootout with a clerk, and set fire to a building. There is great dialogue of course, and the camerawork via Robert Rodriguez is amazing; some action scenes in this movie are still unparalled. The movie is very, very stylish and often completely over the top, and that's what makes it so powerful and enjoyable. Not for everyone, but for those who love non-stop, hard-hitting action, this movie will blow you away.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2002
This is one of my favorite films, it combines the raw kinetic action stylings of Robert Rodriguez (Desperado, The Faculty) with the dialogue and character writing skills of Quentin Tarantino (Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, True Romance) in a gore filled splatterfest that no film has yet to live up to. It features George Clooney in he breakout role as Seth Gecko, escaped convict, bank robber, murderer. Seths brother Richard (played by the films scribe Quentin Tarantino) broke him out of jail, they then made their way across country and down to the boarder... As much praise as I can give this film I can also say that this film does have a few flaws. Theres somewhat of a dichotemy when Seth is the big tough guy who takes no [stuff] from anyone is punched out by Jacob, and old man preacher, Seth stands up and retaliates in no way and almost apoligizes. I found that to be rather annoying and one of my all time top ten movie screw ups... This film also features an annoying chinese kid, with a clearly white american father (I'm not racist nor is this a racist comment but...) but his reasons for having the father he had were never revealed. The boy did also backfired on him, every time he tried to act tough or do something heroic he was stomped thouroghly. This I found to get a little old after his third attempt to protect his sister and he's smacked across the room. All in all I give this film 5 stars because it truely is one of the great films of all time... at least in my humble oppinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2001
Cheech Chong in multiple roles. Salma Hayek as a stripper/vampire (a combination that rivals peanut butter and chocolate as far as I'm concerned). George Clooney as the epitome of cool. Quentin Tarantino as the epitome of psychotic. And Harvey Keitel as a mean "mm-hmm mm-hmm" servant of the lord.
You couldn't really ask for much more from a movie than this.
The dialogue during the first two-thirds of the movie is diamond-like in quality. The action in the final third of the movie is riproaring. This is truly a movie that is not afraid to be totally cool and bad right down to the bone.
And if I hear one more person tell me that it's really bizarre how the whole first half of the movie has no supernatural elements and the second half of the movie is like a totally different movie, I'm going to give up on humanity altogether. For one thing, I have no idea why that should matter. These same people probably loved Pulp Fiction, which had how many storylines? And for another thing, it's actually unusual to have such amazing character development in a movie about vampires before anyone gets killed.
I LOVE this movie! I love this movie enough to have the movie poster framed, hanging in my living room. If you don't have a copy of it already, buy it, and cherish it for the true cinematic gem that it is.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

From Dusk Till Dawn: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
From Dusk Till Dawn: Season 1 [Blu-ray] by D.J. Cotrona (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 46.00