march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Kitchen Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars111
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$16.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 28, 2014
Better than expected. Bale is a fine craftsman , his portrayal of this evolving protagonist is a real treat to witness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
They have missed the target. Or rather they hit the target of making a movie similar to many others. I found it almost as bad as The Matrix (washhh). I gave up listening to it around half way through. I am not in the psychological thing to the point of appreciating that kind of movie (...???). The real point is that a movie must be at least entertaining; this one is very little... Almost certainly won't be watching the second half. Too bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
This review is for the Steelbook Edition. I love Equilibrium and have multiple copies of the film on blu ray and DVD. I only purchased this because of the collectible steelbook packaging. However, the item was poorly shipped in a bubble wrap envelope which hardly provides any protection for this kind of item. Needless to say, the steelbook arrived dented on the front and back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
The setting is wonderful, if you can ignore the strange superpowers granted to the main characters by their superior training.

A dark look at a world. Very good if you like ruined worlds and movies which examine totalitarian governance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Un film inoubliable par la qualité de son scénario, par la qualité de l'image (superbe), par la qualité du son (superbe), une musique qui colle si bien à toutes les situations qu'elle accompagne tout naturellement les mouvements, les non-dits et les sentiments, par les couleurs sombres, par les décors coupés au carré, dans un futur noir où règne une dictature stalinienne qui interdit les sentiments, les livres, l'art et tout ce qui peut provoquer l'émotion qui a été déclaré "offense" un crime puni de mort. Ça fait froid dans le dos. Effrayant mais en même temps romantique à souhait, dans une sorte de désespérance puis d'espoir, ce qui nous fait oublier la grande violence de certaines scènes.
Christian Bale nous fait là une époustouflante démonstration de son talent, il est prodigieux.
Les scènes de combat sont remarquablement menées de main de maître, avec la précision d'une horlogerie suisse, et le suspense est au rendez-vous. A acheter quand on aime la science-fiction et l'évasion dans le futur et dans un monde virtuel, qui reste malgré tout, profondément humain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
One of my favorite movies! This movie is fairly affordable so it would be useless to rent it - just buy it!

One drawback is the screen ratio - see reviews from a lot of people regarding the Blu-Ray versions - other than that it is perfect!

Other thoughts: Might be a sacrilege to some but I like it better than the Matrix somehow!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
Buyer beware?
First off this is a great film. So I picked this BluRay copy to replace my original DVD copy from 2002. The picture and sound are great, as would be expected from BluRay, but I noticed something not right!! The aspect ratio of this movie is supposed to be 2.35:1, as it is on my DVD copy. Turns out this BluRay version fills my whole 16:9 screen with no black bars top and bottom like a 2.35:1 film does. So that means this version is actually around a 1.78.1 ratio. WTH??? Yes, upon comparing both my DVD and this one, the sides of the BluRay version are slightly cropped off. Why I ask??? It even states on the packaging that this disc is a 2.35:1 ratio, so why isn't it??? Fortunately, the aspect ratio blunder on this BluRay doesn't take away from the quality of the transfer. As I said great picture, great sound. (This seems to be common on a few other lower priced BluRay's that I have picked up). The slight side cropping doesn't ruin this great film, so I still give it 5 stars.
But if this is a problem for purists, stick with the original DVD or spend the extra a get the steel book. Hopefully that one will be done right.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
So I doubt I'll see a really good release of this film in the near future...the picture quality, while just passable, is in the wrong aspect ratio and needs to be corrected and the DTS-MA is good, but not great. The latest release in the states is a double pack with the movie "Renaissance" that restores the correct aspect ratio but has lossy Dolby Digital 5.1. Gotta pick your poison with this title I guess...ugh...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2011
It's locked only on region A - because I'm tested this Blu-ray on region B and C players. And it have same old transfer with incorrect aspect ratio 1:1,85 (OAR - 2,35). But sound on this disc is very good - DTS-HD MA 5.1 (English) rocks! Overall - 4 out 5 stars for sound and nice steelbook case.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
Can anyone confirm whether it`s region A og region ALL? Is the aspect ration correct aswell? 2.35?
Btw, this film OWNS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse