Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (186)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sequel To The Ultimate Experience In Grueling Terror
I wasn't sure what to expect with the Blu-ray quality of this movie. Some older movies don't translate so well to the new format. Especially the lower budget movies like this one. But I am happy to say that the video quality on this movie is far beyond what I had hoped. Only a few shots have much grain in them. Most of the movie is very sharp. Looks great.
I haven't...
Published on Nov. 17 2011 by Andrew Foster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but...
I saw _Army of Darkness_ first, which I can highly recommend as
a nearly perfect blend of humor and horror. This movie, which I saw first, isn't up to the quality of _Army._ Mostly it's bad SFX, with amateurish acting. It's fairly scary in parts, but there is exactly one funny part, and that's when Ash is fighting with his own right hand, and losing. Campbell, as...
Published on March 15 2004 by R. Wallace


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Sequel To The Ultimate Experience In Grueling Terror, Nov. 17 2011
By 
Andrew Foster (tillsonburg, ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't sure what to expect with the Blu-ray quality of this movie. Some older movies don't translate so well to the new format. Especially the lower budget movies like this one. But I am happy to say that the video quality on this movie is far beyond what I had hoped. Only a few shots have much grain in them. Most of the movie is very sharp. Looks great.
I haven't got into the special features yet, but it looks like there is a lot there. I am very happy with this blu-ray. If you like this movie, it is worth adding to you collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Groovy", April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 [Import] (DVD)
Evil Dead 2 is one of the greatest horror films I've ever seen, and definitely the greatest horror-comedy I know of (yes, even better than Shawn of the Dead, which was fantastic). This remake/sequel retells the first one briefly, with some changes: Ash and his girlfriend (instead of his four friends) find the cabin, accidentally awaken the evil of the Book of the Dead, and Ash ends up single and burying his now-headless demon-possessed girlfriend. After that, Ash goes through a great ordeal of horrific (but funny) events that quickly drive him insane, like a possessed hand that beats him to a pulp, or a laugh-o-thon with the furniture, or a memorable chase scene through the cabin that rivals the chariot race in Ben-Hur (No, not really). After that, more people show up, and things only get more hectic for poor, groovy Ash.
All in all, this was fun to watch back-to-back with The Evil Dead, which both arrived on the same day, and in perfect condition. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie, and I highly recommend this (and the entire trilogy for that matter) to any horror fan.
Just watch out for possessed cameras.

****1/2 out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The limited edition kicks, Oct. 6 2002
Yes it's a remake,for the first ten minutes and then it's all new.Ash(Bruce Campbell)and Linda(Denise Bixler)return to the cabin in the woods,read from the necronomicon and then all hell brakes loose,then four more new people show up to join the fun.Evil Dead 2 DBD is not as gory as the first one,but it's way more funny,it's like watching a 90 minute Three Stooges episode.The DVD is a total getter for any Evil Dead fan or movie fans in general.It comes in a really cool tin,I think the cover art is from the UK poster like the replica inside.The disk as alot of cool features on it,the original theatrical trailer,the trailer for the Evil Dead:Hail To The King videogame for PlayStation1,a featurette called The Gore The Merrier,it's a great featurette if you forget the fact the half of the featurette is from old tapes that Greg Nicotero filmed while shooting ED2.The biggest treat on the DVD is the audio commentary(Say hello to Papa)with Sam Raimi,Bruce Campbell,Scott Spiegel and Greg Nicotero.When you watch the movie with the commentary it makes the movie way more funnier,with the four talking about their experiences making the film.I think Sam Raimi is a really great director,think about it,he's gone from the Evil Dead movies to Darkman(my favourite Raimi film)to A Simple Plan to The Gift and of course Spiderman and I really hope he thinks about making a fourth Evil Dead picture.Evil Dead 2 is a sweet,cool,enjoyable and funny flick to watch anytime.Groovy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This movie is a classic, I can finally see it in HD rather than my old VHS tape played over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Evil Dead Series, Nov. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This movie had good dialogue. It wasn't as good as the first movie, but it was still pretty darn good. Sam Raimi is a favourite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You don't own it yet?!, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Dead by dawn! What can I say? I will tell you what I can't say.. Dead by dawn 18 times. tried Amazon won't let me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and fun classic horror movie., May 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you like nonsense humor and plenty of old gore special effects, then this one's for you!
It's a somewhat re-creation of the first Evil Dead, but delivers much more I find. The first will always be a classic, and if you enjoyed it, you'll definitely enjoy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty funny, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie had much darker humour than the first Evil Dead. It also becomes ridiculously apparent that these films are more funny than scary in this picture. It is definitely memorable - especially when Ash starts going crazy, and is an essential puzzle-piece to connect Evil Dead to Army of Darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Evil Dead 2, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Great movie takes me back. The quality is good but at times is grainy mainly the beginning. Good buy if you like the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, May 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I love the Evil Dead movies.. Evil dead 2 does not really carry on from the first one but if you watch the extras it explains why and how this movie came about! Quality is a little grainy in some parts but what can u expect from a movie this old and made into blu ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evil Dead 2 (25th Anniversary Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD)
Used & New from: CDN$ 10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews