Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Sleeper!
I've never heard of this movie before until I accidentally read someone's review on another movie. He was wondering why movies like Equilibrium did not get any attention which it deserved. I could not resist my curiosity and thus I rented it right away. What a pleasant surprise! Even if the cover looked like a typical B-class movie, the movie itself was a real deal...
Published on Feb. 8 2004 by Mantaray

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie Poor Shipping and Handling
This review is for the Steelbook Edition. I love Equilibrium and have multiple copies of the film on blu ray and DVD. I only purchased this because of the collectible steelbook packaging. However, the item was poorly shipped in a bubble wrap envelope which hardly provides any protection for this kind of item. Needless to say, the steelbook arrived dented on the front...
Published 4 months ago by A. Siani


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Sleeper!, Feb. 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
I've never heard of this movie before until I accidentally read someone's review on another movie. He was wondering why movies like Equilibrium did not get any attention which it deserved. I could not resist my curiosity and thus I rented it right away. What a pleasant surprise! Even if the cover looked like a typical B-class movie, the movie itself was a real deal. Equilibrium is so original and it was not a rip-off of anything as there are some reviews comparing this to the Matrix. I am not saying Equilibrium is better or worse than the Matrix. They are absolutely two different movies and each of them has its own strength as well as weakness.
Although I should say that all those gunfight scenes are not the best I've ever seen, they are very impressive and well executed. I guess in the near future we will see some 'Equilibrium-clone' movies imitating 'Gun-Kata'.
The plot and script are not the first-class but are bearable. The movie delivered its purposes and intentions well, and the character development is convincing and reasonable.
Nevertheless, I can tell you that the acting in this movie was a real killer, totally unexpected. Christian Bale was perfect for his role. I've never seen acting like that in such low-budget, non-theatrical-released movie (well, I read that it was showed at some selected theatres for few weeks).
'Euilibrium' is one of the most underrated movies ever, and it deserves your attention. I really would like to see a sequel with enough budget and better storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film..., Oct. 7 2003
By 
Dan "dansody" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
This is an excellent sci fi film. In many ways I enjoyed it more than the first Matrix film because it's less about special effects and more about an engrossing storyline. The premise of the film isn't original like many critics have been quick to point out, but it's presented in an original style that is very entertaining. I like to describe it to friends as a sci fi Matrix like film that incorporates martial arts with guns. There are some gratuitous action scenes but for the most part the action is really cool to watch. Especially since they use really neat looking guns and every one is dressed up in chic and futurist clothes :)
The acting, the music, the sound effects, and the script all work well together. I really like the fact that the movie centers around Christian Bale's character rather than the whole anti-authoritarian premise. As a viewer you actually care about the character John Preston. It's the quiet scenes within the film that really lend strength of purpose to the action scenes. Unlike Neo in "The Matrix," you learn about Preston's past, his wife, the fact that he has kids. It's great how you don't only remember the action scenes but the quiet scenes as well, like the extermination of the dogs, the arrest of Preston's partner (Sean Bean), and the execution of the rebels. There is one scene in the film where the main character shares a quiet moment with a puppy and yet seconds later he is blowing away a squad of soldiers. Surprisingly, scenes such as this worked really well together and weren't inappropriate at all. That's one of the best things about this film. It's the fact that SO many things could of went wrong, but it turned out to be very well done. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, wrong aspect ratio???, June 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Buyer beware?
First off this is a great film. So I picked this BluRay copy to replace my original DVD copy from 2002. The picture and sound are great, as would be expected from BluRay, but I noticed something not right!! The aspect ratio of this movie is supposed to be 2.35:1, as it is on my DVD copy. Turns out this BluRay version fills my whole 16:9 screen with no black bars top and bottom like a 2.35:1 film does. So that means this version is actually around a 1.78.1 ratio. WTH??? Yes, upon comparing both my DVD and this one, the sides of the BluRay version are slightly cropped off. Why I ask??? It even states on the packaging that this disc is a 2.35:1 ratio, so why isn't it??? Fortunately, the aspect ratio blunder on this BluRay doesn't take away from the quality of the transfer. As I said great picture, great sound. (This seems to be common on a few other lower priced BluRay's that I have picked up). The slight side cropping doesn't ruin this great film, so I still give it 5 stars.
But if this is a problem for purists, stick with the original DVD or spend the extra a get the steel book. Hopefully that one will be done right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine Bale of Hey!, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Better than expected. Bale is a fine craftsman , his portrayal of this evolving protagonist is a real treat to witness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie Poor Shipping and Handling, March 5 2014
By 
A. Siani "Trisk" (Bristol, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD] (Blu-ray)
This review is for the Steelbook Edition. I love Equilibrium and have multiple copies of the film on blu ray and DVD. I only purchased this because of the collectible steelbook packaging. However, the item was poorly shipped in a bubble wrap envelope which hardly provides any protection for this kind of item. Needless to say, the steelbook arrived dented on the front and back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal movie, regardless of its poor ratings, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
The setting is wonderful, if you can ignore the strange superpowers granted to the main characters by their superior training.

A dark look at a world. Very good if you like ruined worlds and movies which examine totalitarian governance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Une réussite, May 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
Un film inoubliable par la qualité de son scénario, par la qualité de l'image (superbe), par la qualité du son (superbe), une musique qui colle si bien à toutes les situations qu'elle accompagne tout naturellement les mouvements, les non-dits et les sentiments, par les couleurs sombres, par les décors coupés au carré, dans un futur noir où règne une dictature stalinienne qui interdit les sentiments, les livres, l'art et tout ce qui peut provoquer l'émotion qui a été déclaré "offense" un crime puni de mort. Ça fait froid dans le dos. Effrayant mais en même temps romantique à souhait, dans une sorte de désespérance puis d'espoir, ce qui nous fait oublier la grande violence de certaines scènes.
Christian Bale nous fait là une époustouflante démonstration de son talent, il est prodigieux.
Les scènes de combat sont remarquablement menées de main de maître, avec la précision d'une horlogerie suisse, et le suspense est au rendez-vous. A acheter quand on aime la science-fiction et l'évasion dans le futur et dans un monde virtuel, qui reste malgré tout, profondément humain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep your eye on the guns!, Jan. 19 2006
By 
Virus (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
I always recommend this film to friends who enjoy action movies and/or sci-fi. It's constantly being compared to The Matrix, and I agree they're similar, but I appreciate this film a bit more.
The action sequences have to be seen to believe in this one, the majority of the fighting is done with guns mixed with martial arts. This isn't quite the same as The Matrix mix of the same, in Equilibrium the guns act more like extensions of the hand, and characters mimic maritial arts movements in order to fire. The movie calls the style "Gun Catas" as in...martial arts catas done with a pistol in each hand. There is also swordplay and melee, but the gun catas are really a sight to behold.
Besides the action, the story is pretty good as well. The plot echoes of 1984 with themes of self-discovery and rebellion in the face of oppressive rule.
Considering that this movie dipicts a future where emotions are outlawed, I would say the acting is good anyway. You can't fault someone for being slightly robotic when that was the intention all along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would Recommend, July 20 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My type of entertainment. Not for everyone. Enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film that was sorely underrated., June 28 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Equilibrium (DVD)
Equilibrium is a surprisingly good film and sorely underrated. Set in a future where emotions are banned, as is anything that may engender emotion such as music and literature, the storyline may conjure thoughts of 1984 or Fahrenheit 451. Make no mistake however; Equilibrium is no copy of those films.

After World War 3, it is decided that emotions lead to war and the prevention of further war can only be achieved by preventing the population from feeling. Every day the population have to take their prescribed mood dampening pills. Christian Bale stars as Preston, a law enforcement agent, who seeks out and destroys 'sense offenders', people who stop taking their medication and who actively read and listen to music. When Preston's partner (played by Sean Bean) is found to be a sense offender and he is forced to kill him, Preston starts questioning his world and the part he plays in it. He decides to take the dangerous path of skipping his pills and starting to feel.

This is no high octane, special effects packed film. There are a few, well choreographed martial arts fight scenes but for the most part the film relies on a good story set in a sterile, featureless and soulless setting to set the atmosphere. The movie has been well produced and the cinematography is first class. This is a film that belongs in the collection of any fan of science fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equilibrium (SteelBook Edition) [Blu-ray + DVD]
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 20.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews