summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars165
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 8, 2011
"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is this imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of the good reviews I've read online, I decided to order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix. My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: for casual and hardcore fans, skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray, which can be had right here on Amazon.com for roughly the same price (or slightly more). Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Maybe someday the fabulous bonus features from the two-disc DVD "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" release will finally be married to a worthy film presentation, such as this Alliance Blu-Ray. For now, fans of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" can only hope.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2011
I really love this movie. I purchased this blu-ray disc because of the lousey ,"From Dusk Til Dawn" blu-ray released in the USA by Echo Bridge. Beware anyone of Echo Bridge Blu-ray disc. The quality of there disc looks like an early vhs print. The Alliance release I bought is very superior. The picture is beautiful 1080p print/ 1.78:1 Ratio. The audio is English & French DTS, 5.1 Dolby Digital. I really think this movie is one hell of a popcorn ride. The special effects are awesome. One of the great Vampire flics. It is ashame Alliance doesn't put any special features on there disc. Overall, It is worth the price. Love It A++++ DJ IssacFrom Dusk Till Dawn [Blu-ray]
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2004
I've found it sadly amusing that so many people who reviewed this film have NO IDEA what they're talking about. First off, (and I'll be directing the rest of these towards reviewer "G-Money"), this isn't a Quentin Tarantino film. This movie was directed by Robert Rodriguez. Quentin merely wrote the screenplay.
Since when was Tarantino dialogue senseless? He's renouned in the industry for having the most cutting dialogue around.
So, because he wrote the screenplay to a violent movie, he's murderer at heart? Then I suppose Scorsese and Hithcock are murderers too...wait...so by your logic everyone that enjoyed this film must be a sadist? That's wonderful. Plenty of people enjoy this movie, and even more (I would wager the vast majority of serious film fans) enjoy his masterpieces: Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction. These people are not sadists, and anyone with a head upon their shoulders should realize this. Anyone who appreciates film should be able to appreciate Quentin for the brilliant filmmaker he is (sans From Dusk Till Dawn, which isn't even HIS FILM!). Now, you may not fit into said categories, or maybe you just haven't seen any of Quentin's real films (as you seem to be confused as to who he is). The latter is perfectly forgiveable...although it seems, (from your review) that you have. In which case, you are truly missing out, and you have my sympathy. They are among the greatest cinema has to offer.
Maybe I'm asking too much of you...you don't seem to be the kind of person that takes film seriously. I mean, just glancing of the films you've given four and even five stars, I find generic and trendy titles (all of the following being sub-par to TERRIBLE) such as: Rush Hour 2, Bad Boys 2, Charlie's Angels: Full Throttle, Anger Management, They, The remake of Rollerball, Ghost Ship, The Transporter, The Adventures of Pluto Nash, Batman and Robin, etc...you can see a trend. This is truly a sad thing, that someone can have such a distorted perception of film...such as Quentin Tarantino being a sick hack, and Batman and Robin being brilliant, worthy of 5 stars. I assume you're really young and you haven't yet matured in terms of film taste. I hope you will.
I wish you a better movie going future, and I pray you get a greater respect for the great, BRILLIANT Quentin Tarantino, as well as film in general.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2002
After the superb masterpiece Pulp Fiction came From Dusk Till Dawn which continued his consistently origanal flair for diversity. This wild, action-thriller sees two brothers going on a desperate crime spree. Quentin Tarantino puts in an effective performance as a completley deranged convict who aloingside the dynamic on-screen presence of George Clooney, kidnaps a preacher (played convincingly by Harvey Kietel) and his two children (which includes Juliette Lewis of Natural Born Killers). They flee for safety to a remote and eerie looking nightclub in Mexico. Whilst the film seems to be settling down as a compelling hostage drama it rapidly steers direction and is thrown into a darkly humorous horror movie as the nightclub is crawling with blood-thirsty vampires. The outrageous plot twists makes it all the more compelling and riveting and the scripts roll along like a rollercoaster. The special effects are vastly impressive and the energetic film making and engaging performances makes this truly another masterpiece to Tarantinos credit. Directed by Robert Rodriguez, his in-your-face shocker is an absolute must see. From Dusk Till Dawn makes a comfortable transistion to DVD and there are some extra features to be found beyond the movie making this collectors edition essential.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2011
(NOTE: This review was originally posted on the U.S.-based Amazon.com website.)

"From Dusk 'Till Dawn" is not a great film by any means, but it is entertaining...up to a point. The first half of the film is an effective, stylish and creepy noir/suspense film, with director Robert Rodriguez showing uncharacteristic restraint in his film direction. Clooney and (surprisingly) Tarantino are good in their roles, and play off of each other well. Unfortunately, the second half of the film becomes increasingly silly, as Robert Rodriguez succumbs to his fetish for over-the-top action and cartoonish violence, quickly undoing all the creepy suspense that was so carefully built up over the film's first half and settling for a parody-like tone for the rest of the film.

If done right, over-the-top horror film parodies can be very entertaining, as the first two "Evil Dead" films show. However, that sort of tone usually works best in a short feature format (such as the "Tales From The Crypt" television series). If the film is to be feature length, then a good deal of imagination is needed to sustain interest, otherwise a sense of a fatigue sets in. It is imagination that makes the "Evil Dead" films work as well as they do, and is what's missing in "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" (endless vampire explosions notwithstanding).

Still, if you're a "B-Movie" horror fan, the film definitely has its moments; besides the two leads, there's a great supporting cast (put together especially for genre fans), fun (albeit goofy) make-up effects, plenty of scantily-clad women, and buckets of fake blood, making the film an acceptable (if padded out) "B" genre film. Overall, a three-star film (out of five).

Regarding the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray release, that is truly a lazy catalog release title, if I've ever seen one. Currently available exclusively at Best Buy stores (but not on Best Buy's online website), I picked this up for ten bucks less than a week ago, and have already decided to get my money back (the Blu-Ray will see a general release in stores on May 3rd).

Presented in the incorrect film aspect ratio of 1.78:1 (from the film's original 1.85:1), the picture quality of the Echo Bridge transfer is a wildly inconsistent mess. A few scenes here and there look very good. However, most of the time the picture quality is soft and murky-looking, giving the film a dull, flat look. Colors tend to look unnatural and overly-saturated. The picture has plenty of digital artifacting and is riddled throughout with edge enhancement, killing off fine background detail. Blacks come off as strong but shapeless, crushing any detail thanks to the transfer's murkiness. I've read by some that DNR was occasionally an issue with the transfer; personally, I didn't see it, but I think we can all agree that even if DNR has been used, it is the least of problems for Echo Bridge's Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn".

As a result of my disappointment with the Echo Bridge release, based on the good reviews I've read online, I decided to take a chance and order online the Canadian Blu-Ray release of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" from Alliance. Now, I must confess that I'm not very big on importing Canadian Blu-Ray's, and I've heard fairly crummy things about Canadian distributer Alliance's Blu-Ray releases. Well, after a side-by-side comparison, there is simply no contest: in every respect, the Alliance Blu-Ray release is superior to the Echo Bridge U.S. release.

The picture of the Alliance disc is sharp throughout, without any of the murkiness and softness that plagues the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray. Colors pop but maintain a natural look, blacks are strong without being crushing, and neither DNR or edge enhancement are anywhere to be found. Regarding the audio, both the Echo Bridge and Alliance versions contain a DTS-HD 5.1 audio mix (ignore the notation of 2.0 stereo on the cover of the EB release of "From Dusk", as it's a misprint). My initial (and rather quick) comparison did not find much difference between the Alliance and Echo Bridge releases. However, a second, deeper comparison revealed there was indeed a difference between the two soundtracks, and once again, Alliance came out ahead. Surround was more expansive throughout with stronger panning effects, and bass was definitely more present. In fact, about the only thing the two releases have in common is a complete lack of extras.

Overall, while the Alliance transfer is not quite demo quality, it is a vast improvement over the Echo Bridge release, and a commendable hi-def transfer for a catalog title (In fact, I'd go so far as to say that the Alliance transfer of "From Dusk 'Till Dawn" even trumps Lionsgate's recent U.S. Blu-Ray releases of the "Scream" trilogy, which were all flat-looking and had far too much edge enhancement for my tastes). Only the complete lack of extras prevents me from giving the Alliance Blu-Ray release a four-star review.

So, to sum up: since both Blu-Rays are competitively priced and available right here on Amazon.com, I recommend that casual and hardcore fans skip the U.S. Echo Bridge release and pick up the Canadian Alliance Blu-Ray release. Is the picture quality on the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray disc better than the Miramax DVD? Sure...and for all my complaints, it's not the worst transfer that I've seen on Blu-Ray (check out "Five Corners" and "Lars and The Real Girl" to see truly terrible Blu-Ray transfers). However, considering the fact that a far superior three-year-old Blu-Ray transfer already exists elsewhere, there is simply no excuse for the existence of this poor Blu-Ray release, which is why I give the Echo Bridge Blu-Ray a one-star (out of five) review.

Of course, true fans will also need to pick-up (or hang on to) the Miramax two-disc DVD set, with all of its top-notch bonus features, including the feature-length making-of doc, "Full Tilt Boogie", audio commentary with Rodriguez and Tarantino, deleted scenes and outtakes, a special effects doc and more (I do not recommend that DVD set for casual fans, as the picture is presented in non-anamorphic widescreen).

Between this and the shamelessly cheap Blu-Ray release of "Halloween: H20", I'm going to take a pass on future offerings from Echo Bridge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2001
This is not a deep movie. It doesn't have a intricate or creative plot. Therefore, do yourself a favor and fast forward through the first 2/3 of the movie and get to the strip club b/c that is where all the fun begins. I'll fill you in on the what you miss so at least you understand who the characters are. The notorious Gecko Brothers (George C. and Quentin T.) rob a store, leave a trail of destruction, hijack a mobile home from a disgruntled minister and his two children and make a break with them across the Mexican border. From what I wrote you might think that there would be a lot of action...wrong. Aside from the brief opening shot out the rest is boring, long winded dialogue that acts as filler until...they come upon a raunchy bar/strip club in Mexico and, of course, stop for some entertainment. Little do they know that it is really a lair of some rather nasty and thirsty vampires. Salma Hayek makes a brief appearance here as a very sexy vampire. I say brief b/c once the sun goes down she ain't so sexy. With the sun down and the exits sealed, it is "go" time and the Gecko brothers, their hostages, and the other biker type scum in the strip joint go head to head with the noctural predators. The movie earns all its stars right here. Had the first 2/3 of the movie been like the last third this would easily be the most action packed gore fest of all time. Seriously, blood and gore flow in such ways I cannot possibly give it justice through a written description. I'm tempted to give it a higher rating but I resist b/c after seeing the ending I cannot help but be disappointed and irritated that the rest of the movie was soooo lacking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2000
I don't even know where to start well let's start with the begining a non-stop action brutal gunfight that leaves two innocent people dead now that is a good begining to a horror movie!then they find this poor innocent family which they turn into a bunch of vampire murdering psychopaths another very cool aspect.but what i love most about this movie is the fact that if you watch it as much as i have it actually turns into a comedy.i know you probably think i am a very sick man but what are you going to do.the only bad part of this movie is that they tried making a sequal and triqual and i am telling you right now if you see "From Dusk Til Dawn"DO NOT SEE THE SEQUALS! i mean they just stopped trying completly!i actually own a copy of number 1 but if you out there even think of purchasing number 2 then you deserve to be severely injured!i know i am getting off the point so i will some this movie up for you it was a non stop action horror with hillarious diolauge and some cool special effects! that's all im going to say.if you ever see hipe chick review another movie dont even bother reading it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 1999
Seth and Richard Gecko (George Clooney and Quentin Tarantino) are two "...mean motor scooters..." on their way across the mexican border with a motor home and hostages (Harvey Keitel and Julliette Lewis). Their rendevou is at a bar called the "Titty Twister" which is appropiately open from Dusk 'tll Dawn. "One night is all that stands between them and freedom, but it's going to be one Hell of a night". Another masterpiece by Director Robert Rodriguez (Desperado, El Mariachi, Four Rooms and the new release, The Faculty), his use of the camera is so unique showing the audience a different point of view. George Clooney plays a cool (very cool) runaway thief, his portrait of the character is done to perfection, I would like to see George in other roles like this. Tarantino plays his psycho brother who doesn't know the difference between real life and make believe. Keitel plays a faithless preacher along with Lewis. I own this film and I watch it atleast 2 or 3 times a month. The fantastic camera work, twisted plot, unique dialogue (e.g. The scene when George is giving the 3 rules to a hostage) makes this one of my favourite films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2004
From Dusk Till Dawn is one of my all time favorite films.
The story which I won't tell because I don't want to spoil it for people who haven't seen it stars George Cloony and the Brilliant writer and director of Pulp Fiction, Quinten Tarantino.
The story is quite amusing and very WELL ACTED I might add.
This was my favorite Cloony film. It's a very odd Vampire flick too. The gecko brothers are f-d up. Especially Tarantino's character.
This is an awesome film for people who want to see something f-d up.
A word of a warning. This movie is incredibly and I mean incredibly graphicly violent in so much ways. You see Limbs and heads being cut off and sliced off, and some times disturbing.
It's also high on language. You'll probably here cloony say the F word probably atleast 70 times.
Over all it's not a film for little ones.
check it out.
Later
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2000
You have the criminals on the run for the border and their hostages. Sounds like a Tarentino/Rodriguez combonation doesn't it? The first half of this plays like an average crim film with an average plot. Nothing sensational aside from the unusual cast and some great Tarentino dialogue. All of a sudden when they go to this bar (I don't think I can print the name) to hide out and out of nowhere the place starts crawling with lots of vampires turning the crime film into a horror film with all the necessary gore to go with it. This film is quite an exercise and is guarenteed cult status in the future. Check it out if you haven't already. George Cloony, Harvey Kietel, and Tarentino light up the screen and Rodriguez directs Tarentino's script with brilliance. The film is a ton of fun and there is some great Southern blues/rock music in it too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse